Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 17th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Greetings, good people of Side B and Trinituner.

The time has come for more off-road shenanigans. Since our last run (night run through lopinot/blanchi/cuevas), we've been resting and working on projects, etc.

But for some, the hunger for mud and madness has been burning strong in dey belly.

So... Side B will be celebrating Indian Arrival Day, Wed 30th May by romping in the mud!

Itinerary & Route: Morne Diablo Mud Volcano & Beach (this time in Reverse).
Date: Wed 30th May
Meeting place: KFC Gulf View carpark
Meeting Time: 8:00AM
Departure Time: 9:00AM

Required equipment: Recovery gear, tall boots, First Aid & Medications, sunscreen & insect repellant, cutlass, heavy tools (shovel, pickaxe, etc... In case we need to dig ourselves out), air compressor.... And FLASHLIGHTS (in case we burn too much daylight like last time) and food/drinks in yuh cooler.

As usual, this is a non-alcoholic flight, so no alcohol please.

Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer

droppa

Re: Side B - Indian Arrival Day, Morne Diablo Part 2!!

Postby droppa » May 17th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa

this run will be to MD and MD only, we leaving KFC and going there straight, its a tough trail, and if we keep getting this wetting after wetting it will be harder, but we not backing down....
reinforcements will be on stand by!!!!!

foxbrown

Postby foxbrown » May 17th, 2012, 2:51 pm

droppa wrote:Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox

this run will be to MD and MD only, we leaving KFC and going there straight, its a tough trail, and if we keep getting this wetting after wetting it will be harder, but we not backing down....

bobvis

Postby bobvis » May 17th, 2012, 3:06 pm

Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis

markymark

Postby markymark » May 17th, 2012, 3:09 pm

Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 17th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Ranks filling up fasss!!

Mud hunger burning allyuh chest... And it can only be quenched with moar mud!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 17th, 2012, 4:45 pm

men waiting long time for the re-try of Morne Diablo yuh kno......

it will be real pace up there!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 17th, 2012, 5:14 pm

Did anyone know if they graded this trail? Or same as before

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 17th, 2012, 10:01 pm

Allyuh couldn't time it any better!!!!!.... i home de weekend before :lol: :lol:

Start the Roll Call!!

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed

and remember folks...... walk prepared!! (shackles, straps, air compressors, rain clothes, food, flashlights..... bring everyting!!)

Postby 3stagevtec » May 17th, 2012, 10:33 pm

I NOT missing it this time!!!!!!

Guys, make sure and walk with tools to easily air down and re-inflate your tyres, especially those running All Terrains. The recent rains will make there quite a challenge and will really put your tyres to the test. Airing down greatly increases traction and will give you an easier time on the trail.

Get yourself some proper tow straps and leave them attached to the tow points on your vehicle (if safely possible). You can do this at the start of the trail. It will make rescue operations a lot easier and quicker.

Garden boots are a must obviously. Walk with your FRS / GPRS radios. Lots of water and adequate food in case we remain out late.

If we get an early start, we can take our time progressing through the trail and hopefully get to see the volcano, which I know some of you have never seen as yet!

Come prepared for battle! Side B style!

Rene

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 17th, 2012, 11:11 pm

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2012, 12:25 am

Guys - word of caution - Morne Diablo is a notorious trail, it has claimed vehicles before (jimny's, rocky, landrovers, landcruisers, etc. etc.).

With the rains we've been having, it will most likely be a GRADE 3 trail (slushy mud, some deep ruts to navigate over, some obstacles to climb over - will take some time to cross through).

If you're reluctant to put your vehicle to the test and are concerned about damage to your vehicle (which is possible on ANY trail btw... even grade 1 and grade 2 trail!).. then feel free to gracefully step-out with your honor intact. We not judging you nor would we ever - Side B is all about safety first anyway!

Stay tuned for more information - and be sure to take heed of the safety disclaimers the guys put on the above posts! (thanks smeed and rene)

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 18th, 2012, 12:55 am

wise words dere hammer!

off the top of my head here's some suggestions -

TIRES will play a big role!! as some of the guys on the last Morne Diablo run can attest to.

As we discussed before, try to have a co driver with you.... even if is just to hold yuh hand and give yuh a lil encouragement or help spot you thru a tricky part of the trail.

