Covid-19 and T&T's continued border closure - Do you agree?

Do you agree with keeping our borders closed?

Yes! to everyone including citizens, keep covid-19 out!
27%
Yes to foreigners, but citizens can return and stay quarantined for 14 days
48%
No we can safely open borders to everyone by adopting similar measures the rest of the Caribbean (world) is taking
25%

Total votes: 52

Dohplaydat

Re: Covid-19 and T&T's continued border closure - Do you agree?

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 12:16 pm

teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
bluefete wrote:We real missing Zoom now.

If Rowley daughter and FRIENDS (who doh live here) could fly in and fly out, bring our people back home.

Apparently Chinese too...

Screenshot 2021-01-27 at 7.30.53 pm.png
143057215_856017468306449_1176149728450186075_o.jpg
142716329_856017458306450_3351267711012854027_n.jpg

Kamla hitting Stuart good here
Screenshot 2021-01-27 at 7.31.59 pm.png

Chinese diplomats. This is very irresponsible of TT to release this information and put it into the public domain.

Very reckless.

You can't unring the bell.

Guyana's numbers aren't that great to be honest. 34 new cases yesterday with half the population of Trinidad. Imagine if we were getting 70 cases per day. We'd be bawling.

The whole point of closing the borders is to mitigate the risk. Many of the returning nationals would be coming from countries which have huge outbreaks and handled the pandemic poorly (US, UK).

Guyana has lots of movement of Brazilians back and forth, and Brazil is currently #2 in the world for new daily cases.

Allowing these Chinese nationals to move back and forth with Guyana is not the smartest move.

There's literally no chance of infection if you quarantine and test after 14 days.

Right now it have trinis who got both doses of the vaccine, can get a negative PCR and yet still they but getting an exemption.

Postby sMASH » January 28th, 2021, 12:19 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Kamla once again has embarrassed herself. The Vienna Convention limits the govt from quarantining diplomats. In the same way, we cant prosecute diplomats. If the state tells diplomats stay locked in this room, UNC would have been the first to cry violations of the convention and demand sanctions. They have to agree to stay home and not be forced in the same way our diplomats will be afforded the same in countries with state quarantine.

However, in as much as the UNC debate performance was a dud, PNM shot themselves in the foot with whoever leaked that Whatsapps msg. It is obvious that the Cabinet is not all on the page but they have a 5th Column. I agree we could just allow nationals and residents to come and quarantine. But we will run into another problem with 8000 ppl requesting to come home at only 400 flight seats and quarantine rooms every 10days, it will allow for only the rich and privilege to come back to Trinidad. Only those who could drop US$800 on ticket first or have a private aircraft, will be the first to come back, not the aged, those with kids, the sick and students.

Which is why I have saying since May 2020 that we had space, we had facilities we had time. Bri g them back in slowly since then and manage it well.

Instead we ended up with this disorganized system of exemptions.

My friend in Vancouver has been dying to come home for months, he did get two exemptions late last year after being since April, both were costing over 20k and both were given on such short notice that he couldn't realistically make the flights in time.

like this virus only affects regular citizens, govt and ceo's are immune, so therefore dont need all that hazop precautions.

Postby teems1 » January 28th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

If Rowley daughter and FRIENDS (who doh live here) could fly in and fly out, bring our people back home.

Chinese diplomats. This is very irresponsible of TT to release this information and put it into the public domain.

Very reckless.

Guyana's numbers aren't that great to be honest. 34 new cases yesterday with half the population of Trinidad. Imagine if we were getting 70 cases per day. We'd be bawling.

The whole point of closing the borders is to mitigate the risk. Many of the returning nationals would be coming from countries which have huge outbreaks and handled the pandemic poorly (US, UK).

Guyana has lots of movement of Brazilians back and forth, and Brazil is currently #2 in the world for new daily cases.

Allowing these Chinese nationals to move back and forth with Guyana is not the smartest move.

There's literally no chance of infection if you quarantine and test after 14 days.

Right now it have trinis who got both doses of the vaccine, can get a negative PCR and yet still they but getting an exemption.

The guy who brought the UK variant here had a negative PCR test.

