Cellphone Import Tax

ruffrider27

Re: Cellphone Import Tax

Postby ruffrider27 » January 5th, 2021, 10:50 am

i want to send an iPhone 12 pro max an a lg velvet asap to my family tru DHL what i'm looking at just shipping ?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 5th, 2021, 11:19 am

ruffrider27 wrote:i want to send an iPhone 12 pro max an a lg velvet asap to my family tru DHL what i'm looking at just shipping ?

You hard of understand pal, yes only shipping how much times we go say the same thing

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Vat and duty has been removed.
Opt is still on but will be removed soon

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 5th, 2021, 12:12 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Vat and duty has been removed.
Opt is still on but will be removed soon

Gov't drags their foot on things...
but when it come to the citizen...we not allowed to drag no foot.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2021, 12:18 pm

be grateful it was removed and enjoy the benefits.

Postby pete » January 5th, 2021, 1:22 pm

pugboy wrote:the descriptions for monitors relate to CRT, cathode ray tube screens, ie big back tv
NOT modern flat screen led

also customs normally hit you hard if the monitor has multiple video inputs
they call that a regular TV and not computer equipment.

Honestly they should only call it a TV if it has a tuner, maybe speakers. (Even though cable boxes now use HDMI)

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » January 5th, 2021, 4:19 pm

So I'm seeing CSF has updated their calculator. WebSource has not.

Price coming out to around $7,381 landed for an iPhone 12 Pro 128GB ($7,241 off apple). I'm definitely going to be getting one on my own.

Saw a phone seller updated their prices from $9,600 to $8,400 based on pre-orders. So that's around a $1,000 profit. (Not bad for the convenience of 50% and balance on arrival)

I'm sure alot of them would do a bulk order and keep them to impose a higher price when the taxes return.

Postby teems1 » January 5th, 2021, 4:29 pm

pugboy wrote:the descriptions for monitors relate to CRT, cathode ray tube screens, ie big back tv
NOT modern flat screen led

also customs normally hit you hard if the monitor has multiple video inputs
they call that a regular TV and not computer equipment.

christopherwilliams2 wrote:alls I want to know... is if smart watch and bluetooth (AirPods etc) exempt.

According to these legal notices, the AirPods which is a headset will be free of VAT, duty and online purchase tax

THE VALUE ADDED TAX (AMENDMENT TO SCHEDULE 2)
(NO. 2) ORDER, 2020

http://news.gov.tt/sites/default/files/ ... 202020.pdf

THE CUSTOMS (REMITTANCE OF CUSTOMS DUTY)
ORDER, 2020

THE MISCELLANEOUS TAXES (REMITTANCE OF ONLINE
PURCHASE TAX) ORDER, 2020

I'm not sure about the smart watch because a lot of what is listed in those documents include CRT monitors, CD-ROM and computer tape drives

(yyy) monitor (CRT) classified under Tariff Heading
Number 8528.41.00;
(zzz) monitor (CRT) (other) classified under Tariff
Heading Number 8528.49.00;
(aaaa) monitor classified under Tariff Heading Number
8528.51.00;
(bbbb) digital photo frame classified under Tariff Heading
Number 8528.59.90;
(cccc) monitor (other) classified under Tariff Heading
Number 8528.59.90;

I think the (cccc) one handles the normal monitors we have been using for the past 15 years.

Postby pugboy » January 5th, 2021, 4:30 pm

so the last item will cover led type flat screen monitors ?

Postby teems1 » January 5th, 2021, 4:43 pm

pugboy wrote:so the last item will cover led type flat screen monitors ?

IANAL or Customs official, but it does appear that aaaa and cccc should.

Maybe someone with more knowledge could clarify.

Postby Chimera » January 5th, 2021, 5:22 pm

Who is the fastest skybox service these days? Ezone?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 5th, 2021, 6:46 pm

Last year two AirPods with the same freight forwarder, one came as Bluetooth headphones, the other as cell phone headset. So one was 200 the other was 500

christopherwilliams2 wrote:alls I want to know... is if smart watch and bluetooth (AirPods etc) exempt.

According to these legal notices, the AirPods which is a headset will be free of VAT, duty and online purchase tax

(NO. 2) ORDER, 2020

ORDER, 2020

I'm not sure about the smart watch because a lot of what is listed in those documents include CRT monitors, CD-ROM and computer tape drives

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 6th, 2021, 8:51 am

200 and 500 TTD? on top of the item cost?

PapaC wrote:Last year two AirPods with the same freight forwarder, one came as Bluetooth headphones, the other as cell phone headset. So one was 200 the other was 500

(NO. 2) ORDER, 2020

ORDER, 2020

craig lee quay

Postby craig lee quay » January 6th, 2021, 11:19 am

Not sure if been asked already. Is this a temporary or permanent exemption?

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Have nothing like permanent. They could change it anytime.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 6th, 2021, 2:26 pm

craig lee quay wrote:Not sure if been asked already. Is this a temporary or permanent exemption?

I feel till at least next budget. Or when the pandemic is over.
Maybe longer.
But definitely not permanent.

Postby bluefete » January 6th, 2021, 3:08 pm

Trying to soften the blows from what is coming in other areas.

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2021, 4:10 pm

nobody get pkgs yet this week ?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 6th, 2021, 4:43 pm

pugboy wrote:nobody get pkgs yet this week ?

yea, got a package ready for pickup from tropical express today.

Postby pugboy » January 6th, 2021, 5:08 pm

i mean cellphone

originalbling wrote:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 6th, 2021, 6:53 pm

pugboy wrote:i mean cellphone

originalbling wrote:

Mine still stuck in customs....

Postby Dave » January 6th, 2021, 7:05 pm

After you guys report then I would try a phone.

Have some seals for a jack enroute.

Postby Chimera » January 6th, 2021, 7:15 pm

Friday night my first batch of phones clearing

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » January 6th, 2021, 7:17 pm

Mine in customs right now.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 6th, 2021, 8:09 pm

:| pressure
jhonnieblue wrote:Mine in customs right now.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 7th, 2021, 9:45 pm

allyuh ...ah get a notification that something ah was waiting on clear customs for delivery tomorrow....

Until I get it in my hands I don't want to jinx it...but allyuh let's just say that I paid more to fly one way to Tobago :lol:

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 7th, 2021, 10:03 pm

Bess. Which airline, ah mean courier lol.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 7th, 2021, 10:10 pm

d.d.s. wrote:Bess. Which airline, ah mean courier lol.

Aeropost.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 8th, 2021, 12:16 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:allyuh ...ah get a notification that something ah was waiting on clear customs for delivery tomorrow....

Until I get it in my hands I don't want to jinx it...but allyuh let's just say that I paid more to fly one way to Tobago :lol:

How long did it take to reach Trinidad after reaching skybox using Aeropost?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 8th, 2021, 12:54 am

Iphone 12 pro max 256 gb and lg velvet pro delivered today from Toronto to Trinidad 2 days $56 cad all in total ,fuel and shipping charges ., nice.