Digicel LTE

Re: Digicel LTE

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 10th, 2018, 12:40 pm

Bottom line is that the process was not as clear cut for apple devices, hence iphone users had to wait a bit longer

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 10th, 2018, 6:14 pm

Finally getting LTE service in Arima...
Although Digicel still says that iPhone 7plus have no access to their LTE.
download at 43Mbps upload at 16Mbps

Postby M_2NR » July 13th, 2018, 12:15 pm

I now did the sim swap. That was the fastest pain free sim swap ever. Hopefully it sorts out some of the issues I’ve been having

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » July 13th, 2018, 12:48 pm

The sim checker tells me lte ready, device is ready but i getting 5mbs

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 16th, 2018, 2:58 am

From the time I enter my house or any kinda building, almost no bars. Calls dropping. No data. Works pretty fine if I’m TOTALLY outdoors but otherwise. Nothing. Not even a phone call. Any similar issues or is it just me ?

Postby adnj » July 16th, 2018, 4:56 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:From the time I enter my house or any kinda building, almost no bars. Calls dropping. No data. Works pretty fine if I’m TOTALLY outdoors but otherwise. Nothing. Not even a phone call. Any similar issues or is it just me ?

Without getting into all the physics involved, LTE as deployed in Trinidad is at nearly twice the frequency of some of the 3G towers. The higher frequency signal will penetrate structures about half as well as the lower frequency signals that can be used in Trinidad by 3G.

A reliable LTE connection also needs a signal of about -90 dBm while GSM only needs about -100 dBm. It may not look like it but that means that LTE needs a signal that is 10 times the power of GSM.

If your problem is while using LTE, your phone may be switching out of LTE slowly or not at all.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 16th, 2018, 8:36 am

adnj wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:From the time I enter my house or any kinda building, almost no bars. Calls dropping. No data. Works pretty fine if I’m TOTALLY outdoors but otherwise. Nothing. Not even a phone call. Any similar issues or is it just me ?

Without getting into all the physics involved, LTE as deployed in Trinidad is at nearly twice the frequency of some of the 3G towers. The higher frequency signal will penetrate structures about half as well as the lower frequency signals that can be used in Trinidad by 3G.

A reliable LTE connection also needs a signal of about -90 dBm while GSM only needs about -100 dBm. It may not look like it but that means that LTE needs a signal that is 10 times the power of GSM.

If your problem is while using LTE, your phone may be switching out of LTE slowly or not at all.

Nah I don’t expect LTE indoors. At least 3G cause my dads bmobile phone gets really good 3G inside. About 20-30mb down. I literally get 0 bars in my own house so I can’t even receive a call

Postby adnj » July 16th, 2018, 9:53 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Nah I don’t expect LTE indoors. At least 3G cause my dads bmobile phone gets really good 3G inside. About 20-30mb down. I literally get 0 bars in my own house so I can’t even receive a call

There is no reason that you should not be able to expect LTE indoors - if the service towers are located correctly and the tower antennas are properly tuned.

The connection difference could be the provisioning of your SIM. This is how the service operator decides how to connect you to its network and that may slow down your phone while it is trying to connect to HSPA.

4G LTE can allow almost 4 times as many simultaneous users on a single tower as 3G HSPA. Combine that with LTE message transfer being faster and you can bump the number of users many times over 3G.

It's in the carriers' interest to move you over to LTE and keep you there so that more customers can be serviced by the same equipment and at the same time charge you more for your subscription because of the faster download speeds.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 18th, 2018, 10:10 pm

LTE totally disappears in Xtra Foods, arima :(

Postby M_2NR » July 20th, 2018, 10:44 am

Good grief, the amount of drop calls and no service still is immense.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2018, 12:01 pm

right now I thinking of switching to bmobile

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 20th, 2018, 12:41 pm

I did the port to Bmobile on Monday, working great so far but I'm still not getting LTE. Think is a problem on their side cause I was getting with Digicel. But at least the dropped calls and no data solved.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2018, 12:59 pm

Getting LTE in Freeport all of a sudden

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2018, 2:45 pm

shady23 wrote:I did the port to Bmobile on Monday, working great so far but I'm still not getting LTE. Think is a problem on their side cause I was getting with Digicel. But at least the dropped calls and no data solved.
Had that problem...call and let them know u not getting LTE and the person standing next to you is getting LTE

Also make sure apn is "bmobile" and not the old "bconnected"

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2018, 2:46 pm

What's the average LTE speed for bmobile?

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2018, 2:48 pm

Swisha wrote:right now I thinking of switching to bmobile
It will be the best ting u ever did

Even in their none LTE area on 3g I streaming buffer free whole movies ..haven't seen the Edge icon since

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2018, 2:53 pm

One of the reasons I'm still with Digicel is that they seem to be more forward thinking than bmobile.

