COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7305 cases, 129 deaths, 285 active, 6891 recovered in T&T

Postby matr1x » January 17th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Here is to a covid new year

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7305 cases, 129 deaths, 285 active, 6891 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2021, 1:54 pm

matr1x wrote:Here is to a covid new year

true talk. covid will likely kill out more people in 2021 than 2020.

Postby Les Bain » January 17th, 2021, 3:31 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:Here is to a covid new year

true talk. covid will likely kill out more people in 2021 than 2020.

Small thing is any of the deaths include the pest house that had a home fete in my neighborhood last night, and their guests.

Postby matr1x » January 17th, 2021, 5:33 pm

Will anyone miss anyone from beetham?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 17th, 2021, 6:12 pm

Why is there so much variation with the experiences with the vaccine?

Is it on account of the various brands? each with its own peculiarities or does it show a reaction on the patient side?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 17th, 2021, 7:53 pm

Deaths up to 132
FB_IMG_1610927572433.jpeg

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7305 cases, 129 deaths, 285 active, 6891 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » January 17th, 2021, 8:08 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Why is there so much variation with the experiences with the vaccine?

Is it on account of the various brands? each with its own peculiarities or does it show a reaction on the patient side?

Everyone is different and our immune system response will vary. Generally speaking there are a lot of people with undiagnosed underlying health issues. Although there’s a cost associated with it, it’s probably advisable to get those annual checkups even if you feel ok.

Postby paid_influencer » January 17th, 2021, 8:24 pm

the real question for me is the temperature fluctuations these vaccines will get during mass distribution here on the island.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2021, 8:35 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Deaths up to 132

and we've had 128 new positive cases this week - keeping in mind that it may mostly be people who are feeling really sick that would go to get tested - many who have mild symptoms may just treat at home and not get tested

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2021, 8:54 pm

and don’t forget many are totally asymptomatic

and we've had 128 new positive cases this week - keeping in mind that it may mostly be people who are feeling really sick that would go to get tested - many who have mild symptoms may just treat at home and not get tested

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 17th, 2021, 9:08 pm

That number is concerning as it's almost double the previous week.
Screenshot 2021-01-17 at 9.03.59 pm.png

Also, research has shown detection rates of covid-19 are usually pretty low due to the many asymptomatics, on average there are 6 times more cases than detected.

https://royalsocietypublishing.org/doi/ ... sos.200909

In Trinidad with our low testing rate, it might be closer to 10.....so I can say there are at least 1000 covid-19 positive persons out there.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7393 cases, 132 deaths, 331 active, 6930 recovered in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2021, 1:18 am

The Coronavirus Is Evolving Before Our Eyes
The virus is mutating as expected. We can still stop it.

“our scientists have confirmed this new variant is between 50 and 70 percent more transmissible” than previous strains.

Though this strain of the virus (officially called “B.1.1.7”) quickly became known as “the U.K. variant,” it has already been found in 45 countries

Daily deaths have already tripled in recent months, and the virus is killing more than 3,000 Americans every day.

To make matters worse, the warnings from Britain were followed by headlines about yet another variant, B.1.351, in South Africa. Then another concerning variant was identified in Brazil. News reports speculated that these strains may resist vaccines. Some experts cautioned that the mutations could render current treatments less effective

“The South Africa variant is very concerning right now because it does appear that it may obviate some of our medical countermeasures, particularly the antibody drugs.”

https://apple.news/A9xJQq-CUSvio_zLnFa1ADg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7393 cases, 132 deaths, 331 active, 6930 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2021, 5:11 am

Can we really survive another lockdown?

Postby Kenjo » January 18th, 2021, 5:30 am

Nah I don’t think we will go into one . We will just stay in limbo as we are . Minimum flights . Australia citizens locked out too apparently so we were not the only country doing that . Some tennis players were allowed in and the country having a hissy fit down under

Postby MaxPower » January 18th, 2021, 7:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Can we really survive another lockdown?

Lol

You’re making it sound like we had a hard time surviving the first.

Look around my good man, Trinis are in their comfort zone.

Postby timelapse » January 18th, 2021, 9:23 am

These idiots going to get the beaches locked down again. Yesterday, me and the missus went up to Yara bay. Place was nice and quiet. Everybody else on the beach were social distancing in their little cliques. All of a sudden, about 30 something people start coming on the beach with folding tables, coolers etc and all up in our business. Not a mask in sight, and is a huge cluster of people. It didn't even look like a party, just a very large family gathering. We end up leaving, because the peace and quiet is now gone, and there are strangers all over the place. Just as we exit the car park, TTPS pulls in. Did not stick around to find out the outcome, but I am sure they were for the very least cautioned .Come nah people, stop allyuh sheit. You are going to make it bad for everybody.

