Vehicles you should not race...

Re: Vehicles you should not race...

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2020, 1:07 pm

the focus we have is the gutless and horribly slow naturally aspirated 1.6. Almost 6 years old, doing about 96,000 km
Had the TCM on the DCT replaced earlier this year for free and that's it for repairs
6AT went back to traditional transmission
TBH american drivers are generally clueless and a lot of the complaints were about things inherent to how the DCT behaves. For example, it makes all sorts of clickety-clackety noises in reverse if you're on and off throttle
The jerking in traffic is horribly annoying but could be mostly eliminated by changing how you crawl in traffic and by putting it in manual 1st gear

No clue how long the clutches will last, but at that point, it will have paid for itself so I could chook it in a corner (nobody buys a euro with hopes of resale value and I generally don't sell anything anyway)

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 6th, 2020, 1:15 pm

So no one gonna mention/discuss the Laurels / Cefiros ?

Postby Ben_spanna » October 6th, 2020, 1:19 pm

Dave wrote:Uninspiring transmissions make alot of those HP numbers seem irrelevant.
Take a throw back, if many of those meet up a well tuned L28 with as simple as a 32/36 downdraft, crapaud smoke their pipe all day long.

:idea: long ago there was an unassuming looking Nissan B something with an sr20 in it, i heard it used to embarrass alot of people ........... :lol:

Postby Dave » October 6th, 2020, 1:24 pm

Folklore stuff?
Ben_spanna wrote:
Dave wrote:Uninspiring transmissions make alot of those HP numbers seem irrelevant.
Take a throw back, if many of those meet up a well tuned L28 with as simple as a 32/36 downdraft, crapaud smoke their pipe all day long.

:idea: long ago there was an unassuming looking Nissan B something with an sr20 in it, i heard it used to embarrass alot of people ...........

Postby j.o.e » October 6th, 2020, 1:40 pm

agent007 wrote:MG Man, I heard nightmares about the Ford PowerShift in the Focus 1.6 and Kuga 1.6T, however, I understand things got more stable with the 6AT replacements.

For those on the lower echelons who may never know the feeling of having a ZF transmission, kindly pay attention to Mazda’s Skyactiv Drive portfolio, it delivers all of the theoretical advantages of the CVT and DCT but without the loss in driving feel of the former and the headache attached to the latter.

Yuh gotta love this new Mazda rebirth. Their engineers are truly the descendents of samurai masters!

There is a YT video of a Mazda 6 2.5 running against an Audi A6 2.0T and the Audi just couldn’t beat it. In fact, the 6 reeled him in without the use of a turbo.

So on that note, I would like to see a new Mazda 3 1.5 run against an Elantra/Cerato 1.6. Let’s see if the Korean siblings can truly prove hp and torque superiority and let the Mazda transmission do the talking.

Purchased a mazda 2 hatch for my mother. That 1.5 skyactiv in that body kills everything on the road.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 6th, 2020, 1:55 pm

Joe, it appears you really love your mom. Excellent choice! I want to see a highway pull on a 2 vs an Accent 1.6 and Sonic 1.6.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 6th, 2020, 2:13 pm

My ole 92 sohc does still pull

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 6th, 2020, 2:49 pm

The only DI motors that don't have this problem is the Toyota, VW and Ford hybrid DIs that have 2 injectors, one direct and one port. This will probably become the norm for all other manufacturers as there's no real cure for carbon buildup on a DI motor.

That being said, 3 features I'll never want in a new vehicle: DI, dry dual clutch and CVT
agent007 wrote:Phone Surgeon, I was cautious about that Hyundai dual dry clutch setup from since day 1. When key people who working at Massy tells you that they would never buy one new or used, it tells you the kind of skepticism in the atmosphere. Case in point, Best Auto Ltd. they are now fully absorbed by Massy Automotive but the dealers of VW vehicles got a massive hit in sales. The problem with VWs is their reliability and it was poor even before the introduction of DSG. But the stain of dual clutch remains and that is something a lot of people are not willing to put up with.

Then the Veloster came and that turned out to be headache for many owners. That too is dual clutch. The Tucson 1.6T with DCT combo was dropped from the North American market after suffering major setbacks due to high failure rates. Enjoy them while they new, but be warned, get rid of them while you still can, because as they increase in age and plummet in value, it may end up like Daewoo Cielos, VW Boras, Rovers, MGs, Peugeot’s, Renault’s and Citroen’s etc..ie. Parked up in an empty lot of land with bush growing around it and slowly rotting away.

Scotty, from a design perspective, I don’t understand how post 2016 DI Motors would not build carbon because fundamentally the concept remains the same which is, fuel is injected directly into the combustion chamber. The injectors is after the intake valves and not before it. The only DI motor I trust is Mazda’s Skyactiv. Outside of that, it’s a no no for me.

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 6th, 2020, 5:58 pm

You mean Jatco CVT not Aisin CVT 8-)

Postby Dave » October 6th, 2020, 7:55 pm

Jatco's can be remedied easily. I have one tuned that jumps from 1.5k rpm to 6.5k rpm when the power mode switch is turned on....folklore business!
Cars are not meant to do what was yesteryear ones did. The aftermarket addresses most of these problems.

