The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: The new 2012 Toyota Hilux

Postby lighthammer » December 17th, 2012, 11:39 am

leelad wrote:
civic minded wrote:it is on the invoice when you paid for the van - thats why it can be used against TTTL - This isnt a matter of if he will be using it offroad, But TTTL selling a product that isnt what it stated. Kudos for taking on TTTL and hope other buyers to have the same invoice like you take it to TTTL for false advertising.

^^^^^^
THIS

It's not a matter of weather or not dad's going to use it, or how it will affect drive-ability, only a crackhead will lock their diffs on a solid road. He payed for diff-lockers, he didn't get it, and now he wants a van with diff-lockers or his money back..........

Imagine if you buy a 4x4 pickup and receive a 4x2 pickup; and then the company tells you hey you don't need a 4x4, you're never going to use it. Then after telling them about the problem they give you an apology, one free service and tell you how great and invincible your van is. Would you be like okay I'm probably never going to use 4x4 anyway, it's a great van, and then forget about them shafting you. I don't think so.

Ok so we're getting a little bit technical here... let's clear the air so we're all on the same page.

First of all - folks here are pointing the OP towards going to a 3rd party to get a differential locker installed. That's beside the point that *TTTL gave false advertising at time of sale* or at least wrongful information.. seemingly from the sales reps not knowing their vehicles that well after all.

What I was getting on about was the technical issue and point of getting a diff-locker. It's really for serious 4wding alone - and hello, I'm the president of Side B (I'm sure many of those who are reading this right now can vouch for my credentials), and I also have quite a bit of hands-on experience with installing suspension upgrades and differential lockers (Mr Civic_minded knows this quite well)... so I think I can speak with some knowledge on the matter.

Now before we all go hee-hawing all about the place... keep this in mind. I was just simply advising the OP about the risks and benefits of installing a diff-locker (if you want to be specific - an ARB Air Locker). At the end of the day, it's the guy's own money and he could do what he wants with it, if he wants to install an air-locker/diff locker then by all the power in the galaxy he should go ahead and do so... and he gets TTTL to pay for him, then good for him too (cuz those things are not cheap!)

Now on to the point about TTTL giving wrongful information at time of sale - they did in fact do so!
When I went to look at and almost bought the hilux, the sales rep (I went to school with the guy so I won't say his name, but he's a good fella if not slightly misinformed like the rest of them) INSISTED that the Hilux had a locking diff in the rear. I had to point out to him that it was in fact an LSD and not a locking diff.... he acknowledged that fact and said he will look further into it (btw, that's not why I didn't buy a hilux eh.... I just found the Navara more awesome *mrgreen*)

And as a final point..... in my experiences in working with 4wd vehicles (and again, Mr Civic Minded can vouch that ah know what ah telling allyuh.) - a LOT of ppl out there are confused about what it really means when the words "diff lock" comes out of a person's mouth. Most of the time ppl think the rear diff's lock up when you move the little lever next to your left thigh to "4H/4L" (or in the case of the automatic Rangers and my Navara - turn the little knob from 2H to 4H/L).

This is simply not true... the rear diffs and even the front diffs will remain as they always were - either in LSD or open diff format - nothing magical happens, no moving parts are engaged in those diffs, no voodoo sorcery occurs.

What DOES happen however, is the CENTER DIFFERENTIAL (yes, there's a 3rd differential!!!) located deep inside the transmission/gearbox just under your butt in the driver's seat, LOCKS UP FROM 2WD MODE TO 4WD MODE. It becomes fully locked, and is now transferring power from the engine to BOTH the FRONT AND REAR differentials, via the front and rear driveshafts.

So folks, that's simply it, a long-winded explanation to a simple, yet widely misunderstood concept.
- the center diff is locked into 4wd mode (and that little green light on your dashboard with the 4-tires lights up)
- the front and rear diffs don't magically lock up, they remain as either open diffs or LSD (usually the front is an open diff in most vehicles).

... and with that long-winded explanation, I hope everyone now understands the concepts of diff locks, why some folk are confused or misinformed about what locks up and where (someone pls prnt-scrn this and print it out to show the TTTL sales reps!).

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 17th, 2012, 2:48 pm

Just crossed 20,000km and started getting a vibration when applying brakes. Signs of rotor warping. Got a spare set of rotors from a friend so will drop those off to machine and install when I get some time later this week.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » December 17th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Isn't 20 000km kind of low for a brake disc to warp?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 17th, 2012, 8:25 pm

I know about a couple hilux owners who experienced it below 20,000km

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » December 17th, 2012, 11:08 pm

For people interested in the prado grill for the 2012 hilux along with projector headlights ...
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=477020

no reasonable offers refused !

leelad

Postby leelad » December 17th, 2012, 11:46 pm

Thanks for the info lighthammer, but I'm already aware of what a locker is........some Toyota's come with elockers from factory, thought it was that we were getting. Kinda sucked when I was looking for the switch and couldn't find it. The rear difflocks was literally the main reason we bought it over the navara(sales rep was all yes yes rear diff-locks).

