Need an auto trans for a Ranger/Mazda WLT engine

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
dlion

Need an auto trans for a Ranger/Mazda WLT engine

Postby dlion » January 5th, 2009, 3:47 pm

Hi,

New to this forum. Did some searching but could not find....

Need a non-eec controlled, hydraulic automatic transmission for a 2.5 diesel WL turbo engine.

The vehicle is a BT50, 4dr, 2wd, 5spd manual. No computer.

Allternatively, would consider a complete engine and auto transmission, complete with PCM for a Ranger or Mazda BT50.

My # 473-8487[/img]

venum

Postby venum » January 5th, 2009, 5:20 pm

Bamboo Marketing

ph #: in TSTT directory

Postby Team Loco » January 5th, 2009, 8:38 pm

u lick up ah BT50 already??

dlion

Postby dlion » January 6th, 2009, 9:45 am

Thanks Venum,
I tried in the Bamboo aready. E & T but no PCM. WTF.
But I go call again.

An no Loco,

De UB traffic is hell in a manual. Meh firetrucking knee complaining like a senile granpa.

The Auto Hi-rider was not available last year when I bought the BT. At the present price - 165K, its a crack high.

But the 2.5 WLT does work real well with the 5spd stick. I can peal off about a mm of rubber in 1st, and can clock a 150K with room still on the R's, and the pedal.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 10th, 2009, 8:37 pm

those things selling like hot bread..

RNS or somn so .. opposite lalls in debe was where we got ours with engine tranny and brain box.. thing is the harness was cut but we linked up with an electrician in montrose who did a great job ..

dlion

Postby dlion » January 13th, 2009, 2:38 pm

Thanks man.
I'll take a run there.

dlion

Postby dlion » January 18th, 2009, 6:27 pm

Monster,
I checked RNS, no luck.
Also checked I&S and Bicks lower down, but also no luck.

Guess I'll have to keep looking.

dlion

Postby dlion » January 22nd, 2009, 7:34 pm

Boodram & Sons in Freeport have the auto trans and WLTs for sale.

5K for the 4spd auto w/ brain. The WLT is 10K.

To Install: 2.5K for the Mech, and 500 for the Elec.

dlion

Postby dlion » March 27th, 2010, 7:34 pm

ok,
is me again.
Want a complete as a unit - 3.0 Diesel with 5 spd. autotrans and brain for Ranger / BT 4 dr. 2 wd low.

Will settle for a a 2.5 complete unit.

Just want to swap out my present 2.5 WLT and manual GB.

Any idea where I can source new. Even foreign?

Thanks.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 28th, 2010, 12:04 am

Instead of messing around with a perfectly good BT50, sell it and get another from the firm. SS bringing them in auto now. BTW check me in december I should have a BT up 4 sale :D

dlion

Re: Need an auto trans for a Ranger/Mazda WLT engine

Postby dlion » November 7th, 2011, 7:40 pm

I recently replaced my BT-50 WLT 2.5 5-spd manual gearbox with a 4-spd automatic.
The work was done by a crackshot mechanic from Rio Claro - Ravi 779 5547.
I got the tranny at Bamboo marketing. It was pulled off an engine. I got the TPS off the same engine. I bought a brain for the tranny from them also. The BT-50 manual is not an ecm engine.
Ravi handled the whole conversion. He got an electrician from Penal to wire the tranny brain. The electrician is crucial. A tranny cooler was also added.
The fit was bolt for bolt at engine and drive shaft. The gear box beam support had to be shifted for the tranny.
The setup works boss. Good power, and higher speed in 4th.
The console is a sore spot, but an upholsterer could fix that.
Another gap is the speedo is not working now. The manual was an electric output to the speedo gauge, but the auto is a mechanical cable output.
The speed sensor from the manual does not work on the auto. I am looking for a sensor that will work on the auto, and delive an electric signal to the gauge.
The Tack is working though, so I estimate my speed from that, he he.
The price - 6.5K for tranny and all the parts from bamboo, 3.5K for the mechanic, electrician, cable, hoses, cooler.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » November 29th, 2011, 8:31 am

dlion wrote:I recently replaced my BT-50 WLT 2.5 5-spd manual gearbox with a 4-spd automatic.
The work was done by a crackshot mechanic from Rio Claro - Ravi 779 5547.
I got the tranny at Bamboo marketing. It was pulled off an engine. I got the TPS off the same engine. I bought a brain for the tranny from them also. The BT-50 manual is not an ecm engine.
Ravi handled the whole conversion. He got an electrician from Penal to wire the tranny brain. The electrician is crucial. A tranny cooler was also added.
The fit was bolt for bolt at engine and drive shaft. The gear box beam support had to be shifted for the tranny.
The setup works boss. Good power, and higher speed in 4th.
The console is a sore spot, but an upholsterer could fix that.
Another gap is the speedo is not working now. The manual was an electric output to the speedo gauge, but the auto is a mechanical cable output.
The speed sensor from the manual does not work on the auto. I am looking for a sensor that will work on the auto, and delive an electric signal to the gauge.
The Tack is working though, so I estimate my speed from that, he he.
The price - 6.5K for tranny and all the parts from bamboo, 3.5K for the mechanic, electrician, cable, hoses, cooler.

Thanks for the write up. There have been so many discussions about this topic and you make it sound so easy. I have a BT50 4x4 high end version and would love to change it to an automatic - but its not so simple on my end or is it ? 4 wheel system ?

sexyleo797

Postby sexyleo797 » May 21st, 2019, 9:08 pm

hey dlion wanted to ask you about a prob u once had on ur isuzu . feel i hav the same ting and cant figure it out. any advice would be nice.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”