The tests are not infallible.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 12:25 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Very reckless.

Uhm yea dude, that is why there is a f*cking 7 day quarantine

Postby teems1 » January 28th, 2021, 12:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Very reckless.

You think they teleport into a quarantine room?

They have to board a plane, sit on it for hours with other passengers, queue to get off, interact with immigration officers, possibly go duty free, queue for luggage.

Then they are taken to quarantine. They won't be driving so will be in a closed area with the driver.

Even if there is social distancing, hand sanitizing and mask wearing at each step, it still doesn't guarantee 100%

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 12:37 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Very reckless.

They have to board a plane, sit on it for hours with other passengers, queue to get off, interact with immigration officers, possibly go duty free, queue for luggage.

Then they are taken to quarantine. They won't be driving so will be in a closed area with the driver.

Even if there is social distancing, hand sanitizing and mask wearing at each step, it still doesn't guarantee 100%

I think you don't understand what's happening when they arrive. It isn't how you're picturing it.

After 7 days 95% of those persons if they have Covid would test positive. That's the reason I do argue for 14 days or maybe 10.

And lastly people involved in this process are geared up in PPE and tested regularly.

Is there zero risk? No but it's minimal.

Covid will be around for the foreseeable future, and unlike many places that chose to live smartly with it we took the easy almost authoritarian approach that violated people's human rights.

No one is saying have a free open border, but it can be do safely as many of the Caribbean have demonstrated. So why isn't it happening here?

Postby teems1 » January 28th, 2021, 12:55 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Very reckless.

I think you don't understand what's happening when they arrive. It isn't how you're picturing it.

After 7 days 95% of those persons if they have Covid would test positive. That's the reason I do argue for 14 days or maybe 10.

And lastly people involved in this process are geared up in PPE and tested regularly.

Covid will be around for the foreseeable future, and unlike many places that chose to live smartly with it we took the easy almost authoritarian approach that violated people's human rights.

No one is saying have a free open border, but it can be do safely as many of the Caribbean have demonstrated. So why isn't it happening here?

The risks with the original strain may have been acceptable, but the UK and South African variants which are much more contagious would have to play into it.

Having 1 person with the UK variant get out of quarantine would wreak havoc on the health system in a matter of weeks.

Also Barbados is going more draconian with lockdown, forced closures, curfews and stopping projects. 3 out of the 10 samples sent to CARPHA from Barbados were the UK variant.

Those over age 70 urged to stay at home for next three weeks.
People dropped their guard with the use of personal protection.
Masks should be worn at home when you have visitors.
We all have to play our part in the National repair programme.
Launching war in communities against Covid- 19.
From February 3 all people visiting Barbados must have a negative COVID test.
It must be taken no more than 3 days prior to departure.
There will be a mandatory rapid antigen test on arrival.
Once you have a negative test, you will go to a Government authorised quarantine centre – free or paying – you have to spend minimum 5 nights before a PCR swab is taken.
If the rapid antigen test positive, you go to Harrison Point for assessment.
UK COVID variant in Barbados, CARPHA confirms.
10 samples sent to CARPHA, 3 were positive with the UK variant.
From February 3 wearing of masks will be mandatory except for those with underlying medical issues.
Wearing of masks in public places will be mandatory.
New measures to start February 3 to 17.
When we go into a period of advanced restrictions, plan out your business.
Supermarkets will be opened for certain times.
Get back to arming yourself with hand sanitisers.
House health checks will be in effect.
15-day period of national pause.
All other activities exempted as essential – private or public.
Projects will stop.
Work on Highway 1 continues.
Curfew 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Supermarkets will open from 8 to 3 during the week, closed Saturdays and Sundays
Pharmacies open on weekends.
Gas stations will be open on weekends.
Care packages will be distributed next week for all people who can’t get to the supermarkets.
Banks will be closed from February 3 to 9, 2021 and reopen on February 10.
Banks will cash pension checks dated February 1 from as early as Thursday.
Chief Compliance officers will be hired to ensure Barbadians are following the protocols.
If you don’t need to leave home at all, don’t leave home.
No hanging around idly; no liming.
Don’t panic.
Markets have to close for this period.
Vending will have to stop during this period.
Public transport will go back to 60 per cent seating.
We can’t do 100 per cent lockdown
Shops will not be allowed to be open.
Restaurants and gyms will be closed from February 3 to 17.
The COVID-19 fight will cost the country about $20 to 25 million over the next few weeks.
We need to comply with the protocols.

