Explosion at Petrotrin / NiQuan plant

Re: Explosion at Petrotrin / NiQuan plant

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 12:40 pm

sMASH wrote:zoom, u know ting from inside all along?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hire a few seniors and a set a laborers????

jhonnieblue wrote:Dan, u pushing it with that stupid talk now. It have real men in their with plenty exp from various plants. Don't insults them with u're red govt logic please.
Yes we know u have a issue with PNM, but don't drag those workers into it.

That issue with the plant is due to shortcomings with mechanical integrity and PSM.
Hoss skilled workers would have spotted it and reported it . They did not or Management turned a blind eye for production in favor of safety.

Where safety is of concern operations would have stopped and do a root cause.

They all to blame and I don't give to figs about it

The attitude they took is that of the red government behaviour.

This red government behavour must never be employed in dangerous working environments.

^^^ All yuh think is Joke I does be telling all yuh .

Yet others saying don't bring politics into this. Skilled workers my arse

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2021, 12:57 pm

FB_IMG_1617900746376.jpeg

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 1:05 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1617900746376.jpeg
I would not trust anything from these people, they are all red government influenced .

That report will be doctored and misleading. Just like all the EMA reports under the red government.

Remember the Beech high school report? That was a bag of lies

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 2:47 pm

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1617900746376.jpeg

"Despatch"? Really? :?

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2021, 3:10 pm

Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries

Media Release

MEEI TECHNICAL TEAM TO INVESTIGATE NIQUAN’S INCIDENT

The Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries (MEEI) wishes to inform the Media and the public that in accordance to the Petroleum Act, Chap. 62:01 and the Petroleum Regulations, the MEEI has established a technical team and has commenced investigations into the explosion at the NiQuan GTL Plant at Point-a-Pierre which occurred on April 7th, 2021. The mandate of the technical team is as follows:

1) Establish the facts of the incident;
2) Conduct a thorough investigation and contributing factors to determine the root cause(s) of the explosion;
3) Review the adequacy of existing controls and procedures;
4) Make recommendations which could reduce future risks and prevent recurrences; and
5) Prepare a final report which would be delivered to the Honourable Minister of Energy and
Energy Industries and other key stakeholders.

The technical team that will be conducting the investigation are as follows
1. Craig Boodoo, Senior Petroleum Engineer (Team Lead) and Acting Head Petroleum Operations Management Division
2. Yashi Carrington , Senior Chemical Engineer (Ag.)
3. Sean Mahabir, Mechanical Engineer II
4. Omattee Mathura, Petroleum Inspector III
5. Neisha Dipnarine, Mechanical Engineer
6. Shazil Yarsien, Chemical Engineer

Additionally, the services of Subject Matter Experts would be used as may be required. The team will submit a final report in the shortest possible timeframe.

The MEEI, Occupational Health and Safety Authority and Agency, and the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Services would be conducting independent investigations. Operations at Niquan Energy will only resume after approval from these agencies.

For more information please contact Senior Communications Officer, Mr. Choy Felix at cfelix@energy.gov.tt

Postby Redman » April 8th, 2021, 3:19 pm

Its actually correct.
GORTT docs come with a stamp spelt the same way.
Di is speed-to act with Dispatch
De is Sending and delivery related.

So the dEspatched team should have acted with dIspatch.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 3:29 pm

Redman wrote:

Its actually correct.
GORTT docs come with a stamp spelt the same way.
Di is speed-to act with Dispatch
De is Sending and delivery related.

So the dEspatched team should have acted with dIspatch.

