The official tropical weather thread 2020

rebound

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2020

Postby rebound » September 20th, 2020, 3:52 pm

Well yes... allyuh eh easy.
abducted wrote:^ is that your finger nail?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 20th, 2020, 4:28 pm

I went for a 3.5 hour ride this morning and was completely sapped. That heat not easy

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:In d rain with a expensive wacker?
Phone Surgeon wrote:lol wackerman suppose to come since wednesday, hot sun for the last 3 days

they show up this morning....

rain in dey mc

Absolute best time to cut grass.

Stihl FS 250 IYMC!!! :lol: :lol:

Postby aaron17 » September 21st, 2020, 7:16 am

Is it me alone? The sunrise this morning was at full blast and blinding while driving.

Postby sMASH » September 21st, 2020, 7:28 am

today feeling like a scorcher already

Postby Kenjo » September 21st, 2020, 7:40 am

aaron17 wrote:Is it me alone? The sunrise this morning was at full blast and blinding while driving.

Heading into POS around 6 am you dare not look in your rear view mirror. Can’t say if it was different that normal but I think I noticed what you are talking about .
Equinox Local Time & Date

September Equinox in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago is on
Tuesday, 22 September 2020, 09:30 AST (Change city)

Sunrise, sunset and day length around September Equinox 2020
Countdown to September Equinox 2020 in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
September Equinox in Universal Coordinated Time is on
Tuesday, 22 September 2020, 13:30 UTC

Local times for September Equinox 2020 worldwide
Day and Night map for September Equinox 2020
Equinoxes and solstices from 2000–2049
Sun Crosses Celestial Equator

The September equinox occurs the moment the Sun crosses the celestial Equator – the imaginary line in the sky above Earth’s Equator – from north to south. This happens either on September 22, 23, or 24 every year.

https://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/se ... uinox.html

Postby sMASH » September 21st, 2020, 10:18 am

Postby Rovin » September 22nd, 2020, 7:32 pm

cnc3 weatherman jes said today was 34.8c , tied with last wk monday for hottest day of d year so far ...

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » September 23rd, 2020, 11:12 am

Inside my house 7am was already heating up.... looks like another scorcher day

killercow

Postby killercow » September 23rd, 2020, 11:26 am

1600874786955.jpeg

Postby Les Bain » September 23rd, 2020, 3:02 pm

killercow wrote:1600874786955.jpeg

What big time sawatee wagon that dash belongs to?

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 3:07 pm

Les Bain wrote:
killercow wrote:1600874786955.jpeg

What big time sawatee wagon that dash belongs to?

ROLF. I thought it was me alone :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MaxPower » September 23rd, 2020, 3:12 pm

rebound wrote:Well yes... allyuh eh easy.
abducted wrote:^ is that your finger nail?

Geed!

Cut that nastiness bro!

Postby bluefete » September 23rd, 2020, 3:23 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Weather Center
https://www.facebook.com/TTWeatherCenter/

Across Trinidad, maximum temperatures as of 2:20 PM are coming in between 33°C and 36°C, but it feels like above 40°C. These are dangerous heat index levels. Stay cool and hydrated!
Across Tobago, temperatures are slightly cooler, between 32°C and 33°C.

Trinidad and Tobago Weather Center

Dusty Start To October As Mild Surge of Saharan Dust Forecast
WEDNESDAY, 23 SEPTEMBER 2020, 12:58

Two surges of #SaharanDust are forecast to move across T&T next week, with higher concentrations remaining north of our area.
Air quality may be reduced to moderate levels at times.

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2020, 3:36 pm

Kenjo wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Is it me alone? The sunrise this morning was at full blast and blinding while driving.

