COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5392 cases, 101 deaths, 1459 active, 3832 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » October 25th, 2020, 5:10 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:FB_IMG_1603659234588.jpeg

8 cases today. The beach is open. Christmas looking nicer right now, imo.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5511 cases, 105 deaths, 1321 active, 4085 recovered in T&T

Postby Kenjo » October 25th, 2020, 10:14 pm

Hwells

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5392 cases, 101 deaths, 1459 active, 3832 recovered in T&T

Postby Hwells » October 25th, 2020, 10:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:another thing- if it is many offices in the public service were operating at less than 50%, perhaps 25% due to abuse and we still had spread significant enough for the CMO to say the spread is happening in offices, how much more spread will happen with 100% back out?

I hope he reverses this next 2 weeks

My friend boasting on a group chat that since March, she has only worked 31 days! Averaging 5 to 6 days a month, and she is collecting full pay (17k after-tax).

She is a highly paid worker at a state company, however, that company has no remote work policy so when they home, they ain't working. Not even a phone call coming to them.

She said she has 14 days sick and 14 days casual so it's within her right to stay home Tuesdays and Thursdays when her roster is scheduled, giving her a full week off. Often when she has has the M-W-F rotation she'll stay home Mon or Fri.

She and many people like her are gaming this system, taking exorbitant day-offs to get full weeks off. She said everyone at her company is doing it, also because they have very little work too.

I blame them yes, but in what day and age can office workers not work from home? They've known about this pandemic since March.

In America, they have the American Dream. Work hard, become successful, enjoy life.

Here in Trinidad, we have a dream too. That lady is living the Trinidadian dream.

When people like this and the people who living nice at petrotrin lose dey work, i aint gonna feel sorry for them.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5511 cases, 105 deaths, 1321 active, 4085 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » October 25th, 2020, 10:20 pm

Kenjo wrote:https://www.facebook.com/100000318206698/posts/3593156414038263/?d=n

Different laws for the 2% folks too bro

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 25th, 2020, 10:51 pm

^ lol and TTPS not going and do them nothing. But if it was me or you wedone get charge and paraded abojt on social media. Banana Republic

wing

Postby wing » October 25th, 2020, 11:14 pm

Elec 2020= GG?

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2020, 12:08 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:another thing- if it is many offices in the public service were operating at less than 50%, perhaps 25% due to abuse and we still had spread significant enough for the CMO to say the spread is happening in offices, how much more spread will happen with 100% back out?

I hope he reverses this next 2 weeks

My friend boasting on a group chat that since March, she has only worked 31 days! Averaging 5 to 6 days a month, and she is collecting full pay (17k after-tax).

She is a highly paid worker at a state company, however, that company has no remote work policy so when they home, they ain't working. Not even a phone call coming to them.

She said she has 14 days sick and 14 days casual so it's within her right to stay home Tuesdays and Thursdays when her roster is scheduled, giving her a full week off. Often when she has has the M-W-F rotation she'll stay home Mon or Fri.

She and many people like her are gaming this system, taking exorbitant day-offs to get full weeks off. She said everyone at her company is doing it, also because they have very little work too.

I blame them yes, but in what day and age can office workers not work from home? They've known about this pandemic since March.

if she stay home d Mon or Fri when she rostered then she is absent - that have to come out her personal leave

i would love to know that company tho- i should work there as i have a high risk person home

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 26th, 2020, 1:34 am

wing wrote:Elec 2020= GG?

Ok

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2020, 6:11 am

that lady smiling with that 17k per month oui.

Postby aaron17 » October 26th, 2020, 10:21 am

paid_influencer wrote:

One slip up and the beach closed the next day...good luck

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2020, 7:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

based on the last 3 days including the weekend which we know is always very slow- let's see what the rest of the week has, or better 1 week after this coming weekend when d beach ram out

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 26th, 2020, 7:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

based on the last 3 days including the weekend which we know is always very slow- let's see what the rest of the week has, or better 1 week after this coming weekend when d beach ram out

I don't know why people expect covid to spread much on the beach.....it will only spread if you intermingling with others (who not in your group) closely on the beach. How many people do that? Not many at all, people typically go in small groups and family limes.

