Hydroponics/Aquaponics

Sanctifier

Re: Hydroponics/Aquaponics

Postby Sanctifier » June 14th, 2011, 4:23 am

jramsarran wrote:....oh lawd....^^^^ hoss i just typed out a really longggg reply.
like i wrote an essay and when i hit "Submit" turns out i got logged out of tuner!... lost the whole thing.

anyways i not going through that again rite now na. i'll try to give you a call if i get some time tomorrow!! :S
^ ^ ^ Looking forward to your call later. Thanks.

BTW since the only 'poster' with experience AND advanced training seems to be you... other newbies like myself will benefit too... Maybe next time, write in MS Word... and copy & paste into forum reply box. At least you won't loose your work.

My $0.02¢

Postby Chimera » June 14th, 2011, 11:43 am

jramsarran wrote:^^^yea i understand..
but i had to ask where the info coming from and get an idea of how much research was done first...u don't expect me to jus blurt out a bunch of info nobody understands.

first to begin with...the whole "green house" thing was designed for temperate regions and not the tropics.
hence the heat/ temperature problem and Relative Humidity as well.
if the "model" shown is only 6' off the ground...this only gonna be like 10 times worst.
<<even with saran netting>> or the ever famous "so called" insect proof mesh.
also...the shape of the model would make it difficult to manage plants inside...basic agronomic practices like weed control, spraying of pesticides, fertilizing etc. will be very limited.
the type of crops suitable for models that are wayyy higher than that are limited to leafy vegetables or cover crops that remain low on the ground.
but what i would really advise, is special or exotic crops <<ofcourse you will have to source a market>> but it makes no sense planting something that is commonly grown locally in high quantities. it is impossible to compete with farmers outside using conventional methods.

why would someone invest extra money to grow something that can be grown under normal conditions.

excessive heat in these models can cause flowers of certain plants to become sterile..the issue of pollination is a completely different story.

managing the soil or whatever medium will also be a challenge.

the materials used soo far <pvc> is not as sturdy as metal pipes, therefore may prove to be a little problem in high winds

this is just a few minor issues.

Please note that i am not discouraging you. the ppl who supply green houses locally are veryy good at marketing and they make everything sound soo nice and profitable.

just do enough research before jumping in with both feet.
YOU DON'T HAVE TO BELIEVE ME....
i would suggest though, that after assessing all the risks, you set up only 1 of these shed as a trial. depending on how successful you are then you should use the extra material to set up additional models.

just my humble opinion from the little bit of experience gained as a Supervisor of a Drip Irrigated Green House/ Shade House. i also do part-time farming.

1) I really building the "greenhouse" to keep pests,the village pipers and my dogs out
2) no pesticides, no soil
3) I have no intention to compete with anyone. This is just a small sparetime test project.whatever grows is for my use and to give away.
4) Pvc pipe is secured with steel rods and clamps. Will see how it stands up to high winds. To use metal pipes would carry up costs a lot and it wouldn't be temporary.

Postby rfari » July 28th, 2011, 12:13 pm

i'm experimenting with a deep water, closed system with homemade nutes. just some pics of progress so far.
fibrous roots and rhizome shown. the purpose for the sock was to place the hose into it allow the nutes to be evenly distributed around trunk above the rhizome. didnt work out too well as after one week the roots grew through it. to change out into a perforated tube with a flow valve at end.

entire plant and system. the leaves tend to fold like this when the temperature is warm. don't understand why as yet but its maybe to slow transpiration. currently, there are 3 plants in the system (main plant and 2 side plants). there is a 4th sucker that is coming thru.

these banana plants where all the same height when planted 2 1/2 months ago. the idea was to have these as a control for the hydro setup but something went wrong along the lines. was advised to add mulch to the base and to cut back on the plant salts. will see how this goes.

Postby Rooki3 » September 11th, 2011, 1:26 pm

:bump:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » August 29th, 2012, 10:52 am

Anyone can point me into the direction of any large local Aquaponics farms that use Talapia and Lettuce ?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 30th, 2012, 1:02 am

^ ^ ^ small size---> Mark Webster - Maracas, St. Joseph.