Thanks, I did not know this, even the spell check flagged it :lol:

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 3:49 pm

K74T wrote:Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries

Media Release

The Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries (MEEI) wishes to inform the Media and the public that in accordance to the Petroleum Act, Chap. 62:01 and the Petroleum Regulations, the MEEI has established a technical team and has commenced investigations into the explosion at the NiQuan GTL Plant at Point-a-Pierre which occurred on April 7th, 2021. The mandate of the technical team is as follows:

2) Conduct a thorough investigation and contributing factors to determine the root cause(s) of the explosion;
4) Make recommendations which could reduce future risks and prevent recurrences; and
5) Prepare a final report which would be delivered to the Honourable Minister of Energy and

1. Craig Boodoo, Senior Petroleum Engineer (Team Lead) and Acting Head Petroleum Operations Management Division

Additionally, the services of Subject Matter Experts would be used as may be required. The team will submit a final report in the shortest possible timeframe.

The MEEI, Occupational Health and Safety Authority and Agency, and the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Services would be conducting independent investigations. Operations at Niquan Energy will only resume after approval from these agencies.

For more information please contact Senior Communications Officer, Mr. Choy Felix at cfelix@energy.gov.tt
Waste of time, nothing will come out of this.

Massive cover up will come from these red government stooges.

A creditable overseas team of investigators is needed for this.

Locals cannot be trusted, they are all red government influenced.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 4:07 pm

Ainsley Gill get time to develop his illegally obtained State lands, and to put out more people from their homes so he could play Syrian/White. Oddly he's butting heads with Pepper Spray Deadlier than a Firearm Rambharat, then again, Peppers eh no inside circle LFD RFD PNM like Goebbels and Arse Wari, so maybe he go boil down once he get instructions

Postby gastly369 » April 8th, 2021, 4:11 pm

K74T wrote:Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries

Media Release

Waste of time, nothing will come out of this.

Massive cover up will come from these red government stooges.

A creditable overseas team of investigators is needed for this.

Locals cannot be trusted, they are all red government influenced.
Like yuh hAVe experience bai

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 4:19 pm

This wsnt a chemical problem, it was a mechanical/process problem.
They ahve a whole team of chemists to figure out a vessel blown out.

That team should ahve Comprised mechanical engineers specializing in condition monitoring and process engineers and technicians. And oneeeee chemical person, with experience in petroleum engineering, jsut to verify that the chemicals at that stage of the process were the only things.

They will come to false conclusions, hit u a 6 for 9 recommendations, they budget a pong and crown to retrofit, and resume operations.

Plant Wil start back, and blow out again. And they will patch back restart blow out.

And that will go on and on till the whole plant fix back by patches.

Wax formation is due to low temps. That might be due to end of run catalyst, insufficient instrumentation, or they put a pipe fitter to operate the reactor.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 4:43 pm

sMASH wrote:This wsnt a chemical problem, it was a mechanical/process problem.

That team should ahve Comprised mechanical engineers specializing in condition monitoring and process engineers and technicians. And oneeeee chemical person, with experience in petroleum engineering, jsut to verify that the chemicals at that stage of the process were the only things.

They will come to false conclusions, hit u a 6 for 9 recommendations, they budget a pong and crown to retrofit, and resume operations.

Plant Wil start back, and blow out again. And they will patch back restart blow out.

Wax formation is due to low temps. That might be due to end of run catalyst, insufficient instrumentation, or they put a pipe fitter to operate the reactor.
Writing is on the wall for these hand picked choosen idiots

Red government massive cover up coming.

An overseas international investigation is needed for this .

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 5:35 pm

Tunts7/Red Colostomy Bag still holding this project up as a success story?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 8th, 2021, 5:35 pm

Yes, Despatch. It is a word that means to send or send quickly. Didn't you know?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 8th, 2021, 5:43 pm

Hahahaha. The first and second paragraph is so much bollocks. But then again...

A chemical engineer is not a chemist. A chemical engineer with the MEEI is what is known as a process engineer.

And I can tell you from personal experience that when MEEI and OSH get involved this is treated with utmost gravity and is devoid of governmental interference.

But do continue with the blather.

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 5:56 pm

we also not supposed to dump chemicals in the plant effluents too, but yeah, say they are 'all powerful' and 'beyond influence'.
every ting on the plant does look srs and gestapo, until u see them by bougainvillea... allll dem.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 8th, 2021, 6:16 pm

Can you hear it?