Postby redmanjp » January 28th, 2021, 1:05 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

it's not so safe with dem variants - barbados back on national lockdown & curfew - we also have a human right to live
https://www.voanews.com/covid-19-pandemic/barbados-pm-brings-back-lockdown-bring-rise-covid-19-infections-under-control

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2021, 1:10 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Kamla once again has embarrassed herself. The Vienna Convention limits the govt from quarantining diplomats. In the same way, we cant prosecute diplomats. If the state tells diplomats stay locked in this room, UNC would have been the first to cry violations of the convention and demand sanctions. They have to agree to stay home and not be forced in the same way our diplomats will be afforded the same in countries with state quarantine.

However, in as much as the UNC debate performance was a dud, PNM shot themselves in the foot with whoever leaked that Whatsapps msg. It is obvious that the Cabinet is not all on the page but they have a 5th Column. I agree we could just allow nationals and residents to come and quarantine. But we will run into another problem with 8000 ppl requesting to come home at only 400 flight seats and quarantine rooms every 10days, it will allow for only the rich and privilege to come back to Trinidad. Only those who could drop US$800 on ticket first or have a private aircraft, will be the first to come back, not the aged, those with kids, the sick and students.

Which is why I have saying since May 2020 that we had space, we had facilities we had time. Bri g them back in slowly since then and manage it well.

My friend in Vancouver has been dying to come home for months, he did get two exemptions late last year after being since April, both were costing over 20k and both were given on such short notice that he couldn't realistically make the flights in time.

What you have been asking for is literally what has been ongoing. Ppl have been coming back and managed. 10,000ppl have come back. Your friend is testiment to the availability of exemptions and as more are exempted, more ask for exemption because it occurring.

The govt has limited space and staff that they could manage and supervise a quarentine. The flight crew has to quarantine after they do their tour of duty at the cost of CAL. Because of less flights the economy of scale is low, hence the high price.

You can't please everybody. Remove exemption requests, only the economically privileged will take up the limited seats, manage the exemptions, claims that the politically aligned will get the seats (which is currently going on).

Postby redmanjp » January 28th, 2021, 1:22 pm

^ what they can do is accommodate ppl on the next flight if for some reason they can't make the first or second one

exactly what cost $20k? hotel quarantine?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 1:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

What you have been asking for is literally what has been ongoing. Ppl have been coming back and managed. 10,000ppl have come back. Your friend is testiment to the availability of exemptions and as more are exempted, more ask for exemption because it occurring.

The govt has limited space and staff that they could manage and supervise a quarentine. The flight crew has to quarantine after they do their tour of duty at the cost of CAL. Because of less flights the economy of scale is low, hence the high price.

You can't please everybody. Remove exemption requests, only the economically privileged will take up the limited seats, manage the exemptions, claims that the politically aligned will get the seats (which is currently going on).

Yea I agree, but partially, there are a number of people who are still stranded. The fact that people were stranded for months (despite that they maybe back home now) is appalling. Let's not forget that and think it's ok once they got back in.

My friend is on a work visa, so it's not absolutely urgent he come back. But he wants to, badly...the costs given to him for the flight (not counting the costs to get from Vancouver to Toronto) was $TT 7000 from Toronto to Piarco and then $14k quarantine. This was last year so I know things are slightly less due to the 7 day quarantine.

And for those saying Barbados is more authoritarian and restrictive, I'd argue the opposite. They balance those strict measures with basically being freely open other times. Mandatory masks were not even part of their protocols for 2020. Borders full open with 4 flights from the UK/US coming in daily, for months.

The only reason they're having a spike now and are taking drastic action (like NZ) to minimize is is because they want to go back to a semblance of normalcy.

Even with their 2-week strict lockdown aren't their borders still open and tourists are coming in?

