Would you VOTE in 2020?

Given the Current Political Landscape, Would you VOTE in 2020?

1. Nah. COVID TIMES. I Politically Distancing myself from this
13%
2. Yerp. Hadda make meh stand! We Ride at dawn beyotches!!!
44%
3. On the fence. This election promises not gonna cut it. Serious plans have to be put forth with realistic expectations.
43%

Total votes: 54

Would you VOTE in 2020?

Postby Monk BANzai » May 22nd, 2020, 4:59 pm

Framing the question a lil bit different and adding a poll. Why? Becuz reasons....

Kamla’s UNC and Rowley’s PNM are both the weakest they have ever been. Both have make plans and failed to execute during their tenure. Both have allegations of corruption hanging over their heads with neither party being able to produce solid evidence against the other. The public is tired of the ‘they tief plenty... don’t vote for them’ campaigns.

That said. Would you Vote?

Reasons, the reasons that we're here
The reasons that we fear
Our feelings won't disappear
And after the love game has been played
All our illusions were just a parade
And all the reasons start to fade)

Re: Would you VOTE in 2020?

Postby Rovin » May 22nd, 2020, 5:32 pm

.... 3

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2020, 6:01 pm

Mods . It ain't have a thread for elections 2020 already ?

Postby Monk BANzai » May 22nd, 2020, 6:03 pm

rspann wrote:Mods . It ain't have a thread for elections 2020 already ?

Yes. and as another Mod pointed out, that one will take its time to build. This one is simple: Vote and move on.

Refer to your Caucus pamphlet. Have a good evening.

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2020, 6:04 pm

Ok.understood . Vote inside .

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2020, 6:10 pm

Distancing oneself and not voting is never an option . There are people who don't vote but criticize the party in power . Simple., If you didn't vote , keep yuh arse quiet and take whatever they do .

If you on the fence, what pushes you to one side or the other.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 22nd, 2020, 7:03 pm

rspann wrote:Distancing oneself and not voting is never an option . There are people who don't vote but criticize the party in power . Simple., If you didn't vote , keep yuh arse quiet and take whatever they do .

You asking about ideologies? what separates UNC vs PNM other than who gets to eat a food?

As far as I see it, while PNM has underperformed, they appoint far more competent people generally.

But UNC does pave more roads......

Postby rspann » May 22nd, 2020, 7:14 pm

I don't understand what you're saying . If they appoint more competent persons , how come the under-performance ? Shouldn't it be the opposite ?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 22nd, 2020, 7:33 pm

rspann wrote:I don't understand what you're saying . If they appoint more competent persons , how come the under-performance ? Shouldn't it be the opposite ?

well they could have underperformed worse.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 22nd, 2020, 7:33 pm

Why can't riot be an option?

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » May 22nd, 2020, 8:06 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Why can't riot be an option?

because everybody fraid the loud mouth who became a soldier, the soldier who became a politician, the politician who became COP.... you get the picture.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 22nd, 2020, 8:10 pm

Yes I am voting.
Even if I don't like the candidates, I will still to go spoil the ballot - I take that civic duty seriously.

And I always say, no vote no voice. Even if your candidate loses, voting gives you the right to lobby for change.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2020, 8:24 pm

vote for somebody who will give you a voice. don't spoil ballot or no-vote. If you have to do that, better put it by PEP - PEA will not win, but at least he will be there to call out the partisan dotishness on both sides.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 22nd, 2020, 8:37 pm

No incentive to vote.....and paying taxes gives me that voice to call out politicians on their bullchit. One of the main access roads out of my area is still bottlenecked with no sign of alleviation anytime soon despite promises to fix it since 2010. No salary increase since 2015 despite the govt having money to waste on several questionable dealings. Also having to do an entire career change because since 2010 bith parties have been screwing the agri sector

Postby The_Honourable » May 22nd, 2020, 10:14 pm

Spoiling the ballot or no vote would show that there are disenfranchised persons but it doesn't matter in an elections because to my knowledge there is no legislation that states for example if a certain percentage of the electorate doesn't turn out or a threshold hasn't been met, the elections are invalid.

