Sailun tryes: thoughts , reviews???

Postby Ben_spanna » October 15th, 2020, 7:43 am

Seeing alot of Sailun tyres around now, does anyone have first hand experience with them? traction? Road noise? durability?

Re: Sailun tryes: thoughts , reviews???

Postby Dave » October 15th, 2020, 7:47 am

They seem to be holding their own.
I would never buy them only because of how they were marketed when first launched because of what I showed up to possibly look at tyres for.

Postby eliteauto » October 15th, 2020, 8:01 am

I have a set on one of my vans for almost a year ( Atrezzo ZSR) no complaints thus far, good wet and dry grip no road noise yet and seem durable considering how much driving I do. Also have a set on one of my cars for almost 2 years, same review but in fairness I drive that car maybe once every 2-3 months so it's mostly parked up

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 15th, 2020, 8:14 am

I bought a set (195/55/15) for one of our hybrid cars, Sailun Atrezzo sh402 I think it was and it’s month 28 with over 43,000kms done and the wear and tear of the tyres are in good shape. Wet and dry traction is ok and road noise is not excessive. I would say this is a good gap between cheap tyres like wanli and lingong and those big brands like Bridgestone. I am not a fan of Chinese brands at all as of late but admittedly would not frown on a Sailun set. Recommended.

Postby Gladiator » October 15th, 2020, 11:26 am

I have tried a set on my car and quite pleased with the performance. the traction is good... no stability issues. Have them for about 5000KM so far. I would recommend them

rebound

Postby rebound » October 15th, 2020, 12:10 pm

Its actually considered a good mid level tire in the US market. The only concern being the imposition tariffs that would affect its price point.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2020, 1:49 pm

They seem popular. Never used them but I'd also compare local reviews with international reviews just in case.

https://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Sailun/

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 15th, 2020, 7:02 pm

What's the price you got them for?
agent007 wrote:I bought a set (195/55/15) for one of our hybrid cars, Sailun Atrezzo sh402 I think it was and it’s month 28 with over 43,000kms done and the wear and tear of the tyres are in good shape. Wet and dry traction is ok and road noise is not excessive. I would say this is a good gap between cheap tyres like wanli and lingong and those big brands like Bridgestone. I am not a fan of Chinese brands at all as of late but admittedly would not frown on a Sailun set. Recommended.

msg1

Postby msg1 » October 15th, 2020, 7:33 pm

viedcht wrote:What's the price you got them for?
agent007 wrote:I bought a set (195/55/15) for one of our hybrid cars, Sailun Atrezzo sh402 I think it was and it’s month 28 with over 43,000kms done and the wear and tear of the tyres are in good shape. Wet and dry traction is ok and road noise is not excessive. I would say this is a good gap between cheap tyres like wanli and lingong and those big brands like Bridgestone. I am not a fan of Chinese brands at all as of late but admittedly would not frown on a Sailun set. Recommended.

I’ve had on my van about 4 years, now need changing. Had it on another vehicle for about 2 years and were like brand new before the car was sold...I will recommend.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 15th, 2020, 11:31 pm

Can’t remember, maybe $350. or $400. per tyre, but we got it as a set with RT rims so it was a combo inclusive of installation, balance and alignment,

Postby gastly369 » October 16th, 2020, 12:59 am

Anyone ever used the nankang ns2r... Not the ns2

Reviews?

hindian

Postby hindian » October 16th, 2020, 3:21 am

Where i work we almost exclusively use Sailun on the fleet vehicles for a few years from passenger cars to light trucks to 10 ton crane trucks. No problems so far quiet on the road and good in the wet. Last set installed were 11r22.5 on a 10 ton truck about a year ago. Would recommend.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 16th, 2020, 2:09 pm

Have a set on my wife's car. Going good 3 years now. Good wet and dry traction. Same noise level as the costly bridgestones it had before. Good value for money imo

Postby bluefete » October 16th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Who sells?

Postby gastly369 » October 16th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Think was race track
bluefete wrote:Who sells?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 16th, 2020, 5:43 pm

Hmmm that's a good deal, tried a pair Atrezzos on the non-drive axles (back) in July, so far it's okay. Paid 450 @ Kelvin on p.a.p rs, only speed balance done . Hadda try your place next time
agent007 wrote:Can’t remember, maybe $350. or $400. per tyre, but we got it as a set with RT rims so it was a combo inclusive of installation, balance and alignment,

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 16th, 2020, 5:47 pm

Does wokk good, slight road feedback if it on front, at the back not too noticeable. Good grip in wet, didn't notice aquaplaning.
gastly369 wrote:Anyone ever used the nankang ns2r... Not the ns2

Reviews?

Postby gastly369 » October 17th, 2020, 12:06 am

Humm thanks
viedcht wrote:Does wokk good, slight road feedback if it on front, at the back not too noticeable. Good grip in wet, didn't notice aquaplaning.
gastly369 wrote:Anyone ever used the nankang ns2r... Not the ns2

Reviews?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » October 17th, 2020, 5:51 am

Hmmm thought this tyre was just for "stance" cars that can only go in straight lines.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 17th, 2020, 1:28 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Hmmm thought this tyre was just for "stance" cars that can only go in straight lines.

