2018 Hilux vs 2018 Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
fras

Postby fras » November 3rd, 2018, 10:28 am

What are the pros and cos... 4x2 manual ford ranger vs 4x2 manual toyota hilux?

Re: 2018 Hilux vs 2018 Ranger

Postby Ted_v2 » November 3rd, 2018, 10:31 am

Buy neither. Buy the np300

fras

Postby fras » November 3rd, 2018, 12:56 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Buy neither. Buy the np300

reasons?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 3rd, 2018, 1:49 pm

Ford ranger has a bit of issues with oil pumps, issues with aftermarket components like decks and alarms. And stuff like axles. Won't be my first choice. The Hilux is a good vehicle but I find it's unappealing. Np300 really delivers. Proper well proven engines. Gearbox ect. Your choice but my 1c

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » November 3rd, 2018, 2:44 pm

In this current day, a boat will be a better buy considering what happened to persons new hilux and new ranger in the recent floods.

Having owned a previous ranger and due to parts availability I will lean towards something different such as hilux. Few ppl I know well who bought hilux in the past just did routine service and that went until the 100k and then sold.

trebornattaj

Postby trebornattaj » November 3rd, 2018, 4:44 pm

Np 300 engine is remodeled yd25tt, known issues still exist with this, go with the hilux or take a look at the VW Amarok, you'll be pleasantly surprised

fras

Postby fras » November 3rd, 2018, 8:14 pm

trebornattaj wrote:Np 300 engine is remodeled yd25tt, known issues still exist with this, go with the hilux or take a look at the VW Amarok, you'll be pleasantly surprised

will look into amarok

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » November 3rd, 2018, 8:49 pm

Isuzu is a workhorse..resale poor but very reliable!

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 9th, 2018, 11:42 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Ford ranger has a bit of issues with oil pumps, issues with aftermarket components like decks and alarms. And stuff like axles. Won't be my first choice. The Hilux is a good vehicle but I find it's unappealing. Np300 really delivers. Proper well proven engines. Gearbox ect. Your choice but my 1c
I seeing real.men selling their new hilux .. tdu .. tds tdt series . I wonder why

supernedd

Postby supernedd » November 9th, 2018, 11:44 am

I have 2 friends who got issues with their np300 .. they blame the diesel .. damaged pistons n have to rebuild engine.. not sure if this a common fault or them just badlucky

k_quk8v4

Postby k_quk8v4 » December 17th, 2018, 8:41 am

Got a TDS 4x2 ranger gearbox (2017)
No issues, it gets the job done however I find the 2.2 diesel turbo is a bit slow.Just my opinion.

My friend got the 2017 4x2 hilux gearbox (2017) and the thing is a brute.it runs very fast and he maintains it himself

I would advise you to pick up a used Hilux.
They don't break and you pick up a good vechicle for under showroom price

fras

Postby fras » December 17th, 2018, 1:26 pm

thanks guys

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 18th, 2018, 5:42 pm

k_quk8v4 wrote:Got a TDS 4x2 ranger gearbox (2017)
No issues, it gets the job done however I find the 2.2 diesel turbo is a bit slow.Just my opinion.

My friend got the 2017 4x2 hilux gearbox (2017) and the thing is a brute.it runs very fast and he maintains it himself

I would advise you to pick up a used Hilux.
They don't break and you pick up a good vechicle for under showroom price
I want a used a hilux.. but these use prices ridiculous

k_quk8v4

Postby k_quk8v4 » December 19th, 2018, 11:01 am

If you could get a s Hilux 2010 and up for no more than 120k in good condition then I say you score

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 21st, 2018, 4:10 am

k_quk8v4 wrote:If you could get a s Hilux 2010 and up for no more than 120k in good condition then I say you score
I saw some on trinicars . But again. Them hilux used prices ridiculously high . N i doh wah hear sheit bout it is a hilux.. lol

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 21st, 2018, 6:40 pm

The 2019 hilux looking good. The fully loaded going for around 350k
A fully loaded ranger wildtrak costing 360k on special right now.
Ideally I would prefer the hilux but I'll test drive both and the np300 in the new year

carluva

Postby carluva » December 21st, 2018, 11:22 pm

Dude, what kinda car you really want? One minute is a Euro, next is a Kia, next is a Hyundai, then its a C class and then a Volvo SUV. Now its a Hilux and possibly a NP300. What you really want? Lol

I just kicksing off on yuh jeddo, so doh dig ah horrors.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 22nd, 2018, 12:10 am

carluva wrote:Dude, what kinda car you really want? One minute is a Euro, next is a Kia, next is a Hyundai, then its a C class and then a Volvo SUV. Now its a Hilux and possibly a NP300. What you really want? Lol

Lol ..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 24th, 2018, 7:40 am

jhonnieblue wrote:The 2019 hilux looking good. The fully loaded going for around 350k
A fully loaded ranger wildtrak costing 360k on special right now.
Ideally I would prefer the hilux but I'll test drive both and the np300 in the new year
When d new ranger raptor reaching trinis? That van sexy

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 24th, 2018, 8:22 am

carluva wrote:Dude, what kinda car you really want? One minute is a Euro, next is a Kia, next is a Hyundai, then its a C class and then a Volvo SUV. Now its a Hilux and possibly a NP300. What you really want? Lol

It nice to look around lol, take in the market and check it out

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 8th, 2019, 10:15 am

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”