Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » September 12th, 2008, 6:39 am

where the pics???

robbieg

Postby robbieg » September 12th, 2008, 8:50 pm

i really eh get chance, out of d country now....

robbieg

Postby robbieg » November 25th, 2008, 1:36 pm

bump for a ole thread,
anybody have anything useful/recent to put in it?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 17th, 2008, 1:13 pm

Anyone reached 50k on their Hilux yet?

At what mileage do you change tranny fluid, diff oil, flush brake fluid, etc, drive belts and so on?

With all that crap in my sedimenter/primer pump housing, I change my fuel filter the same time I change my oil filter, at around 9k. And I clean my air filter every other oil change (K&N drop in).

Thanks for the info on this thread. I really need to get in here more often.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 17th, 2008, 1:34 pm

Has anyone installed a turbo timer in their Hilux as yet? Sorry for being lazy to search. I really need to be here more. Ive got a greddy timer, that has a speedo connection.

Do I need this connection or what?

This is the one I got.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » December 17th, 2008, 1:43 pm

nigel1977 wrote:Anyone reached 50k on their Hilux yet?

At what mileage do you change tranny fluid, diff oil, flush brake fluid, etc, drive belts and so on?

With all that crap in my sedimenter/primer pump housing, I change my fuel filter the same time I change my oil filter, at around 9k. And I clean my air filter every other oil change (K&N drop in).

Thanks for the info on this thread. I really need to get in here more often.

according to the owner's manual, the gearbox, diff and transfer oils, brakes fluid and power steering fluid should be changed at 40000Km. the belts are to be inspected at 80000km.

To prevent the crap in the diesel filter, I installed a prefilter.

I haven't cleaned my K&N as yet. Last time I checked its still pretty clean.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 17th, 2008, 1:48 pm

according to the owner's manual, the gearbox, diff and transfer oils, brakes fluid and power steering fluid should be changed at 40000Km. the belts are to be inspected at 80000km.

Thanks. I have no clue what language my OM is written in.
Can anyone recommend what oils, and what quantity should be used for:

Gear box
Diff
Transfer case

Any specifications for the PS fluid and the Brakes fluid?

robbieg

Postby robbieg » December 23rd, 2008, 5:51 pm

323_wagon_dude,
how did you install the pre filter? can i see some pics?

oh by the way, i washed up the lux just to take a pic so u can see how the prado rims look:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 23rd, 2008, 6:44 pm

^^ nice ..
where the rear mud guard?

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » December 23rd, 2008, 8:25 pm

i like it.. i like it alot...

Darren the man take yuh idea hoss.. :twisted:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 24th, 2008, 7:11 am

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ nice ..

Team Loco dog probably eat it :lol:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » December 24th, 2008, 12:07 pm

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:i like it.. i like it alot...

Darren the man take yuh idea hoss.. :twisted:

Yeah boy...

Oh well... i guess i hadda find a different set of rims now..

robbieg

Postby robbieg » December 24th, 2008, 2:03 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ nice ..

thx,
i had them on since end of august, just left the country in september, and i came back late last week and my mud guard missing.....donno how the hell that happened....can someone help me locate one? maybe from a wreck?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 26th, 2008, 11:32 am

Whatever... I show allyuh that look first eh! BTW@, I selling the 17" Prado rims.... any takers? ;-)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 27th, 2008, 8:42 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Whatever... I show allyuh that look first eh! BTW@, I selling the 17" Prado rims.... any takers? ;-)

Yeah right ... u ain't selling sh*t !!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 27th, 2008, 12:24 pm

sweeks wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:Whatever... I show allyuh that look first eh! BTW@, I selling the 17" Prado rims.... any takers? ;-)

Yeah right ... u ain't selling sh*t !!