The sound of a new paper shredder being unboxed and plugged in.

Postby De Dragon » April 8th, 2021, 7:38 pm

carluva wrote:

A chemical engineer is not a chemist. A chemical engineer with the MEEI is what is known as a process engineer.

And I can tell you from personal experience that when MEEI and OSH get involved this is treated with utmost gravity and is devoid of governmental interference.

Red Colostomy Bag, dais you? :lol:
Why is it "bollocks" exactly

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2021, 8:00 pm

remember we had a covid recovery committee, and when covid measures getting implemented, recovery committee men post vid on fb how non of what they recommended getting implemented.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 9:43 pm

carluva wrote:

Red Colostomy Bag, dais you?
Wait nah Redman have double account?

It seems another red government argent is feed him misleading information.

This is all red government idiots do on tuner, they sit and wait for wrong information and then try to pass that on as gospel truth.

Men getting make our easy

carluva

Postby carluva » April 8th, 2021, 11:44 pm

As usual, your logic of "if someone is not with you, they are against you" applies. Not everyone's views are politically charged.
carluva wrote:

This is all red government idiots do on tuner, they sit and wait for wrong information and then try to pass that on as gospel truth.

Postby zoom rader » April 8th, 2021, 11:45 pm

carluva wrote:As usual, your logic of "if someone is not with you, they are against you" applies. Not everyone's views are politically charged.
carluva wrote:

Ok Redman

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 9th, 2021, 12:48 am

carluva wrote:As usual, your logic of "if someone is not with you, they are against you" applies. Not everyone's views are politically charged.

Agreed, 100%. That's why I asked in the Engineers et al Thread for a clean, neutral (political and otherwise) play by play and breakdown as to why we are where we are, and how to fix it.

That "if I criticize 'n', then I must be '1/n' " mentality* is exactly why these political entities have had us by the balls for the past 59 years, sadly.

*Lil math joke there, goodnight Skinner Park.. bah dum tss..

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2021, 10:04 am

Joshie23 wrote:

Agreed, 100%. That's why I asked in the Engineers et al Thread for a clean, neutral (political and otherwise) play by play and breakdown as to why we are where we are, and how to fix it.

That "if I criticize 'n', then I must be '1/n' " mentality* is exactly why these political entities have had us by the balls for the past 59 years, sadly.

You Sir are an idiot

You know very well where we are at that plant and why. I have said it before and so have others who work in the energy industry.

The wrong staff was hired at that plant with ill fitting managers who have ties with the red government. That's the bottom line.

A rushed plant and look where we are today.

Nothing will come out of that local investigation and those chosen are mere stooges for the cover up.

If an international investigation was to conduct then you will find the root cause of problems steming from the top management and work culture behaviour.

That plant needs to be shut down and every aspect checked over and then recommissioned. Shoddy workmanship.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 9th, 2021, 10:36 am

Joshie23 wrote:

You Sir are an idiot

You know very well where we are at that plant and why. I have said it before and so have others who work in the energy industry.

The wrong staff was hired at that plant with ill fitting managers who have ties with the red government. That's the bottom line.

A rushed plant and look where we are today.

Nothing will come out of that local investigation and those chosen are mere stooges for the cover up.

If an international investigation was to conduct then you will find the root cause of problems steming from the top management and work culture behaviour.

That plant needs to be shut down and every aspect checked over and then recommissioned. Shoddy workmanship.

Gee, Zoom..thanks for the compliment. Let me hold your hand to bring you back on track.

Yk, it would be interesting to see the points/data surrounding ALNG, NGC, Producers, Point Lisa's, etc., laid out from start to finish (as in where we are now) and possible solutions, without the name-calling, vitriol, mudslinging, etc.

I mean, we're following the points and you guys are saying brilliant stuff, but I just think there would be more credibility to each poster of the facts were laid out without any apparent bias or anything like that.

