Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby nervewrecker » March 11th, 2013, 10:13 pm

where de tuner group?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2013, 10:45 pm

nervewrecker wrote:where de tuner group?
In the Waze app, click the menu icon, click "my Waze" and the click "Groups". Use the search icon to search for "TriniTuner". The TriniTuner group will show - click "join".

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 12th, 2013, 1:05 am

this is another technology that will zoom right past me.....bess I tell my son to organize it on he phone yes...

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 14th, 2013, 4:16 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:this is another technology that will zoom right past me.....bess I tell my son to organize it on he phone yes...

Age of tech bro yuh better get acquainted or else yuh go be ah old fooogie man!!

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 14th, 2013, 4:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Anybody know wat is the situation with roads not on the map?

Cuz this morning i went into some important sideroads (great for avoiding main rd traffic)
But the map didnt show the road
the great thing about Waze isthat you can add a road and the rest of the Waze users wil see it - you need to have certain points and level to add roads though and some sections can be locked - but a quick email or post to Waze admins and they unlock it for you.
You can add your own roads as you drive.

thanks duane, i will look into it
cuz in my area, there is a lotttttt..... of unmapped roads, even where i live, isnt on the map...

i guess i try to build my points and add roads, cuz i dont mind taking a drive on a sunday to add some some roads to the map...

Boy keep dem roads to yourself nah , Thais why it always clear . nobody knows bout dem

Postby *KRONIK* » March 14th, 2013, 6:43 pm

Lol

But it duz be wierd to see that u in the middle of nowhere.... literally....

CBharath

Postby CBharath » March 14th, 2013, 7:10 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

But it duz be wierd to see that u in the middle of nowhere.... literally....

A 4x4 going anywhere

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 19th, 2013, 10:10 am

Is there a way to stop Waze from suggesting the bus route as ah route. Whole morning Waze telling meh to pass there... :x

Postby pete » March 19th, 2013, 10:22 am

I've found that I can considerably reduce battery consumption on my note by switching it to "night" mode only. With the car charger plugged in it actually charges and only drops by about 10% per hour when unplugged. I guess all AMOLED displays should behave this way. I'm not sure about others.

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 19th, 2013, 10:25 am

wheelbarrow wrote:Is there a way to stop Waze from suggesting the bus route as ah route. Whole morning Waze telling meh to pass there... :x

i will take a look at the turn permissions which areas was it telling you to turn onto it? could you do an error report if it does it again

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 19th, 2013, 10:30 am

wheelbarrow wrote:Is there a way to stop Waze from suggesting the bus route as ah route. Whole morning Waze telling meh to pass there... :x

Strange... When I use it while in a maxi it always tells me to get off the bus route. :oops:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 19th, 2013, 10:30 am

It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 19th, 2013, 10:53 am

jm3 wrote:

i will take a look at the turn permissions which areas was it telling you to turn onto it? could you do an error report if it does it again

I was leaving Piarco to head to SBCS Champs Fleurs and it told me to go up orange grove road and den shoot down the bus route.

When I passed orange grove and checked for alternative routes it told me again to go down the bus route.

Ah leaving Champs Fleurs now to go Arima now and it sending back up the bus route. :-?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2013, 11:41 am

idlemind wrote:It may be suggesting the PBR if other Waze users are taking that route.
Every evening Waze wants to send me down Charlotte Street or another mystery street between Richmond and Wrightson road.

On another note I tried the Toco navigation with Waze this weekend.
It doesnt work as good as NavPhone does. Waze basically shows one main road all the way.
Il stick with my initial claim...Waze only good once you have net access, now even with simple navigation.
"When crowd sourcing grows up, it becomes mass participation."

Waze will not get better if you don't use it. It's accuracy and effectiveness is based on the input of the users, so the more users using it more often and inputting data the better it will become.

Postby pete » March 19th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Cept that a whole bunch of people using it in Maxis on the PBR :|

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2013, 12:11 pm

How does this consume data guys?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 19th, 2013, 12:35 pm

^ it connects to the internet to get data that is being shared by other Waze users.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 19th, 2013, 12:51 pm

pete wrote:Cept that a whole bunch of people using it in Maxis on the PBR :|

Needed to get points so I won't be a baby wazer anymore :(

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 19th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:How does this consume data guys?

uploadfromtaptalk1363714324952.jpg

That's my usage from the 9th of this month till now.
I use mine every time I drive. And I'm on the road for most of my day.

Postby pete » March 19th, 2013, 1:44 pm

I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 19th, 2013, 3:38 pm

pete wrote:I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?

hmm thats better than i thought it would be.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 19th, 2013, 3:53 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:How does this consume data guys?

uploadfromtaptalk1363714324952.jpg

That's my usage from the 9th of this month till now.
I use mine every time I drive. And I'm on the road for most of my day.

pete wrote:I have used about 62MB with Waze in the past month. Maybe about 1.5MB/hr?

That's much less than what I thought it would be, would give it a go soon on 4G. :D

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » March 20th, 2013, 6:58 am

Ok so this morning it kept trying to send me down the priority...
Will edit some routes.

Postby pete » March 20th, 2013, 7:20 am

"Foggy weather" on the Beetham this morning.

yudhistre

Postby yudhistre » March 20th, 2013, 9:27 pm

Have to stop them youths from playing with Waze on the Bus route.. it messing up the system. Waze servers recording time from Arima to POS faster than time on the highway, so naturally it will recognize that route as faster and will direct all users accordingly.. Wonder if it has a restricted access route in the editor?

jm3

Postby jm3 » March 20th, 2013, 10:20 pm

yudhistre wrote:Have to stop them youths from playing with Waze on the Bus route.. it messing up the system. Waze servers recording time from Arima to POS faster than time on the highway, so naturally it will recognize that route as faster and will direct all users accordingly.. Wonder if it has a restricted access route in the editor?

i will fix it soon.

just checked it over all the pbr segments are private roads as they should be so i don't know why its still sending you on there.
Last edited by jm3 on March 20th, 2013, 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 20th, 2013, 10:26 pm

Dl'ed and running well but on my blackberry i can't seem to access nor join groups.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 20th, 2013, 11:24 pm

Works well on real smartphones.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 20th, 2013, 11:34 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Works well on real smartphones.

+1 oh snapz

Sig worthy

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 21st, 2013, 7:49 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Works well on real smartphones.

I saw what u did there......

Lol!!!!