Despite us, bad talking Barbados, isn't our death rate per million 3 times higher than theirs? Who's winning here (if it even is a competition)?

A country that has restaurants, bars, fetes, borders open for months in 2020 with a death rate of 38? A country that when cases rising, shuts down immediately to mitigate widespread outbreak?

Or us? With a death rate of 96 PM.....A country where borders are shut, bars and restaurants closing down by the day, mandatory masks even in your f*cking car, and many other pointless restrictions like businesses having to close at 10pm.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 1:39 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Very reckless.

The risks with the original strain may have been acceptable, but the UK and South African variants which are much more contagious would have to play into it.

Having 1 person with the UK variant get out of quarantine would wreak havoc on the health system in a matter of weeks.

Also Barbados is going more draconian with lockdown, forced closures, curfews and stopping projects. 3 out of the 10 samples sent to CARPHA from Barbados were the UK variant.

Once you have a negative test, you will go to a Government authorised quarantine centre – free or paying – you have to spend minimum 5 nights before a PCR swab is taken.
From February 3 wearing of masks will be mandatory except for those with underlying medical issues.
Projects will stop.
Curfew 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Supermarkets will open from 8 to 3 during the week, closed Saturdays and Sundays
Care packages will be distributed next week for all people who can’t get to the supermarkets.
Chief Compliance officers will be hired to ensure Barbadians are following the protocols.
Don’t panic.
The COVID-19 fight will cost the country about $20 to 25 million over the next few weeks.

These are great scientifically backed measures taking by Barbados, great work by their PM.

Postby teems1 » January 28th, 2021, 2:34 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

Projects will stop.
Curfew 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Don’t panic.

These are great scientifically backed measures taking by Barbados, great work by their PM.

It is a reactive step because they kept their borders open, especially to the UK tourists whom they rely upon economically.

Trinidad for once is being proactive and keeping the borders closed so we don't have to implement those steps Barbados had to.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 2:49 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Projects will stop.
Curfew 7 p.m. to 6 a.m.
Don’t panic.

It is a reactive step because they kept their borders open, especially to the UK tourists whom they rely upon economically.

Trinidad for once is being proactive and keeping the borders closed so we don't have to implement those steps Barbados had to.

We have had far more restrictive steps than Barbados has had. Imagine for months Trinis could not even go to the f*cking beach.

Barbados is biting the bullet and doing what it takes to stem an outbreak, instead, we had elections. Barbados had bars, restaurants, fetes, beaches, full border open for MONTHS.

Also, Barbados would not have had to implement these steps if some tourists did not break out of quarantine. Not their fault exactly here.

Their system was working fine for months. Most of the Caribbean and Southeast Asia have similar systems and it's been working fantastic.

What you're clearly missing is that our government is incapable or too incompetent to implement proper mitigation strategies.

We are not doing proper management, we are taking an unreasonably brute force approach to a problem where proper management can mitigate the risks.

Imagine we locked our borders and abandoned citizens essentially passing the buck to other countries to take care of our citizens. Very selfish if Trinidad and Tobago's government.

There is no justification for your view. In fact, given that Barbados and almost all of the Caribbean have lower death rates than us kinda indicates how badly we have managed to handle covid in comparison.

Postby redmanjp » January 28th, 2021, 2:51 pm

break out of quarantine? was that state or some type of hotel quarantine?

also our higher death rates wasn't due to a failure of our state quarantine facilities but likely our porous south border and proximity to venezuela (plus everything was open for some weeks in late June to early August and delayed action to stop the spread due to elections) - the other islands i don't think have that problem or it's not as significant. also do they have 300,000 citizens with passports outside that would literally flood their country with covid?
Last edited by redmanjp on January 28th, 2021, 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 2:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:break out of quarantine? was that state or some type of hotel quarantine?

I posted this earlier. In Barbados there are probably like 100 hotel quarantine zones, all have police and ministry of health supervision.

Most aren't hard to break out of though, jump out a balcony at night and then jump a wall, pretty each for some places unfortunately.

Brief synopsis to the delay of testing that happened in Barbados:

A Mathematics discussion this morning for perspective. Everyone’s favourite subject with pictures included.

