COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2698 cases, 43 deaths, 1900 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » September 11th, 2020, 9:12 am

The Govt should be investing heavily in public discipline.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2698 cases, 43 deaths, 1900 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 9:28 am

MaxPower wrote:The Govt should be investing heavily in public discipline.

Not effectively I should add, we're averaging twice the number of daily cases per million than Jamaica... Where borders are open.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2020, 9:53 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Not effectively I should add, we're averaging twice the number of daily cases per million than Jamaica... Where borders are open.
Jamaica is projected to see an increase in infections start within 30 days. By Jan 1, Jamaica is also projected to have 2x the infections per capita of the Caribbean/Latin American regional average and 1500x (yes 1,500) the rate of TTO.

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 10:11 am

fokhan_96 wrote:So this week supposed to be the end of the 28 day restrictions that started on the 17th of August. Didn't hear of prime minister calling any press conference tomorrow yet. So we wait.

i feel we getting another 28 days, tings eh getting better, probably might be getting worse but with this batching of cases who knows

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2020, 10:24 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Jamaica is projected to see an increase in infections start within 30 days. By Jan 1, Jamaica is also projected to have 2x the infections per capita of the Caribbean/Latin American regional average and 1500x (yes 1,500) the rate of TTO.

What site is this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 11th, 2020, 10:26 am

redmanjp wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:So this week supposed to be the end of the 28 day restrictions that started on the 17th of August. Didn't hear of prime minister calling any press conference tomorrow yet. So we wait.

i feel we getting another 28 days, tings eh getting better, probably might be getting worse but with this batching of cases who knows

We have the data from the days the reported cases are announced.
But do we have the data for which date the person was tested?

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 10:33 am

redmanjp wrote:

We have the data from the days the reported cases are announced.
But do we have the data for which date the person was tested?

only in one of the graphs where they did the daily positive swabs but where do i get that?

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 11th, 2020, 10:35 am

2 more deaths
79 more positive
SmartSelect_20200911-101836_Instagram.jpg
SmartSelect_20200911-101848_Instagram.jpg

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 10:40 am

CFR increasing. 1.6%

if we have an ICU at arima, couva and caura why only couva numbers being reported?

killercow

Postby killercow » September 11th, 2020, 10:46 am

Well it look like dem ppl deadin from HDU..

Postby Dizzy28 » September 11th, 2020, 10:58 am

killercow wrote:Well it look like dem ppl deadin from HDU..

Or it could be ICU people and when they die the HDU people are moved across
Shrugs/

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2777 cases, 45 deaths, 1970 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » September 11th, 2020, 11:04 am

20200911_110419.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2777 cases, 45 deaths, 1970 active, 762 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 11:11 am

K74T wrote:20200911_110419.jpeg

Some cold hard facts gonna come out now. I knew one of the other persons who died today. He was from S/Grande and according to the family and the doctors we know.....there were no spaces in ICU for him. He could not get a ventilator and as a result he was given high flow oxygen. Well we saw the end result of that.

Tomorrow is the funeral for my friend's dad and up to now he has not even seen a pic of his father. He asked and was denied. He signed for a body and dont know if that's his father. Our ship is sinking folks....

Id be back shortly

SOS! SOS! Captain Keith! are we sinking fast or just taking on a little water?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 11th, 2020, 11:12 am

So 4 people died yesterday and today 6 people "still" in icu. Hmmm

Shrugs/

killercow

Postby killercow » September 11th, 2020, 11:15 am

Shrugs/
If that's the case then that serves as confirmation that the ICU maximum capacity is 6...It's also indicative that persons in HDU are transferred to ICU IMMEDIATELY as someone dies which means those persons in HDU are in desperate need of ICU and not HDU care, but resources are very limited. Seems to kinda confirm what shakes has been saying all along.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 11:16 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I meant as of now, in the end Jamaica certainly will have more cases due to their higher population, but it's quite telling that we're a head in daily cases.

Also I certainly don't think we're heading for a decrease in cases. That's taking the assumption that people are obeying mask wearing. Just yesterday, in IFC-C (won't say which floor) counted 24 people working on a floor, no mask on, no social distancing. Most offices are operating like this.

Also saw a few people liming on a side road drinking, no mask, no social distancing.

At best only 2% of our population has had Covid, we will have a long long way to go and I expect cases to continue at these levels (50-200 a day) for the rest of the year.

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2020, 11:32 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I meant as of now, in the end Jamaica certainly will have more cases due to their higher population, but it's quite telling that we're a head in daily cases.

Also I certainly don't think we're heading for a decrease in cases. That's taking the assumption that people are obeying mask wearing. Just yesterday, in IFC-C (won't say which floor) counted 24 people working on a floor, no mask on, no social distancing. Most offices are operating like this.

Also saw a few people liming on a side road drinking, no mask, no social distancing.

At best only 2% of our population has had Covid, we will have a long long way to go and I expect cases to continue at these levels (50-200 a day) for the rest of the year.

If you look more closely, the projection charts number of daily infections per 100K. Although the projections could be grossly in error, they have been within their own limits of statitical error.

