Re: Carnival 2021 cancelled - PM announces

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2020, 5:00 pm

soca mere pya da he, soca mere zindagee he
la la la lie lie lie lie lie

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Guessing there will still be fetes in "private" locations.
Figure people gonna start asking if Monday and Tuesday before ash Wednesday is a holiday

alwaris and moonilal know how to swing it.

death365

Postby death365 » September 28th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Oh yeah ah totally forget anchorage and they chits... Was so freaking annoying
Kenjo wrote:
pugboy wrote:only in the west and don’t advertise money fee
years ago parties used to use paper chits to get around liquor selling laws
wonder if that still works

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Guessing there will still be fetes in "private" locations.
Figure people gonna start asking if Monday and Tuesday before ash Wednesday is a holiday

Wasn’t the paper chits just to secure their money easier? Also if you weren’t a big drinker you would always end up with extra chits

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 28th, 2020, 6:08 pm

Monk smell the rat in the earlies. No MM and no rocks = dont care anyway.

Well done PM on your decision!

Postby MaxPower » September 28th, 2020, 6:14 pm

I think even after Imbert rest the pipe on allyuh on budget day that Trinis should use the money they were going to find to pay for their Carnival costume constructively.

Postby mero » September 28th, 2020, 6:35 pm

2021 gonna be the year of the mampie yes .

Wonder how much New Year's resolutions done get put off to 2022?

Postby sMASH » September 28th, 2020, 7:10 pm

brb; praying for a wind to blow by christmas to blow carnival back on the almanac
Last edited by sMASH on September 28th, 2020, 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 28th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Artists Coalition Wants Virtual Carnival

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2020, 7:16 pm

d multi milllions d govt wuda wasted on this shud now be placed in d MOE to buy all d laptops for d chirren ...

cadman

Postby cadman » September 28th, 2020, 8:16 pm

i will miss the2021 tuner pretty woman thread...so nice looking at those precious creatures .

Postby MaxPower » September 28th, 2020, 9:50 pm

mero wrote:2021 gonna be the year of the mampie yes .

Hahaha sure right brother!

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2020, 10:13 pm

abducted wrote:
Dave wrote:Absolutely. He may be more hated than Imbert at this time.
MG Man wrote:respect to Rowley for making the tough / unpopular decision

I wonder if the UNC had won the election and Kamla had to make that announcement, there would be rioting for sure, with people saying UNC don't like Carnival.

HA!
Mrs Please Errybody / Open de bawwdahhz?
royyyyyyte

Postby Les Bain » September 28th, 2020, 10:47 pm

cadman wrote:i will miss the2021 tuner pretty woman thread...so nice looking at those precious creatures .

Re: CARNIVAL 2021 CANCELLED! - PM announces

Postby j.o.e » September 29th, 2020, 8:12 am

abducted wrote:
Dave wrote:Absolutely. He may be more hated than Imbert at this time.
MG Man wrote:respect to Rowley for making the tough / unpopular decision

I wonder if the UNC had won the election and Kamla had to make that announcement, there would be rioting for sure, with people saying UNC don't like Carnival.

HA!
Mrs Please Errybody / Open de bawwdahhz?
royyyyyyte

The return of the people’s band ..... remember that ?

death365

Postby death365 » September 29th, 2020, 8:29 am

if yuh dont kno ... is level loans people does take to buy costumes

MaxPower wrote:I think even after Imbert rest the pipe on allyuh on budget day that Trinis should use the money they were going to find to pay for their Carnival costume constructively.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 29th, 2020, 9:03 am

If the trials run good and we manage to get enough vaccinations in place, maybe they could get a corbeau sweat carnival in Summer. That's pretty optimistic still.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2020, 9:05 am

Glad no carnival 2021 and whoever vex, hard luck there... cant wait for BAr association to make noise again about further loss of income blah blah blah....

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2020, 9:09 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Glad no carnival 2021 and whoever vex, hard luck there... cant wait for BAr association to make noise again about further loss of income blah blah blah....

I've made clear many times that Carnival in February 2021 isn't possible. However, if we get the vaccines around Feb-Mar and vaccinate the most vulnerable there's no reason we can't have a later 2021 Carnival. We'd be stupid not too.

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2020, 12:03 pm

grandprixtt wrote:nice, can we talk about all the other diseases/addictions carnival propogates? ..not yet? ok.

true. God has decided he doesn't like that drunken street orgy and has surrendered his trini passport

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2020, 12:05 pm

death365 wrote:if yuh dont kno ... is level loans people does take to buy costumes

MaxPower wrote:I think even after Imbert rest the pipe on allyuh on budget day that Trinis should use the money they were going to find to pay for their Carnival costume constructively.

and they would have to be paid back after at a time ppl would be struggling- so this is a blessing in disguise

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2020, 12:20 pm

U r getting carnival. Ur numbers WILL be low, and ur vaccines will be in full swing.
So, u WILL get ur carnival. The people will sing 'Gr8 iz d pnm, Rowley save carnival' u can't give up dat opportunity.

But, it would not be WISE to hold it.

