Govt must cut public service, increase utility rates

Numb3r4

Re: Govt must cut public service, increase utility rates

Postby Numb3r4 » February 18th, 2021, 6:08 pm

If there are so many good idea how come so few of them are being enacted, who are really making the decisions here?

Or is it one of those "death by committee" kind of scenarios?

Postby matr1x » February 18th, 2021, 6:19 pm

Bring back money stolen in corruption.

Boom! Problem solved

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 18th, 2021, 6:45 pm

matr1x wrote:Bring back money stolen in corruption.

Boom! Problem solved

Plenty Ministers family and their relatives and descendants have all that money tied up for decades. How you think you getting that back?

Postby teems1 » February 18th, 2021, 7:00 pm

The mineral wealth is the citizens.

Not the 1% or financers or party hacks or Calder Hart's.

Foe too long the country's wealth has been allocated to a select few.

They treat the treasury like a personal bank account to finance their extravagant lifestyle to eventually migrate.

They can cut public sector employees but leave the subsidies.

If they do away with the subsidies then reduce taxes because the vast majority of the population do not benefit from it.
Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Don't you love how Habit7 and PantyMan Plastic Bag conveniently embrace collective responsibility?
PantyMan Plastic Bag was actually arguing that in 5 years from 2010-2015 the PP wrecked the economy single- handedly. It appears that prior to that, everything was perfect :roll:

Not perfect but it was damn good
"Still, according to the World Bank, T&T enjoyed the highest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita in Latin America and the Caribbean during the period 2000 to 2010."
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... f8f8f560a1

Load beat up below

teems1 wrote:When it's time for the taxpayers to get something, tighten your belt. Subsidies are one of the few places many people see a return on their tax dollars.

Subsidies are almost 50% of our expenditure, personal taxes are nowhere near that as a percentage of our revenue. Govt earns most of its tax revenue from O&G companies and they are paying less and less every year. Nothing PNM or UNC could do to change that.

Redress10 wrote:Is Manning who invited Rowley into the PNM and introduced him to politics.

Rowley went up for elections in 1981, who told you Manning invited him into the PNM?

Postby Habit7 » February 18th, 2021, 7:26 pm

teems1 wrote:The mineral wealth is the citizens.

They treat the treasury like a personal bank account to finance their extravagant lifestyle to eventually migrate.

If they do away with the subsidies then reduce taxes because the vast majority of the population do not benefit from it.

It is easy to talk about the nebulous, unquantifiable figure for corruption and not deal with budgeted subsidises which benefit the rich with their 3.0L diesels, subsidised electricity and a flat water rate for their manisons. Both utilities are among the cheapest in region thanks to subsidies. All while we pay no property tax.

Other oil rich countries had begun the process of weaning their population off of subsidies, except Venezuela. But if you believe we should follow Venezuela instead Gulf oil states then we are not on the same page. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-20644964

Yours is the position which I spoke about earlier, you want others to be affected (public servants) but not you (keep the subsidies). You also want us to reduce taxes when our personal tax allowance has increased from $60k in 2015 to $84k presently. We have some of the lowest personal and commercial tax in Latin America and the Caribbean.

If T&T has to be fixed, we all have to feel it.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » February 18th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Personally, I think we need to reduce the inefficiencies in our governance. It is so much wasted money and no productivity.

I am fine with rises in utilities, gas, hell even property tax. BUT I do NOT want my taxes and our revenues going toward mining unproductive employees and perpetual welfare programs.

We are wasting our human resources by having overstaffed departments just push paper slowly. That excess money paid to unproductive government workers can go toward stimulating other sectors.

These same people we bash and complain about can actually be very talented and productive if other areas if the incentives are right.

Why not start-up businesses, give out business loans and funding to those who want to bring in forex to the country. Pay these people well and demand performance.

