PH private taxis in T&T - Discussing solutions

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 3rd, 2021, 9:20 am

This is an inflammatory topic, but try to keep the discussions civil and productive.
Trinituner has the numbers to inform public policy, even if indirectly.

This topic always comes to mind whenever something happens, and I always think about it from the root.

(This is adapted from a FB post I made in December 2020 after the murder of Ashanti Riley)

PH is there to fill a need (off-route, down the bush, remote villages etc) that registered taxis/maxis/buses simply do not service.
Since there is a clear need, there should be some framework around it.
I propose a centralised registration system based in Licensing Office, where each PH taxi is issued a registration certificate and a number (eg PHC1210). This certificate should incur an annual fee, so there will be some revenue to offset the administrative costs. This registration will only be provided for vehicles with proper inspection status and updated registration details. PH can be zoned - the locality that they are allowed to operate (similar to maxi bands). The Zone code can be included in the registration number for easy identification. PH-C-1210, where C is for Chaguanas. (details can be worked out)
The assigned number should be prominently displayed on the front windshield and rear windshield.
Licensing office can provide an app for passengers to validate the PH numbers (name of driver etc)
They should not be not be allowed to operate on regular taxi/maxi routes.
Persons operating a PH without registration can be fined severely. 10k
Persons operating on a taxi/maxi route should be fined. 2k
Persons operating outside their zone should be fined. 1k

Of course there are many exceptions and use cases for operationalisation, but I hope it can start a productive discussion.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you have suggestions/recommendations?

Just repeating that it's illegal and should stop is simply not a solution that addresses the underlying need.

Re: PH - Discussing solutions

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2021, 9:37 am

If a PH driver can satisfy all the above requirements then they should be able to get a proper taxi badge no?

Not an expert in public transport but isn't one of the requirements for a taxi badge a CoC?

I like your suggestions but in terms of why that and not just have them become taxis I am having issues with.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 3rd, 2021, 10:03 am

Why don't we have a PH Prime Minister? When you're sick go by a PH doctor. Hire a PH lawyer or plumber.
PH is stupid. Either you fit the criteria to be a taxi driver or you don't.
Black or white. No gray areas.

Postby sMASH » February 3rd, 2021, 10:19 am

We have technology, why stay in the Victorian era.

Foeget bout H and pH. Let the taxi badge be a system inclusive of a GPS device and qr code.

The GPS device will be stand alone usde just like Uber or any ride share systems.

U can see where any car plying for hire at any time live data on a map. pull up the details of the driver/s, their customer ratings. The conditions that would be on a CoC, u will be able to see that list too.

If the system is down, u will have a qr code. U can print and stick that any where. Who ever traveling, can scan thst and send it to who ever. And that data will be logged as well. So any one can see thst this was the vehicle ladt took at the time the traveler was able to connect to thr internet.

It need to be a free service, meaning once ur fone can connect to the internet, u could access thst system,

The fee to get the taxi badge would cover that cost.

Up tou to travel with someone with that system or some. Rando. Cause even self there may not be any registered drivers at thr time some people need them. Up to the individual to weigh their risk.

But when thru do choose to use the registered driver, they should have that built in safety.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 3rd, 2021, 10:51 am

PH taxis are those who

- want to bling then pull a trip to pay the loan or WTO
- Vehicles cannot get up to scratch for taxi requirements
- Drivers themselves unsuitable for a CoC

There is already a framework in place for transport vehicles. Why try to accommodate an illegal activity?

Postby SMc » February 3rd, 2021, 11:08 am

I like VexXx Dogg suggestions, I am not and never have been a fan of the PH taxis in the way they are currently operating- I can see the need for them in certain cases (rural areas etc) but there must be a better and legal way to service those areas. They at minimum need to be insured for what they are doing- carrying people and getting paid for it, that alone should be a reason for them to be off the road.

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2021, 11:18 am

don’t forget a large majority of ph cars are fleet owned and they rented out per day

lot of police involved in this sideline business
almost everybody know somebody who get bounce by a ph driver whose first words out his mouth are the car owned by a police

Postby eliteauto » February 3rd, 2021, 11:45 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:PH taxis are those who

There is already a framework in place for transport vehicles. Why try to accommodate an illegal activity?

Incorrect, this is the stigma and stereotype of PH, which panders to a certain narrative, it, however, is only one part. Do you know that rideshare app cars are PH, Europcar with their nice Accords , Jaguars and Range Rovers are PH, Furness and other executive driver services are PH? PH stands for using a Private car for Hire. People assume that someone works PH because they can't get a CoC so all PH drivers have criminal records? All PH cars cannot get "up to scratch" for taxi? What is the "scratch"? Many PH cars are in better condition than many route taxis, pleanty biases in here mixed with rum shop talk. Good suggestions OP

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 3rd, 2021, 11:48 am

Didn't gov't run uber?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 3rd, 2021, 2:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:PH taxis are those who

