*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Zim

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Zim » February 3rd, 2018, 1:32 am

You mean technichian? If so I can put u on to mine. What model u got? Weird issue btw

Postby meccalli » February 3rd, 2018, 8:16 am

badang wrote:Anyone can direct me to an electrician? Problem onkyo 7.1 surround sound system turns on (lights etc) however only starts to produce sound whether in radio mode, aux or any other input after a while. It started to play after about 5 mins at the beginning when the problem was discovered but now it plays after an hour or when it feels to. Feel free to pm contact number. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Try switching the input, eq or sound modes or switching the speaker on/off switch on or off and see if the sound stutters in between, also if you raise volume to max you may hear sound faintly. It may be something similar to my issue with the speaker relays.

Postby stev » February 3rd, 2018, 12:12 pm

hey guys, I'm trying to make a DIY projector screen (7 feet x 6 feet).

any ideas where i can find some material for the screen itself? I wanna avoid using basic cloth because of wrinkles. lol

I already got the brackets and rod for making it retractable but not sure what material to get for the screen.

any advice will be appreciated.

Electronic Interiors Ltd

Postby Electronic Interiors Ltd » February 3rd, 2018, 1:13 pm

Conrad wrote:Anywhere locally sells quality bookshelf speakers?

Also, banana terminals? I need to buy some quality RCA jacks as well (2 females and a long m/m).

Thinking to check DetourTech/RadioShak after work.

We do have Bookshelf speakers available from Bowers & Wilkins, please call us at 222-0724 for more info.

Postby Gladiator » February 3rd, 2018, 2:17 pm

stev wrote:hey guys, I'm trying to make a DIY projector screen (7 feet x 6 feet).

any ideas where i can find some material for the screen itself? I wanna avoid using basic cloth because of wrinkles. lol

I already got the brackets and rod for making it retractable but not sure what material to get for the screen.

Hey... i have screen material. I bought it from Carl's Place online and didn't use it. PM me if you want it to buy.

Postby rollingstock » February 4th, 2018, 3:51 am

badang wrote:Anyone can direct me to an electrician? Problem onkyo 7.1 surround sound system turns on (lights etc) however only starts to produce sound whether in radio mode, aux or any other input after a while. It started to play after about 5 mins at the beginning when the problem was discovered but now it plays after an hour or when it feels to. Feel free to pm contact number. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Most likely cold solder problem with the chip.
If you're diy, you can try to re-flow it with a heat gun or good hair dryer.

Postby stev » February 4th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Gladiator wrote:
stev wrote:hey guys, I'm trying to make a DIY projector screen (7 feet x 6 feet).

Hey... i have screen material. I bought it from Carl's Place online and didn't use it. PM me if you want it to buy.

I wish i saw this earlier...i got some white canvas material from a cloth store in Gulf City yesterday.

thanks again though.

Postby Gladiator » February 4th, 2018, 10:43 pm

stev wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

I wish i saw this earlier...i got some white canvas material from a cloth store in Gulf City yesterday.

thanks again though.
OK... If the canvas does not work out you can check me. Just recovering the cost so I letting it go for small change.

Postby Morpheus » February 4th, 2018, 11:04 pm

eBay...

Starting to "dig up" in some house music again Image

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 5th, 2018, 12:03 pm

Zim wrote:

Also, banana terminals? I need to buy some quality RCA jacks as well (2 females and a long m/m).

Quite a few places. Expect to pay a premium. I have 2 pairs to sell now. 1 pair Boston Acoustics CR6 & 1 pair Polk Audio R15. The Polk Audio tweeters were shot so I bougbt and replaced them with OEM units (very expensive).

See here: http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... 4#p9686844

Nothing is wrong with anything but due to circumstances beyond my control, I'm forced to downsize my system. Prices are negotiable and I personally guarantee items not DOA.

Hope to hear from you & cheers! 8)

Thanks for your post.

Already ordered something but I'll consider.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 5th, 2018, 12:05 pm

Electronic Interiors Ltd wrote:

We do have Bookshelf speakers available from Bowers & Wilkins, please call us at 222-0724 for more info.

Thanks for your response.

If the HSU setup doesn't come through I'll give you a call.

p.s. I tried calling you just now, no answer.

Looking for bookshelf speaker stands, black.
Last edited by Conrad on April 18th, 2019, 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 5th, 2018, 12:13 pm

I’m hoping to collect my HSU VTF-3 MK5 later this week. Also purchased some of their old bookshelf speakers online. Hopefully they arrive soon.

Any recommendations of where to get bookshelf stands?

Zim

Postby Zim » February 7th, 2018, 9:22 am

You're welcome. What bookshelves u got? Damn. I wish u had seen my post before. Congrats on the purchase nonetheless. Looks like I hadda keep my stuff.

