Strange whirring noise, subsonic background noise.

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2020, 7:34 pm

I have had issues with sleeping and noise so I sleep with ear plugs.

Sound travels better in solids and as of late I picking up a whirring buzzing sound. At first, I dismissed it as ear damage from reading but then I remembered I pulled out a Dayton RTA mic some years back and there was a huge subsonic spike in the area. The sound only exists in this vicinity.
Only today I remembered as kids some of the guys used to go for a swim in a dam called bottomless close to touchstone oil and gas yard (number 10 hill heading into forest reserve). They all said there was a loud hum that was very audible underwater. This is almost 20 years ago. Seems the noise still exists.

Was doing some reading on the sound the actual earth makes and recently it has some 15Hz sound vs the original 7.8Hz.

Any takers on what it can be? Drives me nuts

https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-au ... d--390-810

mic in question

Re: Strange whirring noise, subsonic background noise.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 13th, 2020, 7:47 pm

Any heavy industry nearby?
Where I used to live was a stone's throw (ok, about 1/4 mile) from inncogen, and at night when the place was super quiet all the louvres would have a slight rattle from the generators.

Postby maj. tom » October 13th, 2020, 8:07 pm

1st: Barring an obvious answer like stated above, of a nearby industrial plant, power generation, etc. it could be:

2nd explanation: you have Tinnitus from all that low bass high energy hard pong. In medical terms, your auditory nerves are wrecked (irony on your Trinituner name???).

3rd possibility:
The Hum. Quite a mystery actually, though scientists recently found evidence of that it could be the ocean floor vibrating with waves. You may be one of the 2% who can hear it. Hard luck.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hum

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-35344544

There have been many other such sounds detected and recorded across the planet, like the Big Bloop, the Whistle and the Upsweep. The sound energy translates over thousands and thousands of km at very low frequencies, and some people and animals detect them. Some of them have been icebergs grounding and dragging on the ocean floor or volcanoes rumbling. It's a living planet after all always in motion and griping.

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Heaviest it have around that has been around and still around would be touchstone oil and gas but they take power from t&tec.

By the time we started riding bicycles to the dam petrotrin had already started taking power from T&tec and ceased to make their own.

Nearest transformer of significant size is probably Anand low price or the children's court. I think there is a small transformer in fyzabad cemetery for either hydrocarb or touchstone or the power transformer in hydrocarb yard Cant be that. There is a sizeable transformer in sewlal trace and by fyzabad anglican but they are small transformers.

Has me wondering if is the third option maj.tom mentioned but its not something I hear elsewhere.

The only thing home by me and the dam has in common is high tension wires. All 3 phases pass in front my house and all 3 phases of higher voltage pass by the dam.

Not sure of the sea or whatever it is because its only something you hear with the plugs on and if they resting on a solid surface.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 13th, 2020, 9:15 pm

probably vibration from a split unit ac mounted outside another room

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2020, 9:20 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:probably vibration from a split unit ac mounted outside another room

AC only get popular a few years now.

Noise goes back about 20 years in the dam and I RTA my yard about 5 years ago. I understand the dam is no longer accessible however.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2020, 9:38 pm

elephants stand in the savannas to pick up vibrations in those ranges, through the ground. what may be going on is that where ur room is, probably have a similar tuning to those frequencies (by chance). so u ur getting a resonance, and ur able to detect it.

if u were able to have access to a vibration sensor, u might have been able to test various surfaces like walls, floors, deckings that might be reproducing that resonance. a trick i picked up from the older mech techs, they used to use the valve spanner, essentially a metal rod, and touch it to the ear, like a stethescope, and feel/listen to the inaudible vibes. u get the vibe pattern and a gauge of intensity. u can try that on an aircondition or a fridge just to get an idea how it is. i used to touch it on my ear muffs that had a hard plastic or the hard hat and sumtimes directly on my temple for bone transfer.
u will kinda hear the higher frequencies, but the subharmonics u will more feel it.

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2020, 9:55 pm

sMASH wrote:elephants stand in the savannas to pick up vibrations in those ranges, through the ground. what may be going on is that where ur room is, probably have a similar tuning to those frequencies (by chance). so u ur getting a resonance, and ur able to detect it.

if u were able to have access to a vibration sensor, u might have been able to test various surfaces like walls, floors, deckings that might be reproducing that resonance. a trick i picked up from the older mech techs, they used to use the valve spanner, essentially a metal rod, and touch it to the ear, like a stethescope, and feel/listen to the inaudible vibes. u get the vibe pattern and a gauge of intensity. u can try that on an aircondition or a fridge just to get an idea how it is. i used to touch it on my ear muffs that had a hard plastic or the hard hat and sumtimes directly on my temple for bone transfer.
u will kinda hear the higher frequencies, but the subharmonics u will more feel it.