Incorrect, this is the stigma and stereotype of PH, which panders to a certain narrative, it, however, is only one part. Do you know that rideshare app cars are PH, Europcar with their nice Accords , Jaguars and Range Rovers are PH, Furness and other executive driver services are PH? PH stands for using a Private car for Hire. People assume that someone works PH because they can't get a CoC so all PH drivers have criminal records? All PH cars cannot get "up to scratch" for taxi? What is the "scratch"? Many PH cars are in better condition than many route taxis, pleanty biases in here mixed with rum shop talk. Good suggestions OP

We are looking at the gangsta dont care ph drivers that
Parking at the corner
Obstructing traffic
Blocking legit h cars
Cussing and carrying on
Overtaking on shoulder
Etc etc

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2021, 2:36 pm

safe to say this discussion is about men who 'pull bull', not rideshare drivers

Postby sMASH » February 3rd, 2021, 3:12 pm

They girl used a H car, not a pH. Is jess that the plates were fake.

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2021, 3:23 pm

nissan eh

MG Man wrote:safe to say this discussion is about men who 'pull bull', not rideshare drivers

Postby adnj » February 3rd, 2021, 3:54 pm

It may not be correct to assume that ANY taxi is "safe".

DEATHS (2014 to 2018)
From 2014, Deaths attributed to providers based on negligence or assault from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 67
DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO TAXI DRIVERS: 9
DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO BUS DRIVERS: 12
DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO RAIL TRAVEL PROVIDERS: 3
ASSAULTS
From 2014, Assaults of a non-sexual nature attributed to providers from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 127
ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO TAXI DRIVERS: 14
ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO BUS DRIVERS: 6
ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO RAIL TRAVEL PROVIDERS: 4
SEXUAL ASSAULTS
From 2014, Assaults of a sexual nature attributed to providers from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

SEXUAL ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 482 *EPIDEMIC*
SEXUAL ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO TAXI DRIVERS: 14
SEXUAL ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO BUS DRIVERS: 0
SEXUAL ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO RAIL TRAVEL PROVIDERS: 0

https://ridesafeworld.com/database

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2021, 3:59 pm

it's about risk management

Postby redmanjp » February 3rd, 2021, 4:32 pm

adnj wrote:It may not be correct to assume that ANY taxi is "safe".

DEATHS (2014 to 2018)
From 2014, Deaths attributed to providers based on negligence or assault from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

ASSAULTS
From 2014, Assaults of a non-sexual nature attributed to providers from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

SEXUAL ASSAULTS
From 2014, Assaults of a sexual nature attributed to providers from reports in the US, UK and Australia:

nothing is 100% safe but from those stats the rideshare ones are by far the most unsafe- the issue with PH is no COC as well as no insurance

any solution must include both as requirements - the issue of no PH allowed in taxi zones will discourage many- when teh H taxis are gone espiecially later at night it's the PH drivers u have to depend on.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 3rd, 2021, 5:46 pm

It's a vicious circle. Due to the state of the country and crime many h drivers have stopped working late and or in the night or in certain areas. So ph drivers have stepped in there. And some of them are opportunistic criminals. Now if the policing and criminal justice system was working properly and drivers felt certain confidence and safety there would be taxis around more. I have gone through all the up and down to get a H badge and watch tantie and young girl bypass all the taxis on the stand and jump in Redman nice almera that he working to own.and speed off.
Every single day. Day and night. So some of the talk about no h cars is BS.

Blame the Travelling public
Police
Justice system
Government
You all created and fed the monster over the years

Postby timelapse » February 3rd, 2021, 6:33 pm

Solution:Higher demerit points on license.Revoke said license after multiple infractions.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 3rd, 2021, 9:01 pm

When vehicles are caught running illegal taxis , then black list that vehicle from getting any insurance coverage, thereby making that vehicle unprovable for 6 months to start with, vehicles that are blatantly in breach of the law doing this like T registered panel vans should be suspended for 2 years.

As an extra incentive to stop people, fro using ph cars, if caught in addition to suspension of insurance for the vehicle, driver should receive a permit suspension, AND passenger should be charged for using illegal ph as well.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 3rd, 2021, 9:40 pm

redmanjp wrote:
adnj wrote:It may not be correct to assume that ANY taxi is "safe".

DEATHS (2014 to 2018)

ASSAULTS

SEXUAL ASSAULTS

nothing is 100% safe but from those stats the rideshare ones are by far the most unsafe- the issue with PH is no COC as well as no insurance

any solution must include both as requirements - the issue of no PH allowed in taxi zones will discourage many- when teh H taxis are gone espiecially later at night it's the PH drivers u have to depend on.

Before both of you jump the gun you can't look at raw numbers in isolation.

Do we have a total number of Uber or rideshare drivers? As it stands right now it's ~5M with occupying ~70% marketshare.

https://www.businessofapps.com/data/uber-statistics/

That number might have been smaller in 2018 (where ridesafeworld data ends) but overall let's assume 5M rideshare drivers in UK, US and Aus.

According to Statista, in 2018 there were 200k taxi drivers in the US and 350K in the UK. Already, we see 9 times more Rideshare drivers at least.