Postby Redman » February 18th, 2021, 7:40 pm

De Dragon wrote:Don't you love how Habit7 and PantyMan Plastic Bag conveniently embrace collective responsibility?
PantyMan Plastic Bag was actually arguing that in 5 years from 2010-2015 the PP wrecked the economy single- handedly. It appears that prior to that, everything was perfect :roll:
Imbert facking up royally right before our very eyes, and these clowns still find it necessary to mount a full-throated defence, even after Impsy himself has admitted abject failure, and that he lied to us. Thankfully, only LFDRFD PNM clowns like Pornsie and Panty take that chain up :lol:

Dragon you again are lying.
Full bore shameless frigging lying.
Just point out where I said unc wrecked the economy.

They missed the opportunity to change the direction of the economy..is what I said.

dam baxide.

Postby teems1 » February 18th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Habit7 wrote:
teems1 wrote:The mineral wealth is the citizens.

It is easy to talk about the nebulous, unquantifiable figure for corruption and not deal with budgeted subsidises which benefit the rich with their 3.0L diesels, subsidised electricity and a flat water rate for their manisons. Both utilities are among the cheapest in region thanks to subsidies. All while we pay no property tax.

Other oil rich countries had begun the process of weaning their population off of subsidies, except Venezuela. But if you believe we should follow Venezuela instead Gulf oil states then we are not on the same page. https://www.bbc.com/news/world-middle-east-20644964

Yours is the position which I spoke about earlier, you want others to be affected (public servants) but not you (keep the subsidies). You also want us to reduce taxes when our personal tax allowance has increased from $60k in 2015 to $84k presently. We have some of the lowest personal and commercial tax in Latin America and the Caribbean.

If T&T has to be fixed, we all have to feel it.

Then lead from the front.

Get your house in order before demanding others sacrifice.

Austal Ferry cost 73.5m USD
Incat vessel cost 72.9m USD

Again, money is no problem there but somehow a subsidy for gas is.

Postby paid_influencer » February 18th, 2021, 8:19 pm

I read the articles in the Business Guardian today. I was surprised AF to see a direct first-page and second-page attack against the current policy and politicians in the administration.

My two leading theories:

1. The Guardian (1% news outlet) really wants to get political against the PNM. This is extremely unlikely.

or

2. The Guardian (1% news outlet) is laying the groundwork to enable the administration carry out the post-election phase of policy. (very likely)

Postby Habit7 » February 18th, 2021, 8:40 pm

teems1 wrote:Then lead from the front.

The Australian ferries were procured by loan and are not a full payment. Nothing is wrong in purchasing a sea bridge, the subsidy is where you only pay $50 for the trip when it costs about $400 but the govt pays the difference. We subsidise the sea bridge to maintain the Tobago economy, but may if we remove the subsidy Tobago will get more competitive out of necessity.

Postby teems1 » February 18th, 2021, 8:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
teems1 wrote:Then lead from the front.

The Australian ferries were procured by loan and are not a full payment. Nothing is wrong in purchasing a sea bridge, the subsidy is where you only pay $50 for the trip when it costs about $400 but the govt pays the difference. We subsidise the sea bridge to maintain the Tobago economy, but may if we remove the subsidy Tobago will get more competitive out of necessity.

You're not addressing the real issue.

Government is constantly going on about low money, yet spending millions of USD. Think of how much interest we will end up spending on those 2.

We also have hundreds of millions due more due on the other 2.

Shouldn't a country constantly nagging about expenditure look for cheaper alternative(s)? Highway to Toco with smaller taxis to Crown Point?

Money doesn't seem to be a problem there, but citizens have to band their belly.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 18th, 2021, 8:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I read the articles in the Business Guardian today. I was surprised AF to see a direct first-page and second-page attack against the current policy and politicians in the administration.

My two leading theories:

1. The Guardian (1% news outlet) really wants to get political against the PNM. This is extremely unlikely.

or

2. The Guardian (1% news outlet) is laying the groundwork to enable the administration carry out the post-election phase of policy. (very likely)

It's probably a combination of the 2. The 1% isn't too unified these days, especially the younger generation 1%, they have little power, but their influence is growing.