We had conducted 65,977 test for the approximate 9 month period to December 25th. Of this, we recorded 352 confirmed with 49 in isolation at that time. This is an average of 7,330 per month over the approximate 9 month period. Test results were being returned in 24-72 hours.

Insert Covidiots, who decided it was ok to to jump quarantine and/ or breach protocols. These breaches are highlighted at the end.

December 30th, 69,252 test were conducted to date. Confirmed cases 372 with 53 in isolation.

3,275 test conducted, or 44% of the 9 month to December 25th monthly average, done in 5 days. 5% of the 9 month total of confirmed cases occurs in these 5 days.

January 13th, 85,791 test were conducted to date. Confirmed cases 1,007 with 535 in isolation.

16,539 test conducted in the 14 days between December 30th and January 13th. The 9 month, monthly average, was 7,330. This represents approximately 2.25 times the average amount of normal monthly test conducted, being done in 14 days. Extrapolating that out, it is estimated that the level of testing increased 5 times the quantity over the 2 week period.

In addition the amount of confirmed cases increased 2.7 times in just 14 days. Similarly, the total number of those individuals in isolation increased approximately 10 times.

The perspective is, this has all occurred over a 2 week period. The other key takeaway for those who keep repeating that the system is flawed and the Barbados Government is in incompetent is to look at the metrics. The key metrics are 5 times the amount of testing as well as being able to hospitalize 10 times the amount of people over a 2 week period. Then take a look at any country and try to apply those metrics.
Would your home country currently be able to scale the level of testing to 5 times the normal level in a 2 week period?
Would your home country be able to increase the hospitalization by 10 times the current level over a 2 week period?
We can, on the latter, because our leadership had the foresight to build a standalone facility in record time, 8 months ago. In addition secondary facilities were planned.

Which Health Care system in the World, do you know of, can scale up testing 5 times and increase hospitalizations 10 times in 2 weeks?

And in case you were wondering why we can no longer have nice things like normal movements, And why the testing is slower And why the quarantine period is longer the following will help explain.

This would include but not limited to the following:

1.) BF Confirmed with Covid and tries to leave the Country. Zara Holland et BF. It has been estimated in some news reports responsible for 33 infections

2.) Quarantine ménage-a-trois

3.) Leave Villa in quarantine to attend party at another Villa. After test results returned with Covid. All party guest and Staff and their Families spend Xmas in Self Isolation. Number of people infected unknown.

4.) Leave Quarantine to buy beers from Husband and Wife team at a Rum Shop Kiosk. If the husband and wife are infected who will support their family?

5.) In quarantine and goes to busiest restaurant in Barbados

6.) Leave Villa in quarantine to buy Pizza from the Clubhouse. The Clubhouse is packed.

7.) Being belligerent at a Server at Bar because they don’t want to wear a mask to be served. Ex UK military “helps” out the Bar Tender with the situation

8.) Enter Non Quarantine area when in quarantine and disregard Security.

Etc Etc Etc Etc

These folks are who the venting should be directed at, not the people who are understanding, empathizing and sympathizing. This is a 2 way street. This is why the “natives” find the comments labeling of third world and incompetent reprehensible. It is unfair and unwarranted given the circumstances. In addition please do not expect a linear Government response in an exponential pandemic. Especially when the first world countries are currently flattening the curve on the wrong Axis (straight line up).

Stay Safe.

Peace and Blessings

Blame the British white trash who f*cked up a good situation

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 3:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:break out of quarantine? was that state or some type of hotel quarantine?

also our higher death rates wasn't due to a failure of our state quarantine facilities but likely our porous south border and proximity to venezuela (plus everything was open for some weeks in late June to early August and delayed action to stop the spread due to elections) - the other islands i don't think have that problem or it's not as significant. also do they have 300,000 citizens with passports outside that would literally flood their country with covid?

Guyana probably has double to triple that and they have an even bigger issue of Brazilian and Venezuelan immigrants as well, yet they have how maybe a 6-10 flights from the US coming in weekly now?

Also, who the a$$ tell you 300,000 trinis want to come back? it's at most 8000 right now.

