T&T records 96 road fatalities in 2020, lowest figure since 1957

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2021, 11:06 pm

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service Traffic and Highway Patrol Branch is once again advising drivers to obey speed limits to avoid paying fines and accruing demerit points.

The warning comes as the TTPS said all units of the Highway Patrol initiated an enforcement and high visibility policing initiative targeting dangerous and reckless drivers on December 31, 2020.

The exercise resulted in 269 speeding tickets being issued to errant drivers. Furthermore, it was noted that T&T registered the lowest number of road fatalities in 64 years.

Traffic Branch Senior Superintendent Wayne Mystar said: “Our latest figures indicate that there were 96 recorded traffic deaths in 2020, which is a historically low figure. This is an astonishing achievement because the last time Trinidad & Tobago experienced a road death figure below 100 was in 1957. Although the TTPS welcomes the significant decrease in road fatalities, every road death was one too many, consequently, we will continue to work assiduously in 2021 to help reduce the road fatality figure even further.”

http://www.looptt.com/content/tt-record ... igure-1957

Re: T&T records 96 road fatalities in 2020, lowest figure since 1957

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2021, 11:25 pm

ttps does sound like camile robinson regis

Postby De Dragon » January 4th, 2021, 11:52 pm

sMASH wrote:ttps does sound like camile robinson regis

Great work and results from the TTPS, however, the tone is still too punitive. There needs to be a sprinkling of praise for drivers who helped to achieve this by obeying the laws etc., along with the admonition against errant ones.

Postby MaxPower » January 5th, 2021, 12:12 am

Covid

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 5th, 2021, 12:12 am

London with a population of almost 9 million peoplw averages about 100 deaths per year.

This is nothing to boast about but dumb trinis will be fooled as per usual.

Postby redmanjp » January 5th, 2021, 12:42 am

first 3 month lockdown of all non-essential business (stay at home) in march, plus 8 months lock down of congregating at bars, so no getting drunk for many ppl till they reach home (those who did get in accident probably the die hard covidiots who breaking both the public health as well as traffic laws)

VII

Postby VII » January 5th, 2021, 1:20 am

You acting like a dumb Trini also,this is Trinidad not London/UK and that's the lowest since 1957,and in 1957 there weren't over a million registered vehicles on the roads and the road network wasn't a fraction of today's.

Maybe it's time to give Trinidad a chance or do something yourself to improve things to Londonic proportions,either that or shut up and acknowledge the great progress,geez T&T is a work in progress still with growing pains,and smart asssses like you contribute nothing but gloom doom and self hate,despite our challenges, the trends I see point to a great little country in the making,any other country with our challenges proxikity to SA and the level of Narco business corruption etc would've had a murder rate of over 70/100,000 already...and despite sporadic events,even the Venes and others know they have to behave better here for the most part .

And since you're quoting cities tell us how many road fatalities there were in POS ,and tell us about road safety in India and Africa,you could add Syria and China too if you please..

All I see is a very successful diaspora that's exceeding standards of its motherlands across the board,London my mother asssssssss..

Give T&T a break fella..

Redress10 wrote:London with a population of almost 9 million peoplw averages about 100 deaths per year.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 5th, 2021, 1:50 am

All of that just to try and sound "patriotic"?. What arsenesw you coming here this hour to talk. The point was to show that even in a record breaking year we continue to fall woefully short but yet still we like to boast just to make things sound good. Typical third world mentality.

The point was to show that London which is a city with over 9 times more people than our country is averaging less than a hundred road fatalities a year.

Could it be that they have better road laws than us?

Could it be their safe and reliable public transport system that results in less cars on the road?

Could it also mean that it is harder to acquire a driving license over there than the simple process of just paying a bribe here?

Could it be that they don't import foreign used junk that increase the risk of vehicles not performing up to scratch and protecting the customers?

Could it be that bars close at 2:00 am lowering the chances of drunk driving on the road in the early morning.

Could it be the well trained first responders who arrive on a crash scene with the tools and skills to administer propee first aid each and every time they are needed?

Could it be the treatment at the hospital and the world class doctors and surgeons who save some of these lives?

Maybe it's a combination of all of these.

Or maybe white lives matter more in those countries so they do everything possible to preserve their white lives. Maybe black/brown lives don't matter here.

Tnt doesn't need anymore breaks. We are in this mess because TnT has been given numerous breaks. When you have countries with less resources and less development passing us then you know that we are in trouble. I'm not sure what this patriotic drivel some of you all like to dish out. Maybe a slow banana republic benefit some of you all.

What great little country in the making you seeing? We living in the same country and talking to the same ppl? You ever see what a 10 year old child in singapore is leaning and compare it to what a 10 year old trini youth knows? This country/region is generations behind and it's getting worst. Remember this region has no farmine, wars or other developmental hurdles except low productivity.

Delusional thinking.