They have proper apps for checking your balances, topping up etc.

There's also additional perks like the free music subscription and the Play Go app.

You can even win Amazon gift cards now and then just for topping up.

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2018, 3:11 pm

Unlimited everything BMO bro lol

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » July 20th, 2018, 3:36 pm

It's how I have to go into a particular store to get this new LTE SIM because going into any digicel outlet they don't but a digicel representative could jump in his car for me to sign up on post paid.

Come nah man a few months ago they announce the new LTE was the same ting stores conveniently located near where I work does not have the sim keep say check back tomorrow

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 20th, 2018, 3:47 pm

^^ Went in the small branch they have inside Standards in Grand Bazaar. They had LTE sims there.

Postby noshownogo » July 20th, 2018, 4:00 pm

Seeing on avg 30Mbps down and 10 up on Digi LTE in North Western Trinidad.

Swisha

Digicel LTE

Postby Swisha » July 20th, 2018, 4:06 pm

Getting around the same with speedtest in Freeport.

When I used fast.com I got around 50Mbps down

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » July 23rd, 2018, 5:35 pm

Can someone explain how to get LTE working on Digicel? Do I have to go PostPaid, does it work with PrePaid. Is there an APN to use for LTE?

Yes I have an LTE sim as the attendant at Digicel said I don't need to change it. My phone is also LTE capable [LTE band 1(2100), 3(1800), 5(850), 7(2600), 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300), 41(2500)]

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 23rd, 2018, 5:37 pm

The apn is "web"

Postby adnj » July 23rd, 2018, 5:44 pm

death365 wrote:According to this screen shot it's band 2 - 1900
Screenshot_20180622-135308_LTE%20Discovery.jpeg
yudhistre wrote:Can someone explain how to get LTE working on Digicel? Do I have to go PostPaid, does it work with PrePaid. Is there an APN to use for LTE?

Yes I have an LTE sim as the attendant at Digicel said I don't need to change it. My phone is also LTE capable [LTE band 1(2100), 3(1800), 5(850), 7(2600), 38(2600), 39(1900), 40(2300), 41(2500)]
I have not been able to connect to LTE with my test equipment. No one that I spoke to at Digicel ever gave me a straight answer about the LTE band that Digicel uses.

Death365 says that it's Band 2 (1900) and I don't have a reason to doubt it.

You may not be compatible with Digicel LTE.

https://support-tt.digicelgroup.com/hc/en-us/articles/360007804791-Switch-to-LTE-on-your-handset#Android
Last edited by adnj on July 23rd, 2018, 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nick639v2

Digicel LTE

Postby nick639v2 » July 23rd, 2018, 6:08 pm

Haven't seen anyone with an iPhone getting LTE with digicel yet.. can anyone confirm they have it on ios??

Still ent reach to get mine done because the store i went to in Freeport say i have to give them my puk code or some... How d fk i suppose to find that out after like 10 years

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 23rd, 2018, 6:20 pm

I posted a screenshot of LTE speeds on my iPhone above

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 23rd, 2018, 7:53 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Haven't seen anyone with an iPhone getting LTE with digicel yet.. can anyone confirm they have it on ios??

Still ent reach to get mine done because the store i went to in Freeport say i have to give them my puk code or some... How d fk i suppose to find that out after like 10 years

Yeah I was getting with my 6. Ironically the day I started getting LTE with digi, I ported across the bmobile, and now I not getting any at all. FML.

Oh well at least all the dropped calls and no data shite stop.

death365

Postby death365 » July 24th, 2018, 11:25 am

adnj wrote:
death365 wrote:According to this screen shot it's band 2 - 1900
SmartSelect_20180712-062659_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg
yudhistre wrote:Can someone explain how to get LTE working on Digicel? Do I have to go PostPaid, does it work with PrePaid. Is there an APN to use for LTE?

I have not been able to connect to LTE with my test equipment. No one that I spoke to at Digicel ever gave me a straight answer about the LTE band that Digicel uses.

Death365 says that it's Band 2 (1900) and I don't have a reason to doubt it.

You may not be compatible with Digicel LTE.

https://support-tt.digicelgroup.com/hc/en-us/articles/360007804791-Switch-to-LTE-on-your-handset#Android
This is what digi website have as d bands. Bands 17 and 2
SmartSelect_20180712-062659_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 24th, 2018, 12:36 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Haven't seen anyone with an iPhone getting LTE with digicel yet.. can anyone confirm they have it on ios??

I have had it on my 7 plus for a week now...works pretty well.