Port Authority Controlled Crane Demolition

Postby Monk BANzai » April 12th, 2021, 10:16 pm

meesage.jpg

cornfused

Re: Port Authority Controlled Crane Demolition

Postby cornfused » April 13th, 2021, 5:21 am

[u]Well done to the OCS company and staff. Not too often we see controlled demolition in TnT.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » April 13th, 2021, 11:45 am

The type of equipments associated with the cargo handling aspect of the port operations needed a safe an controlled demolition an uncontrolled demolition could have cost the port other SHIP TO SHORE CRANES ESPECIALLY THE CRANE THAT IS BEING ASSEMBLED PRESENTLY

Postby Chimera » April 13th, 2021, 12:05 pm

Postby Rovin » April 13th, 2021, 12:19 pm

me em know bout these tings but was it still functional ? so cud they not dissemble it & sell it back .... or is somebody eating ah food ?

Postby supercharged turbo » April 13th, 2021, 12:59 pm

It probably would have cost more to bring another crane or two and break it down piece by piece.
Rovin wrote:me em know bout these tings but was it still functional ? so cud they not dissemble it & sell it back .... or is somebody eating ah food ?

Postby K74T » April 13th, 2021, 1:56 pm

Rovin wrote:me em know bout these tings but was it still functional ? so cud they not dissemble it & sell it back .... or is somebody eating ah food ?
New Ship to Shore Crane Installed at the Port of Port of Spain

On Friday 9th April, 2021, the Ministry of Works and Transport marked a milestone by installing a new Ship to Shore (STS) Crane at the Port of Port of Spain. Senator the Honourable Rohan Sinanan, Minister of Works and Transport and officials of the Port of Port of Spain were on hand to showcase the new fully-computerised crane that will significantly improve operations at the port.

The new STS will replace the Port Authority’s oldest Paceco STS crane, which is now 42 years old.

Minister Sinanan said, "The crane was about 17 years past its shelf life and it will be auctioned off by the Port Authority. It can move more containers in a shorter space of time so that will improve the efficiency of the port. This crane does about 35 containers an hour, the cranes we used before that probably did half of the amount.”

Postby Rovin » April 13th, 2021, 5:28 pm

i dont trust what any govt says , iirc d ferry we sold off which also no longer suitable \ "past its lifespan" yet was refurbished is still currently being used in Greece ? .....

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... dd3ed.html

next thing u hear some other country buys it & have it running like normal ...

Postby K74T » April 13th, 2021, 5:31 pm

K

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2021, 5:46 pm

you is a smart fella
doh mind it on in the 10s of millions so off the general radar

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » April 13th, 2021, 7:40 pm

The method used by O'Briens specialist is one of the safest methods to demolish ship to shore cranes other options if not done in a safe manner could end up in the sea or in top another of the ship to shore cranes the job was perfectly executed the preparation under the crane an where it fell was covered with 600metric tonnes of dirt (Backfill) an there was also large tyres where the crane fell to try an prevent impact an damage to the port the crane was decommissioned some years ago for structural damage please bear in mind a ship to shore crane lifespan is max 20years an the port still have another old Paceco crane as to what was demolished these cranes served its life an 1 is still going strong with 42+ years in operations in terms of the scrap somebody mite end up getting it for small money politricks playing there
supercharged turbo wrote:It probably would have cost more to bring another crane or two and break it down piece by piece.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » April 14th, 2021, 7:09 am

Ahh the old "Portainer" I was working on the port in 82 when that unit was fairly new, an operator released the boom before disengaging the dogs ( safety locks), halfway thru the he remembered and disengaged it, the boom fell and almost toppled the Portainer onto a cargo ship, good times

Postby Monk BANzai » April 15th, 2021, 11:17 pm

nismoid wrote:Ahh the old "Portainer" I was working on the port in 82 when that unit was fairly new, an operator released the boom before disengaging the dogs ( safety locks), halfway thru the he remembered and disengaged it, the boom fell and almost toppled the Portainer onto a cargo ship, good times

hoss ..you working on the Port in 1982?

and i thought i was one of the older ones here!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » April 16th, 2021, 9:36 am

Monk BANzai wrote:
nismoid wrote:Ahh the old "Portainer" I was working on the port in 82 when that unit was fairly new, an operator released the boom before disengaging the dogs ( safety locks), halfway thru the he remembered and disengaged it, the boom fell and almost toppled the Portainer onto a cargo ship, good times

hoss ..you working on the Port in 1982?

and i thought i was one of the older ones here!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Well now yuh know :lol: