Musical Doc

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2020

Postby Musical Doc » July 24th, 2020, 2:39 pm

bluefete wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:Should we be worried that at this late stage it is still heading west straight for us and no upswing yet?

Hello Musical Doc,

Nothing to be worried as once again, Coriolis force is in our favor.

But let’s not get ourselves into a comfort zone or a sense of relaxation.

Always be prepared for a worst case scenario.

If your area does not flood, always always and always ask yourself..............

What if...

I don't know how many times we need to tell people this.

I know but to me it seems like an emergency situation but everyone around seems unbothered lol. Everything just seems too calm... So idk if maybe I'm overreacting :|

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 24th, 2020, 2:40 pm

Hawaii taking a hit on Sunday too.
maj. tom wrote:Corpus Christi, TX getting lick up by Hurricane Hanna tmrw morning. 2020.

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 3:09 pm

they upgrade the rain forecast!

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/text/refresh/MIATCPAT2+shtml/241746.shtml

RAINFALL: Gonzalo is expected to produce total rain accumulations
of 2 to 5 inches, with isolated maximum amounts of 8 inches in
Barbados and the Windward Islands through Sunday night. Gonzalo is
also expected to produce total rain accumulations of 2 to 4 inches
in Trinidad and Tobago
as well as 1 to 2 inches over northeastern
Venezuela. Rainfall in Barbados and the Windward Islands could lead
to life-threatening flash floods.

Postby RedVEVO » July 24th, 2020, 3:13 pm

The rain will come in a flash ..

Then flash floods ..

1. Put all goods in garbage bags so they are safe ..

2. Have torch lights and batteries ready ..

3. Buy a generator if you can afford ..

4. Stock up on condoms since you is man .

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2020, 3:20 pm

That storm path thus far is a bit worrying
Normally by now it would have been pushing up north

A few spaghetti models show it could very well make landfall
Screenshot_20200724-151720.jpeg

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » July 24th, 2020, 3:28 pm

The 2:30 update on TT Weather Center says it shifted south and will clip NE tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 3:41 pm

An aircraft reconnaissance flight into Tropical Storm #Gonzalo finds a weakened tropical storm.
The main hazards for both islands continue to be heavy rainfall, in addition to gusty winds, primarily across Tobago as the track shifts towards T&T.

updates like 5 mins ago from NHC

Postby MaxPower » July 24th, 2020, 3:41 pm

Musical Doc wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:Should we be worried that at this late stage it is still heading west straight for us and no upswing yet?

Hello Musical Doc,

Nothing to be worried as once again, Coriolis force is in our favor.

But let’s not get ourselves into a comfort zone or a sense of relaxation.

Always be prepared for a worst case scenario.

If your area does not flood, always always and always ask yourself..............

What if...

I don't know how many times we need to tell people this.

I know but to me it seems like an emergency situation but everyone around seems unbothered lol. Everything just seems too calm... So idk if maybe I'm overreacting :|

Yeh mate i know you’re saying.

The only thing Trinis plan for is Carnival, Friday after work limes and Caura Mondays.

Be well, Keep safe

Postby maj. tom » July 24th, 2020, 4:44 pm

The eye and major winds are bypassingTrinidad, but most of a hurricane's energy is stored in rainfall, not wind.

So we getting plenty of that tmrw. No way we escaping those feeder bands. And i hope that such misinformation is not being propagated to the public, that "the hurricane missing Trinidad," and that we're safe and should be idle.
We need to prepare for floods!

Also next week: no water eh gone in the WASA dams.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 24th, 2020, 4:51 pm

If the rain falls heavy Saturday, flash flooding is possible, but the riverine flooding is another story. That might be Sunday

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 5:06 pm

Last edited by redmanjp on July 24th, 2020, 5:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 5:10 pm

Is me alone taking precaution or trinis believe God passport stamp?

Postby X_Factor » July 24th, 2020, 5:13 pm

i see tobago went from tropical storm watch, to warning on the NHC site

because it held the straight path for so long, tobago in the firing line

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 5:14 pm

https://www.nhc.noaa.gov/text/refresh/MIATCPAT2+shtml/242036.shtml
watch upgraded to warning- should of done dat since this morning

sustained winds drop to 40 mph

WATCHES AND WARNINGS
--------------------
CHANGES WITH THIS ADVISORY...

The government of Trinidad and Tobago has issued a Tropical Storm
Warning for Tobago and Grenada.

The government of St. Lucia has canceled the Tropical Storm
Warning for St. Lucia.

SUMMARY OF WATCHES AND WARNINGS IN EFFECT...

A Tropical Storm Warning is in effect for...
* Barbados
* St. Vincent and the Grenadines
* Tobago
* Grenada and its dependencies

A Tropical Storm Warning means that tropical storm conditions are
expected somewhere within the warning area, in this case
within about 24 hours.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2020, 5:33 pm

Not a big or powerful storm we just have to prepare for some good showers

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2020, 5:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Is me alone taking precaution or trinis believe God passport stamp?

dey forget borders close - he needs to seek an exemption first to get permission! :mrgreen: but most trinis eh praying so that won't happen

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2020, 5:44 pm

Seems like dry air and wind shear making it smaller and smaller
Screenshot_20200724-174306_Chrome.jpeg

Postby rspann » July 24th, 2020, 5:49 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Then flash floods ..

All mih goods in garbage bags by mih front door . Ah hadda put it in de house or it good dey ?
IMG_20200724_174307.jpg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » July 24th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Took a small shift south
203832.jpeg

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 24th, 2020, 6:36 pm

rspann wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

Then flash floods ..

All mih goods in garbage bags by mih front door . Ah hadda put it in de house or it good dey ?

Leave it outside. If yuh house get flood out, yuh belongings safe outside.

Postby rspann » July 24th, 2020, 6:40 pm

Sense .

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2020, 6:44 pm

I calling early this is going to be a dud

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 7:00 pm

Lightning show and level thunder on my ends

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 24th, 2020, 7:06 pm

Agreed but still.
PariaMan wrote:I calling early this is going to be a dud

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 7:08 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Lightning show and level thunder on my ends

Already? But you in the northeast ent?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2020, 7:10 pm

bluefete wrote:

NE is right...im up rampanalgas atm

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2020, 7:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

NE is right...im up rampanalgas atm

Stay safe. Not a sight or sound further west.

Edit: Wrote too soon. Rain now falling.

Postby MaxPower » July 24th, 2020, 9:32 pm

Friends,

Check out windy.com that Duane posted a while ago for the Sahara dust thing.

You can get an idea of the wind movement....currently pushing it south, but when u adjust the time bar moving forward, it swings north.

I reckon Tobago and Barbados will get away but Grenada will get a lil shake up.

Its not a hurricane, please remain calm.