***THE FARMERS CHED***

Jerry84

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Jerry84 » September 5th, 2020, 12:00 pm

So I recently acquired 5 acres of land in Mathura. Instead of just leaving it there I wanted to cultivate some kinda crop which require little maintenance, just to get something back. I have the intention of visiting once a month when this happens, except for when crops need to be picked/collected. Any suggestions on what kinda crop to plant. Bear in mind that it's not the entire 5 acres I'll plant but just some spots which may add up to 1 acre. Thanks

matix

Postby matix » September 5th, 2020, 12:18 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So I recently acquired 5 acres of land in Mathura. Instead of just leaving it there I wanted to cultivate some kinda crop which require little maintenance, just to get something back. I have the intention of visiting once a month when this happens, except for when crops need to be picked/collected. Any suggestions on what kinda crop to plant. Bear in mind that it's not the entire 5 acres I'll plant but just some spots which may add up to 1 acre. Thanks

Soil type?

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 5th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Currently doing soil test with Cariri
matix wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:So I recently acquired 5 acres of land in Mathura. Instead of just leaving it there I wanted to cultivate some kinda crop which require little maintenance, just to get something back. I have the intention of visiting once a month when this happens, except for when crops need to be picked/collected. Any suggestions on what kinda crop to plant. Bear in mind that it's not the entire 5 acres I'll plant but just some spots which may add up to 1 acre. Thanks

Soil type?

Postby 88sins » September 6th, 2020, 12:25 pm

NR8 wrote:What can I use to get my kitchen garden chadon beni seedlings big like the 6-8" leaves they sell in the market?

Chadon beni doesn't need any setta fertilizer to grow big, just need a soil that drains water well and is easily aerated but said soil MUST be kept moist. What I do is use a 3:2:1 mix of potting soil, sharp sand and rabbit manure. Getting very good results.

Also, it's a plant that doesn't like too much heat, best kept in a area where it can get some shade or where there's good air flow.

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2020, 12:36 pm

we grow ours under lime tree with good results

Postby 88sins » September 6th, 2020, 1:03 pm

Yeah pugboy, bandaña like shade. Have a thyme patch that starting to try to get outta hand, the individual leaves HUGE, bigger than my hand. Need to trim and replant.

Real quick question tho
I have some pak choi to put down tomorrow, but I studying what I can use to discourage pests other than chemical insecticides. I not trying to use a setta chemical. Caterpillar done attack a few already in the seed trays, and they brutal boi. The other evening i watered them, everything normz.
By the next morning, I seeing entire leaves missing. So I know when I put them in the ground dem fuggers go try to have a field day and mash them up from a side and I'd prefer to avoid that.
What allyuh recommend?

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2020, 4:25 pm

Look into nimbecidine
Screenshot_20200906-162608_Chrome.jpeg

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 6th, 2020, 4:40 pm

Neem or Dipel. Both will require frequent applications.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2020, 7:39 am

Fellaz

What good to kill a ants nest?
They building a mountain by me here...
I kick it by accident and red ants like peas

Postby 88sins » September 7th, 2020, 9:12 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

if yuh check me tomorrow I could give you some pyrethrin that I use. If not, fipronil works well.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 8th, 2020, 3:45 pm

So what can be used to keep away critters like snakes, centipede etc?

Postby 88sins » September 8th, 2020, 7:05 pm

Jerry84 wrote:So what can be used to keep away critters like snakes, centipede etc?

keep the grass low, remove all dead leaves & old plant material. once they not getting a food supply or favorable living conditions they will move along on their own.
but it's a good thing to be seeing some small snakes & centipedes around, they keep other pests numbers in check.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 10th, 2020, 6:51 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

if yuh check me tomorrow I could give you some pyrethrin that I use. If not, fipronil works well.

hmmmm....

Boi, pressure these days yes.
Work slow, but like still cant find time to do some small stuff.
I will vibes you when i in yuh zone next rounds

Postby Chimera » September 13th, 2020, 8:12 pm

whats a nice vine to plant along a chain link to completely that will grow and completely cover it over time?

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2020, 8:17 pm

doh worry the wild vine with a fruit which looks like a little cucumber will take over

Postby adnj » September 13th, 2020, 9:14 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:whats a nice vine to plant along a chain link to completely that will grow and completely cover it over time?

pugboy wrote:doh worry the wild vine with a fruit which looks like a little cucumber will take over
It's called creeping cucumber. The fruits are edible.

I've seen it grown to cover chainlink fences in the southern US.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2020, 2:49 pm

do chive farmers grow from seeds they germinate themselves or buy seedlings?

we normally just replant cuttings from chive we buy but want to grow some more.

Postby Chimera » September 14th, 2020, 3:06 pm

plenty seedling places sell trays of chive

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Thx

Phone Surgeon wrote:plenty seedling places sell trays of chive

Postby meccalli » September 14th, 2020, 3:12 pm

pugboy wrote:Thx

Yeah, seedlings. Usually you'll get a crate with 120 chive seedlings for around $70- $100 depending on the time of year.

Postby pugboy » September 14th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Lol that’s too much
I looking for 20 or so

meccalli wrote:

Yeah, seedlings. Usually you'll get a crate with 120 chive seedlings for around $70- $100 depending on the time of year.

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2020, 12:09 pm

meccalli wrote:

tray holding 84 seedlings - $10-$20
pack of about 500-1000 seeds - $10
about $20 worth of potting mix

do the math
cheaper to plant seed than seedling

Postby X_Factor » September 15th, 2020, 8:26 pm

^advantage is time...and sometimes you do a tray and it may not be the best and you waste more time
especially if you buy those tablet packs filled with seeds...germination is sometimes poor depending how old and how the seeds were stored

but those same trays of chive was 35$ before covid....since then almost all seedlings have gone up in price

Postby pugboy » September 15th, 2020, 8:31 pm

I passed by asasco Aranguez today,
For small quantities they sell $10 for 12 seedlings

For a small home garden it might make more sense to just buy the big bundles of chive and use the root cuttings
Saves a lot more time as it hitting the ground running with developed root base.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » September 15th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Last edited by WestIndian424 on November 13th, 2020, 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 16th, 2020, 5:24 am

Well, i mix some regent and poured 2Litres down the ants nest.
i went and kick up the nest yesterday, no ants came out.
they cut the grass yesterday and i discovered 2 more nests, so weekend i go deal with them 2.

Next question:
what good for wild dasheen?
after we cut the grass last time, we sprayed a gramoxone, diuron, 2,4-D mix and it kept the grass down, but the last set of rains like it created new life.

Postby adnj » September 16th, 2020, 6:47 am

Spray Diuron mixed with 2,4-D first. It takes more than seven days for either to move into the plant.

If you want to burn down any remaining weeds or grass, you can spray with Gramoxone after two weeks.

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2020, 2:59 pm

Looking for a O ring for this spray can cover. Went several agri shops and no luck.

Any ideas?
20200921_145242.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » September 21st, 2020, 3:06 pm

The Rangoon Creeper is nice but can get heavy. I also saw Ivy cover a chainlink fence pretty good
Phone Surgeon wrote:whats a nice vine to plant along a chain link to completely that will grow and completely cover it over time?

Postby Chimera » September 21st, 2020, 4:11 pm

Googled the rangoon creeper..looks nice...where would I get seeds or plants like that? Weight shouldnt be an issue. My chainlink has 2 rows of galvanized pipe