COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 7:09 am

This can go two ways today. Rowley will make a decision either like:

1. Trump; keep everything opened for the economy and the virus spreads unchecked and thousands of deaths. The economy collapses in such a small country with the health sector over burdened, most people panicked scared and a good % of the workforce dead or dying. This virus spreads.

2. NZ Jacinda Ardern who locked down this week again for at least 14 days to stop new cases that developed. Monitor the progress.

So today we will get our answer on the character of liar Rowley and friends. And expect more excuses about why so little testing, fake numbers, etc.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2020, 7:30 am

we will go back to 5 in church and bar, that will solve it, lol. they might wait till like the last week before school to say about reopening schools that is a super spreader monster.
if i was in charge, keep every ting as is, keep schools closed. all retail establishments, go to take out and delivery services. if u can have outdoor dining, space out the seatings. markets and super markets, no limits, but keep spaced out.

this recent increase in testing results will go a long way to influence those who worried to be cautious. the people that dont care, well, they will bear the brunt. no worries.

what some research had pointed, is that u get a lot of different strains developing as virus spreads. some strong some weak, some quick to spread, some slow. if u allow it to spread, u get the fast to spread strains being spread faster. but u also get the weaker strains spreading more, because people would not be affected too much, they continue to go forward and mingle. the more severe cases tend to hold back. so those strains dont pass on as much. and the population get exposed and develop its immunity to it. so u still need some amount of movement to be restricted, but not totally locked down. when u lock down, and come back out, any introduction of the virus, will resume the cycle.

new zealand can afford to lock back down. and also because they contained the spread group. our situation, contacts are al lover the place, u will ahve to isolate the whole island. we literally cannot afford to do so.

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 8:06 am

Europe is facing a 2nd wave spike. Countries are moving to quarantine and lockdown again.
News around the world is grim regarding this latest virus spread.

Coronavirus in Europe: Infections surge in France, Germany and Spain
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53747852

Europe lockdown: New coronavirus rules country by country
https://www.bbc.com/news/explainers-53640249

Coronavirus: Millions return to lockdown in Philippines
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-53646149

carluva

Postby carluva » August 15th, 2020, 8:24 am

This COVID is an entire mess thanks to the people of Trinidad. Regardless of who is in govt, Trini mentality remains constant...
zoom rader wrote:This Covid is an entire mess thanks to PNM.

UNC warned PNM from the start and they failed to take out measures.

They lied all the way to elections on Covid and lay blame on UNC .

Elections should have been postponed due to go covid. I am sure we now see a further spike.

Trinis are very stupid people and very very guilable.

The PNM had put everyones lives at risk

Hello Zoom,

Covid is an entire mess due to the irresponsibility of Trinis.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2020, 8:40 am

They need to cancel school opening and they need to close back bars.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 15th, 2020, 8:45 am

all dis covid business is like them indiana jones moves where they open some ancient tomb from egypt and unleash some curse on the world. didnt cnn report they found 30 tomb recently in oct 2019?
https://edition.cnn.com/2019/10/19/middleeast/egypt-discovers-coffins-mummies-trnd/index.html

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 9:13 am

screwbash wrote:all dis covid business is like them indiana jones moves where they open some ancient tomb from egypt and unleash some curse on the world. didnt cnn report they found 30 tomb recently in oct 2019?
https://edition.cnn.com/2019/10/19/middleeast/egypt-discovers-coffins-mummies-trnd/index.html
Imhotep! Imhotep!
1 and 2 mummy movies were a classic

Postby meccalli » August 15th, 2020, 9:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:They need to cancel school opening and they need to close back bars.

A;so any kind of mass gatherings like religious services etc etc..

carluva

Postby carluva » August 15th, 2020, 9:25 am

Is there really going to be an address to the nation today? The poster posted earlier didn't look authentic.

What time if so?

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2020, 9:27 am

it said 2.30pm 15th August.
But it's going to be 3pm in reality.

And trust me, just log on here read the cliffnotes, don't waste your time watching it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2020, 9:28 am

That statement from carpha have some panties in a bunch atm

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 9:28 am

maj. tom wrote:it said 2.30pm 15th August.
But it's going to be 3pm in reality.

