T&TEC Residential Electrical Certification

killercow

T&TEC Residential Electrical Certification

Postby killercow » April 17th, 2021, 12:59 am

So my T&TEC meter had a line that burnt out. T&TEC not too long came and removed the meter. I was told that I'd have to get an electrician to rectify the issue and then get someone (an electrical inspector I assume) to issue me either a closing note or an electrical inspection certificate in order to have a new meter installed. (not sure if it have electricians who issue these things or if it's strictly two separate people).

Can anyone recommend someone who can handle this ASAP. (The sooner the better as no meter = no electricity). Thanks!

Musical Doc

Re: T&TEC Residential Electrical Certification

Postby Musical Doc » April 17th, 2021, 9:12 am

Get your electrician to sort it out and then go into the inspectorate division for your area and let them guide you to apply for the inspection to be done. Once the certificate received then carry that into T&TEC and they will organise the crew to reinstall the meter. I feel getting the inspection done might be the toughest part so don't stick. Longer u take to get things going is longer u without electricity

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2021, 9:16 am

A licensed electrician will direct you on the process. They normally takes bribes for the TTEC inspector for you to pass.

This nation stinks with corruption, bribes is the order of the day.

Postby alfa » April 17th, 2021, 9:54 am

zoom rader wrote:A licensed electrician will direct you on the process. They normally takes bribes for the TTEC inspector for you to pass.

This nation stinks with corruption, bribes is the order of the day.

The bribe is usually included in the electricians fee, that's how normalized it has become

killercow

Postby killercow » April 17th, 2021, 11:04 am

Both correct ZR & alfa. Hopefully I'll get through before the end of the day. It will obviously cost me way more than the usual cost but iz either I pay the exorbitant cost and get back current ASAP or be cheap / stand up do right and live in a house for a couple weeks with no current. I chose the first option. Thanks for the feedback doh.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 17th, 2021, 11:07 am

I even started wondering how a tenant would make out in such a situation. Would the landlord pass the extra money? Would the tenant have to suffer for a couple weeks? Would rent still be payed?

Postby zoom rader » April 17th, 2021, 11:43 am

Disgusting banana Republic we live in .

Corruption index my arse

killercow

Postby killercow » April 18th, 2021, 7:48 pm

GT at a cost of $4,800 + drinks for the crew. Thanks alfa & ZR.
CamScanner%2004-18-2021%2014.38.jpeg

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 18th, 2021, 8:42 pm

Makes you wonder how much these inspectors make a month. We really live in a corrupted country and nothing is changing.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 18th, 2021, 8:57 pm

Kickstart wrote:Makes you wonder how much these inspectors make a month. We really live in a corrupted country and nothing is changing.
Corruption is everywhere. People basically paying thousands of dollars to bring their children up in a filthy nation.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 18th, 2021, 11:14 pm

wtf wrote:
Kickstart wrote:Makes you wonder how much these inspectors make a month. We really live in a corrupted country and nothing is changing.
Corruption is everywhere. People basically paying thousands of dollars to bring their children up in a filthy nation.
Mind you this is only a closing note (valid for 14 days only) to have my supply reconnected ASAP. I have to get a full in-depth inspection done within that 14 days otherwise T&TEC can come and disconnect my supply.

In other words I eh sure if what I paid encompasses that inspection too or if I hadda pass more $$$. Somehow I figure it's the latter.

Not a supporter of the back-door avenues eh but I wasn't gonna wait weeks without electricity. 48 hours was enough torture.

Postby Kenjo » April 19th, 2021, 7:37 am

Are these inspectors venes or something ? Where the hell they coming from ?

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2021, 7:50 am

inspectorate could be most corrupt place in the land
so corrupt it become normal

Postby alfa » April 19th, 2021, 8:04 am

pugboy wrote:inspectorate could be most corrupt place in the land
so corrupt it become normal

Rivaled only by licencing office. I remember am old person telling me from way back in the 60s it was a twenty dollar 'facilitation fee' to pass your driving test

Postby Ted_v2 » April 19th, 2021, 10:24 pm

Nice, i remember seeing the leads to my aunt house being changed with a bribe being paid, damn quick and efficient, couldn't wait, couple hours and it was all done.

killercow

Postby killercow » April 20th, 2021, 7:59 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Nice, i remember seeing the leads to my aunt house being changed with a bribe being paid, damn quick and efficient, couldn't wait, couple hours and it was all done.
I wasn't aware just how bad Trinidad runs on nepotism until this. Imagine I called T&TEC just after 10am on Friday (no links, on my own). They showed half hour after midnight the Friday night into Saturday morning. And that was to disconnect.

After work was done which was close to 2pm on Sunday and time to reconnect, a call was made to T&TEC (or someone inside as I didn't make the call). By half 3, T&TEC truck and crew outside and lines reconnecting. By 4pm everything back inna gear.

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 8:09 am

you have no idea how dread them inspectors are with eating ah food, real vultures

I had the misfortune of having a lil fire at a property several years ago
fire service shows up , one of the first thing they do is call a ttec truck who comes immediately and cuts supply on pole.

somebody put me on to one of the top or the topmost inspector in the area to get reconnected,
they tell me he will get us connected back real quick.

the guy shows up and says we have to get a second ground pole installed because of some simmy dimmy he seeing where our mains comes in to meter and says its best his guy does it and we will get back everything in order in a couple days.
next day his guy comes and pongs in a new ground steel and charges us $8k.

I understand his son is now an inspector also.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 20th, 2021, 11:23 am

pugboy wrote:you have no idea how dread them inspectors are with eating ah food, real vultures

I had the misfortune of having a lil fire at a property several years ago
fire service shows up , one of the first thing they do is call a ttec truck who comes immediately and cuts supply on pole.

somebody put me on to one of the top or the topmost inspector in the area to get reconnected,
they tell me he will get us connected back real quick.

the guy shows up and says we have to get a second ground pole installed because of some simmy dimmy he seeing where our mains comes in to meter and says its best his guy does it and we will get back everything in order in a couple days.
next day his guy comes and pongs in a new ground steel and charges us $8k.

I understand his son is now an inspector also.
The government knows that this goes on and does nothing to protect the agv Joe.

Postby timelapse » April 20th, 2021, 1:54 pm

Wait until you bounce up the inspector that moonlights as an electrician...

killercow

Postby killercow » April 20th, 2021, 3:33 pm

timelapse wrote:Wait until you bounce up the inspector that moonlights as an electrician...
Well d same man who do d electrical wuk is d same man dat gimme d inspection paper eh. So me eh know..

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2021, 3:57 pm

he may have gotten it beforehand from his inspector padna
all electricians have "their" inspector they work hand in hand with.

killercow wrote:
timelapse wrote:Wait until you bounce up the inspector that moonlights as an electrician...
Well d same man who do d electrical wuk is d same man dat gimme d inspection paper eh. So me eh know..