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2020, 12:32 pm

rowley: we hadda cancel carnival
people: gr8 is the PNM, he making hard decisions
rowley: we have vaccines and the numbers reallll low, we managed the numbers well.
people: gr8 is the pnm, he save carnival.

Postby Rovin » September 29th, 2020, 1:19 pm

i hear some saying bout ah virtual carnival

so d wimmen go put orn dem skimpy clothes & dance at home in front their cameras while d men with ah cup ah WO in hand have to view it on their big screen at home & wine orn ah bumsee aka their tv/phone screen

..... :mrgreen:

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 29th, 2020, 1:26 pm

pete wrote:He did say that February would not be possible. Could mean they will be willing to allow it later in the year.

Honestly don't see anything close to "normal" happening until maybe this time next year (Oct 2021), after everyone is vaccinated, etc. So carnival probably most likely out for 2021. Probably even "normal" schooling etc.

2020 and most of 2021 out.

Given that ^^, the question is... which carnival businesses will survive until 2021/22? And how?

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2020, 1:47 pm

Rovin wrote:i hear some saying bout ah virtual carnival

so d wimmen go put orn dem skimpy clothes & dance at home in front their cameras while d men with ah cup ah WO in hand have to view it on their big screen at home & wine orn ah bumsee aka their tv/phone screen

..... :mrgreen:

they hadda download the vagrant VR expansion.... :lol:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2020, 2:03 pm

FrankChag wrote:
pete wrote:He did say that February would not be possible. Could mean they will be willing to allow it later in the year.

Honestly don't see anything close to "normal" happening until maybe this time next year (Oct 2021), after everyone is vaccinated, etc. So carnival probably most likely out for 2021. Probably even "normal" schooling etc.

2020 and most of 2021 out.

Given that ^^, the question is... which carnival businesses will survive until 2021/22? And how?

This isn't necessary in my opinion, living more normally with the virus is needed otherwise you're looking at an economic collapse, severe ill effects on poorer kids and a retraction in what was a booming Carnival industry.

Most big bands will survive, Entice/Fantasy already called it quits even before Covid.

What I'm worried about is the rest of the Caribbean stealing our Carnival crowds. Already in my wrap WhatsApp groups people planning to hit Jamaica Carnival in April.

When I say live with the virus we need to create a society and system that protects the vulnerable. Be smart about things. Bars and fees fetes can freely take place but party goers need to avoid vulnerable folks for 2 weeks. Teachers, restaurant, bar and fete workers should be under 60 and not have any co-morbities. Those that do should be given unemployment benefits until vaccinated.

I don't see why everything has to be shut down for a virus that 99.9% of the young and healthy will survive.

Postby redmanjp » September 29th, 2020, 2:11 pm

the problem is their a LOT of ppl who not young & healthy- yes many young but certainly not healthy. u see d graph where men in dey 40s and even 30s died? and many more who survived but now have to live with long term health problems. it not just a matter of who will die.

we also can't isolate vulnerable ppl when some of those same young ppl live with their older vulnerable parents, and some older vulnerable ppl are still working (50s and maybe early 60s)

everything is not shutdown. but we can't expect a full back to normal especially if it means a thousands of ppl playin mas- because covid will play mas on us 2 weeks after- so even if we came out of community spread before we will go right back and then we back to shutting down bars/dining in etc. like now which will cause those sectors of the economy to suffer.

those other countries who going ahead with carnival- just watch what happens afterwards. there is life to be lived after carnival u know.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 29th, 2020, 2:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:the problem is their a LOT of ppl who not young & healthy- yes many young but certainly not healthy. u see d graph where men in dey 40s and even 30s died? and many more who survived but now have to live with long term health problems. it not just a matter of who will die.

we also can't isolate vulnerable ppl when some of those same young ppl live with their older vulnerable parents, and some older vulnerable ppl are still working (50s and maybe early 60s)

everything is not shutdown. but we can't expect a full back to normal especially if it means a thousands of ppl playin mas- because covid will play mas on us 2 weeks after- so even if we came out of community spread before we will go right back and then we back to shutting down bars/dining in etc. like now which will cause those sectors of the economy to suffer.

those other countries who going ahead with carnival- just watch what happens afterwards. there is life to be lived after carnival u know.

Yes I agree, that's why to young people who live with older vulnerable persons should not partake in these things. And if they are stay somewhere else for that time.

Btw I'm not advocating for Carnival in Feb 2021, I'm saying we need to find a way first to live with the virus and ease into these things slowly. Then, only then we announce a carnival date. Assuming it can be safely held anywhere from April to Aug.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 29th, 2020, 6:29 pm

I hear you, middle ground.
It's just that, is there a middle ground for superspreader events?

x-post needed in the trump thread:
https://www.popularmechanics.com/scienc ... ronavirus/

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 29th, 2020, 8:12 pm

So you mean people NOT gonna pee on my wall and dutty up in front my gate?

You mean people near fete locations gonna be able to sleep comfortably and not hear bass in dey head whole night?

You mean less people gonna be driving drunk?

you mean less people gonna get robbed and sexually assaulted?

Oh nooooo what a travesty
Last edited by ruffneck_12 on September 29th, 2020, 8:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.