As all the comments. It's a good all-round budget tyre. Another excellent choice is the Roadstone N9000.

Remember that quiet smallie with the lil jaw who yuh swear cudn't swallow it all? And then when she did she sighed and gave you a sweet eye WHILE it in her mouth and you threw water immediately?

yeah. Roadstone N9000. Have it on meh Brokko Evo dey....vibes!!!

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2020, 2:35 pm

:lol: :lol: :out:

Postby gastly369 » October 17th, 2020, 5:47 pm

Getting it in the nexen brand tho... Roadstone and nexen same company or some so
Monk BANzai wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:Hmmm thought this tyre was just for "stance" cars that can only go in straight lines.

As all the comments. It's a good all-round budget tyre. Another excellent choice is the Roadstone N9000.

Remember that quiet smallie with the lil jaw who yuh swear cudn't swallow it all? And then when she did she sighed and gave you a sweet eye WHILE it in her mouth and you threw water immediately?

yeah. Roadstone N9000. Have it on meh Brokko Evo dey....vibes!!!

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2020, 9:48 pm

About the Nexen. Had a thread some time ago here talking about the OEM Nexen from S. Korea is better vs. the aftermarket Nexen from China. There is talk about the same on other car forums too. Dunno if it's true, never researched it myself to tell you otherwise. Roadstone is made by Nexen Tire Corporation of South Korea. Most companies have a premium brand and a cheaper economy brand. Like Bridgestone also makes Firestone.

But i would say that no matter where in the world the manufacturing plant is located, if it's certified by the company then it's the same tire to the same specs if made in Japan or Brazil or China. Bridgestone is the largest tire manufacturer in the world and makes tires in plants across the world of the same quality. And obviously a $350 USD tire is not comparable to a $80 tire.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 17th, 2020, 10:21 pm

Majtom is correct. See pic below.

A lot of OEM brands for many showroom vehicles are Continental, Michelin, Bridgestone, Toyo, Yokohama, Kumho, Hankook and Nexen.

Plenty Benz comes with Bridgestone as in this very moment and Mazda/Honda pushes Toyo. I see that the Vitaras have Continentals and Subaru’s with Yokohama’s. I only saw the 3 Korean brands from well, Korean vehicles!

Postby Gladiator » October 17th, 2020, 11:10 pm

agent007 wrote:Majtom is correct. See pic below.

A lot of OEM brands for many showroom vehicles are Continental, Michelin, Bridgestone, Toyo, Yokohama, Kumho, Hankook and Nexen.

Plenty Benz comes with Bridgestone as in this very moment and Mazda/Honda pushes Toyo. I see that the Vitaras have Continentals and Subaru’s with Yokohama’s. I only saw the 3 Korean brands from well, Korean vehicles!

Never saw a new benz with Bridgestone bro... Continental and Michelin

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 17th, 2020, 11:54 pm

Gladiator, I too am surprised...see pics below, all originating from Sterling:
IMG_2540.JPG
IMG_2550.JPG
IMG_2559.JPG
IMG_2582.JPG
IMG_2618.JPG
IMG_2649.JPG

I don’t blame Benz for trusting their cars on some Japanese grip lol.

limegreen

Postby limegreen » October 18th, 2020, 10:09 am

OEM’s have different tires in different markets. Also they can supply different tires (and brands) on different trims as well.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 18th, 2020, 11:05 am

maj. tom wrote:About the Nexen. Had a thread some time ago here talking about the OEM Nexen from S. Korea is better vs. the aftermarket Nexen from China. There is talk about the same on other car forums too. Dunno if it's true, never researched it myself to tell you otherwise. Roadstone is made by Nexen Tire Corporation of South Korea. Most companies have a premium brand and a cheaper economy brand. Like Bridgestone also makes Firestone.

But i would say that no matter where in the world the manufacturing plant is located, if it's certified by the company then it's the same tire to the same specs if made in Japan or Brazil or China. Bridgestone is the largest tire manufacturer in the world and makes tires in plants across the world of the same quality. And obviously a $350 USD tire is not comparable to a $80 tire.

Agreed. Got them locally with the Roadstone branding so i can assume what you're saying is true. If its the same specs with different branding... its good stuff.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 18th, 2020, 12:33 pm

What is it with kia/hyundai and hi-fly?? I seeing plenty taxi men rocking ling yong, hi fli, windforce etc

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 18th, 2020, 12:53 pm

agent007 wrote:Can’t remember, maybe $350. or $400. per tyre, but we got it as a set with RT rims so it was a combo inclusive of installation, balance and alignment,

same

$5000 rim and tire deal by race trac
195/60R15

I wood dem tires all kinda how and they stand up good. Really good for above average driving.

But then again, is a stock HR15DE I ha. Take with grain of salt