Also, 2 is very likely, whether it is intentional fore-warning or not, we are definitely to expected mass layoffs at:

1. CAL
2. TSTT
3. WASA
4. T&TEC
5. NGC
6. Many others....retrenchment figures I'm hearing is around 50%, with paltry separation packages to boot. (2 to 1 at best).

Postby Gladiator » February 18th, 2021, 9:47 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:I read the articles in the Business Guardian today. I was surprised AF to see a direct first-page and second-page attack against the current policy and politicians in the administration.

My two leading theories:

or

It's probably a combination of the 2. The 1% isn't too unified these days, especially the younger generation 1%, they have little power, but their influence is growing.

Also, 2 is very likely, whether it is intentional fore-warning or not, we are definitely to expected mass layoffs at:

1. CAL
2. TSTT
3. WASA
4. T&TEC
5. NGC
6. Many others....retrenchment figures I'm hearing is around 50%, with paltry separation packages to boot. (2 to 1 at best).

Bandit Association of T&T would be hiring...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 18th, 2021, 9:57 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

My two leading theories:

or

1. CAL
2. TSTT
3. WASA
4. T&TEC
5. NGC

I heard they are commission based.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 19th, 2021, 5:34 am

DMan7 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

My two leading theories:

or

1. CAL
2. TSTT
3. WASA
4. T&TEC
5. NGC

imbutt aint go fire not one govt worker. these same 'lazy' workers as you all say are the same that go shopping for the 2 hour lunch and spend money to keep the economy ticking . try take loans, use public transport, buy doubles etc. any economist know if you stagnate the economy people will stop spending and less taxes and all hell break loose and we go into a depression. no luxury item would be sold, crime will go up in terms of black market items like alcohol and cigarettes and is more pressure. it easier to pay the workers and have the economy ticking. money will come eventually when covid ends

MORE THAN 1,700 workers were retrenched from July-November 2020, the Central Bank said on Thursday in its Economic Bulletin. The bulletin also reported a contraction in domestic economic activity and reduced revenue, which contributed to a larger deficit in the last half of 2020.

The bank said through its monitoring of retrenchment notices, it counted 1,728 retrenchments in the five-month period. For the same period the year before, there were 577 retrenchments. The report said the number represents a 200 per cent increase.

The finance, insurance, real-estate and other business services served the most notices, with 802 people getting pink slips. Distribution, restaurants and hotels jettisoned 285 people, the energy sector let go 176 people and manufacturing let go of 171 people.

death365

Postby death365 » February 19th, 2021, 9:09 am

thank you ..

Govt = major employeer.... Public service, teachers, stat boards, contracts positions* , make work programmes etc. so they responsible for more than 75% of employment directly.

* just incase yuh dont kno - contract post are equal to the public service posts in Govt service.
daring dragoon wrote:imbutt aint go fire not one govt worker. these same 'lazy' workers as you all say are the same that go shopping for the 2 hour lunch and spend money to keep the economy ticking . try take loans, use public transport, buy doubles etc. any economist know if you stagnate the economy people will stop spending and less taxes and all hell break loose and we go into a depression. no luxury item would be sold, crime will go up in terms of black market items like alcohol and cigarettes and is more pressure. it easier to pay the workers and have the economy ticking. money will come eventually when covid ends

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » February 19th, 2021, 10:14 am

death365 wrote:thank you ..

Govt = major employeer.... Public service, teachers, stat boards, contracts positions* , make work programmes etc. so they responsible for more than 75% of employment directly.

* just incase yuh dont kno - contract post are equal to the public service posts in Govt service.
daring dragoon wrote:imbutt aint go fire not one govt worker. these same 'lazy' workers as you all say are the same that go shopping for the 2 hour lunch and spend money to keep the economy ticking . try take loans, use public transport, buy doubles etc. any economist know if you stagnate the economy people will stop spending and less taxes and all hell break loose and we go into a depression. no luxury item would be sold, crime will go up in terms of black market items like alcohol and cigarettes and is more pressure. it easier to pay the workers and have the economy ticking. money will come eventually when covid ends

Didn't even realized this till you pointed it out.