According to Uni. of Virgin Islands, you need 5,300 sq. ft. to duplicate it.
Full details and pic on page 2.

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2012, 8:43 pm

visited a aquaponic setup yesterday behind st mary's in carapichaima

2500 tilipia in a above ground concrete tank

separate half tanks when the fish get bigger

the nutrient rich water from the fish tank being filtered for solids then sent to circulate throughout the lettuce (well they didn't completely build this part yet..its a work in progress)
and then back to the fish tank

i took some pics on my phone, will post em up later

its more or less a work in progress but the guy seems to know what hes doing

hes importing pond liner for the lettuce beds from miami, he had a blower to pump oxygen into the tilipia tank

he also had over 80 rabbit hutches with ducks underneath them

said you never feed the ducks, they eat what the rabbit droppings.

Postby DVSTT » September 2nd, 2012, 9:28 pm

4kin4kar wrote:My system at home

This is really cool! Simple yet effective!

Exclay TT

Postby Exclay TT » June 26th, 2013, 6:55 am

Anybody interested in some expanded clay/LECA?
Got some 50L bags @$350
Free delivery for a limited time.
Limited stock

. : Juicy J : .

Postby . : Juicy J : . » June 29th, 2013, 10:05 am

Where to get hydro nutrients locally?

jackal

Postby jackal » June 10th, 2015, 8:13 pm

Any more interest in Hydroponics/Aquaponics.

Kinda want to do some stuff in this field, very little information on the topic locally.

jackal

Postby jackal » June 15th, 2015, 8:09 pm

Trying to revive a thread hear!

Exclay TT

Postby Exclay TT » June 17th, 2015, 5:28 pm

*here

good thing yuh dont need local information to start, there are lots of online resources.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 17th, 2015, 10:36 pm

You can start here---> Backyard hobby links:

Link--> Backyard Aquaponics.

Link--> Aquaponics Nation.

Link--> Aquaponics Australia - Videos.

Small commercial aquaponic production unit:
I just replaced the pic and updated the new link for The University of the Virgin Islands on the previous page...
This is one of the best sources of data available and can be used to help to prepare a Business Plan for the ADB.
Sanctifier wrote:The current status of Mark Webster's farm (Pg 2) is unknown. AFAIK he went out of business. :(

Advanced Aquaculture:
Link--> Most Downloaded Aquacultural Engineering Articles.

My Image

jackal

Postby jackal » June 19th, 2015, 11:45 pm

Great sites, started looking at a few already.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm

Bumping for de new year.Work on my aquaponics setup now in progress after so long.

jackal

Postby jackal » February 19th, 2016, 6:51 pm

Nice!

Let me know how it progressing.

Postby supercharged turbo » February 19th, 2016, 10:07 pm

Will do.I think they should merge this thread with the hydroponics thread.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » July 10th, 2016, 9:50 pm

Interesting posts and questions.Though I have experience with greenhouse and hydroponics previously, there is hardly anywhere you can get thorough info locally, eg fertilier, supplies, support and the list goes on.
I had to set up a small system to engineer the problems out as I intend to do a bigger system with a greenhouse.

if you are interested, you can post your issues and I can help.

Remember things such as the sun (heat), rainfall, pests, etc. can be mitigated by a greenhouse with plastic. Also bear in mind that shade netting sold locally is really geared towards horticulture i.e. 50 to 70% of the sun is blocked out. What you want is 20 to 30% shade cloth or fabric rated for vegetable production. The good Doctor said goggle it. I follow his advise.

Someone spoke about companies selling greenhouse. The success can be measured by how many are in-operational. You probably know more about this than their salespersons. Let me give you a small example. Have you seen a plant grown inside a building and its cousin growing outside in the sun? Which one does better inside/outside and vice-versa? This is totally doable.

Here is to success and making that needed extra income ..............

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » July 11th, 2016, 6:46 am

Thanks allot bro, I hope someone takes up the offer!!