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2020, 7:57 pm

j.o.e wrote:
agent007 wrote:MG Man, I heard nightmares about the Ford PowerShift in the Focus 1.6 and Kuga 1.6T, however, I understand things got more stable with the 6AT replacements.

For those on the lower echelons who may never know the feeling of having a ZF transmission, kindly pay attention to Mazda’s Skyactiv Drive portfolio, it delivers all of the theoretical advantages of the CVT and DCT but without the loss in driving feel of the former and the headache attached to the latter.

Yuh gotta love this new Mazda rebirth. Their engineers are truly the descendents of samurai masters!

There is a YT video of a Mazda 6 2.5 running against an Audi A6 2.0T and the Audi just couldn’t beat it. In fact, the 6 reeled him in without the use of a turbo.

So on that note, I would like to see a new Mazda 3 1.5 run against an Elantra/Cerato 1.6. Let’s see if the Korean siblings can truly prove hp and torque superiority and let the Mazda transmission do the talking.

Purchased a mazda 2 hatch for my mother. That 1.5 skyactiv in that body kills everything on the road.

power to weight, same way them aqua does run like that.

Postby Les Bain » October 6th, 2020, 8:17 pm

This thread
265964.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2020, 8:18 pm

aqua does run ?
thought otherwise

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2020, 9:36 pm

pugboy wrote:aqua does run ?
thought otherwise

For what they are, they have some pep. I used to always think hybrid was slow vehicles.
Have a guy on my side put in an qg16 head and block in a march with a 5fwd box, it does move. It ain't no race car but it moving.

Does always remember a red one digging for a race coming out a car park, paid him no attention. Car rip out and gone yes, I say bwmc! 0X :drinking:

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 6th, 2020, 9:40 pm

pugboy wrote:aqua does run ?
thought otherwise

At 99hp and toting 2597lbs (fully loaded USDM spec) the Aqua/Prius C will cover the 1320 in 18.1s

A Nissan Sylphy (B17) 1.8 will cover same 1320 in 17.4s. That B17 putting out about 130hp so it has more power and torque than an Elantra/Cerato. So if a 1.8 Nissan can only have a 0.7s edge over an Aqua, then how you think it would go for B14/B15/WingroadY10/11/12/Tiida/Note 1.5 nonsense? Worse yet for them 4G15 CS Lancers.

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » October 6th, 2020, 10:34 pm

Confirmed OP is Shane Ali

Postby pugboy » October 6th, 2020, 10:51 pm

I more feel it is the instant torque of the electric motor which giving the aqua the lil feeling it quick off the line

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 7th, 2020, 10:04 am

Lol at coltspeed.

Pug, you're right. It's no SSS or 172 but it ain't no March. People associate Aqua's as being as pathetic as a March but truth is, it's not!

Postby MG Man » October 7th, 2020, 3:08 pm

how did this once and formerly epic ched devolve into a land where an Aqua is a fast car?

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2020, 7:28 pm

Not fast, decent pep for a hybrid.
They are slowly but surely becoming the new tiida.

Postby aaron17 » October 7th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Now a GR yaris....

Postby mero » October 7th, 2020, 8:41 pm

MG Man wrote:how did this once and formerly epic ched devolve into a land where an Aqua is a fast car?
It could peel out?

Postby nervewrecker » October 7th, 2020, 9:02 pm

mero wrote:
MG Man wrote:how did this once and formerly epic ched devolve into a land where an Aqua is a fast car?
It could peel out?

yuh unnerstand, ah aqua ay sayin yunno, ah aqua

Postby RedVEVO » October 7th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Where in this virus Vulcan World an Optima sliding away from a BMW ?

In the 3 series try the 328i and leave the Optima in the showroom .

With it's dust :roll: :roll:

Kia beating BMW ? :roll: :roll:

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 7th, 2020, 11:35 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

The reference was made towards a 316i or 318i (F30). An Optima 2.0 or Mazda6 2.0 will beat either.

Oh and to all the foreign used CLA180 owners out there with yuh fancy AMG rims and Lenny Sumadh plates, alluh fwd tail would get licks by an Altezza AS200/IS200. Go ahead and wild them up cause them 1G-FE men itching to brag about a kill in their groupie sessions and leave Lancer GTs alone. GT owners done feel like they driving a non turbo evo x, so don’t puff up their ego nah.

Postby RedVEVO » October 8th, 2020, 1:51 am

And Kia beating BMW :lol: :lol:

It's the driver that is important :roll:

Postby gastly369 » October 8th, 2020, 10:53 am

XD....
agent007 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

The reference was made towards a 316i or 318i (F30). An Optima 2.0 or Mazda6 2.0 will beat either.

Oh and to all the foreign used CLA180 owners out there with yuh fancy AMG rims and Lenny Sumadh plates, alluh fwd tail would get licks by an Altezza AS200/IS200. Go ahead and wild them up cause them 1G-FE men itching to brag about a kill in their groupie sessions and leave Lancer GTs alone. GT owners done feel like they driving a non turbo evo x, so don’t puff up their ego nah.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » October 8th, 2020, 12:15 pm

This thing go duss meh out coming an going
Screenshot_20201008-121544.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » October 8th, 2020, 5:44 pm

Some roro versions came with a 1300 turbo. Think of it as a slight successor to the Starlet GT. Dunno where the twin part came from though lol

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 8th, 2020, 5:53 pm

alternator is the twin turbo