Also, Guyana never had a real lockdown as well. Admittedly they are doing worse than us, but given the amount trini business and citizens have suffered, was it worth cost?

I'm not asking for us to be like Guyana, I'm saying it's poor management and incompetence that our citizens are stranded out there.

Postby redmanjp » January 28th, 2021, 3:19 pm

the number of ppl who applied for exemptions is those who are determined or really need to come back and willing to go through whatever it takes to come back - if we open the borders do you really think it will only be 8000 who will come back?

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/01/27/deyalsingh-young-saved-17-deaths-per-day-from-covid19/

Deyalsingh: Young saved 17 deaths per day from covid19

HEALTH Minister Terrence Deyalsingh hailed Minister of National Security Stuart Young for holding the line against detractors to maintain the border lockdown and so prevent a possible 510 covid19 deaths each month in Trinidad and Tobago.

Defending Young in a no-confidence debate in the House of Representatives on Wednesday, Deyalsingh said TT’s performance against covid19 had been stellar, with other countries looking to it for leadership.

“We have been recognised by all global authorities as one of the best places to be in this pandemic.”

Comparing TT’s modest covid19 death toll of 134 people to that of the US, he suggested the former could have been worse had not Young been the man he was in protecting TT’s borders. Saying the US borders had been left open willy-nilly, he said that in a 331-million population, the death toll was 414,000.

“Do you know what their current daily death toll is in the US? Four thousand!

“Pro-rate that down to Trinidad, and tell me, TT, if you are prepared to accept that we should be like the US, with 4,000 deaths a day. Pro-rate it down to our population and that converts to 17 deaths a day.

“Are you going to be satisfied with 17 citizens of TT dying on a daily basis? I’m not prepared to accept that. That means 510 people will die a month. It means for the year, 6,120 persons will die. Those are the stark figures.”

Deyalsingh asked if the UNC would accept 17 citizens dying a day.

He said the Government stands with Young against the motion, which he said was frivolous and vexatious.

“The Minister of National Security, who is my colleague and my friend, has not only the full confidence of Cabinet but my personal confidence.

“I have seen a man at work taking the slings and arrows of the UNC.”

He lamented the UNC’s personal attacks on Young saying these would always fail.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 3:22 pm

redmanjp wrote:the number of ppl who applied for exemptions is those who are determined or really need to come back and willing to go through whatever it takes to come back - if we open the borders do you really think it will only be 8000 who will come back?

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/01/27/deyalsingh-young-saved-17-deaths-per-day-from-covid19/

Deyalsingh: Young saved 17 deaths per day from covid19

HEALTH Minister Terrence Deyalsingh hailed Minister of National Security Stuart Young for holding the line against detractors to maintain the border lockdown and so prevent a possible 510 covid19 deaths each month in Trinidad and Tobago.

Defending Young in a no-confidence debate in the House of Representatives on Wednesday, Deyalsingh said TT’s performance against covid19 had been stellar, with other countries looking to it for leadership.

“We have been recognised by all global authorities as one of the best places to be in this pandemic.”

Comparing TT’s modest covid19 death toll of 134 people to that of the US, he suggested the former could have been worse had not Young been the man he was in protecting TT’s borders. Saying the US borders had been left open willy-nilly, he said that in a 331-million population, the death toll was 414,000.

“Do you know what their current daily death toll is in the US? Four thousand!

“Pro-rate that down to Trinidad, and tell me, TT, if you are prepared to accept that we should be like the US, with 4,000 deaths a day. Pro-rate it down to our population and that converts to 17 deaths a day.

“Are you going to be satisfied with 17 citizens of TT dying on a daily basis? I’m not prepared to accept that. That means 510 people will die a month. It means for the year, 6,120 persons will die. Those are the stark figures.”

Deyalsingh asked if the UNC would accept 17 citizens dying a day.

He said the Government stands with Young against the motion, which he said was frivolous and vexatious.

“The Minister of National Security, who is my colleague and my friend, has not only the full confidence of Cabinet but my personal confidence.

“I have seen a man at work taking the slings and arrows of the UNC.”