Postby aaron17 » January 5th, 2021, 8:28 am

MaxPower wrote:Covid
Yes..i remember essential workers can only come out some time last year and so forth.

Postby eliteauto » January 5th, 2021, 8:33 am

Well done T&T, hope we can continue the decreasing trend

Postby MaxPower » January 5th, 2021, 8:34 am

VII wrote:You acting like a dumb Trini also,this is Trinidad not London/UK and that's the lowest since 1957,and in 1957 there weren't over a million registered vehicles on the roads and the road network wasn't a fraction of today's.

Maybe it's time to give Trinidad a chance or do something yourself to improve things to Londonic proportions,either that or shut up and acknowledge the great progress,geez T&T is a work in progress still with growing pains,and smart asssses like you contribute nothing but gloom doom and self hate,despite our challenges, the trends I see point to a great little country in the making,any other country with our challenges proxikity to SA and the level of Narco business corruption etc would've had a murder rate of over 70/100,000 already...and despite sporadic events,even the Venes and others know they have to behave better here for the most part .

And since you're quoting cities tell us how many road fatalities there were in POS ,and tell us about road safety in India and Africa,you could add Syria and China too if you please..

All I see is a very successful diaspora that's exceeding standards of its motherlands across the board,London my mother asssssssss..

Give T&T a break fella..

Redress10 wrote:London with a population of almost 9 million peoplw averages about 100 deaths per year.

Hello VII,

Redress10 is correct, however i admire your patriotism and the “New Year New Me” spirit you have.

Unfortunately, reality has spoken and you are having a very hard time accepting what T&T really is.

Again, no one can fault you for your positive thinking, your determination to not give up, your hope, your belief and the love for your country.

T&T is in a mess and i think it is your own Trinidadian mentality that is blinding you from the truth. If you are a part of the problem, you will see no problem. You will automatically feel that you are right, doing good and improving. We cannot continue to progress the same way and in the wrong direction and claim improvement.

Give T&T a break? A break from what? If there is anyone who deserves a break are the minority of the population who are the ones holding on to this country by a thread. The minority who try their best to progress, work hard and abide by the laws of the land. The minority that no matter how hard they try, they still feel the blunt of the consequences from the actions of others.

This pandemic is a clear and present example of who Trinidadians really are. The majority of the population has been irresponsible and have become a burden on the Govt resulting in negative impacts on society affecting everyone, even the innocent.

Bragging about a low road fatality means nothing and proves nothing. I guess we should commend T&T for keeping Caura and the beaches clean during the lockdown? Have you noticed how beautiful, peaceful and unmolested the rivers and beaches were? Give T&T a break? Mother Nature deserves a break.

Trinis continue to be careless and irresponsible and social media broadcasts it almost immediately. The country is lawless, corrupted and FILTHY.

Where are your praises to T&T for responsible zesser/wesser parties?

Where are your praises to T&T for significant improvement in customer service? (But fight down immigrants when they do better?)

Where are your praises to T&T for cleaner drains and streets?

Where are your praises to T&T for standing up together to the UNC/PNM and say enough is enough? Have you any idea the power the people have?

Come on VII, stop selling yourself dreams. All hope is not lost, but now is not the time for T&T to be on any break. We are behind time on progress and production and it is imperative that we pick up the pace and advance as a people....as a nation.

T&T must get out of their stagnant relax mode.
Last edited by MaxPower on January 5th, 2021, 8:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2021, 8:34 am

covid saves lives

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2021, 9:43 am

MG Man wrote:covid saves lives

COVID saveth lives and also taketh away.

One data point isn't really enough to draw a conclusion so let's see how this year goes.

Postby MaxPower » January 5th, 2021, 9:56 am

If all restrictions and safety measures are lifted and T&T resumes normal operation, can we expect to see a continued declination of the road fatalities and murder rate? Will our beloved Trinidadians take it upon themselves to be cautious and considerate to themselves and others? Will Caura remain clean?

Let’s give our locals a chance to show T&T they can do better.

VII, i holding you to this...

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » January 5th, 2021, 10:09 am

The solution is leave and renounce your citizenship for all those who are unhappy with life here but are unwilling to stand up a make an effort to improve things.

The developed countries you are looking towards, didn’t achieve their success by people sitting by and only complaining.
Those countries were built by people who stayed and worked for their development.

When you go, do not come back. No country needs fair weather citizens.

Postby Habit7 » January 5th, 2021, 10:31 am

Greater London is smaller than T&T, hardly any highways, low speed limits, generally flat, the majority uses public transport, cycling and walking and to use a car in certain parts of London you have to pay a congestion charge.

Not the best comparison.

Postby teems1 » January 5th, 2021, 10:51 am

You're including the M25 and M4 in that?

