sr20 temperature/overheating problems

ronald_22t

sr20 temperature/overheating problems

Postby ronald_22t » July 25th, 2005, 12:04 pm

Hey guys i'm gettin a weird temperature problem from my SR20VE. My temperature is rising very high and when the fans come on it goes down almost to normal. This only happens when i stop sudden or when i'm iddling for a period. If i drive it goes down to normal doesn't matter if i drive fast or slow it stays at normal but as i say when i stop the it goes up. Also i'm gettin something like a "cut", the car jus dies down and suddenly picks up again. I dont know if that could be the problem causing the rise in temperature ? Changed the thermostat and none of the hoses seem to be collapsing. What do youa"ll think ?

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 25th, 2005, 2:50 pm

change your radiator to a 3 core ( my guess) and the cut is your speed limiter. Once you get it at 180 that is.

JWT

Postby JWT » July 25th, 2005, 6:09 pm

ok what u should check to see firstly is if ur VVL is engaging also it could be a faulty dashboard sensor or a faulty sensor on ur engine taking the info to ur dash i feel is one of them sesnors any good mechanic can check that for u all u need is a volt meter
but u can do what i did at that time let it raise open d overflow and stick ur finger in if it real hott then is a over heat otherwise it is just a sensor
I too had that same problem

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 26th, 2005, 8:15 am

Try puttin water in d radiator..it helps :mrgreen:

Radiator could be bad in which case you should do like d sentraman say and change to a 3 core.Thermostat sould be stickin causing heat build up or temp sensor could be bad and giving ECU wrong reading.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 26th, 2005, 8:51 am

Did you bleed your cooling system recently, if air pockets are in the system the temperature can rise considerably, what I usually do is start the car with the rad cap off and let it run till the engine is warm and ensure that all the air pockets are gone then replace the cap.

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » July 26th, 2005, 9:45 am

Thanks alot guys for the info. I did buy a brand new thermostat and the radiator is brand new from Massy and i did bleed the system also. Someone told me that it could be a fuse. Ok JWT how do i check the vvl. I assume it's working because i hear it when the rpm goes up. How else do i know for sure ?

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » July 27th, 2005, 11:09 am

Ok fellas i got it. The rise in temperature and sudden cut was because the NEGATIVE wire on the battery pole was loose and that i didn't have an ENGINE GROUND.

JWT

Postby JWT » July 27th, 2005, 12:49 pm

ahh boi and u panic for nothing enttt
i tell i dem engine is bosss :mrgreen:

ronald_22t

Postby ronald_22t » July 27th, 2005, 4:54 pm

fuh reeeal

xxstitch69xx

Postby xxstitch69xx » November 16th, 2005, 9:31 pm

get ah intercooler

Postby wagonrunner » November 17th, 2005, 1:26 am

^^^^
hear dis one,

read d whole thread before posting
yes, im drunk, but its my normal innebriation level.

if you don't know what that means, google it!

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 17th, 2005, 10:32 am

[stitch], an how u tink that wud help ah n/a vehicle?

maximus

Postby maximus » November 23rd, 2005, 8:26 am

[stitch] wrote:get ah intercooler

EHHHH???? wtf u talking about u know what an intercooler is

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 23rd, 2005, 9:39 am

like a man hear some ppl talkin bout intercoolers an wanted to sound bright..lol

turbo master

Postby turbo master » November 23rd, 2005, 10:23 am

intercooler..to cool ineter..yr engine...LOL! :lol: :lol: :lol:

xxstitch69xx

Postby xxstitch69xx » March 11th, 2006, 8:11 am

heh...i know wht an intercooler iz :twisted:
wasnt bein serious...

speed king

Postby speed king » March 11th, 2006, 12:30 pm

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » March 11th, 2006, 1:47 pm

the man musse mean get an intercooler to look ''COOL'' LOL

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 13th, 2006, 1:24 pm

I getting this same problem with my DET I bleed the water system enough times phoq I frustrated. DAVE WHERE ARE YOU !!!

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2006, 1:31 pm

in front the laptop :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 13th, 2006, 1:35 pm

Nah but I seriously have a temprature issue. I ran the car lastnight and it flew up just as meh boi stated in the beginning of the thread. When I back off the car cools right back down. I bleed dam thing both ways and I gauretee no no bubbles friggin thing frustating meh rass hole. The Radiator cap good. :|

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2006, 1:40 pm

i said temperature sender needs to be checked and see if u running the stock one
failing that leak down/compression test for you

Postby wagonrunner » March 13th, 2006, 1:42 pm

picasso,
what about the condition of the head gasket? head warp, etc?
similar issues with another tuner

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 13th, 2006, 1:47 pm

Aiight I going by Yancy to get the compression test done. But this all started when I fixed the boost leak only eh Dave. Never ever happened b4 once the water system was bled properly.

Muffy

Postby Muffy » July 18th, 2008, 12:21 pm

:shock: :?
Last edited by Muffy on January 10th, 2016, 9:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 19th, 2008, 8:30 am

^^ Where what car :roll:

texastrini

Postby texastrini » July 19th, 2008, 4:03 pm

i gettin the same problem with my sr18de? a man told me it could be the coolant tem sensor? anyone know where that is located? because he tood me that it was jus above the oil filter on the top left side of de engine? i thought it was located nex to de intake manifold

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 21st, 2008, 7:25 am

It's should b located next to the temp. sender unit for ur instrument panel!

texastrini

Postby texastrini » July 23rd, 2008, 9:10 pm

thats what i though as well but no scene i purged the cooling system and the problem is gone! thanks fellas