He lamented the UNC’s personal attacks on Young saying these would always fail.

Dan we can only permit what we have the space to manage, if 300k want to come back it will take quite some time. If it's 8k that can take 2 months, bit why wait? Let them come back and quarantine as per the requirements we have now.

Want to play it safe? Do a 14 day state supervised quarantine.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 4:07 pm

Well if this isn't some BS right here.

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2021, 4:35 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Well if this isn't some BS right here.

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

It is BS for the uninformed.
This new system will allow officials to verify information, review requests and prioritise applicants.

Corporate entities seeking corporate travel exemptions can email corptravelexemption@mns.gov.tt for arrivals, and corpdepartexemption@mns.gov.tt for departures.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ministr ... da5ae5bd07

Companies have been utilising private air transport to bring in and out workers in critical areas. My boss is a non-national on a work visa and came in last year. At a time when we have forex challenges, we have to ensure that manufacturing and energy companies work well to bring in forex.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 4:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

This new system will allow officials to verify information, review requests and prioritise applicants.

Corporate entities seeking corporate travel exemptions can email corptravelexemption@mns.gov.tt for arrivals, and corpdepartexemption@mns.gov.tt for departures.

Companies have been utilising private air transport to bring in and out workers in critical areas. My boss is a non-national on a work visa and came in last year. At a time when we have forex challenges, we have to ensure that manufacturing and energy companies work well to bring in forex.

Ok cool some people's monetary interests are more important than others. I see why you support Trump.

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

Ok cool some people's monetary interests are more important than others. I see why you support Trump.

Of course some monetary interests are more important than others. That is why there are incentives. If our manufacturing and energy industry fall apart because of closed borders, we all suffer.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 5:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

Of course some monetary interests are more important than others. That is why there are incentives. If our manufacturing and energy industry fall apart because of closed borders, we all suffer.

Habit I don't disagree but isn't it unfair that trinis who are citizens have been begging to come home for months but in several instances we see forigners being allowed to enter?

Postby paid_influencer » January 28th, 2021, 5:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

FB_IMG_1611864465577.jpg

this is some serious banana republic type shait.

Postby Habit7 » January 28th, 2021, 5:23 pm

If there are corporate exemptions that taking up seats on CAL scheduled flights and taking up space in state-run quarantine, then yes it is unfair.

But if they come on chartered flights, pay for their own multiple PCR tests, pay for their quarantine and it is for the sustenance of the T&T economy, how could that be unfair?
paid_influencer wrote:this is some serious banana republic type shait.

For us to get the Buccoo Reef Australia had to exempt certain foreigners to finalise the vessel. Even now they are exempting tennis players for the Australian Open while their citizens outside waiting.

Postby paid_influencer » January 28th, 2021, 5:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:If there are corporate exemptions that taking up seats on CAL scheduled flights and taking up space in state-run quarantine, then yes it is unfair.

But if they come on chartered flights, pay for their own multiple PCR tests, pay for their quarantine and it is for the sustenance of the T&T economy, how could that be unfair?

maybe because the process is completely opaque.

maybe because the politicians get their friends, family and financiers through while those without connections wait for months.

Postby paid_influencer » January 28th, 2021, 5:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
For us to get the Buccoo Reef Australia had to exempt certain foreigners to finalise the vessel. Even now they are exempting tennis players for the Australian Open while their citizens outside waiting.

question, what do you interpret by the term "Banana Republic"?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 28th, 2021, 6:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:For us to get the Buccoo Reef Australia had to exempt certain foreigners to finalise the vessel. Even now they are exempting tennis players for the Australian Open while their citizens outside waiting.

That doesn't make it right.

Postby sMASH » January 28th, 2021, 7:02 pm

listening to one of the police on one of the morning shows, when being pressed on how they addressing parties at private residences, he cut them off to say they have to understand the objective is to stop mass gatherings cause covid.

all arguments for and against are reasonable, until u compare who the arguments excuse and who they restrict. its usually the normal citizen that get the restrictive approach and the big shottas getting the permitting.

just admit, covid is a poor people disease, the big shots not susceptible to it, so they can get all the exemptions they want.