Decline of T&T Energy Sector

neilsingh100

Decline of T&T Energy Sector

Postby neilsingh100 » December 6th, 2020, 4:04 pm

Not sure where government plans to find gas for Train 1 but seems like T&T Energy sector is in real trouble.

Hearing rumors of BP looking for a buyer for some of its T&T assets which is not a good sign.

NGC takes $300 million gamble on Train 1
https://guardian.co.tt/news/ngc-takes-300-million-gamble-on-train-1-6.2.1259686.f52eacaefa

abbow

Re: Decline of T&T Energy Sector

Postby abbow » December 6th, 2020, 4:08 pm

Min of Energy only hoodwinking the country....

we have been on a slippery slope a long time now..

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 6th, 2020, 4:17 pm

Seems like the hope of T&T being energy services hub for Guyana & Suriname not happening.

By the end of this year over 90 percent of Halliburton services will be provided out of Guyana
https://oilnow.gy/featured/by-the-end-of-this-year-over-90-percent-of-halliburton-services-will-be-provided-out-of-guyana/
Since 2015, US oil field service company Halliburton has been providing various drilling and completion services in Guyana, all of which were initially supported from neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago. The company has developed what it describes as ‘an early ambitious plan’ to migrate the support structure for these services to Guyana to enhance operational efficiency and reliability over the long term.

Guyana buliding its own Deep Water Port
https://oilnow.gy/featured/staffing-is- ... in-guyana/
The Berbice Deep Water Port facility will be located 4.8 km from the Berbice River mouth which is 11 – 13 hours sailing time to the Stabroek Block and shorter times to the Corentyne, Kanuku, Orinduik and Demerara Blocks. This is compared to 2.5 days from Trinidad, from where much of the offshore activities in both Guyana and Suriname are being serviced.

Postby De Dragon » December 6th, 2020, 10:36 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Seems like the hope of T&T being energy services hub for Guyana & Suriname not happening.

By the end of this year over 90 percent of Halliburton services will be provided out of Guyana
https://oilnow.gy/featured/by-the-end-of-this-year-over-90-percent-of-halliburton-services-will-be-provided-out-of-guyana/
Since 2015, US oil field service company Halliburton has been providing various drilling and completion services in Guyana, all of which were initially supported from neighbouring Trinidad and Tobago. The company has developed what it describes as ‘an early ambitious plan’ to migrate the support structure for these services to Guyana to enhance operational efficiency and reliability over the long term.

Guyana buliding its own Deep Water Port
https://oilnow.gy/featured/staffing-is- ... in-guyana/
The Berbice Deep Water Port facility will be located 4.8 km from the Berbice River mouth which is 11 – 13 hours sailing time to the Stabroek Block and shorter times to the Corentyne, Kanuku, Orinduik and Demerara Blocks. This is compared to 2.5 days from Trinidad, from where much of the offshore activities in both Guyana and Suriname are being serviced.

Guyanese too damn ungrateful. They forgot the millions upon millions of debt that they owed to us that we forgave on multiple occasions, and after many years of non-repayment to boot. However, given the PNM's disastrous handling of Petrotrin and out own oil/gas sector, can we really blame them?

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 6th, 2020, 10:47 pm

Only one problem with that argument ... It is Exxon calling the shots not the Govt of Guyana but if they the GoG had anything to say about it ... that would be salt as well cause as you said they as are many other caribbean countries are ungrateful and truthfully dont wish this country well at all.

De Dragon wrote:]
Guyanese too damn ungrateful. They forgot the millions upon millions of debt that they owed to us that we forgave on multiple occasions, and after many years of non-repayment to boot. However, given the PNM's disastrous handling of Petrotrin and out own oil/gas sector, can we really blame them?

kstt

Postby kstt » December 6th, 2020, 11:36 pm

Well the citizens insisted that Petrotrin should be shutdown because employees salaries were too big.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 8th, 2020, 11:54 am

TT energy sector will be dead within a decade.

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » December 8th, 2020, 12:36 pm

ek4ever wrote:TT energy sector will be dead within a decade.

So long? You rel optimistic. Lol

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » December 8th, 2020, 1:26 pm

abbow wrote:Min of Energy only hoodwinking the country....

we have been on a slippery slope a long time now..

Back in 2005

statements were repeatedly made by the self proclaimed father of the nation :

that as long as we have faith my brothers and sisters

as long as we let the leaders lead

God almighty will protect us

ask and He will provide !

and anybody else who raised concerns about where we were heading -

the people who then predicted what is happening right now

the people who were trying to raise the alarm about what was going on at petrotrin

were called unpatriotic and accused of wanting the country to fail

they were even accused of racism

great was the pnm indeed. :bday:

kstt wrote:Well the citizens insisted that Petrotrin should be shutdown because employees salaries were too big.

pnm sycophants told me that the man who does sweep the walkway was making $200'000 a year that was not true ? :shock:

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2020, 4:26 pm

The PNM could spoil vomit.

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2020, 4:43 pm

You all know that our energy sector is based on non-renewable products right? You all know that we are one of the world's oldest commercial producer of oil? You all know that most of our known reserves are tied up in mature fields and our best prospects for oil or gas lie in deeper water which is expensive to drill and operate in such a low price environment? Are you aware that there is increasing competition from other industrialising countries closer to our markets, while demand is falling as the world is turning to alternative energy that more renewable. And this was all before covid-19.

Putting aside the local politics for 2 seconds, do you expect our energy sector to improve even if Lee Kuan Yew himself was running it?

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 4:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:You all know that our energy sector is based on non-renewable products right? You all know that we are one of the world's oldest commercial producer of oil? You all know that most of our known reserves are tied up in mature fields and our best prospects for oil or gas lie in deeper water which is expensive to drill and operate in such a low price environment? Are you aware that there is increasing competition from other industrialising countries closer to our markets, while demand is falling as the world is turning to alternative energy that more renewable. And this was all before covid-19.

Putting aside the local politics for 2 seconds, do you expect our energy sector to improve even if Lee Kuan Yew himself was running it?
Dummy while you was busy on Trinipor n & pornhub your red Goverment killied the oil industry.

There is still 3 Billions barrels of oil that is being pumped out by Trinity oil Touchstone oil, Bahamas oil and a few other smaller London based companies. They making money except our once local companies.

Stop pushing your bull5hit to cover up your red Goverment mis deals.

You back here with your propaganda

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2020, 4:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:You all know that our energy sector is based on non-renewable products right? You all know that we are one of the world's oldest commercial producer of oil? You all know that most of our known reserves are tied up in mature fields and our best prospects for oil or gas lie in deeper water which is expensive to drill and operate in such a low price environment? Are you aware that there is increasing competition from other industrialising countries closer to our markets, while demand is falling as the world is turning to alternative energy that more renewable. And this was all before covid-19.

Did we discover this today? Last week? :roll:
Your comment only magnifies the debacle that we are in. We are perhaps the only country with such a long history of oil/gas production that isn't first world, or close to it. You cannot separate politics from it because it is precisely politics that caused us to be where we are today, and yet there is no real push towards renewables, we have taxes on hybrids, gas shortages in spite of multiple plant closures.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 5:02 pm

Your comment only magnifies the debacle that we are in. We are perhaps the only country with such a long history of oil/gas production that isn't first world, or close to it. You cannot separate politics from it because it is precisely politics that caused us to be where we are today, and yet there is no real push towards renewables, we have taxes on hybrids, gas shortages in spite of multiple plant closures.
3 kants to deal with now

Elec

Habit7 a known porn freak

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2020, 6:37 pm

And your comment just doubles down on the ignorance and sprinkles it with the ubiquitous UNC pessimism on anything Trinbagonian once it is not in the thin sliver when UNC in power. Length of time in the oil industry doesn't equate to wealth in the O&G industry. We had peak oil in 1978 and has been on a decline since then. Were you born yet? I wasn't, so for you and other town criers to be bemoaning the energy sector in decline, I want to know how do you propose replenishing such a resource? The very politician you criticise, Manning, gave it an extra bump by monetising natural gas and creating downstream industries. That gave us a highest economic growth in the 2000s for the region. But now the world has caught up and the demand for the products are down.

The energy sector was never meant to be forever, T&T had its hay day but now is the time not to kill the industry but create other industries to become less dependent on energy.

And as further demonstration of your ignorance you say "there is no real push towards renewable" when we are building the largest solar park in the region https://www.loopcayman.com/content/imbe ... 0Caribbean.

I still have to school allyuh after all these years?

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2020, 6:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:

And your comment just doubles down on the ignorance and sprinkles it with the ubiquitous UNC pessimism on anything Trinbagonian once it is not in the thin sliver when UNC in power. Length of time in the oil industry doesn't equate to wealth in the O&G industry. We had peak oil in 1978 and has been on a decline since then. Were you born yet? I wasn't, so for you and other town criers to be bemoaning the energy sector in decline, I want to know how do you propose replenishing such a resource? The very politician you criticise, Manning, gave it an extra bump by monetising natural gas and creating downstream industries. That gave us a highest economic growth in the 2000s for the region. But now the world has caught up and the demand for the products are down.

