COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 412 cases, 9 deaths, 265 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2020, 7:11 pm

they did 15000 tests in a day to look for any further infections too

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 412 cases, 9 deaths, 265 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby ST Auto » August 14th, 2020, 7:11 pm

Shakes like your friend father passed away. Condolences to the family

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2020, 7:14 pm

We now have about twice as much active cases than the number of recovered

Screenshot 2020-08-14 at 7.13.10 PM.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 404 cases, 8 deaths, 257 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2020, 7:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:https://www.cbsnews.com/news/new-zealand-covid-lockdown-auckland-12-days/

Wellington — New Zealand's government on Friday extended a lockdown of its largest city Auckland for another 12 days as it tries to stamp out its first domestic coronavirus outbreak in more than three months.

The outbreak has grown to 30 people and extended beyond Auckland for the first time. Until the cluster was discovered Tuesday, New Zealand had gone 102 days without infections spreading in the community. The only known cases were travelers quarantined after arriving from abroad.

Health authorities believe the virus must have been reintroduced from overseas, but genome testing hasn't found a link with any of the quarantined travelers. That has prompted authorities to investigate whether shipping workers were a source, after several employees at a food storage facility were infected.

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said extending the Auckland lockdown, which began Wednesday, would give authorities time to get a handle on the virus cluster and isolate those infected.

"Together, we have got rid of COVID before," Ardern said in a highly anticipated address. "We have kept it out for 102 days, longer than any other country. We have been world-leading in our COVID response, with the result that many lives were saved and our economy was getting going faster than almost anywhere else. We can do all of that again."

All of the new cases in the outbreak appear to be linked through family or work connections. The only known infections outside Auckland are two people in the central North Island town of Tokoroa who were visited by infected family members from Auckland. Officials said they thought the chances were low the virus would spread further in Tokoroa.

Several of those infected work at an Americold food storage facility in the Auckland suburb of Mt. Wellington. Officials are looking at the possibility that workers on a freight ship or at the port may have spread the infections, despite physical distancing requirements at those sites and orders preventing ship workers coming ashore.

Director-General of Health Ashley Bloomfield said they were doing rigorous testing at Auckland's port "as part of our investigation just to follow that chain of the Americold goods that might have come in through the port and been transported to that Mt. Wellington depot."

Officials are also investigating the possibility the virus could have survived from abroad on chilled or frozen food boxes and then infected workers in New Zealand, a scenario they consider unlikely.

Bloomfield said they completed a record of more than 15,000 tests Thursday and they were getting a clearer picture of the outbreak's contours.

"All of the cases so far, at this point, are connected. They are all part of one Auckland-based cluster," said Health Minister Chris Hipkins. "And that is good news."

The outbreak has cast doubt on whether New Zealand's general election will go ahead as planned next month and has halted political campaigning. Ardern said she would decide by Sunday whether to delay the election, which she can do by up to about two months under New Zealand law. Opinion polls indicate Ardern's Labour Party is favored to win a second term.

quoting this to show what a reasonable government response looks like.

it woudl work in their case, as it was detected fast enough that it jsut a region its in. in our case, they are all over. if we lock back down, as soon as u go to market, or bank or to pay tax or to vote or sumting, it will spread back. because there are so many persons with it, and so widely distributed. u will see the cases high, then slow down, and as soon as u reopen, the cases will resume. because it is so widespread already.
what we doing now(sans elections) is the best way.

ron_28

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 426 cases, 10 deaths, 277 active, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby ron_28 » August 14th, 2020, 7:21 pm

Media release from CARPHA
IMG-20200814-WA0013.jpg

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2020, 7:25 pm

^the hope is at least when it slows down the contact tracing can now keep up and track down all contacts & quarantine them- should really be in state quarantine as too many family members getting infected

Postby MaxPower » August 14th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Another death....

Any change of mindset yet Trinis?

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2020, 7:28 pm

bluefete wrote:So 2 people died today.

Right. Here we go.

so what treatment they using? it eh wukking?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 14th, 2020, 7:28 pm

ron_28 wrote:Media release from CARPHA

So who is delaying the results? The private labs? I'm confused, is CARPHA lashing back at the MoH?

Postby meccalli » August 14th, 2020, 7:32 pm

The explanation will certainly be interesting..

Postby gastly369 » August 14th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Meet meh by the bar we go knock ah glass is weekendddd

Beach next day? Say the word inno
MaxPower wrote:Another death....

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2020, 7:38 pm

So carpha refuting the 7 day delay.
Somebody being less than honest

Postby goalpost » August 14th, 2020, 7:40 pm

So we striving for herd immunity, it seems

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » August 14th, 2020, 7:42 pm

So reallll results hold back till after elections. Most of the new cases were from before elections. Dem have no shame.

Postby MaxPower » August 14th, 2020, 7:55 pm

gastly369 wrote:Meet meh by the bar we go knock ah glass is weekendddd

Beach next day? Say the word inno

Lol

Trinis knocking glass all week we....