Heading into POS around 6 am you dare not look in your rear view mirror. Can’t say if it was different that normal but I think I noticed what you are talking about .
Equinox Local Time & Date

September Equinox in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago is on
Tuesday, 22 September 2020, 09:30 AST (Change city)

Sunrise, sunset and day length around September Equinox 2020
Countdown to September Equinox 2020 in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
September Equinox in Universal Coordinated Time is on
Tuesday, 22 September 2020, 13:30 UTC

Local times for September Equinox 2020 worldwide
Day and Night map for September Equinox 2020
Equinoxes and solstices from 2000–2049
Sun Crosses Celestial Equator

The September equinox occurs the moment the Sun crosses the celestial Equator – the imaginary line in the sky above Earth’s Equator – from north to south. This happens either on September 22, 23, or 24 every year.

https://www.timeanddate.com/calendar/se ... uinox.html
Whoah

Postby aaron17 » September 23rd, 2020, 10:17 pm

Tonight unbearable with this heat...ac on 17 and but my room temperature thermometer is 23 .29 google saying.

brickman

Postby brickman » September 23rd, 2020, 10:23 pm

For real,getting real fedup of the constant heat day & night!

Postby goalpost » September 23rd, 2020, 10:39 pm

And my chirren ac decide to stop working today.

Postby maj. tom » September 23rd, 2020, 10:41 pm

aaron17 wrote:Tonight unbearable with this heat...ac on 17 and but my room temperature thermometer is 23 .29 google saying.

you mad. whappen yuh have the ac on and the window open still?
Send up yuh fadda light bill and burn out the ac compressor right.

Your ac shouldn't be lower than 24 °C. That's the max comfort zone and power saving balance. I running a 12k btu at 28°C since 630pm and the room very comfortable. It facing west direct sun all evening and it was 34.4 °C at 6pm. Several baths to cool down really helps when the temps this high. Save current by not needing the water heater too. 26°C in the bedroom for sleep.

If the ac set at 17, the room is 23 and you still feeling so hot and uncomfortable, you're dehydrated bad. Go and bathe and let the cold water run for a while at the back of the neck where it meets the base of the brain. Then mix 1/2 tsp salt into 1 L water and sip it over an hour's time.

Postby De Dragon » September 23rd, 2020, 11:09 pm

maj. tom wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Tonight unbearable with this heat...ac on 17 and but my room temperature thermometer is 23 .29 google saying.

Your ac shouldn't be lower than 24 °C. That's the max comfort zone and power saving balance. I running a 12k btu at 28°C since 630pm and the room very comfortable. It facing west direct sun all evening and it was 34.4 °C at 6pm. Several baths to cool down really helps when the temps this high. Save current by not needing the water heater too. 26°C in the bedroom for sleep.

If the ac set at 17, the room is 23 and you still feeling so hot and uncomfortable, you're dehydrated bad. Go and bathe and let the cold water run for a while at the back of the neck where it meets the base of the brain. Then mix 1/2 tsp salt into 1 L water and sip it over an hour's time.

Also get a fan, moving air cools better with lower A/C set temps.

Postby mero » September 23rd, 2020, 11:30 pm

maj. tom wrote:

Lasko +AC = cloud 9

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 24th, 2020, 3:13 am

Agreed. This was the worst I've experienced ever. Tonight's heat was bad but still nearly not as bad as Phoenix AZ heat.

Postby bluefete » September 24th, 2020, 7:04 am

maj. tom wrote:

But dem A/C men does tell yuh to NEVER have a fan on with yuh A/C running.

Wey, nervewrecker? Ah moving this contribution to the A/C thread.

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2020, 9:36 am

houses in trini need to follow pattern in the colder climates, where they insulate to prevent leakage of heat between the outside and inside. ac's will work better if there isnt so much leakage of heat into the houses.

Postby mero » September 24th, 2020, 10:57 am

bluefete wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

But dem A/C men does tell yuh to NEVER have a fan on with yuh A/C running.

Wey, nervewrecker? Ah moving this contribution to the A/C thread.
Think it's not having a fan pointed directly at them as it could confuse the thermostat to think it's colder than it really is and mess up the on/off cycle

Postby K74T » September 24th, 2020, 2:04 pm

35⁰ today

Postby maj. tom » September 24th, 2020, 3:33 pm

thermometer outside in the shade reading 36.7°C.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 24th, 2020, 4:34 pm

This is interesting

The Sun Is Asleep. Deep ‘Solar Minimum’ Feared As 2020 Sees Record-Setting 100-Day Slump
https://www.forbes.com/sites/jamiecarte ... day-slump/

2WNBoost

The official tropical weather thread 2020

Postby 2WNBoost » September 24th, 2020, 6:15 pm

Got this reading driving in POS earlier
Last edited by 2WNBoost on September 24th, 2020, 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.