Postby Redman » April 7th, 2021, 6:55 am

I heard it..about 615-630.
I'm in La Romaine.
So if it was Niquan...it was pretty big...pics circulating

wickedtuna

Re: Petrotrin refinery shut down

Postby wickedtuna » April 7th, 2021, 6:56 am

I living close to high street san Fernando on top the hills loud explosion from Petrotrin shake the house lots of smoke from down there now
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What going in south? Seeing some vids about some explosion or the other

Postby j.o.e » April 7th, 2021, 7:07 am

Very loud at about 6:36am. Cocoyea side

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 7:19 am

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 7:23 am

seeing 'explosion' post from someone in gopaul lands, said their house shook.

did they launch their catcraker! lol

death365

Postby death365 » April 7th, 2021, 7:25 am

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 7:41 am

Postby timelapse » April 7th, 2021, 7:53 am

Anybody injured ?

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 8:26 am

This is what happens when you get rid of skilled staff.

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2021, 8:28 am

who they gonna call to fix ?

zoom rader wrote:This is what happens when you get rid of skilled staff.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 8:30 am

pugboy wrote:who they gonna call to fix ?

Ghost busters

On a serious note, it is most likely that the staff they hired was red government ojts. Square pegs in round holes. Probably employees that have never come through the ranks in heavy industries.
Last edited by zoom rader on April 7th, 2021, 8:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2021, 8:31 am

I am not sure if it was you Zoom, but in one of the threads someone was saying about how the gov't close down Petrotrin but give a big bligh to Niquan because the owner is allegedly Rowley good pardner.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 8:36 am

bluefete wrote:

I am not sure if it was you Zoom, but in one of the threads someone was saying about how the gov't close down Petrotrin but give a big bligh to Niquan because the owner is allegedly Rowley good pardner.
Nah was not me,

but it's typical red government employment practice to hire friends and family without skills.

Postby Redman » April 7th, 2021, 8:37 am

Ghost busters

On a serious note, it is most likely that the staff they hired was red government ojts. Square pegs in round holes. Probably employees that have never come through the ranks in heavy industries.

So a privately funded project preferred to hire idiots....so that they could lose capital.

Steups

Postby Dave » April 7th, 2021, 8:41 am

If it is Niquan, Mark Bassant report showed up the MD about land grabbing in Maracas in Monday's guardian.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 8:43 am

Redman wrote:

Ghost busters

So a privately funded project preferred to hire idiots....so that they could lose capital.

Steups
Their employment selection had holes.

Energy employment is not a parlour.

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2021, 8:46 am

Dave wrote:If it is Niquan, Mark Bassant report showed up the MD about land grabbing in Maracas in Monday's guardian.

Correct is right. Coincidence? Distraction? Stranger things have happened.

It is Niquan.

Postby gastly369 » April 7th, 2021, 8:57 am

Minor injuries no deaths reported
timelapse wrote:Anybody injured ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2021, 8:58 am

From fire services:

UPDATE ON FIRE AT NIQUAN ENERGY BASED ON FORMER PETROTRIN’S COMPOUND:-

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service (TTFS) have extinguished a fire which occurred this morning (April 07, 2021) at Niquan Energy Trinidad Limited based on former Petrotrin’s compound.

Appliances from the Mon Repos Fire Station responded and are presently on site.

The fire was quickly brought under control by members of the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service who worked closely with Niquan ground managers and officials from the plant.

There are no reported injuries at his time. An assessment will follow cooling procedures.

Investigations are ongoing.

(Update provided by the Acting Assistant Chief Fire Officer – Southern Division).

The Ministry of National Security commends our firefighters on their quick action to bring the situation under control.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2021, 9:09 am

A voice note from an operator on the plant said it was the hydro cracking unit due to a wax buildup
I'm not sure how it works

Postby Redman » April 7th, 2021, 9:16 am

Men diagnose the problem already?

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2021, 9:59 am

Redman wrote:

Ghost busters

Steups
Their employment selection had holes.

Energy employment is not a parlour.

that is ONE of the reasons why locally managed projects fail and foreign ones make a lot of money. the foreign ones usually pay well, but demand performance, and spend to train and develop the competence.

that is why shutting down a plant, loosing the staff is not ideal if u want to restart.

the gtl idea was a good idea, but the idea to use derelict parts from a knock down foreign plant was failure from the conception. $3.2bn to buy an insurance write off. that is the dna we dealing with.

Postby gastly369 » April 7th, 2021, 10:18 am

Await "is kahmelaaahhh fault" ...

Postby De Dragon » April 7th, 2021, 10:24 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A voice note from an operator on the plant said it was the hydro cracking unit due to a wax buildup

Certain processes like methanol synthesis require a certain temperature in the reactors to keep wax from forming and gumming up the vessels and associated piping. Not sure if this is what is being referred to.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 10:24 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A voice note from an operator said it was the hydro cracking unit due to a wax buildup
This is what you get when you send home skilled staff with over 25 years in heavy industry.

Red government OJTS that are not suited for the energy industry

Postby timelapse » April 7th, 2021, 10:25 am

More important to me than the politics involved right now.I glad it wasn't serious injuries/deaths
gastly369 wrote:Minor injuries no deaths reported

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 10:28 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:A voice note from an operator said it was the hydro cracking unit due to a wax buildup

Certain processes like methanol synthesis require a certain temperature in the reactors to keep wax from forming and gumming up the vessels and associated piping. Not sure if this is what is being referred to.
Due be careful and don't explain these tings to red government people. They have no idea what you taking about.

Just look at pastor Habit 7 & Redman as example. Just know eliteauto will also be an expert on energy plants.

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2021, 10:29 am

timelapse wrote:More important to me than the politics involved right now.I glad it wasn't serious injuries/deaths
gastly369 wrote:Minor injuries no deaths reported
Politics is heavily involved in this . The wrong people was hired.