As far as socializing goes, liming with your partners in the beach is far safer than going over to their house.

Postby Gladiator » October 26th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't know why people expect covid to spread much on the beach.....it will only spread if you intermingling with others (who not in your group) closely on the beach. How many people do that? Not many at all, people typically go in small groups and family limes.

As far as socializing goes, liming with your partners in the beach is far safer than going over to their house.

Our dumbass govt keep copying other countries and their restrictions. We Trinis don't use the beach like those whites in Miami and California. We go to the beach and stay in isolated groups of family members and friends. If anything the risk of catching COVID on the beach is much less than in an office...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 26th, 2020, 8:17 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Our dumbass govt keep copying other countries and their restrictions. We Trinis don't use the beach like those whites in Miami and California. We go to the beach and stay in isolated groups of family members and friends. If anything the risk of catching COVID on the beach is much less than in an office...

Exactly, UK government encouraging people (because they know they can't stop socializing outright) if they have to meet up, try meeting up in parks (or beaches when it was summer) or outdoors.

But no, our unoriginal government will force people to wear masks when walking around the Savannah rather than in offices.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5535 cases, 106 deaths, 1303 active, 4126 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » October 26th, 2020, 8:22 pm

^the mask law does require masks to be worn in the workplace except in an area not accessible to customers

is just that ttps less likely to come into your workplace to enforce that than on the street

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5535 cases, 106 deaths, 1303 active, 4126 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2020, 8:27 pm

FB_IMG_1603758415314.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » October 26th, 2020, 9:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

agree with this.

outside is much better than inside. Look at how bars operating for months now and the numbers still low and manageable.

This beach thing... the media need to stop operating like Maracas is the only beach in the country. Plenty beaches all over the two islands empty and never see the crowds that Maracas does have.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 5535 cases, 106 deaths, 1303 active, 4126 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » October 26th, 2020, 9:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I don't know why people expect covid to spread much on the beach.....it will only spread if you intermingling with others (who not in your group) closely on the beach. How many people do that? Not many at all, people typically go in small groups and family limes.

Hello DPD,

Hope you are healthy and safe my good lad.

This is very true, and you could not have said it any better.

However, another concern that we must be wary of is the increased commuting on the roads due to the beaches now open.

Let us all note that there will be more ppl bar hopping and spreading germs on the bar counters and washrooms etc.

Nevertheless, there will intermingling especially with the younger generation. Trinis havent seen other Trinis in a while at the beach whether it’s family, friend or “kinda knows” and everything is a lime and a rum does kill everything attitude.

Any place that encourages the consumption of alcohol and congregation is a potential safety hazard as it physically and mentally impairs those participating, thus increasing the possibility of reduced precautionary hygiene measures.

Remember, all they need is one jackass to start a spread, unfortunately there will be many of them.

We will see how this goes.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 27th, 2020, 4:38 am

one covid positive a hole that choose not to stay the fuq home and gone maracas to take in the sea breeze to feel better buss out a few sneeze while walking up and dong the beach and the sea breeze blow it up and dong and every body get it.
old saying is you can lead a horse to water but cyah make he drink seems perfect here. the govt can open all the cinema and beach and rum shop they want but is up to people who duz feel they smart and right thinking not to go out an mingle in public. work, food run (grocery market etc) and home until they find a vaccine. everyone duz feel they smart and they know what they doing and nobody cyah tell dem nutting is the biggest jack as around.
it important to derick chin, abouds, sabgas to open they resturant, bars, business, they have a right, they invest a lot to make money but who say we hadda be dotish and go and put yuh life in risk. allyuh doh have bbc and cnn at home ah wah?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 27th, 2020, 4:50 am

Dohplaydat wrote:I don't know why people expect covid to spread much on the beach.....it will only spread if you intermingling with others (who not in your group) closely on the beach. How many people do that? Not many at all, people typically go in small groups and family limes.

