PyDataTT Talk Today - Using Artificial Intelligence to Generate Soca and Soca Parang Lyrics

Rajeevr84

PyDataTT Talk Today - Using Artificial Intelligence to Generate Soca and Soca Parang Lyrics

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 2:52 pm

Hey Everyone,

Video is now up -

I'm not sure if Duane allows promos like this, but we're just trying to build an audience for PyDataTT's second talk.

The topic is 'Lyrics generation for Soca and Soca-Parang with Deep Learning'. It's a computer science talk, but it's not heavy on programming or theory, its focus is on how computer scientists can use Python to do creative tasks using Artificial Intelligence and Deep Learning.

Our speaker today (at 5PM local time) is Nidia Sahjara-Sookhoo (Data Scientist).

Join here - https://zoom.us/j/92259892064?pwd=TmJvR ... hCWnlkQT09

PyData is an international community of Python Developers and Data Scientists who arrange local meetups to discuss Python related projects.

PyData was formed out of UWI's Data Science group TTLAB, headed by Prof. Patrick Hosien. http://lab.tt/

Last edited by Rajeevr84 on March 15th, 2021, 10:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Devourment

Re: PyDataTT Talk Today - Using Artificial Intelligence to Generate Soca and Soca Parang Lyrics

Postby Devourment » February 16th, 2021, 4:08 pm

Signed up, this looks quite interesting and I'm glad to see Trinis involved in AI. Wish you guys the best.

ProtonPowder

Re: PyDataTT Talk Today - Using Artificial Intelligence to Generate Soca and Soca Parang Lyrics

Postby ProtonPowder » February 16th, 2021, 4:28 pm

Garbage in, garbage out.

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 4:32 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Garbage in, garbage out.

You might be surprised, it's not my presentation but there's a lot of creativity in some Soca lyrics and definitely in Soca-Parang.

Seems like meetup's site is down, if the zoom invite doesn't go out I'll post it here.

Postby 88sins » February 16th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Looking like it has potential.
Lemme know when it's advanced enough and can ask questions and follow instructions so I can use it in a sex robot.

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2021, 5:13 pm

Basic Soca lyrics= jam, chook, wine, go dong, cum up
Basic sex robot instructions = jam, take jook, wine, go dong, cum up

You may as well attend

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 5:16 pm

88sins wrote:Looking like it has potential.
Lemme know when it's advanced enough and can ask questions and follow instructions so I can use it in a sex robot.

Yea come to the presentation it just started - https://zoom.us/j/92259892064?pwd=TmJvR ... hCWnlkQT09

feel free to ask questions, that's the fun part.

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 5:16 pm

SMc wrote:Basic Soca lyrics= jam, chook, wine, go dong, cum up
Basic sex robot instructions = jam, take jook, wine, go dong, cum up

You may as well attend

Haha well i would have thought so as well, but it's quite cool what the AI comes up with. Check it out - https://zoom.us/j/92259892064?pwd=TmJvR ... hCWnlkQT09

Devourment

Postby Devourment » February 16th, 2021, 5:19 pm

Rajeevr84 wrote:Image

Wait up, the girl in the flyer is the presenter? Coming on shortly

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2021, 5:34 pm

I not too sure on this, an alliteration here is not quite the same as I know it to be

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2021, 5:50 pm

This is very interesting!
We would be glad to help UWI and lab.tt however we can.

Postby Rovin » February 16th, 2021, 5:50 pm

nice attempt to click bait us with d big head lights chick .... :)

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2021, 5:55 pm

OK I'm still watching as its now car crash TV, a question was just asked about AI and extemporising and the response was well - should have been practiced

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This is very interesting!
We would be glad to help UWI and lab.tt however we can.

Awesome, thanks for your support Duane!

I'll talk to Prof Hosein about if there's anything Trinituner can provide.

TTLab is a pretty small group (24) with many of us involved with corporate data science projects, research, startup initiatives as well teaching and project supervising.

The aim is to develop T&T's Artificial Intelligence human resources so that we can become a world-class hub.

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2021, 6:00 pm

Rovin wrote:nice attempt to click bait us with d big head lights chick .... :)

But she presenting, if you want just click on she pan and she will ghe screen

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 6:03 pm

Rovin wrote:nice attempt to click bait us with d big head lights chick .... :)

She is the actual presenter, but yes it was made to attract viewers so click bait if you will :)

SMc wrote:OK I'm still watching as its now car crash TV, a question was just asked about AI and extemporising and the response was well - should have been practiced

SMC, feel free to ask your questions. We're all learning and new here, this is also quite new work she's involved in too.
Last edited by Rajeevr84 on February 17th, 2021, 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » February 16th, 2021, 6:21 pm

This girl bright like a bulb, you can tell she thinks deeply about this and had great knowledge about music in AI. Very interesting!

Postby SMc » February 16th, 2021, 6:25 pm

I did ask a question in the chat during the downtime in the presentation, it was whether there was a thought that as AI was progressing so quickly was there a risk that songwriting was a dying art? The extempo question answered that for me.

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 6:31 pm

SMc wrote:I did ask a question in the chat during the downtime in the presentation, it was whether there was a thought that as AI was progressing so quickly was there a risk that songwriting was a dying art? The extempo question answered that for me.

Np, hope the presentation was worth your time.

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 16th, 2021, 6:38 pm

A segment of the Artificial Intelligence soca lyric generation.

Look hard and shine bright
For he will see love and unity
Build a wall to keep out hunger
and waited it out.

We on the road driving!
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

Without you
The whole dance would have to go on
We going home no time to not talk
About work and home
I used to think when a man have one hand
He used to catch all hell to let woman know
Girl no man wouldn't take it too far

- AI (generated with Nidia Sahjara's Deep Learning Model)

Kinda makes some sense, not a bad attempt I'd say.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 16th, 2021, 9:57 pm

Rajeevr84 wrote:A segment of the Artificial Intelligence soca lyric generation.

and waited it out.

We on the road driving!
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

Without you
About work and home

Missed the presentation, where can I find the recording?

Also, those AI lyrics were impressive dude, I could actually see it in a song.....though them last 3 lines a lil suspect

Postby redmanjp » February 16th, 2021, 10:08 pm

no recording of the session? youtube?

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2021, 6:38 am

Rajeevr84 wrote:A segment of the Artificial Intelligence soca lyric generation.

and waited it out.

We on the road driving!
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

Without you
About work and home

load up this session on youtube.

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2021, 7:01 am

where yuh rag
anybody from trinidad
anybody from barbados
anbody from .......
move to the left
move to the right
who playing in tribe ?
who playing in ....
if yuh single raise yuh hand .....

that is about 80% of the lyrics used every year

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » February 17th, 2021, 6:20 pm

pugboy wrote:where yuh rag
anybody from trinidad
anybody from barbados
anbody from .......
move to the left
move to the right
who playing in tribe ?
who playing in ....
if yuh single raise yuh hand .....

that is about 80% of the lyrics used every year

That's fete talk not really lyrics, but I agree it gets tiring.

Nidia is working on an algorithm to rate lyrics using her Natural Language Processing Deep Learning methods as well as using YouTube views as a metric of likeability.

sMASH, redmanjp, Dohplaydat,

It will be on youtube by the end of the week, we're just editing the video at the moment.

Rajeevr84

Postby Rajeevr84 » March 15th, 2021, 10:43 pm

Apologies for posting this video link so late.