Engineers et al, surely we're capable of something like that, right? Please?

Source: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=278577&start=2490 18th post from the top.

My question had nothing to do with the state of the GTL plant. I was simply agreeing with carluva, in that some of y'all have your heads so far up the Balisier/Rising Sun's arses that we can't have a critical, fruitful discussion.

But meh, we've been doing this thing for 59 years, and it's been working out for us, right?

Leff foot, right foot, we will rise.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2021, 11:26 am

- too much money spent for that plant. 15 years ago was 3.2bn tt. u build new brand plants for 1.5bn tt... now
- its used vessels and equipment, knock down plant. that has been done before, so long as the vessels and equipment good, np there. but also, plants have life spans that insurance will not be willing to insure afterwards. cause it make its life, ready to blow up, structural integrity becomes a major issue, and its a safety risk.
so with this plant, its not certain if it was just a knock down of a safe plant or one that was disassbled due to age.

- as time went by, got to realize the control systems and safety systems on those vessels are very old design and no up to par for what was the industry standard 15 years ago. so while reassembling it, a lot of retrofitting and upgrading merely to meet the safety standards as well as the operations standards.
and a lot of money went into retrofitting WHILE being reassembled.

and because the systems were old, it puts doubts on the age/structural integrity of the vessels. one, it causes failures. two, those failures is down time, so losss of production and money to fix back. and thee hopefully the failures dont cause injuries or death.

whether red or yellow, u cannot argue that malcome jones got good value for tax money with that spent. niquan come out bess, but deffinitely not the tax payers.
whether red or yellow, u coudl not hide that a lot of retrofitting to upgrade took place
whether red or yellow, u cant hide that since it began commissioning, a lot of failures took place, the latest being the worst.

an engineer cannot give valid findings unless they got access to records and was able to go and inspect the plant.
all u can get from an engineers perspective on tuner, is their opinion... based on their experience.

whether red or yellow, i had said the gtl was a good idea. but the WGTL that malcom jones put us in, was a very poor and costly implementation of that idea.
and no leff foot rittte foot coudl honestly say we getting value for money with this project.

is 2007 this project goin on, is only a month or two it running and keep suffering failures.

plant designers and builders do this with very little teething problems in modern times.

another experience. m5000 took 2 years from clearing the site for construction to producing methanol. the largest single methanol plant in the world with some inovative systems. so its not to say it was a copy and paste design that was already proven to work.
it started so long ago and still being worked on even wehn kamala dem took office

Postby De Dragon » April 9th, 2021, 8:36 pm

I don't know what is hard to understand about the rarity of a newly commissioned plant having a catastrophic failure just after start up that's escaping those two :roll:
Proper checks, tests, inspections are, or should be carried out on those plants, even after they have been down for even a few weeks for a TAR, much less a commissioning, and with the full knowledge that it was a RoRo plant should have made those checks very stringent and thorough.
Are you two saying that sheit happens, and we should just move on? :roll:

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2021, 9:25 pm

no amount of book or lectures in a university hall does TEACH u dat. that is just pure contact hours in the industry, u will get to understand how process plants go.

dem fellas like they never buy an ole car as a first car or project. every ting is either roro or firm.

Postby De Dragon » April 9th, 2021, 9:35 pm

sMASH wrote:no amount of book or lectures in a university hall does TEACH u dat. that is just pure contact hours in the industry, u will get to understand how process plants go.

dem fellas like they never buy an ole car as a first car or project. every ting is either roro or firm.

All projects experience teething problems during commissioning/start up, but to have a failure of that magnitude is unacceptable. One has to ask, with the long delay since the initial batch of operators/mechanical/electrical were taken on, to now, what kind of training did they conduct?

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2021, 9:45 pm

remember niquan was starting up a long time before on the down low. people was commenting that they seeing steam and flares and ting, when nothing official was announced. dem getting beans a good while now.

that start up coordinator head should have rolled by now.