The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

dredman1

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby dredman1 » October 13th, 2020, 3:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:That only happens for certain items

Yep - some getting the restriction, others going through with no problem.

Seeing as it was the same seller (Amazon) I found it odd.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 13th, 2020, 3:40 pm

Can't buy any Alexa/Echo devices to Aeropost. My brother got through with the same items via Websource.

Postby Kenjo » October 13th, 2020, 3:49 pm

Any one saw any particularly new good deals ?

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2020, 4:02 pm

Does buying a tv online make sense? Saw a 55 inch samsung smart tv for 500 us
But with shipping(air freight)and taxes its like $6000 landed....
Essentially no warranty because of the cost to send it back if any issue
While in courts the same tv is $7000
Pay probably a extra 500 for 3 year supashield warranty......

I have to commend courts supashield warranty.

Electricity cuts off by me 2 or 3 times a day for the last month or so . Two of my smart TVs that I buy in 2018 conk out last week.
Took it back to courts....in two days they said they didnt have parts so I can select a new tv. Or can pay the difference and upgrade. The warranty is on the purchase price. So if I paid 2000 for a 32inch tv in 2018...and a 40inch TV is 2000 now...I can select the 40inch...and again pay a 200 or 300 for 3 years further warranty.

Hadda admit i get about 6 or 7 new TVs in the last 5 years from courts under warranty.

Postby redmanjp » October 13th, 2020, 4:10 pm

^yuh didn't tell them about d electricity though? that would void warranties for many other places

Postby Dave » October 13th, 2020, 4:40 pm

Imo TV's have gotten cheap and while you may not get the exact latest model locally the headache factor of returning in the event of non functioning or insurance claim due to damage isn't always worth that effort.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 13th, 2020, 7:31 pm

Dude, invest in a voltage regulator/surge protector next time. It'll surely protect your gear.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Does buying a tv online make sense? Saw a 55 inch samsung smart tv for 500 us
But with shipping(air freight)and taxes its like $6000 landed....
Essentially no warranty because of the cost to send it back if any issue
While in courts the same tv is $7000
Pay probably a extra 500 for 3 year supashield warranty......

I have to commend courts supashield warranty.

Electricity cuts off by me 2 or 3 times a day for the last month or so . Two of my smart TVs that I buy in 2018 conk out last week.
Took it back to courts....in two days they said they didnt have parts so I can select a new tv. Or can pay the difference and upgrade. The warranty is on the purchase price. So if I paid 2000 for a 32inch tv in 2018...and a 40inch TV is 2000 now...I can select the 40inch...and again pay a 200 or 300 for 3 years further warranty.

Hadda admit i get about 6 or 7 new TVs in the last 5 years from courts under warranty.

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2020, 8:12 pm

I have surge protectors and ups on the high end stuff, pcs and big tvs etc.

It's a set of 32inch tvs I have for security system that I didnt bother to buy any sort of protection for

Postby Kenjo » October 13th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I have surge protectors and ups on the high end stuff, pcs and big tvs etc.

It's a set of 32inch tvs I have for security system that I didnt bother to buy any sort of protection for

Price smart has a set of small ups for 500$ not so

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2020, 8:33 pm

problem with the UPS is the beeping when current gorne. late in d night beeeeeeep beeeep

Postby st7 » October 13th, 2020, 8:39 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Can't buy any Alexa/Echo devices to Aeropost. My brother got through with the same items via Websource.

trying to get a couple of echo dots and it doesn't work with websource address. i changed it to actual home address for intl delivery and it didn't give either

Postby paid_influencer » October 13th, 2020, 8:56 pm

must be some sort of blocking by amazon. got thru with some balls shaving equipment just now, but Amazon is refusing to sell me some other items. same error message - can't ship to skybox address.

Postby redmanjp » October 13th, 2020, 10:28 pm

paid_influencer wrote:problem with the UPS is the beeping when current gorne. late in d night beeeeeeep beeeep

yeah that annoying. if u connect it via usb to a PC u can disable it via software but if u disconnect it it will start back

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2020, 10:37 pm

No issues here. Websource
Screenshot_20201013-214019_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg
Screenshot_20201013-214305_Amazon%20Shopping.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 14th, 2020, 9:50 pm

Web source vs Tropical Express?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 16th, 2020, 11:15 am

Customs is seriously f*cking up again, how can one simple pre-alerted package spend 8 days and counting in customs?

Screenshot 2020-10-16 at 11.13.43 am.png

Postby Dave » October 16th, 2020, 11:29 am

Got really bad, had one stay 5 working days at most. Have another and today is day 1 and counting.....

