UWI seismic: St Vincent's La Soufriere volcano has erupted

Postby redmanjp » April 8th, 2021, 3:58 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/04/08/uwi-seismic-expert-st-vincent-volcano-can-erupt-any-time-now/

UWI seismic expert: 'St Vincent volcano can erupt any time now'
ANDREW GIOANNETTI 8 MINUTES AGO
The enlarged dome at the La Soufriere volcano in St Vincent - Photo courtesy UWI Seismic Research Centre

ST VINCENT and the Grenadines Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves has issued a stage-three disaster alert after elevated activity was detected at the La Soufriere volcano.

Although Dr Gonsalves did not issue an evacuation order when he called a press conference on Thursday afternoon, he said up to 20,000 people should be prepared to leave their homes and possibly the islands if elevated activity continues.

Hundreds of people living near La Soufriere are said to have already started moving south.

Those evacuating will need to be vaccinated, he said, whether at home or in neighbouring Barbados and St Lucia, which have pledged their help. Antigua and Barbuda and Grenada have also offered assistance.

The Jamaica Observer has since reported, "Northern communities in the north of St Vincent and the Grenadines are said to be making final arrangements for evacuation as activity on the active volcano La Soufriere increases."

Prof Richard Robertson of UWI's Seismic Research Centre believes it can erupt "any time from now," but it's impossible to say exactly when that might happen.

The Seismic Research Centre issued a statement around midday noting that, "steaming/smoking at the La Soufriere Volcano has increased over the last few hours...The alert level remains at Orange. The National Emergency Management Organisation is reminding the public that no evacuation order or notice has been issued.

"Residents especially persons living in communities close to the volcano are encouraged to be prepared in the event that it becomes necessary to evacuate at short notice; The National Emergency Management Organisation will continue to monitor the situation and provide updates as it becomes necessary."
Last edited by redmanjp on April 9th, 2021, 9:52 am, edited 2 times in total.

Dohplaydat

Re: UWI seismic expert: 'St Vincent volcano can erupt any time now'

Postby Dohplaydat » April 8th, 2021, 4:13 pm

Wonder what Dr. Rowley thinks...

This could spell disaster for that island if this happens.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 4:44 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Wonder what Dr. Rowley thinks...

This could spell disaster for that island if this happens.
Rowlair action makes one to believe he has fake degrees

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 8th, 2021, 4:44 pm

I think it's just acting up, I doubt it's gonna blow.

Postby MaxPower » April 8th, 2021, 5:03 pm

Praying for the people of St.Vincent.

Can we as a people help them?

Should we open our doors as we did for our Venezuelan brothers and sisters?

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2021, 5:05 pm

FB_IMG_1617914583667.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 8th, 2021, 5:23 pm

Red alert issued and evacuation orders now...

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 5:33 pm

but trinidad blowing up too...

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 5:36 pm

MaxPower wrote:Praying for the people of St.Vincent.

i would assume that caricom has protocols to follow for this.

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2021, 6:43 pm

You know in every crisis there is an opportunity. I think it is time we look back at Manning's vision. He wanted all the eastern Caribbean island-nations, including Trinidad & Tobago, to join together to stand united as one country. This move would single-handedly create more opportunity for all those that live on the island chain.

To put this in perspective - we are the most over-governed region in the world. There is no reason for each tiny island to have a full sovereign government. The status-quo, though familiar and comfortable, is idiotic.

To get down to brass tacks - the integration forces administrations and governments to become better. It immediately resets the politics of the island. That means no more PNM and more importantly - no more UNC. That alone is worth the price of admission.

God bless the people of St. Vincent and I hope we help them.

:drinking:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/sto ... ar05.shtml
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... e630cf7832

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 8th, 2021, 7:15 pm

2020 roll over yes

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 8:38 pm

If anybody, know anybody there, get them to keep in mind covid.
In the melee, in the coming days, people will be distracted, but it will be a island with of people moving.
It is absolutely critical they keep spaced, masks, sanitize surfaces,

Potential fir an island scale spreader event.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2021, 10:03 pm

Increased activity of La Soufriere Volcano in St. Vincent and the Grenadines has forced an evacuation of communities closest to the volcano.

Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves Acting on the advice of the country's Director of the National Emergency Management Organisation actioned the evacuation order just after 4 o'clock Thursday afternoon.

Urging citizens not to panic, to be orderly and disciplined, Prime Minister Gonsalves said he had been in contact with those who have offered to help with the evacuation process. He said the cruise ships in the first instance will be used to shuttle citizens to islands offering temporary hospitality. Emergency shelters have all been activated and the government is encouraging those heading to the shelters to obey the covid-19 protocols.

Those that will take shelter in other islands they will be required to vaccinate against COVID-19.

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2021, 10:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:You know in every crisis there is an opportunity. I think it is time we look back at Manning's vision. He wanted all the eastern Caribbean island-nations, including Trinidad & Tobago, to join together to stand united as one country. This move would single-handedly create more opportunity for all those that live on the island chain.

To put this in perspective - we are the most over-governed region in the world. There is no reason for each tiny island to have a full sovereign government. The status-quo, though familiar and comfortable, is idiotic.

To get down to brass tacks - the integration forces administrations and governments to become better. It immediately resets the politics of the island. That means no more PNM and more importantly - no more UNC. That alone is worth the price of admission.

God bless the people of St. Vincent and I hope we help them.

:drinking:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/sto ... ar05.shtml
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... e630cf7832

This would work except for the dictatorial tendencies of all those small island leaders that would not even flinch at the idea of giving up power to their 2x4 pieces of rock.

Ralph Gonsalves himself has been somewhat of a dictator, holding on to Prime minister for 5 terms consecutively. If you ever had to deal with them small islanders politicians and academics they make UNC and PNM look good. They are extremely swell headed and overly confident, arrogant and self centered.

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2021, 10:57 pm

Postby MaxPower » April 8th, 2021, 11:05 pm

Sigh

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2021, 11:24 pm

MaxPower wrote:Sigh

Yeah boy Max.

This is when we appreciate that we live in a blessed country.

A mud volcano does not even come close.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 9th, 2021, 1:04 am

Yea, um, both trinidad and tobago crisscrossed with (albeit small) faults.
I sure some of them ppl in caparo and cumuto livin on fault lines in their back yards

https://ttweathercenter.com/2019/02/01/ ... mic-zones/

bluefete wrote:

Yeah boy Max.

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2021, 1:54 am

bluefete wrote:

Yeah boy Max.

Blessed my hairy azz hole... the Caribbean plate passes through this tiny island. The mad lady from UWI seismic always saying the big one coming, The day it come all ah we dead and guess what ... none ah dem small catch azz Caribbean country can't help we with nuttin even if they want to.

Postby aaron17 » April 9th, 2021, 3:19 am

Bruhhhh
Was looking for more predictions on the dutchsinse youtube but he didnt do vids recently.

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2021, 9:07 am

UWI Seismic Research Centre

As of 8:41 am this morning April 9, 2021 an explosive eruption began at the La Soufrière volcano in St. Vincent. This a culmination of the seismic activity that began on April 8. The eruption is ongoing and more information will be shared as things progress.

FB_IMG_1617973561818.jpeg

Re: UWI seismic: St Vincent's La Soufriere volcano has erupted

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2021, 11:19 am

Satellite image loop of the ash plume from the volcano

Barbados to the east

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2021, 11:49 am

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2021, 11:52 am

DMan7 wrote:I think it's just acting up, I doubt it's gonna blow.

You were saying?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2021, 11:55 am

Like snow
IMG-20210409-WA0091.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 9th, 2021, 11:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Like snow

wow

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 9th, 2021, 12:04 pm

MaxPower wrote:Praying for the people of St.Vincent.

I think Caricom will allow evacuees temporary residence.

If there are any legit/registered private bodies doing collections, please share info. That's a terrible situation to be in, worse with COVID factored in,

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 9th, 2021, 12:14 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:I think it's just acting up, I doubt it's gonna blow.

You were saying?

I was trying a reverse goat mouth hoping it wouldn't blow, but it did instead. :lol:

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 9th, 2021, 12:34 pm

Ent Rowleee is the rocks man..He probably orgasmic seeing that volcano erupt..

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » April 9th, 2021, 3:27 pm

"Hello yes, alibaba? I container of snowblowers brooms and microfiber cloths please.. stat."

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Like snow