Anyone ever shipped a Bicycle with a Skybox? if so what price?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2017, 8:24 pm

For a regular sized adult bike. Looking to buy a bike on Amazon

My previous MTB was stolen last week Monday. They came with bolt cutters for the bike in the garage.

Want to get this exact bike it's a hybrid

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N00B6OL/re ... rd_w=RJ4QJ

olton

Re: Anyone ever shipped a Bicycle with a Skybox? if so what price?

Postby olton » November 5th, 2017, 8:32 pm

Check seaboxtt.com

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2017, 8:36 pm

olton wrote:Check seaboxtt.com

hmm was really looking for someone who has shipped a bike via a regular skybox so I could get an average price of how much the shipping and vat would be. Cause I don't have the dimensions of the box, someone who has shipped a bike already would have the total price of shipping.

I would prefer to continue to use transexpress skybox as I have been using them for years now and never an issue. Also a bike is fragile so I want it quick through the air.

Also I assume Bikes have no duty? only vat?

Postby Dave » November 5th, 2017, 8:40 pm

I did last two years
Believe was about 80us
Total was about 1500tt which was cheaper still than what was available locally. When buying my next one then there is Seabox.

Postby gastly369 » November 5th, 2017, 8:41 pm

Buy this instead nah bai
Go make spotter ched
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01J7USU ... th=1&psc=1

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2017, 8:46 pm

Dave wrote:I did last two years
Believe was about 80us
Total was about 1500tt which was cheaper still than what was available locally. When buying my next one then there is Seabox.

Thanks but $80 US seems on the very cheap side I guess that bikes dont come in big boxes? I shipped 24 inch monitors that cost $70 US so $80 seems very cheap for something big and heavy as a bike. This means the shipping is $550 TT and is nearly $1000 in VAT? really? or do you have to pay Duty on bikes also?

Did you send an invoice and if so what kind of bike was it?

Postby Dave » November 5th, 2017, 8:54 pm

Was a simple 24". Was not charged duty I think as was classed as sporting good. Bike was 80-90usd and was shipped in a box.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 5th, 2017, 9:29 pm

Dave wrote:Was a simple 24". Was not charged duty I think as was classed as sporting good. Bike was 80-90usd and was shipped in a box.

thank you

Postby ismithx » November 5th, 2017, 10:51 pm

or, go geronimo's and get a decent used bike. that bike you wanna buy WAY too expensive for its features.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 12:41 am

ismithx wrote:or, go geronimo's and get a decent used bike. that bike you wanna buy WAY too expensive for its features.

Just realized on this website

http://www.customs.gov.tt/importing/duty-calculator

you paying VAT AND DUTY on the bike. And even if you click gift option to prevent Amazon from sending a invoice they will pack the bike box in another bigger box just to put the gift receipt so you will end up paying another huge price ontop of that shipping. And who is to say that customs won't charge tax on their estimate of a $1000 USD bike? so noway to get around that.

FAAAAWK that sh!t yes go hadda buy a bike down here.

And here I thought the government of this country was trying to promote health?

Postby ismithx » November 6th, 2017, 9:41 am

lol. I would rather buy large items down here to avoid shipping and customs. I got a 21 speed trek hardtail mountain bike at Geronimo's for $1800 (used) two years ago. Still in excellent condition, just to give you an idea that it is feasible to go local.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2017, 10:09 am

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 1:55 pm

Too bad I can't get what I want locally, wanted a hybrid they don't have down here nobody has in stock ever

I was also considering this its $500 on Amazon

Postby ismithx » November 6th, 2017, 2:51 pm

question.... why a hybrid? what you looking to do with it?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Why are these bicycles so expensive....there are lots of bicycles available locally at lot cheaper than these....Anyways...if purchasing online...I believe the bike would come u assembled in a box so shipping charges in terms of airfreight should not be too much...

Btw what does a hybrid bicycle do.....what makes it a hybrid..

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2017, 4:04 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:

electric motor assist.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 4:33 pm

^^ Actually no those electric motors are called E-Bikes, when it comes to bikes a Hybrid bike is actually a cross between a roadbike and a mountain bike.

If you look at the first picture posted of the blue diamond back that is a pavement city Hybrid bike, it uses mountain bike frame, handle etc. However it uses a roadbike fork and a tire that has grips for asphalt, it is wide enough to be more durable and strong for pavements etc something a roadbike does not have, yet at the same time it is NOT wide enough to be a mountain bike tire, so this tire rolls much better on Asphalt. It also comes with tons of reflective parts that lights up when cars are approaching. Its the perfect bike for commuting.

