Why Does MoE Need Ethnicity of Our Children in EMIS?

Postby bluefete » September 16th, 2020, 8:54 pm

Why is the Ministry of Education requiring teachers to fill out the ethnicity of our students on their Education Management Information System (EMIS)?

So a teacher is supposed to look at the students in a class and assume that they belong to a particular ethnicity?

Where are we really going in this country?

Re: Why Does MoE Need Ethnicity of Our Children in EMIS?

Postby maj. tom » September 16th, 2020, 9:08 pm

Collecting as much data as possible is always good for future studies and to determine if there are real systemic disadvantages related to ethnicity, etc. Data collected for a current study that may not be relevant can be very useful in finding correlations in later projects.

How the data is used to make decisions is what an Ethics Committee has to control.
I believe that they're using the UNESCO plans for EMIS to obtain data in developing countries so they can know what areas and policies they can target to improve education.

EMIS data are usually collected by means of an annual school census, where schools are requested
to provide information on students, teachers, school environment and facilities. For students, data
typically includes the number of enrollees, attendees, new entrants, transfers and dropouts. Students are
disaggregated by grade level and gender, and for some EMISs also by parent’s occupation, distance to
school and ethnicity. The level of detail on students (for example, the reasons for dropping out) varies by
country. EMIS data are often drawn from school records. But when sending data to the next level, aggregate
numbers are typically reported. In many countries, data are collected via paper forms and entered
electronically at the sub-regional level before being reported on to the national level, where aggregate
measures are constructed.

Page 9
What is an Education Management Information System?
http://www.inclusive-education.org/site ... klet_6.pdf

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 16th, 2020, 9:09 pm

I remember teachers filling in race and religion in some lil columns at the beginning of the school year in primary school since I small.

Supposedly for demographic/census type data, is not a new thing.

Postby redmanjp » September 16th, 2020, 9:22 pm

^yeah. for instance can't tell if students of a certain ethnicity doing well or poorly if that data isn't collected to begin with

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 16th, 2020, 10:59 pm

Stereotypes exist because stereotypes exist.

That's all imma say.

Postby 88sins » September 16th, 2020, 11:12 pm

If you don't like the idea of a teacher eyeballing your kid and guestimating his or her ethnic makeup and putting said guestimate on a document, home schooling and private tutoring are alternative options.
If yuh want the government to educate yuh spawn at little to no cost to you, when they ask questions even tho you may have issues with the questions, said questions hadda be answered.
And if you not around or flat out refuse to answer, who better to provide the information than the teacher?

Ppl does really over study ting oui

Postby De Dragon » September 17th, 2020, 7:28 am

Race, religion, father's name, mother's name among the usual age address etc, were standard in my time.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 17th, 2020, 7:38 am

The CSO has not been in a good space for statistics for a while. This information drive by the MOE has been done many decades now as attested above. If there are missing groups of statistics and this presents an opportunity free of charge to collect the stats why not ?

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2020, 7:54 am

bluefete wrote:Why is the Ministry of Education requiring teachers to fill out the ethnicity of our students on their Education Management Information System (EMIS)?

So a teacher is supposed to look at the students in a class and assume that they belong to a particular ethnicity?

Where are we really going in this country?

I bet it’s because need to manage information

Postby zoom rader » September 17th, 2020, 8:08 am

maj. tom wrote:Collecting as much data as possible is always good for future studies and to determine if there are real systemic disadvantages related to ethnicity, etc. Data collected for a current study that may not be relevant can be very useful in finding correlations in later projects.

How the data is used to make decisions is what an Ethics Committee has to control.
I believe that they're using the UNESCO plans for EMIS to obtain data in developing countries so they can know what areas and policies they can target to improve education.

EMIS data are usually collected by means of an annual school census, where schools are requested
to provide information on students, teachers, school environment and facilities. For students, data
typically includes the number of enrollees, attendees, new entrants, transfers and dropouts. Students are
disaggregated by grade level and gender, and for some EMISs also by parent’s occupation, distance to
school and ethnicity. The level of detail on students (for example, the reasons for dropping out) varies by
country. EMIS data are often drawn from school records. But when sending data to the next level, aggregate
numbers are typically reported. In many countries, data are collected via paper forms and entered
electronically at the sub-regional level before being reported on to the national level, where aggregate
measures are constructed.

Page 9
What is an Education Management Information System?
http://www.inclusive-education.org/site ... klet_6.pdf
It's done in the UK at schools and on job application forms.

This is to prevent racial discrimination on all levels.

This is needed in Trinidad.

Not sure about Tobago, cause it's mostly African Teachers and Afro Kids.

So how does Tobago explain their failure rate

Postby 88sins » September 17th, 2020, 8:39 am

careful zoomie, before somebody send you on a lil vacay in bantanamo bay

Postby zoom rader » September 17th, 2020, 8:48 am

88sins wrote:careful zoomie, before somebody send you on a lil vacay in bantanamo bay
Bann for what ?