I learn that trick from my lecturer, David Benny about 7 years ago. We checked an ac like that to see if the compressor running and was checking an engine for something recently I think. I think I did that on a tuner grandfather deep freeze Monday morning, compressor was on.

I think they used this trick during wars to hear enemy troops on horses coming.

Will pull up ye ole RTA mic and see what I find but I will get a wrong reading. Not sure if a rig working or someone have a generator running about two weeks now.

Postby Gladiator » October 13th, 2020, 10:09 pm

OP you is a half dog...???

Just kidding... check your LED bulbs they sometimes make strange noises.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2020, 10:29 pm

them low frequencies, the wavelengths will be too long to detect any real direction. unless, ur gonna press the mic down onto the various surfaces to see if u get any transmissions... hmm, if so, interested to know if it detects any thing.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 14th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Is there an oil well with any kind of submersible pump in ground nearby?
Is there any kind of top side production facility?

Could be tinnitus.

You may have a superpower see if you can get in with the Avengers.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » October 14th, 2020, 6:39 pm

you have something living in your ears...something creepy crawly get in there while you sleeping...go n flush out your ears

Postby maj. tom » October 14th, 2020, 6:43 pm

Postby nervewrecker » October 14th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Is there an oil well with any kind of submersible pump in ground nearby?
Is there any kind of top side production facility?

Could be tinnitus.

You may have a superpower see if you can get in with the Avengers.
Aye, I now remember, it have 3 pcp nearby.
Will measure how far. Maybe 1/4 mile if so far.

Postby nervewrecker » October 14th, 2020, 8:54 pm

But it still won't account for the huge subsonic spike on the rta.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2020, 11:44 pm

nervewrecker wrote:But it still won't account for the huge subsonic spike on the rta.

maybe initial startup on one of em? could have a resonant freq that cause the spike.
or maybe just measurement error

Postby bluefete » October 15th, 2020, 6:47 am

abbow

Postby abbow » October 15th, 2020, 8:03 am

all of forest reserve and environs are filled with oil wells and wells that are bored deep into the ground....surprised you ent hearing more by now..

Postby nervewrecker » October 15th, 2020, 6:41 pm

You have a point eh. Esp since forest reserve is my backyard and sewlal trace is in the front yard.
I knew what an oil well was before a water well.

Postby SR » October 16th, 2020, 10:24 pm

The dayton mic isnt that accurate

Get a real rta to analyse. Also is the freq spike happening at night only?

Postby nervewrecker » October 16th, 2020, 10:31 pm

SR wrote:The dayton mic isnt that accurate

Get a real rta to analyse. Also is the freq spike happening at night only?
Daylight and night, 24/, it's a constant noise I saw Everytime I plug it in. But only in this area.

I feel the guys hit the nail on the head with all the wells around here. This is the oilfield after all.

It's not something you can hear or be bothered with. Ear plugs are solid and sound travels better in solids. Only with the plugs in and your head on the bed you can hear it.

The dam at number 10 hill has a lot more wells around so it would make sense that the sound can be heard in the water.

Next plausible expliantion would be the high tension wires. Because it's common here and by the dam. But I would quicker believe it's the wells.

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2020, 7:27 am

If u can find a vibrating surface, u will have to weight it and tune out of phase with it.
Of is its coming in by air, try using subfrequencies bass traps

Postby Ted_v2 » October 17th, 2020, 8:20 pm

that mike kinda bad tho

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 18th, 2020, 1:07 pm

sMASH wrote:If u can find a vibrating surface, u will have to weight it and tune out of phase with it.
Of is its coming in by air, try using subfrequencies bass traps

I can help with the bass traps

but most likely it's coming from the ground.

abbow

Postby abbow » October 18th, 2020, 1:19 pm

nervewrecker wrote:You have a point eh. Esp since forest reserve is my backyard and sewlal trace is in the front yard.

yup, Forest Reserve is my backyard from Grants Trace side.
best exercise you can get is taking a walk in the back there...

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2020, 12:37 pm

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2020, 9:04 pm

abbow wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:You have a point eh. Esp since forest reserve is my backyard and sewlal trace is in the front yard.

yup, Forest Reserve is my backyard from Grants Trace side.
best exercise you can get is taking a walk in the back there...

I drive it a day, saw where it comes out. I realise thats where men pass when they steal oilfield equipment.

Was looking for a route into forest. But if there was one my old man would have known it or runul would have found it long time.