Hello DPD,

However, another concern that we must be wary of is the increased commuting on the roads due to the beaches now open.

Let us all note that there will be more ppl bar hopping and spreading germs on the bar counters and washrooms etc.

Nevertheless, there will intermingling especially with the younger generation. Trinis havent seen other Trinis in a while at the beach whether it’s family, friend or “kinda knows” and everything is a lime and a rum does kill everything attitude.

Any place that encourages the consumption of alcohol and congregation is a potential safety hazard as it physically and mentally impairs those participating, thus increasing the possibility of reduced precautionary hygiene measures.

Remember, all they need is one jackass to start a spread, unfortunately there will be many of them.

so when all them social distancing every man walking with they own bottle ah rum and bowl ah ice? everyone touching up the bottle and pushing hand in the ice and spreading the covid. the pm and cmo say social distancing not physical distancing meaning it not only important to stay away from each other it means to stay away from everybody socially as well. means doh hug nobody, no bonks, no phone calls, no nutting, no liming be socially distant and stay by yuh self and duck everybody. physical distance means we sit six feet apart and be socially close drinking we run, chatting etc, but social distancing means nobody aint seeing or hearing from me until they find a vaccine.

Postby Kenjo » October 27th, 2020, 5:40 am

screwbash wrote:

Hello DPD,

so when all them social distancing every man walking with they own bottle ah rum and bowl ah ice? everyone touching up the bottle and pushing hand in the ice and spreading the covid. the pm and cmo say social distancing not physical distancing meaning it not only important to stay away from each other it means to stay away from everybody socially as well. means doh hug nobody, no bonks, no phone calls, no nutting, no liming be socially distant and stay by yuh self and duck everybody. physical distance means we sit six feet apart and be socially close drinking we run, chatting etc, but social distancing means nobody aint seeing or hearing from me until they find a vaccine.

No vaccine looking anytime soon so let the PM get some courage that he is supposedly lacking and let everyone run free. Maintain social distancing and masks and whatever happens happens .people just want a chance to see versus looking at other places experiences

death365

Postby death365 » October 27th, 2020, 8:15 am

an average department is the service or regular offices are 10 - 15 persons, all of which interacting with other people in other departments. all these people come from different areas and circumstances so even with out access to the public the issues are still there.

btw approx. 100- 120 persons per floor.

redmanjp wrote:^the mask law does require masks to be worn in the workplace except in an area not accessible to customers

Postby Dizzy28 » October 27th, 2020, 4:27 pm

122588047_3840593259303787_7916225888861407328_o.jpg

Postby sMASH » October 27th, 2020, 4:44 pm

u should expect a small bump in cases in the next two weeks. once the beach bandwagon die off, u should expect that bump do die down.

bad thing is, once that small beach bump should trickle off, u will get ur christmas bump, and that will show up end of december up till end of janurary as the cases come in. and i hope they dont use that as an excuse to close back beach.

Postby adnj » October 27th, 2020, 4:53 pm

Projections expect tested/untested infections to increase about 10% per month into February 2021.Image

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 27th, 2020, 5:05 pm

adnj wrote:Projections expect tested/untested infections to increase about 10% per month into February 2021.Image

I think that's an underestimate.....it doesn't factor in the extra socializing that will take place over the next 2 months.

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 5:55 pm

225 cases PER DAY ? how they come up with that? cuz like the no of confirmed cases now is around 30-40. is it that asymptomatic cases are like 6 times symptomatic?

it cud be that due to cloth masks which are not as effective in protecting the wearer from infection as n95 ones ppl are getting infected but with a low viral dose.

Postby j.o.e » October 27th, 2020, 5:55 pm

Don’t forget the carnival bump because no matter what Trinis gonna find a way to fete privately

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 6:05 pm

i doh know- if the death rate increases to like 3-4 per day i think they will roll back some re-openings

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 6:07 pm

j.o.e wrote:Don’t forget the carnival bump because no matter what Trinis gonna find a way to fete privately

they have to watch Christmas first- lots of home gatherings. they should extend the law on gatherings to include visiting ppl homes, which some other countries have done.