Zones 1-3 in London would hardly have deaths as cars are unable to build up the speed required for a fatal accident.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 5th, 2021, 10:53 am

Habit7 wrote:

Greater London is smaller than T&T, hardly any highways, low speed limits, generally flat, the majority uses public transport, cycling and walking and to use a car in certain parts of London you have to pay a congestion charge.

Not the best comparison.

They also have a higher concentration of high performing cars and younger drivers in control of these vehicles yet still they have less road fatalities. If you think that a city that has more than 9 times the people of Trinidad and Tobago still has a road fatality rate that is lower than us isn't an eye opener then I don't know what to tell you. The road fatality rate is not due to type of road available. It's due to recklessness of drivers and lack of enforcement.

The point of the matter is this. This decrease was not due to some policy, law or change of culture that took national effort. This is the result of covid and the lockdowns. Less people being on the road resulted in less carnage.

It is shocking that this sort of carnage has been taking place since 1957 and no authority saw it fit to find a solution to stop it. Since 1957 vehicles have gotten much safer yet we in this part of the world seem to be going in the opposite direction and needlessly losing lives due to irresponsibility and lack of enforcement. But they coming now to give themselves a pat on the back as if they doing something.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2021, 11:02 am

Redress10 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Not the best comparison.

They also have a higher concentration of high performing cars and younger drivers in control of these vehicles yet still they have less road fatalities. If you think that a city that has more than 9 times the people of Trinidad and Tobago still has a road fatality rate that is lower than us isn't an eye opener then I don't know what to tell you. The road fatality rate is not due to type of road available. It's due to recklessness of drivers and lack of enforcement.

The point of the matter is this. This decrease was not due to some policy, law or change of culture that took national effort. This is the result of covid and the lockdowns. Less people being on the road resulted in less carnage.

It is shocking that this sort of carnage has been taking place since 1957 and no authority saw it fit to find a solution to stop it. Since 1957 vehicles have gotten much safer yet we in this part of the world seem to be going in the opposite direction and needlessly losing lives due to irresponsibility and lack of enforcement. But they coming now to give themselves a pat on the back as if they doing something.
Redress I don't think folk understand that London has around 2.7 million passenger cars excluding goods and cabs.

Drivers are alot more cautious and the UK driving tests are not that easy to pass and impossible to bribe officials.

Lots of speedy roads in london, A40 , north circular and south circular roads.

But which londoner wants his speeding ticket in the post and points added.

Alot of trinis remain dumb. As you said Covid was a factor for the drop.

Postby sMASH » January 5th, 2021, 11:09 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

One data point isn't really enough to draw a conclusion so let's see how this year goes.

god too, but who's counting any ways.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 5th, 2021, 11:28 am

Human behavior is always multivariate.
I'm still WFH, but when I do go out, I'm actually noticing more 'niceness' on the roads: folks saying 'thank you' with their rear blinkers, slower cars getting out the fast lane allowing you to pass them, people learning how to merge properly.. It's almost.. encouraging.

Postby Les Bain » January 5th, 2021, 11:33 am

eliteauto wrote:Well done T&T, hope we can continue the decreasing trend

Zessers and wessers doing their best to keep we inside, doh worry.

Postby zoom rader » January 5th, 2021, 12:43 pm

FrankChag wrote:Human behavior is always multivariate.
I'm still WFH, but when I do go out, I'm actually noticing more 'niceness' on the roads: folks saying 'thank you' with their rear blinkers, slower cars getting out the fast lane allowing you to pass them, people learning how to merge properly.. It's almost.. encouraging.
Lack of Soca music has this effect

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2021, 12:52 pm

its that points and penalty system causing less speeding and less fatal accidents.

people fraid to lose their license

Postby Dizzy28 » January 5th, 2021, 1:06 pm

A year like 2020 should never be a baseline or comparison year for anything. With the near 1/2 year lockdown could it adequately reflect the efficacy of any road policy implemented?

What were the vehicle miles driven in 2020 as compared to 2019?

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2021, 1:19 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

so what, he wake up dec 2019 and decided ah let nuff ppl die so lemme do ah ting?
And why he arrived at that particular figure for 2020?
y'all fucknuggets does rvrn think before allyuh spew?

Postby sMASH » January 5th, 2021, 1:24 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

so what, he wake up dec 2019 and decided ah let nuff ppl die so lemme do ah ting?

that is the figure to get 5th level in DSS,

Postby MG Man » January 5th, 2021, 2:13 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

when you a big shotta :drinking:

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 5th, 2021, 2:54 pm

sMASH wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

when you a big shotta :drinking:

I going to take all my IML billions and put it in the DSS multiplier.
Begone, peasants

Postby timelapse » January 5th, 2021, 4:30 pm

Less cars = less chances of road fatalities. 3 CXCs can't prepare you to brain something like that.
Thats like saying no donkey cart related accidents in 2020 because of efficient policing.
If the figure went up, they woulda find something else to blame it on
#Staywoak