BOOTS and long pants... remember someone got intimate with a "chinny worm" last run?! :lol: :lol:

Gloves, shovels, forks, flashlights, straps, shackles, cutlass........ radios, extra clothes, rain gear

Also, for the regular guys who might be reluctant to run with their personal vehicle, what about organising to ride along with someone else? Not too sure if everyone will agree with me, but personally I wouldn't mind having a couple extra guys in my van who have some experience going offroad (plus I could always use them as extra weight in the tray when it gets sticky!! :roll: :roll: )

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 18th, 2012, 5:21 am

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct
9. Rottedv and better 0.9999999

Remember I went thru with meh no grip Firestone....Dem tyres gone now....I will try and organise a strap for this run....This will definitely be a great investment for this run especially...And reverse too......Dais wah we saying......Oh gorm...meh muditis going for treatment!!!!!! Fleck work oui!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 18th, 2012, 10:46 am

Mud therapy... Its good for the skin!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 18th, 2012, 12:07 pm

driveway tires IDMC again, ah goin breathless

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 18th, 2012, 1:03 pm

Unless I am getting proper tires I will sit this one out fellas

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 18th, 2012, 1:23 pm

Damn it, two things working against me in this one. I working that day and i ain't finish the project, so i guess missing this one.

chelsea29

Postby chelsea29 » May 18th, 2012, 2:51 pm

rottedv wrote:1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct
10.Chelsea29

Remember I went thru with meh no grip Firestone....Dem tyres gone now....I will try and organise a strap for this run....This will definitely be a great investment for this run especially...And reverse too......Dais wah we saying......Oh gorm...meh muditis going for treatment!!!!!! Fleck work oui!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 18th, 2012, 5:20 pm

stingray316 wrote:Damn it, two things working against me in this one. I working that day and i ain't finish the project, so i guess missing this one.

This would be the ideal place to break in that new rig!

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 18th, 2012, 5:24 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
stingray316 wrote:Damn it, two things working against me in this one. I working that day and i ain't finish the project, so i guess missing this one.

As soon as i hit the road we go do something. I will have to get a feel for the power, so i go be like a newbie on the trail all over again...

Postby 3stagevtec » May 18th, 2012, 5:56 pm

stingray316 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

As soon as i hit the road we go do something. I will have to get a feel for the power, so i go be like a newbie on the trail all over again...

That amount of power / torque in that light chassis is gonna be a handful!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 18th, 2012, 7:06 pm

@CM go by the wizard and get something nah man....

@stingray, hoss if yuh get a day off, yuh know you and karen will get a ride, will be great to have extra spotters, ah kno yuh chest go bun yuh and yuh go tote, but yuh will still be there!!!

@chelsea and palluct, welcome to side b, its a different place, im sure u will like it and u will feel at home, try to stay close to this thread and monitor for updates, breifings and more useful trail info coming up closer, hammer usually does it a few days before!!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 18th, 2012, 9:53 pm

i ordered some BFG a/t - hoping it will reach before the run. but if it doesn't. I will hop a ride...

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 19th, 2012, 4:25 am

@ stingray - i sure u guys can get a ride..... fleck work nah man!!! (and bring de hi lift!!)

@civicminded - welcome to the club bro!!

also welcome to de new guys!! is indian arrival day so we cyah eat cake dis time :lol: :lol:

who say saheena or pulourie?? :D

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 20th, 2012, 10:13 pm

1. 3stagevtec
2. Lighthammer
3. Droppa
4. Fox
5. Bobvis
6. Markymark
7. Smeed
8. Paullct
10.Chelsea29
11. DooMRR (RuNuL)

Not sure if my navigator will be there for this one. If not, I will have free space for anyone to tag along. Not planning on going alone this time. LOL. Trails like this require a spotter to help get you through the difficult sections.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 21st, 2012, 5:14 am

And someone to hold your hand should the need arise.....

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » May 21st, 2012, 12:39 pm

rottedv wrote:And someone to hold your hand should the need arise.....

Rather they hold the side of the van tray. :lol:

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » May 22nd, 2012, 7:56 am

lookin forward to this one. I am looking for some A/T tyres for the hilux.
i missed out on the run to Paria.

Ace_Maverick

Postby Ace_Maverick » May 22nd, 2012, 8:31 am

Looking forward to this run. Morne Diablo... we're back!

Return to “Off Road Runs”