WTK: Grip Tape

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 24th, 2020, 11:16 am

Does anyone know where I can get grip tape to buy in short lengths? I only need about 2m of grip tape. Those safety supplies stores are only selling the tape in a full roll for about $500+.

Re: WTK: Grip Tape

Postby maj. tom » September 24th, 2020, 11:29 am

$500!!

You talking about the non-slip tape that you put on the stairs or near doorways right?
where i see this boy.... i think it was Allied Home Center. Like $100 for a small roll. It wasn't 3M brand, but it looked good.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 24th, 2020, 11:32 am

maj. tom wrote:. . .You talking about the non-slip tape that you put on the stairs or near doorways right?
where i see this boy.... i think it was Allied Home Center. Like $100 for a small roll. It wasn't 3M brand, but it looked good.

Yes, the non-slip tape.

Will give Allied Home Center a call tomorrow.

Thanks.

airuma

Postby airuma » September 24th, 2020, 3:32 pm

I bought a roll at allied and they did have smaller amounts. If not sand paper and evo-stick... lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 24th, 2020, 5:11 pm

allyuh know is just sand paper and glue right

Meeno why people like to complicate things

(btw, cut it with a cheap scissors/blade, it WILL get dull)

Postby SMc » September 24th, 2020, 6:22 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:allyuh know is just sand paper and glue right

Meeno why people like to complicate things

(btw, cut it with a cheap scissors/blade, it WILL get dull)

I disagree with that- the 3M Saftey-Walk tapes are not just sandpaper with glue on the bottom. The adheisive is built for application to multiple surfaces and in most cases SW consists of abrasive particles bonded by a polymer to a dimensionally stable plastic film- so unlike sandpaper on glue it will hold up to footfall whereby traditional sandpaper is meant to degrade much quicker. not making things up

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 24th, 2020, 6:34 pm

you is right

But if you in a pinch. Sand paper and glue addi realist

Postby maj. tom » September 24th, 2020, 6:38 pm

I don't think it's as simple as sandpaper and glue at all. That won't last a week, nor does it offer recovery of a compressed material. Additionally the adhesive tape backing will be a formula tested to last in a rugged environment. It's much more complicated than that. For an example, reference one of the patents of 3M for a high visibility anti-slip tape:

https://pdfpiw.uspto.gov/.piw?PageNum=0&docid=06632506&IDKey=&HomeUrl=%2F

Postby adnj » September 24th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Does anyone know where I can get grip tape to buy in short lengths? I only need about 2m of grip tape. Those safety supplies stores are only selling the tape in a full roll for about $500+.

Peake's Home Store sells 3M tread tape by the foot.

Postby De Dragon » September 24th, 2020, 10:54 pm

Buy the proper tape please. We have some here in a harsh work environment years now.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 24th, 2020, 11:06 pm

yep allied have small pieces.

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » September 26th, 2020, 6:32 am

Northern hardware has, $50 per roll. The roll is substantial...maybe 40 feet or something like that. Two inches wide.