How does a Trinidad explain the failure rate of Bago kids ?

There has been statements made by Selwyn Cudjoe than Indo Teachers dont treach Afro Kids.

Well what's the problem in Bago ?

Postby maj. tom » September 17th, 2020, 9:15 am

I dunno the answer to that, but I'll tell you something about Tobago that i learned when i was doing some reading. This is off-topic, but i'll find a place to move it later.

The Tobago we know today, the complaints, failures and misery and constant calls for "independence from Trinidad." It started with the unfortunate event of Hurricane Flora in 1963 which devastated the economy of Tobago. Which until then had diversified and prospered under the British from sugar since 1834, to estates of coconuts, limes and cocoa. They decided to make it a unified entity with Trinidad and easier to administrate through the Colonial Office in 1889. But Tobago was always different from Trinidad, different people, different culture, different economy, and that was one severe mistake the British had made, drawing maps as they pleased without considering the people and tribal nature of different regions, much like how they carved up Africa.

Then PNM "re-development" in 1963 after Flora, the year after Independence. PNM had been interfering with Tobago electoral process and gerrymandering the boundaries with small-island immigrants since at least 1961 when A. N. R. Robinson won the seat for PNM. The plan was to make Tobago a tourist-type economy similar to the successful tourist industries in Barbados and Jamaica. It ultimately failed. It would have to do mostly with mis-management of the entire scheme by the PNM. Additionally they had to turn the attitude of Tobagonians from hard working estate esquires into a mindless tourist supplicant population. Well they succeeded in that, largely through their gerrymandering immigration plan of creating a handout sure seat PNM-victory population. And ultimately tourism failed in Tobago because of course the PNM has been handing them the shitty end of the stick for 50 years in every political aspect. And to prove that they ensured their safe seats, just look at the ferry issue in the last term and how the Tobago people suffered, and then look at the recent election results.

Postby zoom rader » September 17th, 2020, 9:40 am

These new Stats when collected will be kept under the carpet just like how PNM conned the population with Codiv .

These stats will be used against the non PNM ppl.

Education will now be tampered with on another level . For years PNM has tried to tamper with the UWI intake in favour for PNM kids. UWI stands firm on their admissions requirements and PNM had to invent UTT & Cosatt.

Some folk smell the rat and send their kids to private schools like international school just to escape the PNM Matrix.

death365

Postby death365 » September 17th, 2020, 10:00 am

Btw it is proposed, in developed countries to grow your child up asexually until an unless the child makes the decision by their self.
The birth paper has what sex but the parents don't push male or female.

So no boy or girl just human. Forms need to be adjusted for this.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 17th, 2020, 10:02 am

zoom rader wrote:These new Stats when collected will be kept under the carpet just like how PNM conned the population with Codiv .

These stats will be used against the non PNM ppl.

Education will now be tampered with on another level . For years PNM has tried to tamper with the UWI intake in favour for PNM kids. UWI stands firm on their admissions requirements and PNM had to invent UTT & Cosatt.

Some folk smell the rat and send their kids to private schools like international school just to escape the PNM Matrix.

Postby 88sins » September 17th, 2020, 10:54 am

death365 wrote:Btw it is proposed, in developed countries to grow your child up asexually until an unless the child makes the decision by their self.

sounds wonderful & all that jazz, in theory. but irl that gonna open up an entire 55 million gallon drum of maggots on the world.

teenager with a penis says he feels like a girl, and starts going to an all girl school, wearing the uniform etc.
one day, while talking to a girl it likes & feels a sexual attraction to, teenager with a penis gets an erection. Imagine the confusion.

Is teenager with a penis a girl as it claims?
Or a boy as it looks from a biological & sexual attraction viewpoint?
And if it's considered a girl, can it be considered a lesbian since it's a girl that sexually attracted to girls?
How might this affect other children in the school that happened to witness the event?
Will the other girls and their parents now have a very real problem with teenager with a penis being in their all girl school, interacting in sports with their daughters, in the change rooms seeing their daughters partially exposed etc?
If it's a denominational school, how will the heads of that religion church handle this?

all kinda problems

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2020, 1:51 pm

death365 wrote:Btw it is proposed, in developed countries to grow your child up asexually until an unless the child makes the decision by their self.

Anyone who thinks that that makes sense is an idiot.

Postby maj. tom » September 17th, 2020, 1:59 pm

Would like to see where he got that proposal from. Can you link it please, as policy, and not some weird opinion from Fox news or something. Perhaps he talking out of his ass to drive more fear and ignorance about transgender. "oooohhhh trans people are bad boogeyman! Hide yo kids!"