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2021, 11:46 am

chaguanas market is a shitstorm of festering stupidity
Vendors and consumers all either not wearing masks, or wearing chin diapers
But nah, let's ruin the bar and restaurant industry

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2021, 12:08 pm

timelapse wrote:These idiots going to get the beaches locked down again. Yesterday, me and the missus went up to Yara bay. Place was nice and quiet. Everybody else on the beach were social distancing in their little cliques. All of a sudden, about 30 something people start coming on the beach with folding tables, coolers etc and all up in our business. Not a mask in sight, and is a huge cluster of people. It didn't even look like a party, just a very large family gathering. We end up leaving, because the peace and quiet is now gone, and there are strangers all over the place. Just as we exit the car park, TTPS pulls in. Did not stick around to find out the outcome, but I am sure they were for the very least cautioned .Come nah people, stop allyuh sheit. You are going to make it bad for everybody.

saw in the news ttps were blocking ppl from coming to the beach once the carpark full

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2021, 12:13 pm

i hope we can get the first vaccine doses through the direct agreement deyalsingh was talking about yes because we can't wait for covax which is at least not till end of March or April- if any of those variants come in we screwed- it means even with current measures we will get a steady rise in daily cases and once hospitals and ICU beds start to jam up after a few weeks is lockdown in we tail

Postby timelapse » January 18th, 2021, 12:39 pm

MG Man wrote:chaguanas market is a shitstorm of festering stupidity

You obviously never lime along the backroads in central.Dem fellas buying from the bar and proceeding to their 'Drinking Shed" or other similar structure.There are several such places in my neighbourhood alone. Based on the behaviour that goes on there, dem fellas have zero facks to give about social distancing, masks , covid or the concern for anybody life"
I agree, the restaurant and bar industries suffering, but Trinidad full of drunkards and mammoos that DGAF about anything other than daroo. Until these people can learn some discipline, bars could stay closed forever for all I care. I not going to die from something as dotish as Covid.I treat my body too good to be getting germs from alcoholics.If you can't function without a bar, Newsflash, you are an alcoholic. There's help for that

Postby MG Man » January 18th, 2021, 1:01 pm

timelapse wrote:
MG Man wrote:chaguanas market is a shitstorm of festering stupidity

You obviously never lime along the backroads in central.Dem fellas buying from the bar and proceeding to their 'Drinking Shed" or other similar structure.There are several such places in my neighbourhood alone. Based on the behaviour that goes on there, dem fellas have zero facks to give about social distancing, masks , covid or the concern for anybody life"
I agree, the restaurant and bar industries suffering, but Trinidad full of drunkards and mammoos that DGAF about anything other than daroo. Until these people can learn some discipline, bars could stay closed forever for all I care. I not going to die from something as dotish as Covid.I treat my body too good to be getting germs from alcoholics.If you can't function without a bar, Newsflash, you are an alcoholic. There's help for that

my point

Postby timelapse » January 18th, 2021, 2:22 pm

I actually not disagreeing with you there hoss:
The customers ruining the bar and restaurant industry
Last edited by timelapse on January 18th, 2021, 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2021, 2:35 pm

given this data that aerosols are much more likely than fomites (infected surfaces) too infect you shouldn't the Govt be mandating some type of ventilation for business under the 'new normal' protocols? the data shows zero cases linked to surfaces but some cases linked to aerosols.

https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-10-28/a-room-a-bar-and-a-class-how-the-coronavirus-is-spread-through-the-air.html

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 18th, 2021, 2:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:given this data that aerosols are much more likely than fomites (infected surfaces) too infect you shouldn't the Govt be mandating some type of ventilation for business under the 'new normal' protocols? the data shows zero cases linked to surfaces but some cases linked to aerosols.

https://english.elpais.com/society/2020-10-28/a-room-a-bar-and-a-class-how-the-coronavirus-is-spread-through-the-air.html

I agree, all this nonsense of sanitizing places and wiping down sh*t have to stop. I fed up tell people for the get go that a virus like covid spreads in close quarters with poor ventilation.

My gym owner actually realized this and leaves to doors open, added a couple fans and leaves the AC one as well.

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2021, 3:00 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:given this data that aerosols are much more likely than fomites (infected surfaces) too infect you shouldn't the Govt be mandating some type of ventilation for business under the 'new normal' protocols? the data shows zero cases linked to surfaces but some cases linked to aerosols.

I agree, all this nonsense of sanitizing places and wiping down sh*t have to stop. I fed up tell people for the get go that a virus like covid spreads in close quarters with poor ventilation.

My gym owner actually realized this and leaves to doors open, added a couple fans and leaves the AC one as well.

the AC is using fresh or recycled air?

Postby timelapse » January 18th, 2021, 3:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

On that note, don't use hand dryers in washrooms.That recycled sheit fumes

Postby adnj » January 18th, 2021, 10:05 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

You choose AC or fresh air in a building. You don't get both unless you leave some windows open.

Postby paid_influencer » January 18th, 2021, 10:23 pm

lemme tell allyuh... i over this covid thing. I telling everybody, get over it. This covid thing never going to done. Right now they saying it have a strain in Spain, a strain in England, a strain in Brazil, next thing would be the strain in my jockey shorts so much strain it done have and it going to get worse. More deadly, more infectious, maybe sometimes a combination of both and it will be 'lucky dip' which strain you going to get.

fact: it never going to get better than we have it now. Go beach, take a lime, enjoy the last lap. yes it have risk, but what you waiting on? nothing coming to make it better. it have nothing to wait on. time to "get over it" and get back to regular life.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 19th, 2021, 5:55 am

Public utilities head office has 3+ cases. Office has been closed

Postby pugboy » January 19th, 2021, 6:11 am

nobody come up with a n95 ac filter yet ?

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

You choose AC or fresh air in a building. You don't get both unless you leave some windows open.