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2020, 8:02 pm

maybe not yet.. but the coming 2 weeks go be scary- even if we lockdown now dem already infected so we bound to have a lot of those 277 ppl having preexisting conditions

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » August 14th, 2020, 8:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:
bluefete wrote:So 2 people died today.

Right. Here we go.

so what treatment they using? it eh wukking?

multisymptom non drowsy

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 14th, 2020, 8:25 pm

Hmm
IMG-20200814-WA0073.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2020, 8:30 pm

who going last lap tomorrow?

:drinking:

i only joking because I don't know how else to deal with the impending sense of doom. This thing already reach in the prisons service, police service, coast guard and hospital populations. Total chaos is incoming. Death of a level we have never seen in this country. rioting. health services impacted for generations when experienced doctors and nurses die. maybe even me, dead. other people dead. I sleeping 10 hours a day now and still feeling sleepy. this thing have to be a bad dream

Postby Gladiator » August 14th, 2020, 8:37 pm

So wah dem tryin to say... Roshan lie???

Postby aaron17 » August 14th, 2020, 8:41 pm

Lucky i service car yes.

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2020, 8:42 pm

Gladiator wrote:

So wah dem tryin to say... Roshan lie???

Roshan, doh forget to smile eh. Look good for the camera :drinking:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2020, 8:43 pm

Nurses' head: Covid19 figures may be 5-6 times 'official' numbers

President of the TT Registered Nurses' Association (TTRNA) Idi Stuart has suggested the actual numbers of covid19 cases may be five or six times the number officially recorded.

Giving an example of a nurse who tried to get herself tested, he said, "It's almost like they don't want to test them.

"So we are aware we should multiply current figures by five or six to get an idea of what our actual caseload is in TT."

When Newsday spoke with Stuart on Friday, he said two of the most recent cases of covid19 were nurses assigned to the maternity block of the Port of Spain General Hospital.

Stuart said both nurses were told to stay at home until health authorities could pick them up and take them to a quarantine facility, but he did not know if that had been done up to Friday afternoon.

He said the cases have caused some concern among staff, who felt testing was not being done fast enough to allow for timely quarantine.

"It has caused some unease with the pace with which testing was being done and the continued refusal by the testing agencies to carry out testing on healthcare workers unless they meet specific criteria.

"I had a nurse who was a primary contact herself who went for testing herself as a precaution and was turned down at her health facility in her area and told to go to St Joseph. She spent the whole day waiting in St Joseph for testing."

Stuart said there was need for a more efficient testing method for nurses to better prevent against the spread of the virus and warned that unless quick testing was made available to suspected cases, a larger surge of infections was possible.

"It should be done immediately, not having to wait for a week to pass. It's taking too long.

"We are already in August. From March to now we have had six months of experience with covid, and we should be working much more efficiently. If we can't control it within the health community, we won't be able to control it in the wider community."

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/14/nurses ... l-numbers/

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Allyuh doh wait for Rowley to say lockdown and stay home eh. Don't play like we eh know how to stop this. We did it in April. Only essential people should be out now. No more liming, only grocery... come on we did this before!!!
People who have to go to work, wear masks, social distance and wash your hands.

but.... it's not like allyuh didn't know all this and yet here we are. And fcuk all the selfish shits who had brought back Covid through our borders and broke quarantine. And we are aware of the illegal immigrant coming from South America where the disease is like wildfire. We were going good until you showed up with your nastiness. All these dead souls will weigh on you. :fist:

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 14th, 2020, 8:53 pm

aaron17 wrote:Lucky i service car yes.

Yes, lucky to be having direct contact with cars owned by the stinkest people alive.

One come by me today with he 5 other family members in tow. I told him go drop them off or i not working on he vehicle. I dont want no little snot nosed offspring running around my place.

Postby Gladiator » August 14th, 2020, 8:59 pm

maj. tom wrote:Allyuh doh wait for Rowley to say lockdown and stay home eh. Don't play like we eh know how to stop this. We did it in April. Only essential people should be out now. No more liming, only grocery... come on we did this before!!!

but.... it's not like allyuh didn't know all this and yet here we are. And fcuk all the selfish shits who had brought back Covid through our borders and broke quarantine. And we are aware of the illegal immigrant coming from South America where the disease is like wildfire. We were going good until you showed up with your nastiness. All these dead souls will weigh on you. :fist:

Boy tom... my company doing the opposite and calling out ALL workers to report FULL TIME from Monday!!!

Postby paid_influencer » August 14th, 2020, 9:05 pm

ST Auto wrote:HmmIMG-20200814-WA0073.jpeg

maybe I reading this wrong, but pricesmart have a positive case on staff, but not closing that branch? :drinking:
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 14th, 2020, 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2020, 9:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:Allyuh doh wait for Rowley to say lockdown and stay home eh. Don't play like we eh know how to stop this. We did it in April. Only essential people should be out now. No more liming, only grocery... come on we did this before!!!

i feel we should have a national boycott- everybody stay home except for groceries & essentials