The toyota was well over $40000.00 more than the navara, we could have bought the nissan, tricked it out with an aftermarket suspension setup(ome), ARB lockers front and rear and maybe have some cash left back for some nice rubber.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 18th, 2012, 8:12 am

leelad wrote:The toyota was well over $40000.00 more than the navara, we could have bought the nissan, tricked it out with an aftermarket suspension setup(ome), ARB lockers front and rear and maybe have some cash left back for some nice rubber.

That's exactly what I'm doing with my Navara.

So far I still haven't reached the cost of an equivalent (same model year & similar specc'ed) hilux....

See this is why it took me 6 months to buy my truck... and even at the last minute I had to change my mind :)

Don Dada

Postby Don Dada » December 20th, 2012, 6:56 pm

Thinking about purchasing a new van, which one is best that you guys suggest. I need some info on this.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 20th, 2012, 7:12 pm

Go test drive them and choose yourself... That's the best thing to do.

Immortal24

Vigo Champ Prerunner 2012

Postby Immortal24 » January 28th, 2013, 4:04 pm

Hi Tuners,

What are your thoughts about the Vigo Champ 2012 Prerunner 3.0 Turbo Diesel from M. Rampersad ?

( Note this the the 4x2 raised to the height of the 4x4 so it's exactly like the 4x4 size )

Thanks.

Re: Vigo Champ Prerunner 2012

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2013, 4:10 pm

What? It's a high 4x2 not a 4x2 raised to the height of a 4x4

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 28th, 2013, 4:12 pm

Like you can't read, I said it's a 4x2 raised to the height of a 4x4 and not a high 4x2.
Would suit persons who like the van and don't do any off road where it requires a 4x4.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 28th, 2013, 4:46 pm

Nah I can't. Seems like I know nothing about a hilux

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 7:51 am

Still no answer to the question.

Information Officer

Postby Information Officer » January 29th, 2013, 8:08 am

rudeness to the highest degree n this thread.

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 8:10 am

I don't agree with your statement. Was there any profanity or insults ?
And still no answer to the question....

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 29th, 2013, 8:13 am

it is not a low vehicle that was raised. the low 4x2 does not come with side flares etc. it is a high 4x2...doubt any firm is gonna go thru all that trouble to change the suspension etc on a new vehicle

see attached...
IMG-20111002-00128.jpg

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 8:18 am

Ok, but what about performance etc, compared to the Ford Wildtrak & Navara ?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 29th, 2013, 8:23 am

navara has the most power...the hilux has the best ride....never drove the wildtrak but i have the xlt....lovely machine...just lacks power compared to the other two....

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 8:30 am

Oh ok, I thought the Ford had the most power with the 3.2 engine. I purchased the Vigo Champ 2012 Prerunner. Amongst my reasons for the Prerunner purchase was that I will not be using it offroad, towing or commercial use.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » January 29th, 2013, 9:04 am

Prince2424 wrote:Oh ok, I thought the Ford had the most power with the 3.2 engine. I purchased the Vigo Champ 2012 Prerunner. Amongst my reasons for the Prerunner purchase was that I will not be using it offroad, towing or commercial use.

can you put some pics of the interior, is it manual or auto ?

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 9:07 am

It's Automatic 3.0 Turbo Diesel. Leather Interior, Bluetooth, Steering Controls, Ipod & USB,Aux connections, touch screen DVD Player, Reverse camera

Postby equipped2ripp » January 29th, 2013, 9:19 am

it's the exact thing like the 4x4 model, just that it's a 4x2.

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 9:21 am

Exactly, so why pay all that extra money if you don't require the 4x4. Which would have more weight and maintenance. Just to say u have a 4x4 ? Use the savings from 4x4 to 4x2 for accessories. The only diff is that the 4x4 have the Cruise Control which no one uses.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 29th, 2013, 9:22 am

4x4 on top, 4x2 below
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on January 29th, 2013, 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 9:23 am

Exactly, so why pay all that extra money if you don't require the 4x4. Which would have more weight and maintenance. Just to say u have a 4x4 ? Use the savings from 4x4 to 4x2 for accessories. The only diff is that the 4x4 have the Cruise Control which no one uses.

The pic above is exactly what I have.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 29th, 2013, 9:26 am

i use my cruise control tho....don't bash something just because it doesn't benefit you....

i'm not an offroader but i've used my 4 wheel drive many times...

i use to think the very same thing when i had my navara until i got stuck climbing a hill in san fernando in rain (paved road) and had to wait an hour for the road to dry in order to head back to the main road....

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 9:29 am

Well you are required to use the 4x4 at least once every month to keep it lubricated.

Immortal24

Postby Immortal24 » January 29th, 2013, 9:34 am

Oh ok, that would be useful on the hills in South. I rarely go into San Fernando to those places.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » January 29th, 2013, 10:48 am

would you mind saying how much you paid for the Hilux pre runner because i saw that someone said it makes no sense paying extra money for a 4x4 that you would hardly ever use.

I don't know if anyone has been to Toyota Trinidad Ltd recently but they have a Hilux Pre runner outside the showroom (Barataria) on display (yes i am positive, it has the pre runner graphics and name on the side and i was told it was brought in for demo purposes)and the price as told to me by a rep was $310,000.00 whereas the fully loaded 4x4 in the showroom at the time was $292,000.00 so go figure. That's right the 4x2 pre runner at TTTL was more expensive than the fully loaded 4x4, sales rep said it was because it had more features....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”