Re: Hydroponics/Aquaponics

Postby nos_specialist » April 26th, 2017, 7:25 pm

whatsapp me at 388-7700

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2017, 9:03 am

Ah trying some things home. Trust me, saw some failures before I even reach here. Key is to keep it simple and doh overthink...
20170429_162647.jpg
20170429_162641.jpg
20170429_162618.jpg

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 2nd, 2017, 9:52 am

Adoni what are you trying to achieve? Put six patchoi in the half oil container. Put three in the buckets. They will grow straighter and taste better as the leaves catches less sunlight. Are you using manure in your soil mix? What were some of the issues you had before?

You are on with the red buckets. If those are lettuce in the 4" PVC pipe, the pipes can be as close as 12".

And for your health sake, move the plants away from that tail pipe as you will eat some smog ...........

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2017, 10:28 am

Cool mon, will try putting closer to achieve them growing straighter. Yes, I did notice some closer together were really greener. I am using coco peat and sharp sand mixture. I was using the Blaukorn formula from the Ministry of Food Production website. Change up to a NPK fertilizer from Carlsen Chemicals. Working on getting some more pipes.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 2nd, 2017, 10:52 am

Home gardening bro? Put more Patchoi in the containers. What were some of the problems?

If that is lettuce, it is Okay as they need more space. The 4" PVC pipe can be closer for lettuce at 12" vertically.

Do not have your tailpipe emitting smog on your plants ........... Health first bro.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 2nd, 2017, 11:10 am

^^Trying meh hand. Taking front before the layoff.... Yuh know how things going on now in sweet T&T...

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2017, 7:16 pm

timelapse wrote:My bronze lettuce growing for about 6 weeks but they very small in size.The seed pack said they were 6 week lettuce.they looking healthy, but i think that some of the leaves at the bottom melting.Anything I could be doing wrong?

How do the roots look? White, bbrown black?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 5th, 2017, 8:47 am

Any recommendation for ph down?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 7th, 2017, 10:36 pm

ADONI wrote:Any recommendation for ph down?

Phosphoric acid (liquid). Check Plantdoctortt or cal nos-spec @388 7700.

baby hulk

Postby baby hulk » May 9th, 2017, 12:54 pm

HSA

Postby HSA » May 9th, 2017, 1:14 pm

timelapse wrote:My bronze lettuce growing for about 6 weeks but they very small in size.The seed pack said they were 6 week lettuce.they looking healthy, but i think that some of the leaves at the bottom melting.Anything I could be doing wrong?

bronze usually takes about 4 weeks from about 3 inch seedlings. the small size could be insufficient watering and nutrients.... the bad leaves below are normal but you need to check if there are spots or any squiggly lines...

spots are a fungus and can be treated with a weekly or bi weekly spraying of serenade or bellis.. whatever the bottle recommends

squiggly lines are caused by stink bugs ( aphids) and a pesticide should be used. neem x is a bio pesticide while trebon could also be used. keep in mind the pre harvest interval before spraying

before planting, a fungicide and pesticide should be sprayed as the fungus comes from the soil. make sure your surroundings are clear of tall grass and weeds as they attract bugs (aphids etc.)

my bronze at 4 1/2 to 5 weeks are approx 10 - 12 inches in width with about 5 layers of leaves... will post pics later if u need.

call me 2983606. i also grow bronze

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 9th, 2017, 2:51 pm

What brand of seeds are you planting? In your aquaponic system the way the plant get its nutrient and grow is slightly different from bronze grown in the soil. What variety of fish are you growing? If you interested PM me so I can direct you to an aquaponic operation.

Also subscribe to friendly aquaponics of Hawaii as they have great resources and newsletters on Aquaponics .........

Postby DVSTT » May 30th, 2017, 12:50 pm

Kale and Lettuce growing nicely after a week.
What else will grow on a raft system ?
5bf2bfde-2282-45a7-872e-626feb58411f.jpg

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 30th, 2017, 2:48 pm

Patchoi, different varieties of lettuce... basically crops that dont suffer from Root Rot

Postby DVSTT » May 30th, 2017, 9:18 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Patchoi, different varieties of lettuce... basically crops that dont suffer from Root Rot

was gonna stick in chive and bandana this weekend.

Postby timelapse » May 31st, 2017, 9:25 am

Thanks guys.Didn't get a chance to respond as I was off the grid for a while.NOS Specialist helped me out a bit, thanks man.My problem was twofold:
Not enough fish and
Chives were sucking out the nitrates.
Once those were fixed, they grew quickly.I am on my second batch of lettuce now,plants are about a week and a half old

insaneindian

Postby insaneindian » June 5th, 2017, 11:33 am

Guys, can someone direct me as to where i can get seedlings for a hydroponics system??
I'm looking at tomato and maybe lettuce.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 5th, 2017, 12:57 pm

insaneindian wrote:Guys, can someone direct me as to where i can get seedlings for a hydroponics system??
I'm looking at tomato and maybe lettuce.

Caribbean Chem @638 GROW, or nos-specialist @388 7700

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 5th, 2017, 1:30 pm

Yea call or whatsapp me i have a link for you

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 5th, 2017, 1:31 pm

timelapse wrote:Thanks guys.Didn't get a chance to respond as I was off the grid for a while.NOS Specialist helped me out a bit, thanks man.My problem was twofold:
Not enough fish and
Chives were sucking out the nitrates.
Once those were fixed, they grew quickly.I am on my second batch of lettuce now,plants are about a week and a half old

Nice man..

Postby timelapse » June 8th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Update...I was telling NOS Specialist that I was experimenting in ornamental plants as well.I planted a few Chrysanthemums to grow from cuttings.Lovely root growth.The only issue I have found is that I needed to add a bit of phosphorus when I transferred them to dirt in flowerpots

kent

Postby kent » July 5th, 2017, 5:59 pm

Does anyone know where I can get good quality gravel for my aquaponic grow bed? I live in the east and got some but too much sharp sand in between.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » July 6th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Hydroponics offer a lot of advantages. Of the six types, NFT in Trinidad appears to be one of the more popular ones. If you are interested, advise and I can guide you. Been Busy at work so my NFT system is parked up.

The plumbing, maintenance, supply houses, algae control, heat mitigation, shade house, marketing, etc.

Need to get off my A@se and get the thing going. I do not buy patchoi, because I am not sure about water quality. When I have, I cook it with as much variety as I can think of. I sure as hell feel healthier.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » October 16th, 2017, 2:36 pm

Dude2014, I would like some assistance with starting a hydrophonic system. May I pm you with some questions.
Thanks.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » October 17th, 2017, 9:56 am

I have a link for Lettuce and patchoi seedling. Inbox who interested.

jsali

Postby jsali » November 18th, 2017, 11:35 am

Hey folks,

Might seem like a dumb question but, is this safe to ship via air freight?

Will I find this locally? Or even a good alternative..

Thanks

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 18th, 2017, 5:02 pm

Plantdoctors , Esperanza village

On a side note I looking for this tread long time lol

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 18th, 2017, 5:05 pm

What u planing to growing ?

jsali

Postby jsali » November 18th, 2017, 11:16 pm

Thanks. I keep hearing and reading about them. Think I'll give them a visit soon..

For starters I'm gonna try out some jar hydroponics. Simple seasonings for now. Where I live, pests are a problem and I want to avoid using pesticides.

My aim is to eliminate the use of dirt to see if the pest problem persists.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » November 20th, 2017, 12:27 pm

^ Like you and i watching the same YouTube videos and starting off with same plan..

If you find another alternative for the chemicals, let me know, please.