I know in Australia they now acknowledge Gender Dysphoria in medical literature, and have legally made it easier for persons to change their gender and receive treatments at a younger age with much medical consultation.
https://www.rch.org.au/kidsinfo/fact_sh ... dysphoria/
https://www.racp.edu.au/news-and-events ... dysphoria/

Postby MaxPower » September 17th, 2020, 2:02 pm

This is 2020,

If allyuh Afros have anyyyy problem at all....

Pull the BLM card.

Postby SMc » September 17th, 2020, 5:38 pm

sounds wonderful & all that jazz, in theory. but irl that gonna open up an entire 55 million gallon drum of maggots on the world.

Will the other girls and their parents now have a very real problem with teenager with a penis being in their all girl school, interacting in sports with their daughters, in the change rooms seeing their daughters partially exposed etc?
If it's a denominational school, how will the heads of that religion church handle this?

all kinda problems

I went to an 'all boys' secondary school but in 6th form there were girls from a neighbouring 'all girls school' that would do classes there as the maths/science programs were better (i guess)- likewise there were guys who went across to the girls school to do art, literature etc as the programme was better there. There was never any issues as far as I know-and yes both were denominational schools. On another note I wasnt of the the schools demoniation and that was also fine.

I dont see an issue there unless there is a shared changing rooms- but unlikely that will be allowed in any case.

Postby sMASH » September 17th, 2020, 6:19 pm

u dont need to collect all that info for schools. just do that socio demography on Beyond the Tape wanted section, and work with that.

Postby zoom rader » September 17th, 2020, 7:02 pm

MaxPower wrote:This is 2020,

If allyuh Afros have anyyyy problem at all....

Pull the BLM card.
They dont need dat, they have PNM card

Postby 88sins » September 17th, 2020, 7:34 pm

SMc wrote:

all kinda problems

I went to an 'all boys' secondary school but in 6th form there were girls from a neighbouring 'all girls school' that would do classes there as the maths/science programs were better (i guess)- likewise there were guys who went across to the girls school to do art, literature etc as the programme was better there. There was never any issues as far as I know-and yes both were denominational schools. On another note I wasnt of the the schools demoniation and that was also fine.

I dont see an issue there unless there is a shared changing rooms- but unlikely that will be allowed in any case.

there is a very real difference between a few known identified boys (that are being supervised while visiting) going to a few classes at your daughters school a couple days a week & leaving immediately after, and a boy in a blouse & skirt in said girls school all day every day watching your daughter & getting a stiffy on the regular

death365

Postby death365 » September 18th, 2020, 9:43 am

Wow ok...

I was talking about growing up from baby to maybe 3.

Postby 88sins » September 18th, 2020, 11:27 am

death365 wrote:Wow ok...

I was talking about growing up from baby to maybe 3.

a 3 year old ain't know if they awake or asleep you want them to decide if they a boy or girl? besides, kids that young are very easily influenced. baby boys and girls will play together with the same toys if you let them. They eh know nuttn about gender differences, so they see each other as the same, and given the option will mimic one another's actions and behaviors to some degree.
look a scenario
lewwe say yuh have a son & you don't call him a girl or boy or son or daughter, and say he seeing mommy in a dress at home with him most of the day. And suppose when he choosing what toys to play with he prefers to play with dolls more than trucks up to the age of 4-5. You might say he's not exibiting boyish behaviors, and brand him a female. So from then (going by what you've seen) you decide to treat & dress him a like a girl from that point on. All well & reasonable.
When he shifts out of that phase of gender ambiguity later on in life (and trust me he will), and realizes he's a boy and he's happy to be a boy, what yuh go do or tell him when yuh son grows out of that phase, & then turns to you & ask you why the ass you put him in a dress and a panty as an infant when yuh know all these years is a penis he have?
problem with today is everybody want to cater to everybody whims and fancies and don't mind flipping & flopping and lying to themselves and others, and the serious part is they demanding that everybody else accept the lie as true.

But back to teh topic
If you look more than a little like an indian person and have an indian last name, and somebody going by looks and your name alone calls you indian, how rational would it be for you to get angry? you hate indians that much? What exactly is there in that for a person to get offended about?

Postby timelapse » September 18th, 2020, 12:46 pm

sMASH wrote:u dont need to collect all that info for schools. just do that socio demography on Beyond the Tape wanted section, and work with that.

You sounding like me there eh hoss...

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2020, 4:58 pm

timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:u dont need to collect all that info for schools. just do that socio demography on Beyond the Tape wanted section, and work with that.

You sounding like me there eh hoss...
0X

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 21st, 2020, 12:17 pm

Why would they need "ethnicity?"

Well how else is one supposed to discriminate among his students?
Used to be that teachers would discriminate by surname but nowadays it not so easy.
No longer can you see a name containing Raj or Singh and know for sure is an Injun, or same for Quami and Latoya.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 21st, 2020, 4:26 pm

alyuh does really give people too much credit