New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby redmanjp » January 23rd, 2020, 7:39 pm

pete wrote:https://www.cnc3.co.tt/morning-brew/full-roll-out-speed-cameras-coming

Lots of information available in this video.

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System Comes alive March 2nd!

Postby pete » January 23rd, 2020, 11:53 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Honestly I dont see how this thing is supposed to work for company cars and rented cars ... How can they fine someone remotely if they cant ID the driver I can see this going to court real fast and losing as well.
Gonna have to adjust contract to state you are liable for traffic tickets and charge to credit card after or take a deposit of say 3k to cover possible infringements and then refund a few days after the rental once they can confirm no automated tickets generated.

Gonna be rough for ppl daily renting tho. A guy from europcar at the seminar last year said they're hoping it will show up online instantly so when the car is returned they will be able to see one time and know if to charge the customer.

We will see I guess.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 24th, 2020, 6:06 am

Driver caught switching lanes without indication or discretion: Six demerit points.

Following too close to the vehicle in front – careless driving: Six demerit points.

Failure to provide a specimen of breath or blood: 14 demerit points.

Driver who is caught under the influence: Nine demerit points.

Failure to comply with a traffic sign or notice: $1,000 fine and three demerit points.

Exceeding speed limit by 31km/hr or more: $3,000 fine and six demerit points.

Driving while disqualified from holding/obtaining a driver’s permit: 14 demerit points.

The Ministry of Works and Transport website says where there is no fixed-penalty fine stipulated, this is an offence or violation that is not subject to the fixed penalty traffic ticketing system. In that case, demerit points will be recorded only upon conviction by a court.

#1 is the best ting they cud ah do , thank you Batson and MOWT. I hope the cameras picking up this also and that the motorbike police enforce the law. I should have a fixed penalty to #1 also.
#2 rename careless driving to arsehole driving and we good dey

Postby Gem_in_i » January 24th, 2020, 6:11 am

Is there demerit points for driving continuously on the right lane of Highway?

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2020, 6:44 am

ah yes,the days of "len meh yuh car dey nah boi i hadda make a turn dey" will soon be over

Postby aaron17 » January 24th, 2020, 8:13 am

Gem_in_i wrote:Is there demerit points for driving continuously on the right lane of Highway?
To do that..you must have real time surveillance.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 24th, 2020, 8:30 am

No beat up here cuz no points awarded for music men

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 24th, 2020, 4:11 pm

what about fools parking on the wrong side of the road,time to ticket dey mc, ah fool pullin front ah me dis morning to buy coconut. fool aint put on ah indicator nutting,i always say dem shud swing from vine yes.

Postby The_Honourable » February 7th, 2020, 1:12 pm

The Ministry of Works and Transport is pleased to announce that Driving towards Transformation, the official project of revolutionary traffic enforcement systems in Trinidad and Tobago was launched on (Wednesday 22nd January, 2020.)

These legislative amendments to the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Ch. 48:50 by Act No. 9 of 2017, allow for the implementation of the Demerit Points System, the New Fixed Penalty Traffic Ticketing System and the Red Light Camera Enforcement System.

Stay tuned as the Ministry rolls out its educational campaign for the new systems geared at promoting road safety, and greater levels of accountability on our nation’s roadways.

Postby pugboy » February 7th, 2020, 2:32 pm

with all the off duty pohleece and army on pbr
why dey doh put cameras there

Postby pete » February 7th, 2020, 2:45 pm

Inspection rush in...

Postby The_Honourable » February 11th, 2020, 10:08 pm

The Demerit Points System will be used to utilized to monitor, track and improve the road behaviour of drivers. It was conceived and implemented as a part of this transformative traffic system.

The table below highlights a listing of traffic violations and offences that carry Demerit Points under the Ninth Schedule located under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 12th, 2020, 5:13 am

if they can't get your $$ through property taxes, they will surely get it here

Postby hydroep » February 12th, 2020, 5:33 am

BRB...dusting off the bicicleta...:|

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2020, 7:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if they can't get your $$ through property taxes, they will surely get it here
I rather this than property tax tbh

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 13th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Police will abuse this. Soon tickets will dish out for bogus defective tyres .