The energy sector was never meant to be forever, T&T had its hay day but now is the time not to kill the industry but create other industries to become less dependent on energy.

And as further demonstration of your ignorance you say "there is no real push towards renewable" when we are building the largest solar park in the region https://www.loopcayman.com/content/imbe ... 0Caribbean.

Primary school maybe. :roll:
You are right in that things haven't changed. You're still ascribing meaning to other people's actual written words. Show me where I stated that somehow under the UNC there was also not the required effort to better our position wrt to the remaining reserves. Also if you'd be so kind to point out where I advocated "kill(ing) the industry" or "replenishing a resource" that is non-renewable :roll: .
One sparrow doesn't make a summer, so while laudable, if all we have to show for the last few decades is a solitary solar park, and that is your definition of success after more than a decade, well I guess we'll have to agree to disagree.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 8th, 2020, 7:06 pm

Wait nah I thought ollour say Habit7 was Patos himself?

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 7:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Porn freak habit 7

I have actually worked on solar farms and power plants in the Cayman islands and it just simply not cost effective. It can't Generate the power required. It may be ok for a few areas for low power consumption.

Plus a solar farm only works at certain times in day. You can't store this electricity .

Then we come to steam turbines, which is very costly to run, agian they can't produce the megawatts as required. The man power ,,technical support & maintenance is way to much. The Cayman Islands power plants suffer in cost as a result of this.

A simple Caterpillar 40 foot container engine produces more megawatts than cost for cost of a solar farm.

Our present electricity plants can supply more than enough power for all of TT. That is main reason why the POS plant was no longer required.

TT is buying a cat in a bag with Solar farms and steam.

Stop peddling red Goverment bull5hit

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Habit7 wrote:

You are right in that things haven't changed. You're still ascribing meaning to other people's actual written words. Show me where I stated that somehow under the UNC there was also not the required effort to better our position wrt to the remaining reserves. Also if you'd be so kind to point out where I advocated "kill(ing) the industry" or "replenishing a resource" that is non-renewable :roll: .
One sparrow doesn't make a summer, so while laudable, if all we have to show for the last few decades is a solitary solar park, and that is your definition of success after more than a decade, well I guess we'll have to agree to disagree.

I think you need to read over what I said because I didn't say you said those things.

Also, T&T electricity production has been fuelled by natural gas, up until recently one of the cheapest forms of energy. It was only recently surpassed by solar, which we are now engaging in.

Try harder.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 7:30 pm

Habit7 wrote:

I think you need to read over what I said because I didn't say you said those things.

Also, T&T electricity production has been fuelled by natural gas, up until recently one of the cheapest forms of energy. It was only recently surpassed by solar, which we are now engaging in.

Try harder.
Solar and steam turbines are not cost effective.

Other islands are at a loss with this

You don't understand power consumption and production.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... ent-online

Anyone who works in industry with steam power turbines will tell you the headaches you get running these machines.

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Try harder.

Anyone who works in industry with steam power turbines will tell you the headaches you get running these machines.

Zoom you conflating a concentric solar plant with a photovoltaic plant. The plant you posted there is a CSP, we are building a pv plant.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 8:25 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Try harder.

Zoom you conflating a concentric solar plant with a photovoltaic plant. The plant you posted there is a CSP, we are building a pv plant.
The 5 megawatt solar plant I worked on in Cayman are photovoltaic panels. They give the same problems . They only work in day light.

This is going to be colossal waste of money. TT goverment will be conned.

This country does not need additional power. The TUG plant in underutilized which was built for the smelter. We have more than enough power.

Someone is conning the red Goverment. No one builds solar farms anymore as you can't store electricity in the megswatt range

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 8th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Is it concentric or concentrated?

Postby Habit7 » December 8th, 2020, 8:55 pm

Zoom all solar power plants work in the daylight. That is a given. It captures the power and stores it in batteries for later use. It is supplemented by other forms such as natural gas. If we could reduce the dependancy on TGU and rout that gas to high tax paying plants it will benefit us. Plus it could help solve the issues with T&TEC not paying NGC for the gas all while reducing subsidies on electricity while using a cheap source.