So the corrected numbers are:

DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 7.4

ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 14.1

SEXUAL ASSAULTS ATTRIBUTED TO UBER AND LYFT DRIVERS: 53.6

So indeed we see that the rates are similar except when it comes to Sexual Assault, so hope that helps.

Postby redmanjp » February 4th, 2021, 11:38 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:It's a vicious circle. Due to the state of the country and crime many h drivers have stopped working late and or in the night or in certain areas. So ph drivers have stepped in there. And some of them are opportunistic criminals. Now if the policing and criminal justice system was working properly and drivers felt certain confidence and safety there would be taxis around more. I have gone through all the up and down to get a H badge and watch tantie and young girl bypass all the taxis on the stand and jump in Redman nice almera that he working to own.and speed off.
Every single day. Day and night. So some of the talk about no h cars is BS.

Blame the Travelling public
Police
Justice system
Government
You all created and fed the monster over the years

not at all -up till covid hit i was travelling- when i work late till after 7pm in POS and reach up arima to that same taxi stand the girl get kidnaped most if not all the taxis are PH.

my question is why do the PH taxis feel safe to come out those hours and not H? criminals doh rob PH?

Postby 16 cycles » February 4th, 2021, 4:13 pm

Regulate it.....have all PH register with TTPS...at which point given unique QR code to place on car...have an app where passengers can scan and see details of driver etc...at point of scan...TTPS database registers passenger in particular car...

Or somethn like that...

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2021, 4:50 pm

16 cycles wrote:Regulate it.....have all PH register with TTPS...at which point given unique QR code to place on car...have an app where passengers can scan and see details of driver etc...at point of scan...TTPS database registers passenger in particular car...

Or somethn like that...

Regulating it is called getting a taxi badge.But they can use your recommended system.I was thinking along similar lines today

Postby toyolink » February 4th, 2021, 5:44 pm

Presently PH vehicle operations in T&T are illegal and as such cannot be ligitimised based on convenience.
All public transportation must be regulated by the authorities to ensure the safety, security and well being of the citizens.
The fundamentals must be adhered to since if we as a society are willing to bend the rules here as a standard
what about other daily activities where laws and regulations circumscribe how we should conduct ourselves.
We must not over-look the fact that in the last 2 cases of serious harm befalling 2 young ladies in our land, the alleged perpetrators used the cover of PH service providers.
Our public transportation facilities must meet standards that are just common-sense and the state needs to get busy and ensure same and cut-out the 'ole-talk'.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » February 4th, 2021, 5:45 pm

I never use uber when it was here, and I never use any of the other local alternatives.
But I use Uber in Farren and some others like Bolt and mytaxi and I find the Uber had the best UI/Info.

Do local apps give you the picture, name, phone number of driver, and number plate and model of car?
I realised Uber didn't work that way in all countries, but for some it did.

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2021, 5:55 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:I never use uber when it was here, and I never use any of the other local alternatives.
But I use Uber in Farren and some others like Bolt and mytaxi and I find the Uber had the best UI/Info.

Do local apps give you the picture, name, phone number of driver, and number plate and model of car?
I realised Uber didn't work that way in all countries, but for some it did.

You used FakeTaxi too?

Postby Country_Bookie » February 4th, 2021, 6:15 pm

Some good ideas here. I like the QR code suggestions. Only question is how to make it work for ppl who don't have data plans. We have to cater for the demographic who cannot afford to have data on their phones all the time.... those are likely to be the ones taking taxis as well.

For those who say just ban ph, they probably are not part of the daily travelling public. Hence have no idea of what it's like waiting in hot sun with 60 other ppl and it barely have any taxi working. Try explaining that when u reach to work late. Plus rural areas where there are no regular h taxis.

Postby timelapse » February 4th, 2021, 6:24 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Some good ideas here. I like the QR code suggestions. Only question is how to make it work for ppl who don't have data plans. We have to cater for the demographic who cannot afford to have data on their phones all the time.... those are likely to be the ones taking taxis as well.

For those who say just ban ph, they probably are not part of the daily travelling public. Hence have no idea of what it's like waiting in hot sun with 60 other ppl and it barely have any taxi working. Try explaining that when u reach to work late. Plus rural areas where there are no regular h taxis.

Hence the suggestions of better working public transport. Where I used to live Chandernagore was off route for regular taxis.About 10 years ago I think,forgive my old brain,when the short buses came out, one was assigned for the area.It helped out quite a lot.I think it still passes there twice a day

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » February 4th, 2021, 6:25 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Some good ideas here. I like the QR code suggestions. Only question is how to make it work for ppl who don't have data plans. We have to cater for the demographic who cannot afford to have data on their phones all the time.... those are likely to be the ones taking taxis as well.

Gov't has an obligation to protect its citizens by providing quality public transport that is safe and reliable.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 4th, 2021, 6:28 pm

PH needs to be banned, while the barrier to entry for being a taxi needs to be lowered.

The QR code is good but in practice most people won't do that.

In first world countries, taxis are easily identified, yellow cabs in NY or blackcabs (which are their own type of vehicle) in London.

Painting all taxis yellow, requiring H plates and official markings will make fake taxis much harder to fake.