So even if 50 percent or less of the electorate turns out, whoever is determined the winner is what we will be stuck with for the next 5 years.

Postby wagonrunner » May 22nd, 2020, 11:18 pm

rspann wrote: There are people who don't vote but criticize the party in power . Simple., If you didn't vote , keep yuh arse quiet and take whatever they do . .

NWS Language
https://youtu.be/qxsQ7jJJcEA?t=120

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2020, 12:01 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Yes I am voting.
Even if I don't like the candidates, I will still to go spoil the ballot - I take that civic duty seriously.

And I always say, no vote no voice. Even if your candidate loses, voting gives you the right to lobby for change.

In going to speak to your MP, lobby relevant politicians etc no one ever asks if you voted nor should they. Voting is irrelevant to having a voice particularly in the majority rules/winner takes all system that we have and the no vote/no voice is a fallacy foisted upon the population by politicians to scare them into the voting booths.

Your right as a citizen is not tied to a ballot on one day every 5 years.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 23rd, 2020, 12:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Yes I am voting.

In going to speak to your MP, lobby relevant politicians etc no one ever asks if you voted nor should they. Voting is irrelevant to having a voice particularly in the majority rules/winner takes all system that we have and the no vote/no voice is a fallacy foisted upon the population by politicians to scare them into the voting booths.

Your right as a citizen is not tied to a ballot on one day every 5 years.

I understand what you're saying, it's just one of my beliefs - I said "right", but it's not really what I meant.

:D

Postby redmanjp » May 23rd, 2020, 2:13 am

so what if there's another wave of covid right before elections? would it be cancelled/postponed? or they would allow vote by mail or some other option? we living in unprecedented times eh so anything cud happen

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2020, 7:23 am

Ultimately the decision will be made in the booth.

All the choices are closely grouped....homogeneous almost.

So it’s easy to change your mind....it should be.

We need swing voters...and to show the political directorate that we are finicky voters.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 23rd, 2020, 7:36 am

redmanjp wrote:so what if there's another wave of covid right before elections? would it be cancelled/postponed? or they would allow vote by mail or some other option? we living in unprecedented times eh so anything cud happen

Vote by mail yuh say.

Under the regular procedure, ballot boxes go missing.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 23rd, 2020, 8:38 am

I would vote if

Pnm move: rohan, shitkickers, ferris, colm, stuart, franklin,terrence, camile

Unc move: kamla, monilal, roberts(yeah he still deh),devant(he deh too),

So it looks like i not voting

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2020, 9:37 am

rspann wrote:Distancing oneself and not voting is never an option . There are people who don't vote but criticize the party in power . Simple., If you didn't vote , keep yuh arse quiet and take whatever they do .

The simple matter of the resignation of the entire UNC top brass according to the Red Drawers brothers.........

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2020, 9:45 am

We need proportional representation.

Every vote would matter then even a PNM in Chaguanas West or a UNC one in any of the Port of Spains.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 23rd, 2020, 10:13 am

Thing to protest/riot for
Dizzy28 wrote:We need proportional representation.

Every vote would matter then even a PNM in Chaguanas West or a UNC one in any of the Port of Spains.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 23rd, 2020, 11:39 am

My history is a bit hazy but wasnt this suggested by Panday more than a decade ago? Or I've got it wrong? I like this as no person would feel like their vote did not matter.
Dizzy28 wrote:We need proportional representation.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 23rd, 2020, 11:48 am

We had a 3/5ths majority govt who could have passed proper laws wrt PR etc and they squandered the opportunity.

agent007

Postby agent007 » May 23rd, 2020, 11:50 am

You forgot to put inverted commas over squandered.

Postby The_Honourable » May 23rd, 2020, 11:51 am

Is only big talk about proportional representation and constitutional reform until you reach government. You realize how powerful central government is under the current system and you don't want to give up that.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2020, 12:10 pm

Winner takes all!!!!
Made worse by our sycophantic parties where the members dare not speak out against the leadership even when it is clear sheit taking place
The_Honourable wrote:Is only big talk about proportional representation and constitutional reform until you reach government. You realize how powerful central government is under the current system and you don't want to give up that.