*shrug*

robbieg

Postby robbieg » December 27th, 2008, 1:08 pm

:| :|
anybody with a spare mudguard?? rare left?(dont know if it makes a difference)

323_wagon_dude, where d pics of d pre filter installment?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » December 30th, 2008, 8:44 am

Robbie, I'll try to take some pics this weekend and I'll post it up in here.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » January 6th, 2009, 10:25 am

Thanks for the info guys.

In case anyone else needs to know.

On the vigos.

Front Diff - 2.X qts. 75w/90
Transfer case - 1.X qts. 80w/90
rear Diff - 2.X qts. 80w/90
Tranny - 3.X qts. ATF-4+
Brake Fluid - DOT3 - 2qts
PS fluid.. I used Castrol Gt. 2 QTS

I spoke to one of the tech who worked at Toyota. He said I should use the synthetic 75w/90 on the rear diff as its an LSD, and also in the transfer case. So i just bought 8 qts. I used up the rest to flush out the 2 diffs and the t.c..
when Im doing the 80k, Im going to break the lines at the transmission oil cooler so that i could get out all the stinky oil in the torque converter as well.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » January 6th, 2009, 5:08 pm

Nice info there pal, cheers :!:

:D

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 12th, 2009, 1:15 pm

How much you calling for them??

LOL

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 19th, 2009, 11:46 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:Robbie, I am considering the HID conversion, however, I am looking for one with both Hi and low beams. Most are single beam.

I'm also looking for a brand name kit instead of a cheap one....

These have made it a bit difficult to locate.

I installed a conversion kit in my van, 2008 model 4x4 3.0l...

Had both high and low beams...8000k on low and 10000k on high...

The brand name of the kit I used is Dipai (Made in Germany)...

Took me 20mins to install...hardest part was drilling the side panels in the engine bay to mount the 2 electronic ballasts...

The only bad thing with the HID bulb sockets is that the rubber grommets preventing moisture from going into the stock bulb sockets cannot fit over the HID bulb sockets...

Got the Kit for about $1700 @ SAS Racing on Cipiero St in San Fernando
Contact is 657-1687, ask for Shamo or Terisha

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 19th, 2009, 12:40 pm

so you have 2 different bulbs for hi and low??

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 19th, 2009, 12:48 pm

323_wagon_dude wrote:so you have 2 different bulbs for hi and low??

one bulb..dual element

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » January 19th, 2009, 1:18 pm

Mr. Cheese wrote:
323_wagon_dude wrote:Robbie, I am considering the HID conversion, however, I am looking for one with both Hi and low beams. Most are single beam.

I'm also looking for a brand name kit instead of a cheap one....

These have made it a bit difficult to locate.

I installed a conversion kit in my van, 2008 model 4x4 3.0l...

Had both high and low beams...8000k on low and 10000k on high...

The brand name of the kit I used is Dipai (Made in Germany)...

Took me 20mins to install...hardest part was drilling the side panels in the engine bay to mount the 2 electronic ballasts...

The only bad thing with the HID bulb sockets is that the rubber grommets preventing moisture from going into the stock bulb sockets cannot fit over the HID bulb sockets...

Got the Kit for about $1700 @ SAS Racing on Cipiero St in San Fernando
Contact is 657-1687, ask for Shamo or Terisha

Too bad the light output is all wrong...

Check out the HID threads here to get more information

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » January 19th, 2009, 1:30 pm

^^ ok man, thx

robbieg

Postby robbieg » January 19th, 2009, 2:23 pm

So there is a high chance, lets say if you went down the las cuevas track, that the lamp housing will get moisture inside? or even from just plain dew?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 21st, 2009, 9:04 am

^^^ yep... Those are sealed up pretty good for a reason

Robbie, where you driving around the savannah yesterday afternoon about 5pm??

robbieg

Postby robbieg » January 21st, 2009, 9:39 pm

Probably meh pops giving her a drive, I am not too far from the North Pole right now actually...

Postby Team Loco » January 21st, 2009, 10:24 pm

i've changed 4 oem light bulbs on the new hilux already. a new one is $239.00

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”