Diesel Injector Purge...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
OracleTnT

Diesel Injector Purge...

Postby OracleTnT » November 19th, 2014, 11:55 am

I want to do the process below that I got from another thread.
Its on a 2.5 Hilux. When can i locate the fuel feed & fuel return hoses?

Anyway what they do is they use a bottle of wynns diesel injector cleaner. ..pour it into a can. ..remove the hose that leaves fuel filter heading to the pump... remove return line...put both hoses into bottle and start up... the cleaner goes direct to injectors and unused is dumped back to can...basically circulates until cleaner has been used up in combustion. They also vary rpm to get better effect.

So I ent paying 600 buck for that. When I reached 35000 kms I bought can of liquimoly diesel injector purge and did same thing...can is for 2 uses...got at motorist in woodbrook for $220. Plan is to use remaining half when next I change fuel filter again at 50000kms.

DIY DIESEL INJECTOR SERVICE
Liqui-Moly Diesel Purge Plus is a highly efficient fuel injection cleaner for diesel engines. When used properly, it is far more effective than simply adding it to the fuel tank. Below we will outline how to use the product to ensure immediate and effective results.
The objective is to remove the fuel feed & fuel return hoses and insert them into the can of Diesel Purge Plus. After that, the car is started and runs off the can until empty. From start to finish, the process should take approximately 30 minutes, including run time.
NOTE: This service was carried out on a 60 series Toyota Landcruiser, steps and procedure may vary for different make/model vehicles. If the process is too challenging, your local diesel specialist can assist, or for further information please call us on 1800 350 622.
CHECKLIST – PRODUCTS:
- Liqui-Moly Diesel Purge Plus
- Liqui-Moly Brake & Parts Cleaner
- Liqui-Moly Diesel Anti-Knock
CHECKLIST – TOOLS:
- Socket or spanner set
- Pliers
- Flat head screw driver
- 6mm or 10mm Clear hose (for plumbing – depending on existing hose sizes)
- 6mm Clear hose (for bleeding)
- Plastic bottle (for bleeding)
- Rags
- Rubber/latex gloves (Optional)
STEP 1: Pop the bonnet of the car, and locate the fuel filter.

STEP 2: Locate the fuel feed hose that runs from the fuel filter to the fuel pump. Either the fuel filter housing or the fuel hose itself will have an arrow marked on it to show the fuel flow direction. In the above pic there is an arrow on the fuel filter that points in the direction of the fuel pump, this is the hose that you want to remove from the fuel filter. Loosen off the hose clamp on this hose and disconnect it from the fuel filter.
Tech tip: Have a rag ready to mop up any spills.

STEP 3: Locate the fuel return hose that runs from the fuel pump to the fuel tank. This is a soft hose that usually meets a hard fuel line running to the fuel tank. Disconnect soft hose at the join where it meets the hard line. If the soft return hose isn’t long enough to reach the can of Diesel Purge Plus you will need to use a piece of 6mm or 10mm clear hose (depending on the size of your existing hoses) to extend its length so that it comfortably reaches the can of Diesel Purge Plus.

STEP 4. Open the can of Diesel Purge Plus and place the two lines into the can. Be sure to put the can in a safe spot on the engine where it will not tip over. If you can have a helper hold the can, at least initially, that is ideal.
Tech tip: Ensure that the lines are at the bottom of the can, where they will not suck air in as the can empties.

STEP 5: Start the engine and let it idle for a few minutes. After that run the engine through various RPM’s until the can is empty and the engine stalls.
STEP 6: Carefully pull the hoses out of the can. Take caution, the can and remaining fluid could be hot.
STEP 7: Refit all hoses in the same order as you disconnected them. At this point you could choose to replace your fuel filter however this is optional.
Tech tip: Use some Liqui-Moly Brake & Parts Cleaner to clean fuel residue from any spills.

STEP 8: Now the fuel system needs to be bled, locate the hand priming pump, this will be attached to the fuel pump.

STEP 9: Prime the fuel system by hand to remove any air, this will require you to locate the bleeder nipple and open it to release all of the air in the system. A hose and bottle is the best way to avoid making a mess and to catch any fuel.

STEP 10: Repeat the bleeding process until all air is removed from the fuel system.
STEP 11: Start the engine and let it idle a while and then check for any leaks from the hoses. When you are satisfied that there are no leaks, go for a drive. You will notice that the engine is quieter, there is less smoke, and you may even notice more power.
STEP 12: For continued smooth running add Liqui-Moly Diesel Clean & Boost to every tank.

STEP 13. You’re done!
NOTE: This service was carried out on a 60 series Toyota Landcruiser, steps and procedure may vary for different make/model vehicles. If the process is too challenging, your local diesel specialist can assist, or for further information please call us on 1800 350 622.
Thanks to Sam at S.A CALI 4WD SPECIALISTS for the use of the car and their workshop.

lighthammer

Re: Diesel Injector Purge...

Postby lighthammer » November 20th, 2014, 10:55 pm

This method will work for direct injection diesels where the pump feeds directly to the injectors.

This won't work for the 2.5 2kd-ftv hilux, because it's common - rail. U can bypass the fuel filter and use the bottle of fuel additive there, but don't let it run dry or you'll airlock the engine.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » November 21st, 2014, 8:59 am

Could you please give me more details.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » November 27th, 2014, 6:49 am

OracleTnT wrote:Could you please give me more details.

Check out this how-to video from youtube. There are others as well

Do not do this on a common rail injection system.
Last edited by liquimolytt on January 26th, 2015, 11:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » November 27th, 2014, 6:50 am

OracleTnT wrote:Could you please give me more details.

Check out this how-to video from youtube. There are others as well
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iq_ZGh1KEec

Do not do this on a common rail injection system.

OracleTnT

Postby OracleTnT » November 28th, 2014, 10:01 am

Could I just fill the filter canister with it?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 11th, 2014, 7:45 am

OracleTnT wrote:Could I just fill the filter canister with it?

That's a OK idea. Just make sure the liquid is up to par and the concentration of the mix is right

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”