Lift kits and tyre size laws

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
4CupMan

Lift kits and tyre size laws

Postby 4CupMan » January 13th, 2019, 10:52 pm

Good day tuners.

Can anyone shed some light on whether lift kits on vans are against the law in T&T. Also what tyre size you need to run(siticking out the fender) if any.

Don’t want to get charge.

Re: Lift kits and tyre size laws

Postby *KRONIK* » January 14th, 2019, 6:51 am

So far from what i have been hearing.
Tires shouldnt be sticking out at all, so fender flares and proper mudguards are required.
They may give a bligh if is like under an inch sticking out.
This is more of a safety thing as stones can pitch at a vehicle behind if not contained within the fenders and mudguard.

They also claiming mud tires arent made for road use. So be wary.
Also a safety concern as M/T can be dangerous on wet roads.

There isnt any definite law against lifting or lowering your vehicle, and they arent ticketing for such yet, they giving you a notice to come to license office to be re-inspected.
Probably they will use some “not road worthy” arguement againt it then.

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » January 14th, 2019, 8:30 am

I tink body lift mite b an issue

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » January 14th, 2019, 7:21 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:So far from what i have been hearing.
Tires shouldnt be sticking out at all, so fender flares and proper mudguards are required.
They may give a bligh if is like under an inch sticking out.
This is more of a safety thing as stones can pitch at a vehicle behind if not contained within the fenders and mudguard.

They also claiming mud tires arent made for road use. So be wary.
Also a safety concern as M/T can be dangerous on wet roads.

There isnt any definite law against lifting or lowering your vehicle, and they arent ticketing for such yet, they giving you a notice to come to license office to be re-inspected.
Probably they will use some “not road worthy” arguement againt it then.

Thanks for the info

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 18th, 2019, 2:42 pm

What about body lifts? I have my eye on a pickup, but I really can't deal with the law and the ambiguity thereof. I know *KRONIK* said there isn't anything definite but has anyone gotten problems with their lifts?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2019, 2:51 pm

Well good news

A guy got pulled over:
Lifted
Mud tires
Light bars
Steel bumper

He took the vehicle license office and he wasnt charged for anything

They told him no lightbars on the road, but off road is ok.
No encroachments for weight changes on bumper etc.
So i guess they being lenient with the offroad vans.

Another padna of mine got his lifted hilux passed with no issues
And he on a 3” lift
Mud tires
Steel bumper.

The only thing he did was put wider fender flares to keep the wheels tires inside.
He even passed with swivel spotlights mounted on the bumper.

So i guess most of the stories are being over-exagerrated

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2019, 2:53 pm

Joshie23 wrote:What about body lifts? I have my eye on a pickup, but I really can't deal with the law and the ambiguity thereof. I know *KRONIK* said there isn't anything definite but has anyone gotten problems with their lifts?
I will inquire on monday

I going caroni to transfer a vehicle
I will ask around and see what they say

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 18th, 2019, 3:02 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Well good news

A guy got pulled over:
Lifted
Mud tires
Light bars
Steel bumper

He took the vehicle license office and he wasnt charged for anything

They told him no lightbars on the road, but off road is ok.
No encroachments for weight changes on bumper etc.
So i guess they being lenient with the offroad vans.

Another padna of mine got his lifted hilux passed with no issues
And he on a 3” lift
Mud tires
Steel bumper.

The only thing he did was put wider fender flares to keep the wheels tires inside.
He even passed with swivel spotlights mounted on the bumper.

So i guess most of the stories are being over-exagerrated

:roll: Typical Trinidadians. Lol.

*KRONIK* wrote:I will inquire on monday

I going caroni to transfer a vehicle
I will ask around and see what they say

Thanks man.

Mcarlton

Postby Mcarlton » October 8th, 2019, 6:26 pm

Good night

Any further update on this topic ?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 8th, 2019, 8:36 pm

Nope

Just maintain the following:
1. Keep tires within fenders
2. Keep rear mudguards in place
3. No illegal lights (pods, bars, strobes etc)
4. Make sure you inspected (privately)
5. All other inspection criteria

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2019, 9:26 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Nope

Just maintain the following:
1. Keep tires within fenders
2. Keep rear mudguards in place
3. No illegal lights (pods, bars, strobes etc)
4. Make sure you inspected (privately)
5. All other inspection criteria

As it pertains to lifts, body lifts might get jam. Suspension lifts seem to be ok - but again it's subjective

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”