Taxes to be removed on Laptops and Tablets says Finance Minister

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2020, 10:36 am

Just last night they removed all taxes . ..
FB_IMG_1599273140050.jpeg

Re: Laptops You Say ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2020, 10:38 am

It's passing strange that SOME people have $$$ for sou sou as an investment ..

And regular if not everyday fried chicken investment :D :D

But no $$$$ for their child's education investment ..

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2020, 11:16 am

RedVEVO wrote:What happen to ALL the laptops that were given FREE ?

Why is Gov't NOT removing ALL taxes to allow children to have laptops ?

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 7362e.html
Woke up late again.

Postby SR » September 5th, 2020, 11:40 am

If i read correct taxes are not going to be removed till the end of the year.....

Am i wrong?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 5th, 2020, 12:24 pm

SR wrote:If i read correct taxes are not going to be removed till the end of the year.....

Am i wrong?

You are wrong , that's taxes on mobile phones. Taxes on laptops, tablets are to be removed immediately.

I just want to know if that includes the 7% OPT

dogg

Postby dogg » September 5th, 2020, 12:38 pm

So the Panday gov't removed taxes on computers and peripherals decades ago. The Rowley gov't reinstated it 5 years ago. Now they're removing it again?

Praise be! :? :?

Postby aaron17 » September 5th, 2020, 12:46 pm

Is redvevo trolling with this thread?

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2020, 1:39 pm

dogg wrote:So the Panday gov't removed taxes on computers and peripherals decades ago. The Rowley gov't reinstated it 5 years ago. Now they're removing it again?

You see level of stupidity.

Yet still ppl vote for PNM

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2020, 4:32 pm

adnj wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:What happen to ALL the laptops that were given FREE ?

Why is Gov't NOT removing ALL taxes to allow children to have laptops ?

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 7362e.html
Woke up late again.

Meaning ALL taxes DA :lol: :lol:

Online taxes removed ?

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2020, 4:33 pm

dogg wrote:So the Panday gov't removed taxes on computers and peripherals decades ago. The Rowley gov't reinstated it 5 years ago. Now they're removing it again?

You see level of stupidity.

Yet still ppl vote for PNM

It's a DNA issue .

Hence why GATE was removed.

rebound

Postby rebound » September 5th, 2020, 4:35 pm

So the Tax removal is confirmed yet?

I need to buy a couple laptops

Postby RedVEVO » September 5th, 2020, 4:39 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
SR wrote:If i read correct taxes are not going to be removed till the end of the year.....

Am i wrong?

You are wrong , that's taxes on mobile phones. Taxes on laptops, tablets are to be removed immediately.

I just want to know if that includes the 7% OPT

This tax is known as a " nuisance tax " :lol: :lol:

It attempts to persuade people NOT to buy online .

It did not work since online cheaper than Frederick Street :lol: :lol:

Again democracy in action via stupidity :roll: :roll: :roll:

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 5th, 2020, 8:14 pm

Just to be clear here. It's laptop and desktop computers included right? Not individual PC parts? If not, that's kinda lame.

I need to make sure cuz it's kakahole Impsbert who made the comment of "laptops computers", "notebook computers" and "tablet computers".

Postby paid_influencer » September 5th, 2020, 9:02 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Just to be clear here. It's laptop and desktop computers included right? Not individual PC parts? If not, that's kinda lame.

I need to make sure cuz it's kakahole Impsbert who made the comment of "laptops computers", "notebook computers" and "tablet computers".

yup. the omission of desktops is worrying. them is the same kakaholes that say a CCTV system must have a monitor in d box.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 5th, 2020, 10:34 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Just to be clear here. It's laptop and desktop computers included right? Not individual PC parts? If not, that's kinda lame.

Colm's wording suggests only laptops, notebooks and tablets.

At least he confirmed the OPT is also removed on the above.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2020, 7:44 am

But the people who CANNOT afford the computers to begin with, what difference does it make if the duties are removed? Thye still may not be able to afford the internet.
Once again, TSTT, FLOW, Bmobile, Green dot, these are the companies that should be giving FREE limited wifi for low income children - just let them pay for the setup for the hardware and give them internet access from 8-12 or whatever school hours only .
To Date not a single minister or member of the government has said they would step foward and sacrafice even half their salary for one month so that a child they "care" about can have an education. But they quick to call upon the business community that still cannot get forex and still catching they a55 to survive to sponsor and be caring......

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 7th, 2020, 8:00 am

I am confused are desktop computers ommitted as on two shipping company websites duty for computer towers is 0 per cent.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 7th, 2020, 8:10 am

elec2020 wrote:I am confused are desktop computers ommitted as on two shipping company websites duty for computer towers is 0 per cent.