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » July 31st, 2016, 12:35 pm

Morning morning, anyone could advise me on the process to visit pcs nitrogen model farm??

link

Postby link » July 31st, 2016, 9:03 pm

go to the model farm site & talk to the person in charge wrt your interests.
U can also call PCS Nitrogen & make arngmnts
Rgds

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » August 1st, 2016, 6:30 pm

Thanks bro!

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 6th, 2016, 10:02 pm

Yeah bros. In addition to PCS Nitrogen, there is the Farmers' Training Center, Centeno.
Also there are a lot of resources locally, depending on what you want to do/know. Just ask.
For me Agri is the new thing to get into. Been in it for a long time.......

Imagine crisp lettuce grown in the best way because I/You grew it .......
Tastiest patchoi grown with potable water .......
Celery to cook/juice for the health of it ......
Tomatoes that are filled in the inside when sliced, picked by your very own hand .....
Not the the hollow ones that are imported and taste like cardboard.

This is not a fantasy. Been there, done that.

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » August 7th, 2016, 9:02 am

Thanks man, trying meh hand again. Ah don't have much space barely 3x10 on concrete so I am using blocks on that filled with soil. Did the chive and celery thing with a tomato or two, so ah looking to see to try hydro. More in ah small space kind of thing.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 9th, 2016, 6:51 am

Hey guys if you need Hydroponic and Aquaponic Supplies....

Aria's Aquaponics, check it out on Facebook..or call me at 388-7700

I have, IBC tanks, Barrels, Kegs, Netpots, Uniseals, fish food, seedling trays, PVC Pipe and Fittings, filter nedia etc

https://www.facebook.com/groups/ariasaquaponics/

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 9th, 2016, 6:19 pm

Trinifisher wrote:Thanks man, trying meh hand again. Ah don't have much space barely 3x10 on concrete so I am using blocks on that filled with soil. Did the chive and celery thing with a tomato or two, so ah looking to see to try hydro. More in ah small space kind of thing.

That's the spirit. Growing in soil is very fulfulling. What you have is a grow box and I am glad that you did not let the concrete harden your resolve.
It is different to grow boxes with bagasse, rice hull, etc. I have found that you can have the soil tested and amend same with whatever is missing.
At Centeno there is a soils lab that can do this and make recommendation. They do the Macro elements and PH free, you most likely will have to pay to
get the micro nutrients tested. Dont let that stop you.
A simple trick to amend your PH is to add fine Crushed Blue Limestone chipping. Our limestone is the best as it has calcium carbonate and magnesium.
It is referred as a dolomitic limestone. Imported ones only sometimes have one nutrient at $200 plus a 100lb bag.

Enough for today. Need to avoid an overload ........ nos_specialist post can help with supplies for the hydro.

If you get stuck I can advise.

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » August 9th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Thanks again! Going to de model farm on Tuesday for ah container planting "class".

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » August 16th, 2016, 10:39 pm

Just a small aquaculture update. Radio Heritage 101.7 has an agri programme on Mondays 6pm to 7pm.
Kent Veira was being interviewed on 15.8.2016 on aquaculture.
That's the fellow from Arena. He was invited to come back and speak about aquaponics.
He made some interesting remarks on pond type, feed, super male (i.e. YY technology), other countries into tilipia production.
Hope I know when he is being interviewed about aquaponics.

The guy from St. Mary's Carapichaima is producing lettuce and other crops. He Sells at San Antonio Green Market in Santa Cruz.
Check him out if you have an inclination for aquponics
His recommendation for info is Friendly Aquaponics, Hawaii.

World Food Day is 16th October 2016. The Unied Nation office in POS can provide additional info.
I sometimes organise seedling distribution from my funds amongst the staff. IT is well received.
If you could plant flowers in a pot, you already have the skills to do farming

Well just for the muck of it .......

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » August 17th, 2016, 6:42 am

When to the planting in containers training course yesterday at the model farm. Class was ram out, people standing in the back.

The info was very basic, nothing you could not google yourself but from the questions and interactions it was well received. Like most people forget how to plant. Courses like this is a must if we want to get the country more self sufficient.