The Government, through the Public Service, is the largest employer in the country, but systems and management processes within its vast bureaucracy have not kept pace with standards for enterprises operating on that scale

Interesting.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 19th, 2021, 10:56 am

daring dragoon wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

My two leading theories:

or

1. CAL
2. TSTT
3. WASA
4. T&TEC
5. NGC

imbutt aint go fire not one govt worker. these same 'lazy' workers as you all say are the same that go shopping for the 2 hour lunch and spend money to keep the economy ticking . try take loans, use public transport, buy doubles etc. any economist know if you stagnate the economy people will stop spending and less taxes and all hell break loose and we go into a depression. no luxury item would be sold, crime will go up in terms of black market items like alcohol and cigarettes and is more pressure. it easier to pay the workers and have the economy ticking. money will come eventually when covid ends

MORE THAN 1,700 workers were retrenched from July-November 2020, the Central Bank said on Thursday in its Economic Bulletin. The bulletin also reported a contraction in domestic economic activity and reduced revenue, which contributed to a larger deficit in the last half of 2020.

The bank said through its monitoring of retrenchment notices, it counted 1,728 retrenchments in the five-month period. For the same period the year before, there were 577 retrenchments. The report said the number represents a 200 per cent increase.

The finance, insurance, real-estate and other business services served the most notices, with 802 people getting pink slips. Distribution, restaurants and hotels jettisoned 285 people, the energy sector let go 176 people and manufacturing let go of 171 people.

I have always pointed that out. BUT, in the case of these utilities, they are just digging a deeper and totally unsustainable hole in the government wallet.

I know for a fact TSTT and WASA layoffs are coming, so it's happening to some regardless of what you think.

Secondly, these workers will typically get severance packages ranging from as small as 100k for newer employees to 1M+. That alone can actually kick start our depressed economy.

Thirdly, the long term effect of the small loss of economic spending by these employees will be negated when these same said employees find themselves in other avenues of business....be it in the private sector, self employed, their investments from their severance packages etc. Things will workout fine.

We already shattered the local economic spending with covid and canceling carnival. The minute things get back to normal later this year it won't matter a great a deal if 10,000 of state employees get laid off especially as these 10k will have their severance money.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 19th, 2021, 11:18 am

So shortman Jr gonna loss he wuk at the airline? wonders if he will get a few mill in severance or something similar? wait for eet

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 19th, 2021, 12:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Not perfect but it was damn good
"Still, according to the World Bank, T&T enjoyed the highest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita in Latin America and the Caribbean during the period 2000 to 2010."
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... f8f8f560a1

Load beat up below

teems1 wrote:When it's time for the taxpayers to get something, tighten your belt. Subsidies are one of the few places many people see a return on their tax dollars.

Subsidies are almost 50% of our expenditure, personal taxes are nowhere near that as a percentage of our revenue. Govt earns most of its tax revenue from O&G companies and they are paying less and less every year. Nothing PNM or UNC could do to change that.

Redress10 wrote:Is Manning who invited Rowley into the PNM and introduced him to politics.

Rowley went up for elections in 1981, who told you Manning invited him into the PNM?

I meant made him a senator etc. Meaning you need the nod of the PL to advance politically and the only way to succeed them is to usurp or be anointed as their successor.

No one has a political career without the blessings of the PL in TT.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 19th, 2021, 12:21 pm

KM_2NR wrote:
death365 wrote:thank you ..

Didn't even realized this till you pointed it out.

The Government, through the Public Service, is the largest employer in the country, but systems and management processes within its vast bureaucracy have not kept pace with standards for enterprises operating on that scale

Interesting.

Gov't controls abt 70% of the economy. Thats why politics hold so much power here.