And trust me, just log on here read the cliffnotes, don't waste your time watching it.
True.

jsali

Postby jsali » August 15th, 2020, 9:29 am

https://www.facebook.com/15475853821000 ... 224438857/
carluva wrote:Is there really going to be an address to the nation today? The poster posted earlier didn't look authentic.

What time if so?

Postby goalpost » August 15th, 2020, 9:51 am

They need to minimize the amount of people out there.
Close down d facking bars.
Remove in house dining in restaurants.
No street foods.
Rotate staff in all sectors.
Work from home, if possible.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2020, 9:55 am

From day one ive been telling people to listen to doctors and nurses over the MOH...CARPHA spell it out for allyuh

Postby aaron17 » August 15th, 2020, 9:56 am

goalpost wrote:They need to minimize the amount of people out there.
No street foods.
They were rotating staff in public sector. Hope they don't shut down mechanic places because I think they are essential.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 15th, 2020, 10:17 am

48 positive
117714582_3610468012316314_5559971552234386151_n.jpeg
117893362_3610467835649665_7635493535129975107_n.jpeg

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2020, 10:17 am

More ICU patients damn

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 15th, 2020, 10:21 am

Soooooo more cases from BEFORE elections i see.

Postby The_Honourable » August 15th, 2020, 10:25 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:That statement from carpha have some panties in a bunch atm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:From day one ive been telling people to listen to doctors and nurses over the MOH...CARPHA spell it out for allyuh

CARPHA not entertaining being accused of delayed results. So the question is where is this "delay" coming from.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby goalpost » August 15th, 2020, 10:36 am

When a person is in a step down facility, what does that mean?

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 474 cases, 10 deaths, 325 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 10:37 am

^ i would assume u move from critical to stable

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 10:38 am

I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

Postby goalpost » August 15th, 2020, 10:46 am

aaron17 wrote:
goalpost wrote:They need to minimize the amount of people out there.
No street foods.
They were rotating staff in public sector. Hope they don't shut down mechanic places because I think they are essential.

Rotation of staff in some places, not all. Employers knew this wasn't gonna get enforced, because the country was preoccupied with elections.

Postby adnj » August 15th, 2020, 10:57 am

elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

You are way, way off even as a joke.

The USA has 168K deaths and 5.62M cases.

To match the severity of the USA outbreak, Trinidad would need to have 700 dead and 22K cases -- and climbing.
Last edited by adnj on August 15th, 2020, 10:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 15th, 2020, 11:10 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I see tnt is well on its way to be the US of the caribbean when it comes to covid. All we missing is the mass graves. At this rate might start seeing that mid next month

You are way, way off even as a joke.

The USA has 168K deaths and 5.62M cases.

To match the severity of USA outbreak, Trinidad would need to have 700 dead and 22K cases -- and climbing.

U missed my point. I am stating that like US is the leader in covid infections in the G7. We may end up being the leader in covid infections in the catibbean. That is all. Hence my statement the US of the caribbean.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 15th, 2020, 11:42 am

Just heard that Pricesmart la Romaine has been closed for sanitization

Postby toyolink » August 15th, 2020, 11:44 am

The prevalence of cvid19 is as a consequence of failure to comply with rules we have all been encouraged to follow to keep ourselves safe and mitigate the possible spread of this virus.
The science about this virus and infection rate suggest that using a factor of about 10-15 will give a good idea of the true number of infected individuals moving around within our borders, and a large number of these individuals may never know they are infected.
Using the assumptions made here it is imperative that everyone protect themselves and their family by not taking any chances and slavishly flow all the rules.
BTW, I am assuming at least 8000 infected persons are floating around and every time I 'go out', I would cross paths with at least 1 or surface contaminated by an infected person.
This is my reality today and that which informs my behavior.
Instead of fearing this virus understand it and resolve to manage it, actually those who elect to disregard the risk and the simple rules are playing with self imposed pain and suffering which I wish on no one.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » August 15th, 2020, 11:48 am

If someone is sent to Augustus Long hospital in point-a-pierre, what are the chances its covid 19? I know there were talks in the papers saying it was being refurbished to host covid patients.
A padna mom got tested and sent there but they're not giving us the results.

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2020, 12:01 pm

3 in ICU. the last 2 that was in ICU dead. so we can expect 3 more deaths soon?

so your survival rate in ICU is so low despite drug treatments?