Postby maj. tom » February 13th, 2020, 9:12 pm

ain't see nothing wrong with any of that yet. The speeding fines are adjusted too depending on the speed, so that's quite fair because the new limit is 100. Unlike the knee-jerk reaction about 2 years ago with the speed guns where a few poor souls got the full fine for driving at 82 km/h. An officer should use one's discretion, with an official warning first before a penalty.

Then again, i may find myself caught in one of those nets some day, despite all my cautions. The case will call in 2036.

Postby dougla_boy » February 13th, 2020, 10:57 pm

This is a very stupid statement. The reasoning behind the fines is to encourage people to drive better and less police resources to traffic offences......
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:if they can't get your $$ through property taxes, they will surely get it here

Postby dougla_boy » February 13th, 2020, 10:58 pm

No, the have things in place to avoid that, and you can contest your ticket in court, there if that option
Kickstart wrote:Police will abuse this. Soon tickets will dish out for bogus defective tyres .

Postby sMASH » February 14th, 2020, 1:05 am

dougla_boy wrote:No, the have things in place to avoid that, and you can contest your ticket in court, there if that option
Kickstart wrote:Police will abuse this. Soon tickets will dish out for bogus defective tyres .

the ticket is not to prove that u did it in court, or explain why, and the sentence/fine determined by a judge.
it is to pay a fine, and u have to initiate to set up court date if u want to contest.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 14th, 2020, 5:10 am

dougla_boy wrote:This is a very stupid statement. The reasoning behind the fines is to encourage people to drive better and less police resources to traffic offences......

I have no problem with the driving under the influence fines, breaking the red light as well as speeding fines...if you ask me it should be more..

whether it really encourages a safer driver, that's left to be seen.....right now we have hefty fines for driving under the influence and almost every week ah whole set ah drivers does get charge for it....same goes with speeding...

Postby redmanjp » February 14th, 2020, 8:43 pm

they need to have the DUI fine and points correspond to your BAC level- just like speeding just 2 kph over is only $1000 and no points- imagine u barely over the limit and get a whopping 9 points.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 14th, 2020, 9:20 pm

You know +- 2kph (iirc) is the accuracy of the speed gun... So essentially to make sure that you are going above the speed limit they have to clock you 2kph above what the limit is.

Postby aaron17 » February 15th, 2020, 2:26 pm

Funny thing...the other day at the beginning of night time, I was driving behind a police car with his blue lights on and I even notice an oncoming car with no lights on at all. They did not even budge.

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 15th, 2020, 2:34 pm

Insurance companies collect a steady stream of premiums. They collect more in premium hikes due to demerit points issued. They pay out less in claims due to reduced RTA's. The main winners here are the Insurance Cos., the GORTT and the banks due to the multiplier effect.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 19th, 2020, 8:59 pm

I have a question. For those that have "work to own" arrangements, who looses the points ? - Is it the driver or the registered owner of the vehicle ?

If the driver is pulled over in a speed trap and he is asked to product his license and insurance, would the violation be applied to him ?

These proposed cameras. Let's say one of those cameras pick up a vehicle breaking a red light, would the ticket and loss of points go to the registered owner ?

Postby Ben_spanna » February 19th, 2020, 9:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:The Demerit Points System will be used to utilized to monitor, track and improve the road behaviour of drivers. It was conceived and implemented as a part of this transformative traffic system.

The table below highlights a listing of traffic violations and offences that carry Demerit Points under the Ninth Schedule located under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act.

Oh sure, and absolutely NO mention of penalty for those ignorant stupid facckers that speed down the shoulders daily, no mention of those idiots who will continue to use a dual lane roundabout like a cakahole..... :fist:
What about all those heavy “T” that going over their limited 65kmph and not staying to their designated left most lane....

Postby redmanjp » February 19th, 2020, 9:18 pm

perhaps the cameras can recognise those vehicles and apply those speed limits as well?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » February 20th, 2020, 2:37 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Based on all I've read, this army vehicle should be charged for a blown right side bulb ?

Just asking...

Kronik

Postby Kronik » February 20th, 2020, 2:56 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:
Adjustments.JPG

Based on all I've read, this army vehicle should be charged for a blown right side bulb ?

Just asking...
The amount of police I see with blown tail light, headlight, fog light