Las Cuevas Trail

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Slow Poke

Las Cuevas Trail

Postby Slow Poke » March 9th, 2011, 1:21 pm

So i took my van( Navara ) for it's first offroad experience this monday through las cuevas, now i didn't go all the way in because i was alone. Two other pick ups were there ( looked like a ranger was helping out an old model b2500) and a guy directed me to which mud hole the van would traverse
The van moved nicely through the step high mud on stock showroom tyres, but decided to turn around as the mud water was getting a lil deeper, and i didn't want to risk getting stuck.......
so i think next time i'll make a run with you guys with a lil preparation.

Re: Las Cuevas Trail

Postby 3stagevtec » March 9th, 2011, 2:34 pm

I know some guys who had some bad experiences getting stuck in there.. Would advise against going there alone..

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 9th, 2011, 5:15 pm

especially if is 11:30 at night......an females cant relly push a van all dat well either, so walk wit ur boys fuh assistance!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 9th, 2011, 5:16 pm

Slow Poke - yuh brave man, but you get props for having the cojones to go on the trail with a stock Navara.

Come join us on the next Side-B run nah, we'll link up!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 9th, 2011, 6:05 pm

Im pretty sure the Pajero can handle that trail no sweat, but my main worry is not the sticking but the kind of people who tend to be around there..
I have heard about quite a few robbery incidents on the western end of las cuevas.. (preumably by the people waiting for the next drugs shipment to come in)

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 9th, 2011, 6:29 pm

has it dried up yet?
im not goin back till it gets drier
to much madness in that trail

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » March 9th, 2011, 6:47 pm

Boy I went thru that trail one sunday afternoon with my hilux with wife and daughter in tow. Went in ok but got stuck comin back out. No one else in sight. Was a total nightmare. See me shiftin from H4 to L4, Forward to reverse with wifey and daughter screaming and clouting me up all the while.

Eventually got out. Van was totally covered in mud after. Have been back there couple times after but with company.

Never goin back there by myself again and wouldnt advise anyone else to do so either.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 9th, 2011, 6:56 pm

Haunted wrote:has it dried up yet?
im not goin back till it gets drier
to much madness in that trail

I remember seeing the condition of your truck the last time you was there.. looked like trouble!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 9th, 2011, 7:22 pm

last time i went about 4 pick ups got stuck n 2 jimnys
1 of those 4 pickups were stock
imagine how much rocking was done to get out....now imagine the trail...
the trail keeps gettin worst and worst cause of the amount of vehicles goin in and wildin out

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 9th, 2011, 7:47 pm

the only safe time to go throu there would be during the dry season. It is almost impossible any other time

Postby sliderz1 » March 9th, 2011, 8:04 pm

gettin trouble postin d vid

4th class explorers there

Postby sliderz1 » March 9th, 2011, 8:13 pm

^^^^^FIXED!!!!!!!!!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 9th, 2011, 8:50 pm

1st and 2nd pit is nothing to go through...its from 3rd pit is where madness happens

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 9th, 2011, 8:52 pm

civic minded wrote:the only safe time to go throu there would be during the dry season. It is almost impossible any other time

thats where the fun comes into play
i honestly find the best part of offroadin is gettin stuck....once you have a recovery vehicle

Postby Team Loco » March 9th, 2011, 10:02 pm

i was there on monday too.....but didnt get my van dirty

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 9th, 2011, 10:48 pm

yeah well -what that vid didnt show was one of our team mates got stuck in the deep mud water and result in major damage to his ride. You really have to be carefull in that trial

civic minded

Postby civic minded » March 9th, 2011, 10:49 pm

depends on really the timing you go there - if rain falls alot - skip it

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 1:16 am

what dry season?? i fine des days rell wett!

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » March 10th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Light where is Side B?/?. Almost got into the second pit but the water was looking real deep with no sign of grip in sight so it was at that point i made a 360. just got the van washed today was wearing my signature"first time off road mud".

Looking forward to trying offroading again but in numbers. Drop me a line when is the next run, so i could finally put faces to names......

droppa

Postby droppa » March 10th, 2011, 2:52 pm

see the last pages of the "mini diesel run"....something happening soon, not real hardcore offroading, but 100% pure fun....4x2s does even be there....

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 10th, 2011, 3:35 pm

Real "fast" 4x2's... :)

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 4:04 pm

^^ :D :D :D!!

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 10th, 2011, 4:59 pm

1st pit have concrete in it so you gettin traction no matter what (dnt ask me how it got there)
2nd pit is hard gravel so u still gettin traction
3rd pit - end of trail u got to do some digging

civic minded
major damage like what?

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 10th, 2011, 5:32 pm

Slow Poke wrote:no sign of grip in sight so it was at that point i made a 360.

u made a 360?
well word

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » March 10th, 2011, 9:34 pm

i drove through that trail 4 times with d AX 2.5 4x2 frontier

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » March 10th, 2011, 9:46 pm

gas brainz wrote:i drove through that trail 4 times with d AX 2.5 4x2 frontier

had to be in d dry season.....if u do dat wit all d rain we hvin these days U WIN!!!

Postby sliderz1 » March 10th, 2011, 9:49 pm

gas brainz wrote:i drove through that trail 4 times with d AX 2.5 4x2 frontier

2wd drive u say :shock: .........d trail was ne where close to d condition as in vid??

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 11:06 pm

^^ hmmmmmmm! :D :D

Haunted

Postby Haunted » March 11th, 2011, 1:22 am

had to be in dry season..... im in there almost every weekend since bout october...n tht track is been only gettin worst n worst

droppa

Postby droppa » March 11th, 2011, 8:28 am

last time i was there was last year in dry season with the Zuk, and it was dry, hard and bad, jus pits and ruts from wheelin......

i will make a pass tru sometime soon, but hopefull it will dry out by then.....

haunted i think CM pal damage was dread, water in engine, thats the price we all pay for our enjoyments....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”