COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2663 cases, 40 deaths, 1868 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2020, 11:28 am

Except we are not privy to that information.
We don't even know their age or general location - far less their names

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2663 cases, 40 deaths, 1868 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2020, 11:50 am

^ perhaps the various newspapers can publish a special 'Covid Obituaries' ? let the families volunteer the information

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 10th, 2020, 11:52 am

redmanjp wrote:^ perhaps the various newspapers can publish a special 'Covid Obituaries' ?

With what info?
"elderly male with comorbidities"?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2588 cases, 39 deaths, 1800 active, 749 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:None of the bayside folks were wearing masks either

redmanjp wrote:so besides the academy cases where all the other cases coming from if drinking in bars/dining in banned?

Hello redmanjp,

Regardless of location, Trinis are NOT wearing masks properly, NOT social distancing, inconsistent with sanitizing, attending private gatherings, and most most importantly breaching quarantine orders.

In a nutshell, the cases are coming from the irresponsible, negligent, ignorant, unwilling and careless citizens of T&T combined with mismanagement from the Govt of T&T.

Private property totally legal

i seem to recall the PM saying if u under quarantine and live in an apartment u are confined to that apartment only and can't for instance walk about the compound- so perhaps they should extend the regulations for gatherings to 'common areas' in private communities

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 2:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ perhaps the various newspapers can publish a special 'Covid Obituaries' ?

With what info?
"elderly male with comorbidities"?
Hit fur 6 there...

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2588 cases, 39 deaths, 1800 active, 749 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 2:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:None of the bayside folks were wearing masks either

redmanjp wrote:so besides the academy cases where all the other cases coming from if drinking in bars/dining in banned?

Hello redmanjp,

Regardless of location, Trinis are NOT wearing masks properly, NOT social distancing, inconsistent with sanitizing, attending private gatherings, and most most importantly breaching quarantine orders.

In a nutshell, the cases are coming from the irresponsible, negligent, ignorant, unwilling and careless citizens of T&T combined with mismanagement from the Govt of T&T.

Private property totally legal

i seem to recall the PM saying if u under quarantine and live in an apartment u are confined to that apartment only and can't for instance walk about the compound- so perhaps they should extend the regulations for gatherings to 'common areas' in private communities
Who regulating that? Or is it an honor pledge?

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2020, 2:36 pm

so a person with family of 6 can’t walk together downstairs apt complex either

Postby bluefete » September 10th, 2020, 2:38 pm

One more death to be announced later - total 41. Another ICU death.

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2020, 2:49 pm

guessing next set will add up to the odd 100 or so cases per day

Postby K74T » September 10th, 2020, 6:17 pm

3 more male deaths and 35+ cases

FB_IMG_1599776202287.jpeg
FB_IMG_1599776211614.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 10th, 2020, 6:49 pm

Some cold hard facts gonna come out now. I knew one of the other persons who died today. He was from S/Grande and according to the family and the doctors we know.....there were no spaces in ICU for him. He could not get a ventilator and as a result he was given high flow oxygen. Well we saw the end result of that.

Tomorrow is the funeral for my friend's dad and up to now he has not even seen a pic of his father. He asked and was denied. He signed for a body and dont know if that's his father. Our ship is sinking folks....

Id be back shortly

Postby goalpost » September 10th, 2020, 7:02 pm

The mere fact that 3 people died in this release and not even a comment in the last 30 minutes here, or even on fb, shows how desensitized we have become/are becoming to this whole situation.

Exactly the Gov'ts plan.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 10th, 2020, 7:08 pm

goalpost wrote:The mere fact that 3 people died in this release and not even a comment in the last 30 minutes here, or even on fb, shows how desensitized we have become/are becoming to this whole situation.

Exactly the Gov'ts plan.

We need names, pictures and their comorbities published. That will bring it home to us. Right now most of us can't relate to the victims.

But you might be right, our government is handling Covid backwards.

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2020, 7:10 pm

4 today indeed a milestone swept under the carpet

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 10th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Seems like it's not only old people anymore dying.

