Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2021, 10:51 am

oSaRi.

Postby oSaRi. » April 7th, 2021, 10:58 am

So sad. Did anyone die? Niquan producing wax weeks now. Trinidad is not a real place.
Last edited by oSaRi. on April 7th, 2021, 11:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 7th, 2021, 11:25 am

oSaRi. wrote:So sad nobody eh dead. Niquan producing wax weeks now. Trinidad is not a real place.

Quoting before you get bun out for this sheit and then edit saying it was a 'typo'. :roll:

I see these things and pity the blackened heart that eagerly awaits death if but only to prove a point (because it's not only employees that could have been affected; fence line communities need to be considered depending on the extent of the explosion).

I understand being disgruntled, disenchanted, hatred for the red/yellow/whatever colour party, etc. and they're all fine, but it's all fun and games until what you ask for hits your home.

Get help. Be better.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » April 7th, 2021, 11:46 am

oSaRi. wrote:So sad nobody eh dead. Niquan producing wax weeks now. Trinidad is not a real place.

Pioneer?

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 12:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A voice note from an operator on the plant said it was the hydro cracking unit due to a wax buildup
I'm not sure how it works

Certain processes like methanol synthesis require a certain temperature in the reactors to keep wax from forming and gumming up the vessels and associated piping. Not sure if this is what is being referred to.

only time i see dat is before the catalyst change out, 2006 2008(?) the one where my shift got hit with the 'mal operation of the convertor', lol.

Postby The_Honourable » April 7th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Dave wrote:If it is Niquan, Mark Bassant report showed up the MD about land grabbing in Maracas in Monday's guardian.

lol ent?

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/lsa-pro ... 85c066f3d5

Heard the explosion in San Fernando. Though it was thunder at first but seeing hot sun. Plant eh make a month yet and is explosion.

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 1:24 pm

last week someone posted a vid of them venting natgas.
before that was some report of some damage. it going tru some real teething problems.

if is really waxing going all the time, is it old catalyst they used? cause when petrotrin was being shut down, pics ciruclated of bins of new catalyst being stored on site.

if its not old catalyst, they hadda check they temps. but they know that.

one of the biggest problem with building that plant was lack of insturmentation for the equipment. they prolly seeing good temps, but not enough temp probes in the dead zones to see the cold temps. so they getting in incomplete view of the profile.

i eh kno, long time i ant trouble shoot a system. blood start back to flow.

Postby De Dragon » April 7th, 2021, 2:06 pm

sMASH wrote:last week someone posted a vid of them venting natgas.
before that was some report of some damage. it going tru some real teething problems.

if is really waxing going all the time, is it old catalyst they used? cause when petrotrin was being shut down, pics ciruclated of bins of new catalyst being stored on site.

if its not old catalyst, they hadda check they temps. but they know that.

one of the biggest problem with building that plant was lack of insturmentation for the equipment. they prolly seeing good temps, but not enough temp probes in the dead zones to see the cold temps. so they getting in incomplete view of the profile.

i eh kno, long time i ant trouble shoot a system. blood start back to flow.

Or like Mittal, they attempted to get by with 2-3 functional monitoring points :lol:
Reformer and Reactor are two areas you don't want to skimp with your thermocouples. I await further confirmation of what actually went wrong, but preliminary reports sound like some serious breakdown in safety systems.

Postby gastly369 » April 7th, 2021, 2:16 pm

Close to fyzo and windows rocked by me when it happened

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 2:21 pm

did u know, they took MY personal instrumentation diagrams, to implement on that project?
i thought they woudl photocopy it and give me back my copy, but the man send down my own copy. and that was the only copy i had, every body who had that complete version already left the company. the new people had a kinda half way version.
back then i didnt know how to talk to drawing office to get red stamped documents.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 3:32 pm

You in E&I?
sMASH wrote:did u know, they took MY personal instrumentation diagrams, to implement on that project?
i thought they woudl photocopy it and give me back my copy, but the man send down my own copy. and that was the only copy i had, every body who had that complete version already left the company. the new people had a kinda half way version.
back then i didnt know how to talk to drawing office to get red stamped documents.

Postby K74T » April 7th, 2021, 3:32 pm

FB_IMG_1617823835310.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » April 7th, 2021, 6:27 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1617823835310.jpeg

Nice PR, but OSHA will take a dim view of their PSSR if it wasn't up to snuff. An overpriced foreign used plant, is still a foreign used plant, and while there are several examples of successful start up of units like these, there are also Niquan/O3 cases.
This is precisely why, as more time elapses, PT refinery rots and becomes more and more unpalatable to investors, but hey, the same LFD RFD PNM handling that as well so...........