So, I would expect that borders will remain closed or limited; large gatherings, schools, restaurants, bars, etc., will remain limited.

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 11:42 am

killercow wrote:

Shrugs/
If that's the case then that serves as confirmation that the ICU maximum capacity is 6...It's also indicative that persons in HDU are transferred to ICU IMMEDIATELY as someone dies which means those persons in HDU are in desperate need of ICU and not HDU care, but resources are very limited. Seems to kinda confirm what shakes has been saying all along.

it's 6 most days, but in 1 of the updates it was 7. can't recall when

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 11:46 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

If you look more closely, the projection charts number of daily infections per 100K. Although the projections could be grossly in error, they have been within their own limits of statitical error.

So, I would expect that borders will remain closed or limited; large gatherings, schools, restaurants, bars, etc., will remain limited.

I expect that too and I interpreted the graphsl correctly, they're projecting a downward trend which I don't see happening. I'll be glad if I'm wrong but it seems overly optimistic for Trinidad. Also what accounts for the huge peak at December for Jamaica?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 11th, 2020, 11:47 am

redmanjp wrote:
killercow wrote:

Shrugs/

I think there is 6 in Couva and 1 or 2 in Caura

Postby K74T » September 11th, 2020, 11:54 am

A NUMBER OF PERSONNEL AT THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT, HAVE TESTED POSITIVE FOR COVID-19:

Information courtesy the Office of the President.

Subsequent to one member of staff testing positive for COVID-19 last weekend sending President Weekes and some of her staff into self-quarantine, over 40 personnel at the Office of the President have been tested for the virus with several testing positive.

The OTP has reviewed the conduct of the recent events held at the President’s House and is satisfied that all pandemic protocols – face masks, sanitising, social distancing – were strictly observed and risk to external persons negligible.

President Weekes and all staff members (including those who have tested positive) remain in good spirits. The office continues to function with a skeleton staff. All public engagements have been postponed until the all-clear is received from the Ministry of Health. Testing of staff continues.

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2020, 12:00 pm

K74T wrote:A NUMBER OF PERSONNEL AT THE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT, HAVE TESTED POSITIVE FOR COVID-19:

Information courtesy the Office of the President.

Subsequent to one member of staff testing positive for COVID-19 last weekend sending President Weekes and some of her staff into self-quarantine, over 40 personnel at the Office of the President have been tested for the virus with several testing positive.

The OTP has reviewed the conduct of the recent events held at the President’s House and is satisfied that all pandemic protocols – face masks, sanitising, social distancing – were strictly observed and risk to external persons negligible.

President Weekes and all staff members (including those who have tested positive) remain in good spirits. The office continues to function with a skeleton staff. All public engagements have been postponed until the all-clear is received from the Ministry of Health. Testing of staff continues.

but none of them getting charged for spreading activities?

Postby adnj » September 11th, 2020, 12:34 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I expect that too and I interpreted the graphsl correctly, they're projecting a downward trend which I don't see happening. I'll be glad if I'm wrong but it seems overly optimistic for Trinidad. Also what accounts for the huge peak at December for Jamaica?
Opening of the borders for tested travelers on Aug 20th and social distancing reverting to 2019 measures.

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2020, 12:39 pm

so presidents house is a next super spreader site

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 12:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
killercow wrote:

Shrugs/

I think there is 6 in Couva and 1 or 2 in Caura

i remember they listed 7 ppl that day in couva

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 11th, 2020, 1:01 pm

So there are over 40 people working at office of president ...how much people does get pay to do nothing in this country jed.
pugboy wrote:so presidents house is a next super spreader site

Postby pugboy » September 11th, 2020, 1:11 pm

if it’s the entire compound then yeah
lot of maintenance staff for the grounds and some clerical staff who have to do sign off work for legal stuff regularly and regional corporations

they likely have good comfortable working conditions there to relax and ting

fokhan_96 wrote:So there are over 40 people working at office of president ...how much people does get pay to do nothing in this country jed.
pugboy wrote:so presidents house is a next super spreader site

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2020, 1:16 pm

so what really needs to happen now:

1) treat 'common areas' in gated communities as public spaces and charge the landlords for breaches. churches, bars, private cars are all private property yet the law applies to them.
2) enforce 'work from home' or rotations for the private sector by making it law, not just 'guidelines'
3) use all the revenue from masks fines to buy gps trackers for all Covid + ppl in home quarantine with tamper alerts and fine them for breaches

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 11th, 2020, 1:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:

28 days of what exactly? Nothing that has been in place for the last 28 has been effective. People keep saying we in lockdown. Does anything look locked down except the beaches?

This donkey going to come tomorrow, pat himself on the back yet again, show us the graph which clearly shows declining cases from PNM version of maths and say "continue to hold the line".

Postby goalpost » September 11th, 2020, 1:24 pm

Nah he coming with a mandatory work from home for all office staff. Retail stores to be closed. Next 14 days.

Whatever was in place for the last 28 days will remain in place for the next 14 days.