I also checked on social media, fb twitter etc
Not a single mention. It's like everyone is completely desensitized to the situation. I guess only when it hits home people will care.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 10th, 2020, 7:34 pm

But the minister of health say we have icu space in caura, arima, and couva. But is strange that there are NEVER more than 6 people in icu at a given time. Even with 4 people dying today how much you want to bet in tomorrow release there would "still" be 5 or 6 people in icu.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Some cold hard facts gonna come out now. I knew one of the other persons who died today. He was from S/Grande and according to the family and the doctors we know.....there were no spaces in ICU for him. He could not get a ventilator and as a result he was given high flow oxygen. Well we saw the end result of that.

Tomorrow is the funeral for my friend's dad and up to now he has not even seen a pic of his father. He asked and was denied. He signed for a body and dont know if that's his father. Our ship is sinking folks....

Id be back shortly

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 7:39 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:But the minister of health say we have icu space in caura, arima, and couva. But is strange that there are NEVER more than 6 people in icu at a given time. Even with 4 people dying today how much you want to bet in tomorrow release there would "still" be 5 or 6 people in icu.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Some cold hard facts gonna come out now. I knew one of the other persons who died today. He was from S/Grande and according to the family and the doctors we know.....there were no spaces in ICU for him. He could not get a ventilator and as a result he was given high flow oxygen. Well we saw the end result of that.

Id be back shortly
:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2020, 7:45 pm

yuh want the man to admit things going downhill ?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2698 cases, 43 deaths, 1900 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » September 10th, 2020, 8:07 pm

er duane, the gortt/moh does not use those particular graphs anymore
we used them up to end of july and they were deemed no longer relevant

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 2698 cases, 43 deaths, 1900 active, 755 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 8:11 pm

went to a hardware in sando today, person in front took my name, number and time of entry. is this the USSR?

wing

Postby wing » September 10th, 2020, 8:16 pm

sMASH wrote:went to a hardware in sando today, person in front took my name, number and time of entry. is this the USSR?
Contact tracing......

Postby maj. tom » September 10th, 2020, 8:21 pm

A lot of large business places taking records for contact tracing.
Which is useless at this stage of spread.

Postby paid_influencer » September 10th, 2020, 8:22 pm

sMASH wrote:went to a hardware in sando today, person in front took my name, number and time of entry. is this the USSR?

the part about this is... the gov't doesn't seem to be contact tracing anymore. You don't hear any more stories about so and so being closed for sanitation. All that phone number and name being recorded... no point anymore. It already everywhere.

Maybe the newspaper can run a article when the COVID19 death rate surpass the murder rate. But put the article in a small print somewhere on page 9, so the worker bees continue happily working while people continue dying off.

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2020, 8:42 pm

maj. tom wrote:A lot of large business places taking records for contact tracing.
Which is useless at this stage of spread.

At the MOH conference yesterday they said it even more important now so as to prevent the outbreak from moving into extremely rapid spread so they still doing it. They just not specifying how many cases are contacts and how many are pending investigation.

I doh know why they haven't considered contact tracing apps on cell phones yet. That could eliminate all the unknown origin cases.

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2020, 8:42 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

the part about this is... the gov't doesn't seem to be contact tracing anymore. You don't hear any more stories about so and so being closed for sanitation. All that phone number and name being recorded... no point anymore. It already everywhere.

Maybe the newspaper can run a article when the COVID19 death rate surpass the murder rate. But put the article in a small print somewhere on page 9, so the worker bees continue happily working while people continue dying off.

that is why i was perturbed. i admired the fore thinking of the management, one of the owners attended me, and she was really courteous. they putting all that effort and resources into doing something very worthwhile. but the govt all but give up. and they dont see that.

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2020, 8:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

At that level of spread half those worker bees in quarantine or even Covid positive. Tell me businesses won't be affected at that point.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 11th, 2020, 7:49 am

So this week supposed to be the end of the 28 day restrictions that started on the 17th of August. Didn't hear of prime minister calling any press conference tomorrow yet. So we wait.

Postby sMASH » September 11th, 2020, 8:00 am

fokhan_96 wrote:So this week supposed to be the end of the 28 day restrictions that started on the 17th of August. Didn't hear of prime minister calling any press conference tomorrow yet. So we wait.

srs, i coudl swear next week was the last week for it. :cry:

Postby K74T » September 11th, 2020, 9:08 am

fokhan_96 wrote:So this week supposed to be the end of the 28 day restrictions that started on the 17th of August. Didn't hear of prime minister calling any press conference tomorrow yet. So we wait.
Might be announced later