COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4046 cases, 67 deaths, 2019 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 23rd, 2020, 9:04 pm

There must be a drop in cases if samples are backing up because kits running low....ooops

Ah gone

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4046 cases, 67 deaths, 2019 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 23rd, 2020, 10:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Saw this gem from the conference today

Technical Director of Epidemiology at the Ministry of Health, Dr. Avery Hinds provided a statistical update of Covid-19 in Trinidad and Tobago and indicated that the restrictions on gatherings coupled with enforced mask wearing appears to have succeeded in gradually reducing the amount of daily Covid-19 cases.

In this entire pandemic, Avery Hinds is the biggest joke I ever see. Man should be fired and stick to something he's good at.
samuel jackson from django unchained.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4136 cases, 67 deaths, 2109 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 24th, 2020, 9:37 am

Stares Averily in Cambridge

BOATT graph.

5f67f28627f28.image.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4136 cases, 67 deaths, 2109 active, 1960 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » September 24th, 2020, 10:51 am

Alcoholic > Avery

Postby K74T » September 24th, 2020, 11:09 am

86 new

FB_IMG_1600960130129.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600960132561.jpeg

Note that St. Ann's Hospital has been added to the update as well.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 24th, 2020, 11:15 am

86 already. But ain't Dr. Hinds say the masks already working? Unless he lieing. At the end of this pandemic idk if people will ever believe in policymakers again.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4222 cases, 67 deaths, 2118 active, 2037 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2020, 12:44 pm

why the need for st anns now ?

fokhan_96

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4222 cases, 67 deaths, 2118 active, 2037 recovered in T&T

Postby fokhan_96 » September 24th, 2020, 1:11 pm

People going mad with covid.
pugboy wrote:why the need for st anns now ?

Postby paid_influencer » September 24th, 2020, 6:19 pm

99 cases out of 198 tests... 50% positive rate today.

:drinking:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4235 cases, 67 deaths, 2121 active, 2047 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2020, 6:41 pm

13 in the PM
FB_IMG_1600987239693.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4235 cases, 67 deaths, 2121 active, 2047 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 24th, 2020, 7:56 pm

^^ all that is going on is darwinism. the most successful will propagate. the bad thing is the longer lasting ones will survive and propagate. the good thing is, they will have less and less of an effect on the people, cause the ones that will spread more, are those that do not cause much of an effect. the ones that cause a drastic effect, will cause the human to isolate or die, and those will not be passed on as much.

Postby adnj » September 25th, 2020, 2:13 am

Coronavirus forces Rio de Janeiro to delay Carnival for first time in 108 years

By Marcelo De Sousa The Associated Press

Posted September 25, 2020 12:17 am

Rio de Janeiro delayed its annual Carnival parade, saying Thursday night that the global spectacle cannot go ahead in February because of Brazil’s continued vulnerability to the coronavirus pandemic.

Rio’s League of Samba Schools, LIESA, announced that the spread of the coronavirus has made it impossible to safely hold the traditional parades that are a cultural mainstay and, for many, a source of livelihood.

“Carnival is a party upon which many humble workers depend. The samba schools are community institutions, and the parades are just one detail of all that,” Luiz Antonio Simas, a historian who specializes in Rio’s Carnival, said in an interview. “An entire cultural and productive chain was disrupted by COVID.”

Rio’s City Hall has yet to announce a decision about the Carnival street parties that also take place across the city. But its tourism promotion agency said in a statement to The Associated Press on Sept. 17 that without a coronavirus vaccine, it is uncertain when large public events can resume.

https://globalnews.ca/news/7358031/coro ... l-delayed/

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2020, 7:08 am

adnj wrote:Coronavirus forces Rio de Janeiro to delay Carnival for first time in 108 years

By Marcelo De Sousa The Associated Press

Posted September 25, 2020 12:17 am

Rio de Janeiro delayed its annual Carnival parade, saying Thursday night that the global spectacle cannot go ahead in February because of Brazil’s continued vulnerability to the coronavirus pandemic.

Rio’s League of Samba Schools, LIESA, announced that the spread of the coronavirus has made it impossible to safely hold the traditional parades that are a cultural mainstay and, for many, a source of livelihood.