Mountain bike tires are fatter and has stubby grips which makes it dangerous for wet asphalt, and it is wide that it kinda slows you down.

Then there is the second pics I posted of the pure cycle brand, those are a flat bar roadbike hybrid, it has handles of a mountain bike but frame and tires and rims of an actual roadbike. It is not a true hybrid but its more comfortable and practical than a drop bar roadbike for doing things such as buying food, grocery etc which is what I use my bike for. Its also super light for me to carry up the stairs compared to a mountain bike. Not leaving it in the garage since they stole my last bike.

In any event these bikes are way too expensive to buy online only due to shipping and Duty I had no idea they charged DUTY on bikes that is so ridiculous, I went into Bike Inn Tunapuna today and i saw they have Fuji Nevada 1.9 mountain bikes. So honestly I might just buy this, its a nice bike with matte black finish and disk brakes. I think for my short commuting to do stuff this should work fine its $3000 TT though its 6 pounds heavier than the hybrid but small thing I guess.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2017, 6:40 pm

What kinda job up do op.....postman

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2017, 7:53 pm

sheit, my bad.
dunno why I thought of hybrid as e-bike. hybrid cars prolly on meh mind lol

THat's a nice fuji for the price.
If you're doing a lot of distance, 50+ kms, the cable disk brakes will give you serious finger/grip fatigue.
Hydraulic disks are awesome for this. For this kind of distance, look at some gloves as well.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 8:47 pm

^^ is really just for my personal use a bike is fun to ride to go by the junction to get doubles or grocery to get a couple bags of stuff, etc no issues finding parking etc love to ride up centenno here I have my coconut farm land here aswell its just sweet to ride is all I can say, plus I don't have a car these days anyways so the bike gets me where I want to go quite easily.

Well thanks anyways all I will decide by next week what I will do, still love the look of that bike on Amazon the flat bar road pure cycle so I go decide.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2017, 9:12 pm

Bikes are a big seller for Xmas....mAybe if u hang on a bit till xmas gets closer u might get some sale prices....u never know....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 11:12 pm

^ Yeah good point

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 7th, 2017, 12:04 am

Ed
another thing is thanks giving sale in nov
Don't waste money on sky shipping sea box shipping is less than 1/2 the price once its over 25 pounds
and it takes about 2 weeks
and sea shipping is even cheaper

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 7th, 2017, 12:11 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:

electric motor assist.

Bit that bike Ed posted is not a hybrid . that have no battery pack

blacklight

Postby blacklight » November 7th, 2017, 5:15 am

I may be selling my matte grey 21” 2017 Fuji Nevada 1.4 MTB if you interested ....hydraulic brakes and lockout fork.

Postby ismithx » November 7th, 2017, 7:16 am

To be honest ED, don't waste your time trying to get a hybrid like that.
1. Those are not road bike wheels or gearing on the bike. It will be slow as a mountain bike. It may have slick tyres which reduce rolling resistance, but don't necessarily give you more speed or grip on wet road.

2. If you looking for speed at the cheap pay attention to the gearing (more teeth in front is better), and the sidewall of the tyres. Tyres that have more sidewall flex kill the power you can actually apply to the ground. You can have a slick Tyre with weak sidewalls and it will be slower than an off-road Tyre with good stiff sidewalls.

3. A hardtail mountain bike should be fine for your purposes, I have one and the preload on the front suspension is set very high so the bike moves more 'sporty'.

Again, take my advice and check Geronimo's they sell decent used bikes at a good price. From there you can start swapping out components and make it into the ride you want.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 7th, 2017, 10:06 am

^ Alright thanks.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » November 7th, 2017, 11:50 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Bikes are a big seller for Xmas....mAybe if u hang on a bit till xmas gets closer u might get some sale prices....u never know....

Most top quality bike price may not drop. Courts have some okish for $1800

Postby ismithx » November 7th, 2017, 11:56 am

TurboSingh12 wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:Bikes are a big seller for Xmas....mAybe if u hang on a bit till xmas gets closer u might get some sale prices....u never know....

if is 1800 new it's probably not very good quality.

I was gonna go that way but glad I didn't. better to get a proper used bike for that price

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 7th, 2017, 5:08 pm

ismithx wrote:
TurboSingh12 wrote:

if is 1800 new it's probably not very good quality.

I was gonna go that way but glad I didn't. better to get a proper used bike for that price

Totally 100% agree. That bike is not gonna last you any time atall.

X2 for Geronimo's