Re: Cellphone Import Tax

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2021, 6:31 am

nice, ordering phone soon

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 6:34 am

scotty_buttons wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:allyuh ...ah get a notification that something ah was waiting on clear customs for delivery tomorrow....

Until I get it in my hands I don't want to jinx it...but allyuh let's just say that I paid more to fly one way to Tobago :lol:

How long did it take to reach Trinidad after reaching skybox using Aeropost?

It arrived in Miami since Tuesday Dec. 29th...and I am now getting it on Friday January 8th.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 6:35 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Iphone 12 pro max 256 gb and lg velvet pro delivered today from Toronto to Trinidad 2 days $56 cad all in total ,fuel and shipping charges ., nice.

2 days? What Canadian skybox is that?

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2021, 6:37 am

earlier he said he planned to use dhl which prob was overnight

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
ruffrider27 wrote:Iphone 12 pro max 256 gb and lg velvet pro delivered today from Toronto to Trinidad 2 days $56 cad all in total ,fuel and shipping charges ., nice.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 6:39 am

pugboy wrote:earlier he said he planned to use dhl which prob was overnight

hmmm...not bad at all.

Postby Kenjo » January 8th, 2021, 7:11 am

Skybox company ?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 8th, 2021, 7:49 am

Kenjo wrote:

Skybox company ?

DHL it has a special prepaid box .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2021, 9:16 am

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 9:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Ah still want to know if smart watch under that. Someone import one and tell us please. :D

also... would a mobile phone case be categorized as accessories?

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2021, 10:38 am

case should be

treeneeboi

Postby treeneeboi » January 8th, 2021, 10:44 am

CSF confirm duty free cellphones from Jan 1st. I waiting on tropical or Websource to follow suit.

car

Postby car » January 8th, 2021, 10:51 am

Say no more.

car

Postby car » January 8th, 2021, 10:57 am

Ah still want to know if smart watch under that. Someone import one and tell us please. :D

Only exemption is duty. Everything else is still on.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 2:36 pm

car wrote:Say no more.

:bday: :bday: :bday: :bday: :bday: :bday:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 2:38 pm

car wrote:

Only exemption is duty. Everything else is still on.

You did one recently?

Postby pugboy » January 8th, 2021, 4:05 pm

according to the above notice, the tariff list refers to portable radio telephones
so unless the smart watch is dick tracy and acts like a phone then you will be out of luck with that.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 8th, 2021, 6:06 pm

pugboy wrote:according to the above notice, the tariff list refers to portable radio telephones
so unless the smart watch is dick tracy and acts like a phone then you will be out of luck with that.

what about the cellular enabled watches.... I wonder about that?

Postby Kenjo » January 8th, 2021, 8:46 pm

pugboy wrote:according to the above notice, the tariff list refers to portable radio telephones

This sounding like salt

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 8th, 2021, 10:55 pm

You sounding desperate eh pal. Smart watches are not exempted from taxes. If you cannot afford to pay the taxes to import one, do without nah gosh man.

Postby pugboy » January 9th, 2021, 5:20 am

yeah bro
in this day save yuh money
learn to walk away and not be tempted
i myself not buying the newest model anything

randolphinshan wrote:

You sounding desperate eh pal. Smart watches are not exempted from taxes. If you cannot afford to pay the taxes to import one, do without nah gosh man.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 9th, 2021, 6:45 am

Desperate :? ? not at all... I've had my last iPhone for 4.5 years and I waited till now to upgrade..and not to the latest, to the basic 11...
The taxes on a smartwatch don't deter me but if they are exempt from it, I'd like to benefit....I'm into daily running and I'd truly like to leave my phone home and be able to do it on the watch. So it is really Digicel I am waiting on to activate E-Sim so that a watch can truly make sense.
I do appreciate ya'lls concern though. :D

car

Postby car » January 9th, 2021, 7:32 am

Remember the whole reason for removal of taxes on laptops and tablets is to make it affordable for online learning. They realize lots of people using cell phones for online learning so they extend the tax break. Smart watch wouldn’t be considered an item used for learning.
When online learning and school starts back normal they might restore the tax. The only reason for the tax break is because of online learning and COVID.

Update:
taxes on cell phone battery=tax on laptop.

Postby teems1 » January 9th, 2021, 9:23 am

Don't think smart speakers like Alexa and Google Home are exempt either.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 9th, 2021, 1:02 pm

car wrote:Say no more.

Iphone 12 awa?

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » January 9th, 2021, 1:25 pm

Please don't rush to get any of the 12 series iPhones. I sent a 12 pro and 12 pro max to the states because of the battery drain while the device is not in use.....

https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2020/12/03/apple-iphone-12-mini-pro-max-battery-drain-new-iphone-upgrade/?sh=5a8a5cf1254f

Also see that on the apple forums itself Alot of users have this issue as well.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251956914?answerId=254330591022#254330591022

Postby pugboy » January 9th, 2021, 1:39 pm

i buy a refurb xs
should get next week

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 9th, 2021, 1:55 pm

stark_007 wrote:Please don't rush to get any of the 12 series iPhones. I sent a 12 pro and 12 pro max to the states because of the battery drain while the device is not in use.....

https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordonkelly/2020/12/03/apple-iphone-12-mini-pro-max-battery-drain-new-iphone-upgrade/?sh=5a8a5cf1254f

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/251956914?answerId=254330591022#254330591022

Likely and hopefully something that can be fixed with a software update

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2021, 2:18 pm

Are those refurb phones good?

Isn't that a big risk?

pugboy wrote:i buy a refurb xs
should get next week

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » January 9th, 2021, 2:30 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
stark_007 wrote:Please don't rush to get any of the 12 series iPhones. I sent a 12 pro and 12 pro max to the states because of the battery drain while the device is not in use.....

Likely and hopefully something that can be fixed with a software update
As it looks right now, the issue is being caused by the new modem Apple placed in the 12 series to allow 5G connectivity. Also,
iOS 14.4 beta 1 literally did nothing to fix this issue so we will have to rely on future updates.
In my personal position, I didn't pay $1280 US to wait around for a fix hence why I sent it back within my return period of 14 days....
I'll keep updated with the forums, and once it is fixed I'll repurchase my 12 pro max.

Postby pugboy » January 9th, 2021, 2:39 pm

they give 12month warranty and its an ebay seller who has over 2million sales postive feedback of 99.3%
dunno how and where they get so many phones to sell

bluefete wrote:Are those refurb phones good?

Isn't that a big risk?

pugboy wrote:i buy a refurb xs
should get next week