“Carnival is a party upon which many humble workers depend. The samba schools are community institutions, and the parades are just one detail of all that,” Luiz Antonio Simas, a historian who specializes in Rio’s Carnival, said in an interview. “An entire cultural and productive chain was disrupted by COVID.”

Rio’s City Hall has yet to announce a decision about the Carnival street parties that also take place across the city. But its tourism promotion agency said in a statement to The Associated Press on Sept. 17 that without a coronavirus vaccine, it is uncertain when large public events can resume.

https://globalnews.ca/news/7358031/coro ... l-delayed/

Don't worry, JUHN Scarfy, Goebbels Young and Impsy know more than those Brazilians. :roll:

Postby pete » September 25th, 2020, 9:27 am

Well, TBH Brazil is one of the hardest hit countries in the world with the second highest number of deaths. Can't really compare our situation with theirs. I still think hosting Carnival in February will not be possible but if things improve here we could probably look at having it later in the year.

Postby aaron17 » September 25th, 2020, 9:36 am

https://www.foxnews.com/us/coronavirus- ... ctions.amp
New strain contains higher loads of the virus, may be more contagious
A new COVID-19 mutation appears to be even more contagious, according to a study — and experts say it could be a response by the virus to defeat masks and other social-distancing efforts.

So it getting smarter...

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 25th, 2020, 10:34 am

25+
120134044_3740592782637169_6545467275458786801_o.jpeg
120200716_3740592652637182_3621565081094751012_o.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » September 25th, 2020, 10:40 am

And two deaths

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4260 cases, 69 deaths, 2069 active, 2122 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » September 25th, 2020, 1:04 pm

Thanks, Thanks and many Thanks! -
I am Negative!

September 24, 2020 is the day I will never forget.

Most people celebrate birthdays and anniversaries; some even celebrate holidays but for me September 24 will not just be the reason to celebrate our Republic Day because it was on that day, I was truly granted by God a second lease in life and for that I am truly grateful.

I will always remember how on the evening of September 24, I walked nervously into the hospital to be swabbed and tested a second time for the dreaded COVID-19 virus and now I can truly say that God has been good to me, that he has been gracious towards me and for that I will celebrate as an act of being perpetually grateful; I am now NEGATIVE.

I want to say thanks to the doctors and nurses who through these trying times sought to ensure that I was comfortable. I am not the easiest of persons to deal with especially when I am sick but for their patience and tolerance towards me during this period, I wish to express my profound thanks to the medical fraternity of our country.

To my friends who never failed to remind me of their love and commitment, who encouraged me to get better, who offered up prayers for my healing and who never failed to text me with words of reassurance and support, to you I say a special thanks; I will never forget the way you inspired me to get better.

To the media, I will never forget your kindness; when I requested discretion and privacy, I still believed that at least one would seek to invade the silence for which I begged but not one person or media house breached that request and for that I am grateful.

Many called to encourage me, to lift me up but none sought to obtain a story or a headline and that speaks volumes to the humaneness of the media and to you I also wish to say thanks.

These were tough times, trying times; times when you know who are your friends and my employees at Sunshine Today, the Centre of Excellence as well Emerald Apts and Plaza who went beyond the call of duty I wish to say that I am proud of every single one of you who stood with me during these trying times and to all of you I say many thanks.

To my Sunshine Palace All Fours Team; my drinking and liming partners this post Covid-19 period is not going to be business as usual for me simply because it cannot be business as usual. I thank you for your kindness and I know you will understand.

Last but not least to my family, yes to my family; I simply want to say I love you all. Saying thanks fails to capture my emotions but understand that without every one of you, I would not have been in your tomorrow but rather in your past; thank you and I love you.

These were really tough times and I know God has brought me through and I want to offer a word of advice to every citizen of Trinidad and Tobago that it matters not how rough the waters may be, how tempestuous the winds may blow; the future may not seem bright, the economy may seem to be at the verge of crumbling but know this that more things are wrought by prayer and supplication than you can possibly imagine.

Follow Paul’s advice and “Pray without ceasing” and when man closes a window God will open a door, just trust him and keep on praying and everything is going to be alright.