Postby De Dragon » February 19th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Redman wrote:
Imbert facking up royally right before our very eyes, and these clowns still find it necessary to mount a full-throated defence, even after Impsy himself has admitted abject failure, and that he lied to us. Thankfully, only LFDRFD PNM clowns like Pornsie and Panty take that chain up :lol:

Dragon you again are lying.
Full bore shameless frigging lying.
Just point out where I said unc wrecked the economy.

They missed the opportunity to change the direction of the economy..is what I said.

dam baxide.

No Pantyman, you're not in any position to send me on no facking errand to search for your posts (that you damn well know you made), because we had a significant back and forth about your outrageous lying claim about 2010-2015.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 21st, 2021, 6:27 am

"It is a simple matter for ivory tower economists to prescribe bitter economic medicine which would undoubtedly inflict deep suffering on an ailing population because most will never have to look the patient in the eye or swallow their own jagged little pill." This was the statement made by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Brian Manning on Saturday in response to recent comments by local economists calling for the government to take decisive action to correct the country’s economic problems.

Manning said some of the recommendations now being floated are "archaic, outdated, lacking context and should be dismissed" because they are dangerous and damaging to the well-being of the people of T&T.

In Thursday’s Business Guardian magazine one of the recommendations made by economist Dr Terrence Farrell was a reduction in the headcount in the public service.

Manning said this move could force hundreds, or even thousands, of people "into an already crowded labour market with little hope of being absorbed by a wobbled private sector."

Manning said what Farrell and the others are recommending was reminiscent of action taken by the National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) government in 1986 which failed then and today is considered "outdated, uncaring and almost cruel economic policy."

Instead, Manning said the current Government has embarked on a strategy of investment designed to restructure the T&T economy while preserving lives and livelihoods.

"This is what people-centred policy is all about. We make no apologies for that," Manning said.

"While these textbook recommendations would improve our economic indicators they would also so severely impugn the standard of living for the average Trinbagonian that no one would care."

Great is the PNM, great is the Manning name. Again i say this should be the next leader of the PNM

Postby bluefete » February 21st, 2021, 6:43 am

daring dragoon wrote:
"It is a simple matter for ivory tower economists to prescribe bitter economic medicine which would undoubtedly inflict deep suffering on an ailing population because most will never have to look the patient in the eye or swallow their own jagged little pill." This was the statement made by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Brian Manning on Saturday in response to recent comments by local economists calling for the government to take decisive action to correct the country’s economic problems.

Manning said some of the recommendations now being floated are "archaic, outdated, lacking context and should be dismissed" because they are dangerous and damaging to the well-being of the people of T&T.

In Thursday’s Business Guardian magazine one of the recommendations made by economist Dr Terrence Farrell was a reduction in the headcount in the public service.

Manning said this move could force hundreds, or even thousands, of people "into an already crowded labour market with little hope of being absorbed by a wobbled private sector."

Manning said what Farrell and the others are recommending was reminiscent of action taken by the National Alliance for Reconstruction (NAR) government in 1986 which failed then and today is considered "outdated, uncaring and almost cruel economic policy."

Instead, Manning said the current Government has embarked on a strategy of investment designed to restructure the T&T economy while preserving lives and livelihoods.

"This is what people-centred policy is all about. We make no apologies for that," Manning said.

"While these textbook recommendations would improve our economic indicators they would also so severely impugn the standard of living for the average Trinbagonian that no one would care."

Great is the PNM, great is the Manning name. Again i say this should be the next leader of the PNM

What is that "strategy of investment" he talking about? Does he mean raiding the HSF? Is it diversification of the economy via - clean energy / agro-processing and export / making T&T a technology hub/ innovation to become a global leader?

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2021, 9:13 am

allyuh confuse the tail out of me by calling him "Manning." Call him Brian.

