The last Rum Shop keeper ...

Postby Rovin » February 24th, 2021, 9:52 pm

now this is a very well presented story here that shows a window back to d ole time days

not gonna copy\paste : u hadda visit their page to take it in & see d all pics too ...

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/t ... d9071.html

Re: The last Rum Shop keeper ...

Postby Gladiator » February 24th, 2021, 10:03 pm

Nice read...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 24th, 2021, 10:44 pm

If yuh want food, go home ahead an come back. That made me laugh

matix

Postby matix » February 24th, 2021, 11:28 pm

Mr. Wilfred is one of the nicest persons I've gotten to known within the last decade. Had the pleasure of installing a surveillance system for him after he was the victim of a burglary. His shop is truly a step back in time. You can literally sit for hours and chat with him. Amazing article

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 25th, 2021, 6:43 am

Does anybody know of an old white rum called Trinidad ?
I saw that maybe 15 years ago in a gas station in Nigeria. It had Trinidad written on the bottle and it was made by Caroni iirc. The bottle looked old like the Crystal rum bottle in the article.

Postby Rovin » February 25th, 2021, 11:20 am

i not a drinker nor rumshop patron but d way d author wrote d story & presented it was very well done

if u happen to be passing in d area it makes u feel to go just to check it out, even is jes to buy a malta if he does sell dat ... 8-)

death365

Postby death365 » February 25th, 2021, 12:39 pm

ah d good old days ... how i miss them .

it have a really nice one ; when u now pass grande junction and heading to manzan... on the left hand side abit after the river a blue building the name is blues bar but it doh have any sign.

matix

Postby matix » February 25th, 2021, 1:51 pm

Rovin wrote:i not a drinker nor rumshop patron but d way d author wrote d story & presented it was very well done

if u happen to be passing in d area it makes u feel to go just to check it out, even is jes to buy a malta if he does sell dat ... 8-)

You can get the Malta. But he only opens for a couple hours in the morning and then again in the afternoon.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 25th, 2021, 2:01 pm

Where is this place? Opposite the landslip railing where doubles sells on mornings?

matix

Postby matix » February 25th, 2021, 2:23 pm

viedcht wrote:Where is this place? Opposite the landslip railing where doubles sells on mornings?

It all depends on which direction you're taking. Going to Princes Town via 'taska road', when you approach the 4 road intersection with the traffic lights and the WASA Station on the left. You need to turn left and drive along the
'Main Road'. It's located on the left after just driving for a few minutes. If you pass the licensing office then you've gone too far.

IMG_4646.JPG

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 25th, 2021, 2:54 pm

matix wrote:It all depends on which direction you're taking. Going to Princes Town via 'taska road', when you approach the 4 road intersection with the traffic lights and the WASA Station on the left. You need to turn left and drive along the
'Main Road'. It's located on the left after just driving for a few minutes. If you pass the licensing office then you've gone too far

It's a short distance after ravens bakery, at a junction? If so I know the spot

matix

Postby matix » February 25th, 2021, 3:41 pm

viedcht wrote:
matix wrote:It all depends on which direction you're taking. Going to Princes Town via 'taska road', when you approach the 4 road intersection with the traffic lights and the WASA Station on the left. You need to turn left and drive along the
'Main Road'. It's located on the left after just driving for a few minutes. If you pass the licensing office then you've gone too far

It's a short distance after ravens bakery, at a junction? If so I know the spot

Yes! That’s the spot

Postby SMc » February 25th, 2021, 4:25 pm

matix wrote:
viedcht wrote:Where is this place? Opposite the landslip railing where doubles sells on mornings?

It all depends on which direction you're taking. Going to Princes Town via 'taska road', when you approach the 4 road intersection with the traffic lights and the WASA Station on the left. You need to turn left and drive along the
'Main Road'. It's located on the left after just driving for a few minutes. If you pass the licensing office then you've gone too far.

IMG_4646.JPG

Regardless of the direction you travelling its either opposite or not opposite the landslip railings- like me perpendicular don't take sides

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » February 26th, 2021, 10:01 am

I am familiar with the Shop in my days.

I like the Nostalgic series of articles by Richard Charran.