Postby Kenjo » October 16th, 2020, 3:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Customs is seriously f*cking up again, how can one simple pre-alerted package spend 8 days and counting in customs?

Yeah that’s the new norm , I think I saw they possibly even extending the theoretical time waiting in Miami and all to cover some of the customs delay time .

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 4:39 pm

lol @ 8 days
have men waiting 3 months and more with certain companies

i use to do preorders for models i dont stock, 1 week-2weeks waiting time after downpayment

now i have to make customers wait 6-8weeks to wait for preorders

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 16th, 2020, 5:11 pm

Kenjo wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Customs is seriously f*cking up again, how can one simple pre-alerted package spend 8 days and counting in customs?

Yeah that’s the new norm , I think I saw they possibly even extending the theoretical time waiting in Miami and all to cover some of the customs delay time .

Nah but seriously, this is really affecting one of my businesses now. I cannot be waiting 3 weeks for packages now, customers need their parts.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 6:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

Nah but seriously, this is really affecting one of my businesses now. I cannot be waiting 3 weeks for packages now, customers need their parts.

then forget the skybox, ship dhl and get items in 2-3 days

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 6:55 pm

wouldn't DHL have the same customs delay?

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 7:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:wouldn't DHL have the same customs delay?

no
dhl/fedex is clearing every single day

Postby Kenjo » October 16th, 2020, 10:03 pm

How much is Dhl charges though ? Not an arm and a leg ?

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Kenjo wrote:How much is Dhl charges though ? Not an arm and a leg ?

last time I bring in something with DHL, whole bottle of lube was not enough. customs fees like wow, in addition to the duty and vat which were far higher than expected. the freight to start off with was ridiculous too.

if you bring in something via DHL, you really need to check first if it will make sense economically. shipment must be very high value/low volume/low weight to make sense.

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 10:36 pm

dhl invoice.jpg
dhl invoice.jpg (10.92 KiB) Viewed 3738 times
dhl revised.jpg
dhl revised.jpg (9.38 KiB) Viewed 3738 times

dhl is a express courier service

an example of charges is $300 to ship a letter size envelope from here to miami

or $900 to ship a 10 x 8 x 8 , 3 lb box to China

the other day dhl offer me a commercial account with "preferential rates" where i could just give suppliers my DHL account number and i pay the freight locally , i say lemme try it, bring down 2 boxes of car accessories (large boxes, probably 40-50 lbs of stuff)
i almost get a heart attack when i get the emailed bill for charges late one night, 22,000 freight and 3000 tax
on a shipment i pay 800 USD for

i call the rep the next morning to ask him what the firetruck, he say they eh take into account my special rate

they knock it down to 5500

Postby Gladiator » October 16th, 2020, 10:42 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:dhl invoice.jpgdhl revised.jpg

dhl is a express courier service

an example of charges is $300 to ship a letter size envelope from here to miami

or $900 to ship a 10 x 8 x 8 , 3 lb box to China

the other day dhl offer me a commercial account with "preferential rates" where i could just give suppliers my DHL account number and i pay the freight locally , i say lemme try it, bring down 2 boxes of car accessories (large boxes, probably 40-50 lbs of stuff)
i almost get a heart attack when i get the emailed bill for charges late one night, 22,000 freight and 3000 tax
on a shipment i pay 800 USD for

i call the rep the next morning to ask him what the firetruck, he say they eh take into account my special rate

they knock it down to 5500

Yeah I had a similar experience, Bought some used shocks on ebay for $50USD Ezone send an invoice that quoted a customs charge of $4500 I told them that if they can't provide me with an official customs document showing me that figure then keep the package and cancel my account. They sent back an invoice same day with a customs charge of $630

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » October 16th, 2020, 11:34 pm

Confirming that Amazon is no longer shipping certain items such as Echo products and Apple products to my skybox (Transexpress/ Trincargo/ Websource or Aeropost).

Really need the new iPad Air.

Any ideas?

fireworks

Postby fireworks » October 17th, 2020, 6:16 am

jsm1985 wrote:Confirming that Amazon is no longer shipping certain items such as Echo products and Apple products to my skybox (Transexpress/ Trincargo/ Websource or Aeropost).

Any ideas?

Send it to me and then I will forward it to your skybox

Postby Dave » October 17th, 2020, 8:25 am

Any reason why?
jsm1985 wrote:Confirming that Amazon is no longer shipping certain items such as Echo products and Apple products to my skybox (Transexpress/ Trincargo/ Websource or Aeropost).

Any ideas?