Jack Warner

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4260 cases, 69 deaths, 2069 active, 2122 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Okay Jack....okay

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 4260 cases, 69 deaths, 2069 active, 2122 recovered in T&T

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 25th, 2020, 1:54 pm

Can someone explain me the difference between comorbidity and pre-existing condition? Based on the Cambridge educated graph on the previous page, co-morbidity is obesity, pregnancy, diabetes, pulmonary, etc etc.

There have been 2 additional Covid-19 related deaths, an elderly male with co-morbidities and an adult male with pre-existing conditions

Postby bluefete » September 25th, 2020, 2:36 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Can someone explain me the difference between comorbidity and pre-existing condition? Based on the Cambridge educated graph on the previous page, co-morbidity is obesity, pregnancy, diabetes, pulmonary, etc etc.

There have been 2 additional Covid-19 related deaths, an elderly male with co-morbidities and an adult male with pre-existing conditions

Same difference.

They are lying to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Definition:

"A comorbidity is simply defined as a pre-existing medical condition of a patient, or the presence of one or more medical conditions known to increase risk of death, that exist in addition to the most significant condition (usually recorded as the "most responsible diagnosis" on hospital discharge abstracts) that causes a patient's stay in the hospital.

The number of comorbid conditions can be used to provide an indication of the health status (and risk of death) of patients. In other words, comorbidity is an indicator of the differential utilization of hospital care.

Note: A comorbidity is different than a complication, which is considered a medical condition that arises during a hospital stay."
http://mchp-appserv.cpe.umanitoba.ca/vi ... nID=102446

Good Article:

The Impact of Pre-existing Comorbidities and Therapeutic Interventions on COVID-19
https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10 ... 01991/full

Postby pete » September 25th, 2020, 2:41 pm

My guess would be the age of the person and if they're managing the condition they have.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 25th, 2020, 2:45 pm

bluefete wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Can someone explain me the difference between comorbidity and pre-existing condition? Based on the Cambridge educated graph on the previous page, co-morbidity is obesity, pregnancy, diabetes, pulmonary, etc etc.

Same difference.

Definition:

"A comorbidity is simply defined as a pre-existing medical condition of a patient, or the presence of one or more medical conditions known to increase risk of death, that exist in addition to the most significant condition (usually recorded as the "most responsible diagnosis" on hospital discharge abstracts) that causes a patient's stay in the hospital.

The number of comorbid conditions can be used to provide an indication of the health status (and risk of death) of patients. In other words, comorbidity is an indicator of the differential utilization of hospital care.

Note: A comorbidity is different than a complication, which is considered a medical condition that arises during a hospital stay."

Good Article:

The Impact of Pre-existing Comorbidities and Therapeutic Interventions on COVID-19

Thats what I know but was just wondering if I was missing something since we were told Google searches were not to be used in lieu of a Cambridge education.

We can have pre existing co morbidity but to separate it? It seems they want to put emphasis on persons dying due to other conditions rather than Covid alone.

Postby sMASH » September 25th, 2020, 3:22 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Same difference.

Definition:

Good Article:

Thats what I know but was just wondering if I was missing something since we were told Google searches were not to be used in lieu of a Cambridge education.

We can have pre existing co morbidity but to separate it? It seems they want to put emphasis on persons dying due to other conditions rather than Covid alone.
U are uncovering the world of propaganda and disinformation.

Postby Kenjo » September 25th, 2020, 3:26 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Same difference.

Definition:

Good Article:

Yes and no with there use of the wording.
Basically other things make you at a higher risks of dying. It’s like someone going into surgery ..... you are at higher risk of complications if you are diabetic / hypertensive .

Postby maj. tom » September 25th, 2020, 4:24 pm

The bradykinin hypothesis makes everything much worse with any pre-existing conditions in terms of inflammation.

Postby sMASH » September 25th, 2020, 4:46 pm

Kenjo wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Same difference.

Definition:

Good Article:

Yes and no with there use of the wording.
Basically other things make you at a higher risks of dying. It’s like someone going into surgery ..... you are at higher risk of complications if you are diabetic / hypertensive .

and what about them ignoring the pre-existing conditions, till it leads to death?

Postby K74T » September 25th, 2020, 6:05 pm

+1 death and 17+ cases

FB_IMG_1601071474484.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2020, 6:06 pm

low numbers with the holiday ?