Brian not wrong. Those economists do not have any idea what creates and sustains political stability in our society. They calling Imbert a "shopkeeper." If these economists were in Imbert's shoes, the shop would have been looted and burned to the ground in a riot.

Rowley economic policy is horrific, much worse than any previous PNM Prime Minister since George Chambers, but it could have been worse.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » February 21st, 2021, 11:05 am

^you have a point that if a true economist was in charge of national affairs that there would have been riots. but the fact of the matter is all we are doing right now is delaying the inevitable and, in doing so, making it that more adverse/severe policies will have to be adopted in the future to correct years of inefficiencies. there is no two ways about it. u do it now (when debt to gdp is around 90 per cent) and as a result of having some extra fiscal space u will not have to take on too many adverse measures. but u do it five years from now when debt to gdp is maybe 120 per cent and as a result of having very very little fiscal space u have to adopt some very totalitarian measures. manning also talking up his ass. trying to downplay the adverse economic effects of covid 19 by quoting that the imf said that advanced economies will not be so badly off after the covid 19 shock. since when tnt is a advanced economy. the imf classes us as a developing country. politicians yes

Postby matr1x » February 21st, 2021, 11:48 am

Anything pnm come up with is to find a way to theif

Postby sMASH » February 21st, 2021, 11:54 am

Rowley said, when assuming office, that his goal is to secure gortt. The rebuilding of thr nation is for the people. Shoulder to the wheel PEEPULLL!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 24th, 2021, 4:49 am

if someone wants to open their own business where would there start?
1. where would they get startup capital
2. what business can they start (business ideas)
3.where do they turn to get stock, infrastructure etc

generally the first thing is whats a good business idea ?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 24th, 2021, 6:44 pm

daring dragoon wrote:if someone wants to open their own business where would there start?
1. where would they get startup capital
2. what business can they start (business ideas)
3.where do they turn to get stock, infrastructure etc

generally the first thing is whats a good business idea ?

1 - Start up capital, try using as much of your own before going to any lending institution. May be friends and family. If unemployed try just taking a job, any job to just get the ball rolling. You might be unemployed and living on you savings don't rush to put the saving toward the business, try to get a job and use that income to put into the business.
If you have a job then check your existing budget and see how you could cut existing costs and use that to fund the business.
2 - In TT a good well maintained rum shop. Nothing too fancy keep overhead costs down but nothing to run down and basic, no "hawk and spit" as it were. Sometimes it might be best to do something that is just plain needed and not something you love, unless what you love is something that is truly needed.
A good well maintained, stocked and reasonably priced community mini-mart. Note that mini-mart and such have perishable goods and this adds a certain pressure to sell and can if not properly managed lead you to having dead stock that is of no value. You could get into small dry goods retail, haberdashery as it were where your inventory could be anything from plastic wares and cloth to small kitchen and household appliances. Maybe put a chiller and sell some canned drinks (non-alcoholic) to get the average Joe passing by in. Try to include some basic tools as well, not power but those small screwdriver sets or a selection of such.
3 - For any of the businesses listed here you can find existing wholesalers to supply your needs. Need alcohol, you've got locals doing that, plastic goods and such IAM (great for household stuff, from utensils to cookware and window dressing), FCMC (good for stationary, office furniture and home décor), Fair and Square (centered more on home décor) and other like that will sell you in bulk and openly advertise their bulk rates. If you're going with the mini-mart many locally manufactured brands to buy from, and many offer delivery (same with alcohol) note the same can't be said with the other type of dry goods supplier most require your own transport or you may have to wait for when they are sending a truck in the area. They there is also Price Mart where you can buy in bulk and portion it off as needed.

If you have an Amazon account and have customers you can offer the service of taking orders and bringing in things for folks.

For any new business especially retail/haberdashery using facebook marketplace is generally beneficial, the problem is delivery. Trinitrolley and others are generally good but that may not service your area or you may have to meet the delivery guys for the first leg of the delivery.

The other issue is location, that's huge. Where and if you have parking? Not to mention rent...UGH.