Duty was always 0% but VAT and OPT were applied.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 7th, 2020, 8:13 am

Ben_spanna wrote:But the people who CANNOT afford the computers to begin with, what difference does it make if the duties are removed? Thye still may not be able to afford the internet.
Once again, TSTT, FLOW, Bmobile, Green dot, these are the companies that should be giving FREE limited wifi for low income children - just let them pay for the setup for the hardware and give them internet access from 8-12 or whatever school hours only .
To Date not a single minister or member of the government has said they would step foward and sacrafice even half their salary for one month so that a child they "care" about can have an education. But they quick to call upon the business community that still cannot get forex and still catching they a55 to survive to sponsor and be caring......

Digicel in Jamaica, many years ago, offered a monthly internet plan that includes a cheap desktop. Just like paying for a postpaid phone where the phone costs is subsidized to give the consumer a cheaper or 'free' phone.

I'd like to see our ISPs offer this as a new package

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 7th, 2020, 8:25 am

Laptops in the traditional sense are not what kids need. Mobile thin clients or terminals that can access the cloud so they can access ministry approved software applications and limited web browsing would be more appropriate. 1TB disk storage, 8/16GB ram, Core i5/i7 processor etc are just wasted resources. When it comes to licensing and subscription fees, going cloud under a SaaS and PaaS will reduce those costs including endpoint security.

So in essence, a laptop pc with installed apps connected to a govt server using wifi is great but not exactly what some had in mind.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 7th, 2020, 8:38 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I am confused are desktop computers ommitted as on two shipping company websites duty for computer towers is 0 per cent.

Duty was always 0% but VAT and OPT were applied.

Thanks for clearing that up for me. Its clear i had a brain fart moment. I assumed duty was a tax.

Quality Tech Deals

Postby Quality Tech Deals » September 8th, 2020, 8:41 am

imbert.png

As far as I know, laws are not passed via Friday night tweets.

Laptops are still being taxed fully as of today. Pressure ensues.

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (36.15 KiB) Viewed 4123 times

Other freight companies are still quiet, share if you see or hear anything.

Postby maj. tom » September 8th, 2020, 9:13 am

Well they're right. Any changes must be gazetted as an official notice from the Government.
e.g. Online Purchase Tax: http://news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/E-Gazette/Gazette%202016/Legal%20Notice/Legal%20Notice%20No.%20163%20of%202016.pdf

Like Imbert fool allyuh again. He must be taking lessons from Trump's tweets.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 8th, 2020, 9:19 am

watch in the coming weeks for classifieds being flooded with tablets and laptops at bargain prices LOL

Quality Tech Deals

Postby Quality Tech Deals » September 8th, 2020, 10:41 am

Ben_spanna wrote:watch in the coming weeks for classifieds being flooded with tablets and laptops at bargain prices LOL

Possibly, but, keep in mind local suppliers had limited stock a while now due to global manufacturing shortage because of pandemic restrictions (and sanctions) combined with a spike in demand from increased work and school from home activity.

HP, Dell and Lenovo very limited and mostly out of stock or at best have October pre-orders. What you're finding from retailers are leftover supplies at higher prices or gaming laptops.

Anticipating that they prioritized Tiger Lake manufacturing so people could at least hope for a decent supply of next gen laps if anything at all.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 8th, 2020, 10:47 am

Statement from Customs concerning the exemption on computers

60b225ee-ee53-455f-ba6c-38cfbf3f0e4a.jpg

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2020, 10:51 am

Imbetts fools the PNM ppl once again

Re: Taxes to be removed on Laptops and Tablets says Finance Minister

Postby K74T » September 8th, 2020, 11:25 am

Refunds for erroneous tax charges!

From Minister Colm Imbert:
“Here is the Order I signed, waiving VAT and OPT on laptops, notebooks and tablets. It is retroactive to September 4th. It turns out the Customs erroneously charged tax on some laptops that were imported using manual entries yesterday. The taxes were not charged on laptops imported using electronic entries. Any such charges will be refunded"

FB_IMG_1599578709081.jpeg

zorced

Re: Taxes to be removed on Laptops and Tablets says Finance Minister

Postby zorced » September 8th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Like he just signed that?

Why he didn't reference the ammendment in the tweet?

How customs didn't get the memo even days after?

This place not real.

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Actually, this is from Tropical Express.

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Statement from Customs concerning the exemption on computers

60b225ee-ee53-455f-ba6c-38cfbf3f0e4a.jpg