Postby De Dragon » April 7th, 2021, 6:35 pm

Just realized that it is almost 30 years since the infamous Cat Cracker explosion in PT that killed a guy and injured about a dozen others.

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 7:41 pm

zoom rader wrote:You in E&I?
sMASH wrote:did u know, they took MY personal instrumentation diagrams, to implement on that project?

used to be ops. but u need to understand where and how the instruments relate to the process, so we still had to study them. ( for the benefit of those not in the industry)

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 7th, 2021, 8:00 pm

I have so many questions on this...

Was there a functional and tested PSV & rupture disc?

Is there proper instrumentation for pressure and temperature monitoring from the control room?

Was it an operations/human error?

Are there any recent inspection reports to say that the vessel is fit for service?

Why did it fail along the circumferential weld?

Why was there so much wax to clog the lines?

ProtonPowder

Re: Explosion at Petrotrin / NiQuan plant

Postby ProtonPowder » April 7th, 2021, 8:41 pm

You will receive no answers. You have a better shot at figuring it out from international news.

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 9:00 pm

these floating on fb

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 9:13 pm

now i can say that is absolute f*kry.
y? that bust clean out from a weld. and look on the under side of the top piece, u seeing a piece from the side of the vessel rotten and come away with it, like a stalagmite shape. that vessel was rotten.
yes it can happen.

but after a plant down so long, and never really started, that supposed to have CMI inspect every single inch before it gets the okay to put on a light switch.

Postby goalpost » April 7th, 2021, 9:15 pm

Idk wah ah looking at

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 8th, 2021, 5:17 am

So we getting a movie like deepwater horizon?

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 8:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:So we getting a movie like deepwater horizon?
Yes complacency mixed with the wrong selection of skilled staff.

That plant i suspect has red government chosen non skilled personnel from off the streets .

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 8th, 2021, 8:44 am

Dan, u pushing it with that stupid talk now. It have real men in their with plenty exp from various plants. Don't insults them with u're red govt logic please.
Yes we know u have a issue with PNM, but don't drag those workers into it.

That issue with the plant is due to shortcomings with mechanical integrity and PSM.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 9:06 am

goalpost wrote:Idk wah ah looking at

Looks like a possible failed weld on a pressure vessel. A proper RCA will need to confirm this though

Postby matr1x » April 8th, 2021, 9:11 am

First of all, plenty of the workers are very complacent. Drills are a pain becuase they always sloppy. And now it's far worse.

Pnm make sure their ppl inside and we seeing the result. Have fun with that

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 9:14 am

look who on facebook....

hoss, as experienced as them men is, they pushing for production instead of sorting out the issues. since this plant starting up is one set of issues. and after a couple attempts, they should realize that too many integrity issues coming up, so they need to stop and check back every single weld, every single bolt and do physical verification of all their instruments to evaluate if they are monitoring sufficiently.

the plant down for so long, it have to dawn on them, its worse than they hoped. if they fix, restart and get a next blow out, hope its where nobody is at the time.

too much sheit going on for experienced men.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 8th, 2021, 9:31 am

That's more down to management culture than actual workers. You would see production over psm in almost any plant on the estate and it's only when something happens then they buckle down.

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 9:51 am

well someting happen now.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 11:15 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Dan, u pushing it with that stupid talk now. It have real men in their with plenty exp from various plants. Don't insults them with u're red govt logic please.

That issue with the plant is due to shortcomings with mechanical integrity and PSM.
Hoss skilled workers would have spotted it and reported it . They did not or Management turned a blind eye for production in favor of safety.

Where safety is of concern operations would have stopped and do a root cause.

They all to blame and I don't give to figs about it

The attitude they took is that of the red government behaviour.

This red government behavour must never be employed in dangerous working environments.

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 12:32 pm

zoom, u know ting from inside all along?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hire a few seniors and a set a laborers????

jhonnieblue wrote:Dan, u pushing it with that stupid talk now. It have real men in their with plenty exp from various plants. Don't insults them with u're red govt logic please.

Hoss skilled workers would have spotted it and reported it . They did not or Management turned a blind eye for production in favor of safety.

Where safety is of concern operations would have stopped and do a root cause.

They all to blame and I don't give to figs about it

The attitude they took is that of the red government behaviour.

This red government behavour must never be employed in dangerous working environments.