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2020, 9:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:Zoom all solar power plants work in the daylight. That is a given. It captures the power and stores it in batteries for later use. It is supplemented by other forms such as natural gas. If we could reduce the dependancy on TGU and rout that gas to high tax paying plants it will benefit us. Plus it could help solve the issues with T&TEC not paying NGC for the gas all while reducing subsidies on electricity while using a cheap source.

the viability of any power plant is dependent its energy storage solution. u will take a certain amount of time to recover that capital investment. and the battery storage systems for solar generation have life spans. if u have to replace ur batteries before u recoup ur capital, u make a buss.

the reason why other island will find natgas more expensive than solar is cause they dont have it in the ground like us. why its expensive for us, is that we chill it and ship it to america. but if we dont do that, buring it for electricity will be cheap.... if we dont use it for any other purpose.
but if it makeing a profit by selling it, might as well.

NGC gonna foot the $300m turn around bill for alng train 1. cause rowley say he dont want it shut down. y it will shut down is cause it need a turn around and the shareholders dont want to put up the money to do it,, might as well moth ball it. y they dont want to turn it around is cause they dont see a reliable future for gas supply come 2021 or beyond, so it dont make sense spending 300m that u might not get the gas to make product to sell.

y that is important is; they are not confident in trinidad gas prospects. i kinda thinking their noses for gas is very good.

seems the pin is in the trinidad fossil bubble, they just a matter of time to pull out the pin and let it burst.

that coudl explain why it is they not frighten at all to pass all kinda ludicrous contracts... trying to extract as much from the cookie jar before it empty.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2020, 11:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:Zoom all solar power plants work in the daylight. That is a given. It captures the power and stores it in batteries for later use. It is supplemented by other forms such as natural gas. If we could reduce the dependancy on TGU and rout that gas to high tax paying plants it will benefit us. Plus it could help solve the issues with T&TEC not paying NGC for the gas all while reducing subsidies on electricity while using a cheap source.
Megawatt solar farms do not store electricity. It's either you consume it or not ( relative power and active power) It is very very costly to implement inverters and lithium batteries for Megawatt production. It is just not cost effective.

Once power is produced it is put on to the grid for ready use via step up Transformers. Normally its 13KV and then on to the sub stations.

TT is getting conned with this BS.

We dealing in megawatts and not house wattage, Solar farms will only be able to supply a small village or town and that is only during the day.

If dark clouds and rain falls then you in 5hiit with a solar farm.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » December 8th, 2020, 11:24 pm

Too late for T&T to invest in current solar energy. We just have to wait and see if the world leaders come up with something better.

If we invest in it now the NPV will be -$10 million+ and the potential payback period will exceed 30 years, if we consider social cost, price of electricity and solar panel costs.

Postby matr1x » December 9th, 2020, 9:37 am

The energy sector not in decline.

It completely dead

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2020, 9:39 am

Any one find a Feed In Tariff for TnT?

Please share.

ZR 2 Q

When you were in Cayman??

Im interested in the reserve numbers you posted re oil.- can you share the source?

Found it Thx
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article/more ... 20of%20oil.

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2020, 10:14 am

sMASH wrote:

the viability of any power plant is dependent its energy storage solution. u will take a certain amount of time to recover that capital investment. and the battery storage systems for solar generation have life spans. if u have to replace ur batteries before u recoup ur capital, u make a buss.

the reason why other island will find natgas more expensive than solar is cause they dont have it in the ground like us. why its expensive for us, is that we chill it and ship it to america. but if we dont do that, buring it for electricity will be cheap.... if we dont use it for any other purpose.
but if it makeing a profit by selling it, might as well.

NGC gonna foot the $300m turn around bill for alng train 1. cause rowley say he dont want it shut down. y it will shut down is cause it need a turn around and the shareholders dont want to put up the money to do it,, might as well moth ball it. y they dont want to turn it around is cause they dont see a reliable future for gas supply come 2021 or beyond, so it dont make sense spending 300m that u might not get the gas to make product to sell.

y that is important is; they are not confident in trinidad gas prospects. i kinda thinking their noses for gas is very good.

seems the pin is in the trinidad fossil bubble, they just a matter of time to pull out the pin and let it burst.

that coudl explain why it is they not frighten at all to pass all kinda ludicrous contracts... trying to extract as much from the cookie jar before it empty.

JUHN Scarfy/Civil Engineer playing economist Impsy/PNM Economics 101. Put up the entire cost for a plant revamp, while being the minority (10 %) shareholder :roll: Just like the ill fated gas junket that resulted in downstreamers like Yara, CNC, Proman having to idle plants.