Soeaker stands: eBay or Amazon or u can have them custom made. I have mine on my yv stand now. Looks like they will be there definitely.

Good find Morpheus. Congrats. I have something more rare in transit. Will share momentarily.

I thought you were looking for an amp, my bad
Last edited by Zim on February 7th, 2018, 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » February 7th, 2018, 10:03 am

Yeah have an amp coming in as well. Ordered it before you posted the link to your stuff

Zim

Postby Zim » February 7th, 2018, 10:23 am

Lol @ emoji.
Oh shoot. I had those items long time now actually. Well. I go hadda keep them

Postby Morpheus » February 17th, 2018, 10:16 pm

More old school eBay items. Really paid for the amp. Guy threw in the tape player and the receiver for free. I'll be using the Onkyo receiver in the background though (for the HDMI etc).

Now to get some speakers

Ignore the mess. Testing items...
IMG_20180217_171509.jpg

Postby meccalli » February 18th, 2018, 7:29 am

Nice, tapedeck looks sweet.

Zim

Postby Zim » February 18th, 2018, 10:26 am

Good haul. I have bookshelf speakers to sprang out if yuh interested. I have a couple "new" additions to the "family" if u guys wanna have a look see....

Zim

Postby Zim » February 18th, 2018, 10:42 am

Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg
Webp.net-resizeimage.jpg (227.62 KiB) Viewed 5051 times

Zim

Postby Zim » February 18th, 2018, 10:55 am

Btw Morpheus, u selling d tape deck?

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2018, 3:17 pm

tempted to pull the trigger on this so bad!!
we had the identical trio while growing up
20180218_151509.jpg

Postby Morpheus » February 18th, 2018, 4:40 pm

Zim wrote:Btw Morpheus, u selling d tape deck?
Nah holding on to that one

Postby Morpheus » February 18th, 2018, 4:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:tempted to pull the trigger on this so bad!!
we had the identical trio while growing up
20180218_151509.jpg
Good stuff there. That even more old school that my stuff

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » February 18th, 2018, 10:55 pm

Why you all so intrested in old school tech fellas ? Is it that these analog units sound warmer or better than today's newer, efficenter, lighter digital sets ?

Zim

Postby Zim » February 19th, 2018, 6:09 am

Morpheus wrote:
Zim wrote:Btw Morpheus, u selling d tape deck?
Nah holding on to that one
mine even more rare eh so doh feel to nice lmao.
Ok cool. Remember to clean the heads, capstan and pinch roller/s. Possible u may need to demagnetize the head/s & adjust the azimuth.

steverandolph wrote:Why you all so intrested in old school tech fellas ? Is it that these analog units sound warmer or better than today's newer, efficenter, lighter digital sets ?

It depends on which gear. There was crappy low end stuff in that era also. What is really great about these units is that they're very easily repaired as compared to modern ones. Not to mention they last hella lot longer.

X_Factor wrote:tempted to pull the trigger on this so bad!!
we had the identical trio while growing up20180218_151509.jpg

Lucky to have had that.
If u decide to buy, make sure u have a good money set aside for repairs / servicing.

I'd advise against the tape deck tho.
See to get 1 with full logic controls, at least 2 heads, various biasing for different tapes and Dolby B & C (at least). Unless u just buying to have it

Zim

Postby Zim » February 19th, 2018, 6:11 am

Oh I forgot to mention the belts will most likely need replacing :)

Postby X_Factor » February 19th, 2018, 6:54 am

wont really be using the tape player, it would just be there to complete the set
the guy doesnt seem to want to negotiate on the set price of 480usd plus shipping to miami

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 19th, 2018, 12:22 pm

Morpheus wrote:More old school eBay items. Really paid for the amp. Guy threw in the tape player and the receiver for free. I'll be using the Onkyo receiver in the background though (for the HDMI etc).

Now to get some speakers

Ignore the mess. Testing items... IMG_20180217_171509.jpg

Nice haul!

I may have to repair my Yamaha receiver.
The sound (amp?) is cutting out randomly (video keeps on fine).

The HSU setup sounds gooooooud...even in near field.

Zim

Postby Zim » February 19th, 2018, 12:25 pm

U can try reselling the tape deck on the Bay....
$480 is harsh. You can get better components that will blow those out the water for way less $. I not trying to get you to buy my gear but have a link above with my gear for sale. Non of those items were even close to the price he wants for the set. I can assure u, much better quality.

Ppl on eBay with those "vintage" gear are way ridiculous now. Your money, your choice.

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2018, 12:41 pm

^^LoL yeah some of them really ridiculous.
I paid US$120 for mine

US$89 for the equalizer from another seller.

US$480 is a hell of a lot.